Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A Square Contractor

Founded 2000 • With Angi since August 2009

5.0

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

16509 Raven Rock Dr

Gaithersburg, MD 20878

Description

A Square Contractor is a full service General Contractor. Owned and operated by Santiago Velasco, A Square Contractor specializes in carpentry work but is trained in a variety of other specialties including: Painting, General Remodeling, Handyman, windows, Siding, Masonry, Carpentry-fine and rough. Maryland Home Improvement Licensed Contractor 93856 Washington DC License-6500 65006912...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/10/2016


Douglas T.

Very well. Replaced wood, sealed and conducted wiring job very quickly.

Description of Work
Remount electric meter to house where wood rot and powder beetle had destroyed wood. Also requested electrician remove unused 220 breaker and wiring from inside breaker box

Category electrician, woodworking, house painters

5.0

03/12/2016


David S.

Description of Work
They are very conscientious but are prone to cost overruns.

Category handyman service

5.0

07/30/2015


Tom C.

Santiago gave me the measurements to order the new window. It took almost 2 months for the window to arrive. The work was scheduled timely. Santiago and his employee removed the old window and installed the new window. They took their time and did a great job. The workers cleaned up and hauled away all of then trash. I would definitely use A a square contractor again.

Description of Work
Remove 50 year old window and install new window

Category remodeling

5.0

07/02/2013


David S.

It took a while to have the windows made, but once the job started Santiago Velasco and crew did excellent work. Very professional.

Description of Work
Changed 2 external windows, fixed a shutter, repaired roof, and installed interior molding.

Category handyman service, replacement windows, woodworking

5.0

02/04/2013


Deb A.

Good.

Description of Work
Enclosed (screened in on 2 walls ) a patio. Repaired Bay window and siding for water damage. Repaired water damage inside.

Category handyman service

5.0

10/10/2012


Jonathan W.

The work took two full days - most of which was the removal, rebuild and reinstall of the cabinets (plus repair of the drywall). We found them to be professional and conscientious throughout. I chose Santiago in part because he was willing to rebuild the cabinet and replace the damaged press-board with plywood. Other contractors wanted to put in plastic. He was also able to get the work done quickly as it fitted between two other larger jobs he was working on, and time was important to us. If you have carpentry you need done, then I would very highly recommend Santiago to you. He does the job right, but at the same time was careful to consider if there were better and cheaper ways to do the job than what we had initially discussed. Overall it was a great experience.

Description of Work
We had a plastic ice-maker line which sprung a leak behind the back of our kitchen cabinets. The leak went undiscovered for some time and caused molding of the cabinet sides and bottom as well as the drywall behind the cabinets. We had Santiago and his crew remove most of the cabinets, rebuild the back, one side, and bottom of the affected cabinet, and replace the drywall behind the cabinets. In addition we had him install a new icemaker like which he buried in the quarter round moulding going around the kitchen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/27/2012


Mary A.

Did an excellent job of repairing several large holes and imperfections in our drywall. Mr. Velasco knew we wanted to have the repairs done quickly and he responded by sending someone over the very week we requested. The drywall work looks great!

Description of Work
Repaired drywall

Category handyman service

5.0

03/03/2011


Teresa B.

Santiago of A-Square Contractor came out promptly to thoroughly inspect the house, take measurements, and make notes for later use in preparing a thorough, itemized estimate. His focus is on doing quality work the right way. He does not take shortcuts to hold down costs or make quick-and-dirty repairs that don't hold up. This approach to the work keeps him and his crew extremely busy, however. Though we accepted the estimate and made initial payment in early September, Santiago did not begin our work until a few days before Thanksgiving, With the onset of cold weather, he was not able to complete all of the work and will be returning in the spring to finish some of the painting. I will report again in a couple months on the completion of the work; I fully expect that Santiago will complete everything as agreed. While we had hoped Santiago could have gotten to us sooner, I doubt that anyone else could have found the small opening where mice had been entering and done as thorough a job. Also, in a previous job, we were very pleased with his solution to a difficult problem that arose from extensive rotting of wood around the framing of our front door. As long as you are patient, can allow ample time for him to begin the work, and don't mind paying a fair price for the value received, you should be very happy with A-Square's services, especially if you have a challenging project.

Description of Work
Exterior caulking of all windows, doors, and openings (2 story house). Search interior of basement and exterior of house for possible openings where mice were getting in, and repair. Painting of shutters, soffits, and exterior woodwork. Pressure-wash north side of house. Repair bulging section of vinyl siding on rear of house. (Re-hung, but did not replace, existing siding.)

Category handyman service, siding, pressure washing, house painters

5.0

08/05/2009


Donna P.

Santiago came out and gave an estimate. He works with Barron's for the vanity top, and I was able to get a color to match the others in my house. He and his helper came out on the day I requested, installed the vanity and replace the plumbing, built out the front door jamb, installed the storm door, and caulked all around. They even found some water damage that wasn't easily seen until doing the building, and they repaired all of that at no extra cost. They were here almost 8 hours to complete the work. And they cleaned up!

Description of Work
I doing a bit of "touch-up" work on the house. I needed a marble vanity top installed in the powder room and a storm door in front. The latter was complicated by the fact that the front door jamb was not built to incorporate a storm door.

Category countertops, handyman service, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    ABL Professional Painting

    FOR A FREE ESTIMATE PLEASE CALL (703) 585-1932 TODAY. ABL Painting has the ability to transform your residence with the stroke of our paint brushes. We always use quality paint products in order to never put our clients through fading, peeling, and the falling of their paint job. Remodeling is not necessary for the transformation of the look of your estate, a simple paint job from ABL Painting will do. Family owned business with 12 years of experience. Customer service is our number one priority. Check out our commercial at https://youtu.be/lfEB1nZvFfg  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by ABL Professional Painting  on Angi
    MLS Welding & Repair

    MLS Welding & Repair is your first choice for all of your welding needs. With over 12 years experience, we've seen it all. We take pride in our professionalism, and timeliness. Call us today! We look forward to working with you for years to come!  

    Painting Service Of Nova

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Painting services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Painting, General Remodeling, Handyman, windows, Siding, Masonry, Carpentry-fine and rough

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A Square Contractor

    How is A Square Contractor overall rated?

    A Square Contractor is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are A Square Contractor open?

    A Square Contractor is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does A Square Contractor provide

    A Square Contractor accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does A Square Contractor offer free estimates?

    Yes, A Square Contractor offers free project estimates.

    Does A Square Contractor offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A Square Contractor offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by A Square Contractor?

    No, A Square Contractor does not offer warranties.

    What services does A Square Contractor offer?

    A Square Contractor offers the following services: Painting, General Remodeling, Handyman, windows, Siding, Masonry, Carpentry-fine and rough