American Pest

About

Founded 1925 • With Angi since October 2005

American Pest is offering disinfectant and wipe-down services at this time to combat the spread of COVID-19. As always, we offer top rated pest control for the home and business; servicing D.C., Maryland and Virginia for 90+ years. Proven and reliable pest control for rodents, ants, mosquitoes, bed

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.7

(1192) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

943

4

126

3

47

2

26

1

50

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

pest control (1166)animal removal (104)home inspection (5)insulation (3)gutter repair (2)roofing (1)
Showing 1-25 of 1192 reviews
3.0

04/06/2022


Jeanna Gibson L.

Had to call repeatedly to get the estimate and follow up myself until the owner called me back and took care of me personally

Description of Work
Lose holes and extermination

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2021

3.0

02/10/2022


Chris J.

Effective but expensive for on going

Description of Work
rat control

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/09/2022

5.0

06/16/2021


kenneth W.

It went okay. They were professional.

Description of Work
They sprayed the yard for mosquitoes.

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2021

1.0

10/09/2020


V B.

Terrible. Had to hunt them down to receive my second spraying. The gentleman that came the second time was here maybe five (5) minutes. I waited four (4) hours to go downstairs to make sure the basement door was secure and saw the biggest spider very alive hanging by the window. I retrieved my own spray and chased the spider across my basement wall. As I’m doing that I noticed other spiders in various corners very alive and moving. For the money American Pest charges the service sucks. In this economy they ought to be happy to even have business. I would never recommend this company to anyone but I will share the **** poor service they offer smh. Very disappointing. Seriously, just use your own spray. Open your windows, spray your baseboards, then leave the house for a few hours.

Description of Work
Exterminating services needed for spiders and ants

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi there, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sincerely sorry you had such a frustrating experience. This is not up to our usual standards and we hope you will give us another chance. I do not have enough information here to send account specifics to our customer service team if you can give our office a call or email us at customerservice@americanpest.net. We certainly want to make things right and be sure our technicians are setting the standard moving forward so this does not happen again. Thank you for your feedback.
2.0

07/19/2020


Joanna K.

Nobody came to my first appointment that was supposed to be on Tuesday, June 16th. I asked the date twice during the phone call and I wrote it down right away. Then, on Friday 19th a tech comes, saying this is the right day. It wasn't but I let it go as miscommunication. He says that the initial $200 treatment takes an hour and he only has 30 minutes, so he needs to come later to complete it. He said that someone will call me to make another appointment. No one called for 3 days. I made an appt to complete the initial treatment, the soonest they had was in another month. I hired them because of the carpenter ants that damage the walls inside. The proper treatment is supposed to treat the ants inside the walls. American Pest only sprays an insect repellent around the foundation. It did absolutely nothing to the carpenter ants or to any other insects in the house. I called 2 weeks later to discuss it. When I called the 1st time and chose a "new customer" extension, somebody called me back on a weekend. I thought it was a sign of prompt, responsive service. When I chose an existing customer extension, my call was cut off twice while waiting for someone to pick up. When a woman picked up on my 3d try, she said she only takes messages and someone will call me back. I described my concern about the inefficient treatment, she seemed to record it. It's been 3 weeks, nobody called me back. I'm done with them. I bought a treated aerosol foam to apply to cracks and opening in the walls that gets rid of the carpenter ants. I'm in the process of hiring a person to apply it around the house. I have no idea why I would need to pay $50 monthly for an unresponsive service that does nothing to get rid of the common carpenter ants.

Description of Work
pest control

Category pest control

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2020

5.0

06/16/2020


Jessica S.

Technician was super professional and prompt. Treated our biggest concern first being the carpenter bees, and explained the treatment. Performed yearly service treatment plan and explained treatment, process and what to expect in the next few weeks. Then went over what to do if we noticed an issue before the end of the month. Love the fact that they offer services are friendly to pet and children. Very happy customer.

Description of Work
Carpenter bees and general ground bugs

Category pest control

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2020

1.0

06/11/2020


Mariam K.

We used Wards for getting rid of termites in 2015. They came the following year, 2016, for a follow up and things were still good. Then Wards was bought out. We called them again for an inspection and the inspector came out in 2017 and noticed the possibility of termites again. A supervisor disagreed and we were told not to worry. In 2018 they cancelled our appointment and never came. Last year, 2019, I called again and left numerous messages for them to come do an inspection and they never responded. Now it is 2020 and I suspect the termites are back. We have been calling and leaving messages with their call center but nobody calls back. So much for the 7 year warranty we were given.

Description of Work
Termite plan

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2020

5.0

06/05/2020


Leila S.

Excellent service, clear information, and noticeable results!

Description of Work
Rat abatement

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2020

1.0

05/26/2020


gloria B.

When American pest called me to do service I agreed when their inspector came out one he was late, two he had the audacity to put his feet (with shoes) on our bed and when he was done flipping the mattress upside down he didnt even attempt to put it back I didnt expect him to put the sheets back on but atleast put the mattress where you found it. I realized that this wasnt the company for me after that moment. A few weeks later I get a inspection invoice for $100. When I called the company the receptionist said their would only be one person at the office who is responsible for informing me during the initial call (which he didnt) and when i spoke to him he said "Theirs no refund, just pay the bill and get it over with" which i refuse to pay because I wasnt informed nor did i sign any contract which states such a thing!

Description of Work
Bed bug inspection

Category animal removal

Work Completed On 05/26/2020

5.0

05/23/2020


Charlotte V.

Kevin showed up on time and was very thorough and professional in his explanation of the possible causes and left bait for the rodents. I would hire him again!!

Description of Work
Rodent infestation

Category animal removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2020

4.0

05/21/2020


Lee R.

OK- They didn't go up to my 3 story eves to spray as assured by the salesman.

Description of Work
Carpenter bees removed

Category pest control

Cost $395

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2020

5.0

05/14/2020


Robert V.

Rassaun was an excellent technician. The first day he came, he realized it was too cold to address our ground bee problem. When he came back two days later when it was warmer, he made a point to describe everything he did to address the problem and what to expect in the short term. I was impressed by his professionalism.

Description of Work
Removal of ground bee nest

Category pest control, animal removal

Cost $249

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2020

5.0

04/22/2020


Bona Y.

The service attendant over the phone was incredibly knowledgeable and listened so keenly and provided helpful information. She spend a great deal of time on the phone with me to give guidance and assurance even though i did not need to utilize this company's services at this time. I will most certainly reach out to this company for any future needs. Customer service was phenomenal. Thank you.

Description of Work
Consultation on carpet beetles

Category pest control, animal removal

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2020

5.0

11/09/2019


Saundra H.

The technician was supper. Randall was very thorough and knowledgeable. He inspected the house and quickly determined what needed to be done. He was pleasant and such a gentleman. My husband and I will continue to request this service provider and this technician.

Description of Work
Thoroughly checked all exposed areas and plugged them up. Also refilled all stations inside and out.

Category pest control

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2019

5.0

11/02/2019


Christel W.

Within days it appeared that we were rid of the rodents. The improvement to the H&V will take longer to measure but the results are an obvious improvement so we've bright expectations. Finally our interaction with the team was excellant. We give them the highest marks.

Description of Work
Rodents & Insulation

Category pest control, insulation

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2019

4.0

09/12/2019


Laverne G.

They come out every other month to service my house. It was great, they were on time and professional.

Description of Work
They did some pest control for mice in my house.

Category pest control

Cost $111

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2019

5.0

09/04/2019


Jasper S.

The inspector arrived early, but waited patiently for me to get home, even doing a bit of prep work. He talked me through all aspects of the job, showing me around, and I felt comfortable with his recommendations. We scheduled the treatment for a few days out. The only complaint I have regarding the actual work is that the technician arrived about an hour beyond the initial window I was given and did not call. Thankfully I had to stay home for other business that day. When he arrived however, he was professionalism and worked efficiently.

Description of Work
Termite Inspection and Treatment

Category pest control

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2019

1.0

08/09/2019


Cindy H.

Worst service EVER!!! Do no hire these people. They charged me over $700 dollars for two services in that didn't even work. They are a bait and switch with charges. They charge $249 for initial service then they to put you on a monthly plan because it would be cheaper if they have to continue treatment, but they don't tell you that they charge another $249 to get the monthly fee started. DO NOT HIRE THESE PEOPLE!!! Biggest rip off ever

Description of Work
pest control

Category pest control

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2019

1.0

07/11/2019


Robert K.

I was given a date and a 2-hour window for the exterminator to arrive and was told that I'd be called 30 minutes before. I waited 30 minutes after the window closed and called and was told that they would have to get in touch with the exterminator. Some time later he appears at my door with no phone call, but fine, he was there. Except he immediately says he has to move his car b/c he's not parked legally. I tell him that there is a space behind my building and give him directions to get there. After an insanely long time for someone to find a parking place, I called the exterminator and he was on the road going to his next appointment. No phone call to alert me that he wasn't coming back and no explanation for why he didn't park in the absolutely free and empty spot behind my building. I called the company and the operator laughed knowingly and said that exterminator was like that. Why he has a job there or was assigned to me was never explained. They rescheduled me for later in the week which already sucked. A different technician came on the rescheduled date and did his thing (he didn't call beforehand and arrived right at the end of the window, but again, fine he's here). I was first told that I should wait a week and after a week with plenty of roaches still running around told to wait an extra week. B/c of the holiday I ended up waiting 3 weeks, and still there are plenty of roaches and no sign of them being under control. So I called the company again and they were planning to make me wait another week before someone came out and they were going to charge me full price for a job that they clearly hadn't done right the first time. But the kicker was they had no record that they had originally sent a completely incompetent and unprofessional exterminator the first time. It's bad enough that that happened but with no apologies and then erasing it from their records, that shows to me that they don't care at all about their customers.

Description of Work
Cockroach extermination

Category pest control

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2019

2.0

06/29/2019


Matthew H.

The guy showed up on time, and he was professional. However he put this carpenter ant bait on my baseboard, after leaving it there for weeks for any potential ants to eat there was still a lot of it left. So the bait became as hard as a rock. I could not get it off without taking the paint off my baseboard. He did set traps for mice, but he was were not able to find outside where they are coming in. Two guys from this company checked on 2 occassions and saw no entry way for mice. I also ended up disposing of the dead mice myself. So basically I paid $99 just for them to out some ant bait and mice traps. $15 of something I could have done myself. Waste of money.

Description of Work
Spray for bugs around perimeter. Set bait for carpenter ants. Set traps for mice.

Category pest control

Cost $99

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/29/2017

5.0

06/20/2019


KM W.

We have hired Ward’s before they merged with Innovative (first hiring about 8 years ago through Angie’s List) and continue to be pleased with the quality of service and the 30 day guarantee where they will return at no extra cost if more application is needed. While Angie’s List did not offer a discount, Ward’s did apply a seniors discount, which is greatly appreciated.

Description of Work
Every few years, tiny centipedes emerge in our finished basement and this year, we found them on the main floor of our home.

Category pest control

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2019

5.0

06/04/2019


Joanne L.

So far, so good. Have seen only 1 or 2 since the treatment,

Description of Work
ants in the kitchen and dining room

Category pest control

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2019