Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions

Founded 1999 • With Angi since January 2011

4.9

(87) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

256 S Carroll St

Frederick, MD 21701

Description

Experienced, results driven Estate Seller and Property Service Company, in the Washington DC Metro area. EstateMAX is an Accredited Estate Liquidator as verified by the National Association of Estate Liquidators. We have served our senior and boomer clients since 1999,through all facets of transitions; We are Angie's List Super Service Award Recipient for 8 years, for DC Metro- categorized in Angie's List under Auction Services! We hold ON-site and can expedite ON-Line auctions, for our clients. EstateMax-Maximized Returns, Minimized Stress! Since 1999 in the DC Metro- we have been providing personalized Solutions in Comprehensive Estate Services, On-Site Estate & Downsizing Sales in the Client's Home, Senior's Move Management, & Staging for Sale of the Property, Property Clean Out & Charity Disbursement. Our Professional Management Team bring 37 years of skills and experience interiors and furnishings, antiques, decorative arts retail sales and management, to our senior, boomer and estate clients. We have designed a sales system that assures highest returns, and minimized involvement with the estate or client, freeing our clients to live their lives and move forward! We employ extensive up to date advertising on social media coupled with correct pricing, merchandising and negotiation to bring top dollar for our clients, selling their pre-owned goods. Found Money is made from households that our clients thought had little value! An average estate sale requires over 125 hours of personnel time in set up, selling, and clean up. EstateMAX can complete 3 to 4 sales monthly. Listen to our Radio Interview here https://omny.fm/shows/your-frederick-real-estate-update/march-31st-2018....

Projects

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/04/2021


joseph B.

Awesome! Laurie and her crew arrived on time and efficiently cleared the entire home of all furniture, personal items and trash. The took great care to sort items for consignment, goodwill or garbage/recycling. Laurie even saved a bunch of art supplies to donate to a school. I would highly recommend EstateMax

Description of Work
Sold the family home of 50 years and had to have it cleared out for new buyer

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Sorry for the late response. We are happy that you are happy.
5.0

10/03/2021


Ginger R.

With the passing of my mother came the overwhelming job of clearing out my childhood home and my deceased fathers huge workshop. After sifting through 50 yrs of “stuff” Laurie, Steve and the EstateMax team stepped in to finish the job. Laurie advertised to the masses, priced and ran the 3 day estate sale, what didn’t sell (which wasn’t much) was packed up and donated in my name. Dumpsters were then brought in and all of the trash was hauled away leaving the property completely empty, ready to be cleaned and placed on the market. I made enough money from the sale to pay their commission and trash removal and still made a nice profit. The best part was that I didn’t have to do anything myself. Thanks to EstateMax, a huge burden was lifted from my shoulders during this very emotional time.

Description of Work
Estate sale and clean out

Category furniture sales,car sales,dumpster service

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the nice review and for your persistence with getting it onto Angi's List. Your "cost" from EstateMAX was $2800 and commission ( based on sales volume) All other costs are clean up and removal. Thank you again. Laurie
5.0

08/23/2021


Louise B.

Laurie Zook is a true professional. From start to finish, she handled the sale of our belongings with a great deal of care, giving us valuable advice regarding staging. The entire house was cleared out and broom-cleaned as promised. All deliverables met with a tidy sum at the end. Thank you, Laurie.

Description of Work
Estate sale to sell belongings to prepare for downsizing move

Category furniture sales,auction services,home staging

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed], It was a pleasure to help you lighten your load! Have fun in your new abode.
5.0

07/19/2021


Leslie R.

I cannot say enough good things about the work performed by Laurie Zook and the entire Estatemax team. This project was with an old house filled with antiques and a barn. Laurie communicated at each step of the way and answered any questions I had. I would hire her again in a second. Experience matters in large estate sales and her years of experience shows in every step of the process.

Description of Work
Estate Sale of Home and Barn

Category interior designers,moving companies,jewelry appraisal,furniture sales,car sales,antiques,dumpster service,home staging

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] and Family, thank you so much for your trust in us and your ongoing cooperation. I'm so happy to hear the property sold in a few short weeks!
5.0

05/25/2021


Gene L.

Wonderful experience using Laurie and team! True professionals! I am so glad they were recommended to me by my boss! Best referral ever!

Description of Work
Estate Sales

Category moving companies,furniture sales

Service Provider Response

WOW! You are very welcome. Thank you for your trust and business! Best to you in your new digs!
5.0

05/24/2021


Lynne F.

Laurie Zook and her team are very experienced and professional. We were overwhelmed with moving out of our house after 23 years. Because of their experience with this it was easy and seamless. We were pleasantly surprised with the money made at the sale! It was a huge effort on their parts to get everything cleared out and empty on time. I am so glad we hired Laurie and Steve and the team!

Description of Work
Downsizing Estate sale

Category moving companies,furniture sales

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] and Jim, It was a pleasure to work with such nice inventory in a great neighborhood! Thank you for your trust and your business.
5.0

04/27/2021


nancy H.

Moving/downsizing is one of the most stressful events in your lifetime. Parting with precious items that you can no longer use is a difficult and daunting task. Laurie and Steve from EstateMax helped us to focus only on our upcoming move and the items we were keeping, and took all of the worry away about what to do with everything else. You can move into your new home and focus on your future, and leave the rest in their capable hands. EstateMax provides a very valuable service!!

Description of Work
estate sale and property clean out

Category auction services

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed].
5.0

10/09/2020


Donald C.

They were very reliable and professional. They had all the sales equipment. They knew what they were doing. They were efficient. They were very terrific

Description of Work
They came in and priced up my items. It was a 2 day sales. They cleaned up what was left.

Category auction services

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for persisting thru the Angie's list verification process and your review. We actually were contracted to do actwo day sale but did a 3 day sale for you using Covid 19 regulations. It was well attended and your things were very appreciated by the buyers!
5.0

10/06/2020


Michelle Z.

The sale went well and the house was empty when all was complete. Painless and easy .

Description of Work
estate sale, parents home, final property clean out, donations and trash

Category jewelry appraisal,furniture sales,dumpster service

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], I'm glad we could help you and wish you fast turn around on the property. We collected names and numbers of potential home buyers during the estate sale, and I hope you provoked a bidding war with them! Lol
5.0

10/06/2020


Jessica L.

Laurie and Steve with EstateMax saved my sanity. My father passed away and left behind a hoarder’s home full of STUFF that I had neither the time nor energy to deal with. Other estate sale companies took one look and turned up their noses. Laurie and Steve were reassuring and made me feel at ease immediately with the scope of work ahead of them. Laurie was very pleasant to work with- a great communicator, straightforward and honest. They managed to sell a ton of stuff, to my utter shock- enough to offset the cost of hiring them, with some leftover. Even if they hadn’t sold one thing, I would have gladly paid their (very fair) fee to clean out the place. They left the house spotless as promised and made this entire experience a breeze. Highly recommend and would hire again without reservation!

Description of Work
estate sale, property clean out

Category furniture sales,auction services,dumpster service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your complimentary review. We are a service business which includes all types of properties in various conditions. And people enjoyed your dads stuff.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Window Genie of Frederick, LLC

    Since 1994, we have specialized in window cleaning, window tinting, pressure washing, gutter cleaning, and more. Our commitment to customer satisfaction and professionalism is what sets us apart from the competition. You can feel safe knowing our team of field technicians are fully trained, insured, bonded, and drive custom wrapped GENIEMOBILES for easy identification. Check out all the services we offer below and call -- or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Jays Property Management

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Doyle Moving Services LLC

    Doyle Moving Services, LLC, is committed to excellence in every aspect of residential moving. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty, and personal responsibility. Our distinction is the quality of service we bring to our customers. Accurate knowledge of our trade combined with ability is what makes us true professionals. Above all, we are watchful of our customers' interests, and make their concerns a priority. If you are looking for a stress free move then look no further!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Minority Owned & OperatedMinority Owned & Operated
    Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
    LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    NO LICENSE IS REQUIRED
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Living Estate Sales, Estate Sales, Liquidations,Downsizing, Boomer's Sales, Moving Sales, Antique Sales, Property clean outs, Specialty Clean Out s ( outbuildings, etc.) Transitions, Downsizing, Professional Organization, Home Set-up, Packing & Unpacking, Home Staging, Home Staging, Online, Interior Design, Dumpster, Trash Removal, Re-Cycling, Local, State, National & International Coordination, Packing and Shipping of Personal Property and Packing and Moving Services

    Services Not Offered

    hoarder clean out

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions

    How is EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions overall rated?

    EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions provide

    EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

    Does EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions offer free estimates?

    Yes, EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions offers free project estimates.

    Does EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions offer a senior discount?

    Yes, EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions?

    No, EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions does not offer warranties.

    What services does EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions offer?

    EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions offers the following services: Living Estate Sales, Estate Sales, Liquidations,Downsizing, Boomer's Sales, Moving Sales, Antique Sales, Property clean outs, Specialty Clean Out s ( outbuildings, etc.) Transitions, Downsizing, Professional Organization, Home Set-up, Packing & Unpacking, Home Staging, Home Staging, Online, Interior Design, Dumpster, Trash Removal, Re-Cycling, Local, State, National & International Coordination, Packing and Shipping of Personal Property and Packing and Moving Services

    Are there any services EstateMax Estate & Downsizing Sales & Auctions does not offer?

    hoarder clean out