Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

5th Avenue Floors LLC

With Angi since April 2010

Hardwood flooring installation, refinishing & restoration.

Amenities

Free Estimates
no
Warranties
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(16) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews
Greg H.
5.0
09/08/2018
Everything was first class. From the initial estimate, to the work, and follow-up, Tom and his team were extremely professional and their work excellent. Their price was very, very competitive. Will definitely recommend 5th Avenue Floors to those in need of floor refinishing.
Description of Work
Hardwood floor refinishing
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Robert M.
5.0
03/12/2018
Amazing. Tom and his crew were fast, punctual, and courteous. they took great care with all our furniture and made sure to keep dust at a minimum. I highly recommend his services.
Description of Work
sand, stain and poly approx 500 sq ft of existing hardwood floor
Category
hardwood floor
Greg M.
5.0
08/16/2017
Very professional communication. Performance was on time and clean up was as good as you can expect.
Description of Work
We needed approximately 1700 sq ft of red oak refinished before moving into an older home. 3 sets of stairs, handrails, and shoe molding were also refinished. Tom's crew worked very hard to complete the job in 3 days (minus drying time). The floors are dark walnut stain with oil based satin poly. They look awesome now.
Category
hardwood floor
Duane T.
5.0
11/22/2016
The final job was far better than I could have ever anticipated. After sanding, most of the watermarks and other stains were eliminated, and instead of a dark stain 5th Avenue was able to put down a lighter stain showcasing the hardwood grain. The new flooring also looked great and matched up fairly well with the old floors. I was almost shocked how well everything looked. Moreover, I had a tight schedule to be out of the house while the work was being done and there were no delays on the front or backside. I would recommend this company in a heartbeat.
Description of Work
I have a farmhouse nearly 100 years old with original hardwood flooring that needed refinishing. I also had a more recent addition in which new hardwood flooring needed to be added. I have been in the house for 14 years and the original polyurethane coating was gone and a lot of water stains throughout. It wasn't clear that I would be able to get the floors back to their original condition and the 5th Avenue owner recommended a dark stain to hide any marks.
Category
hardwood floor
Elizabeth L.
5.0
03/03/2016
We've used Tom's services twice. The first time was last year during a major remodeling of our 110 year old home in downtown Frederick. The remodeling required walls to be moved, major plumbing and electrical changes, removal of ancient carpeting and linoleum, and a lot of construction which left the original old heart pine floors in our house significantly damaged and in need of major repairs and refinishing. Our big concern was the ability to keep as much of the original flooring as possible, and repairing and refinishing it without making it look artificial. Tom was brought in by the General Contractor who told us he was an expert on repairing and refinishing floors in older homes. They were right on target with that. Tom came in and, after talking with us to get a good understanding of what we wanted, gave us a meticulous description of what he could do, giving us several options and telling us what each would cost. Amazingly he was able to find rescued heart pine that was almost identical to the original floors, at a very reasonable cost. The results were incredible! The repaired areas were blended in perfectly with the existing floors. He was able to resurface all the areas such that the vast majority of scratches and blemishes and stains were removed, and the finish he applied resulted in the stunningly beautiful, natural looking pine floors we wanted! We were so impressed with his work that we brought him back again last month to completely refinish the first floor living room, dining room, foyer and halls - as well as the rest of the second floor. It took Tom and his team just three days to give us the same amazing results. Sanding away the effects of 110 years of heavy use, and multiple layers of old varnishes - and restoring our whole house to that same warm, beautiful, natural finish. And in both cases coming in right on budget with no surprises (and as someone who has worked with a lot of home service contractors in the past I can tell you there are usually surprises). Tom provides a high level of professionalism, craftsmanship, and service that you just don't find anymore these days. He's enthusiastic, knows his business, delivers what he promises, and enjoys what he does! We couldn't be happier!
Description of Work
Repair, sand, recondition, and refinish existing (old and damaged) hardwood floors.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Luke E.
5.0
02/02/2016
Tom was terrific to work with. We were in a bind after another contractor fell through two weeks before we were suppose to move into our home. Tom came out the day after we first called him and spent an hour with us going over every inch of our home. He told us what to expect if our 95 year old floors were refinished and the results were amazing. His crew worked over the weekend to fit us in and were so kind and gracious when we visited. They took the time to clean and polish our stairs, which weren't being refinished, and haul off the carpet we had pulled up. Tom could not have been more helfpul and kept us updated every step of the way. When I read his reviews, the one F made me hesitate slightly but all of his A reviews convinced me. I am glad I reached out to him because he and his team saved the day for us and we have beautiful floors to show for it!
Description of Work
Refinshed 95 year old pine floors through out house.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Christian L.
1.0
05/26/2015
05/05/2016 The parties have agreed to a settlement that resolves all outstanding issues. The matter is now closed. Tom was asked to screen and resurface our hardwood floors (which were installed by 5th avenue floors) after the builder failed to protect the floor during construction (scratches were noted in the finish throughout the house). The screening process was completed in a timely manner; however, we noticed a number of areas with dirt/debris and bubbles embedded in the finish when viewed from a standing position under normal household lighting conditions. When contacted, Tom told us that our house is not a dust free environment and that dirt/debris in the finish is not uncommon. While we agreed that our house is not dust free, when we completed the initial and final walk-throughs of our newly constructed home, there were no obvious areas with dirt/debris or bubbles in the finish. So we essentially traded one problem (scratches throughout the finish) for another (dirt/debris and bubbles in the finish). Furthermore, when additional work was needed to correct some water damaged areas on our first floor, our home builder told us that 5th avenue floors would not be doing the work (even though our home and floors were still under warranty at that time) as they are very proud of the work they do and they felt like they couldn't meet our expectations. No corrections were made to the floor and our warranty (which was not honored) has expired.
Description of Work
Installed hardwood flooring on the first and second floors of our new home.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Elizabeth B.
5.0
08/01/2014
My family had an excellent experience working with 5th Avenue Floors! After helping us to determine the best product for our family and our home, Tom accommodated our challenging schedule with ease. The floor installers have exceptional talent and a meticulous eye for detail - they even detected and repaired a significant sub floor issue. Not only is the end product beautiful, but the process was so easy for us. To completely redo our large space (about 2000 square feet), it took only 2 1/2 days. Highly recommend!!
Description of Work
Removed and replaced large area of hardwood - repaired sub flooring.
Category
hardwood floor
Jen K.
5.0
06/17/2014
Everything went smoothly. We appreciated their willingness to accommodate a tight schedule as we needed the floors redone prior to moving in to our home. Crew was timely and neat and floors were completed within the agreed to timeframe. I really appreciated the time they took to sand various areas of our floor and put down multiple samples of stain so I could check the colors in various lighting situations. I never felt rushed to decide!
Description of Work
Sanded and refinished hardwood floors.
Category
hardwood floor
Adam B.
5.0
06/10/2013
Work was done in less than a week. Filled in all cracks in between floorboards and was able to display 3 color options of our choice to pick from. Flooring looked better than new when completed. Had many questions and concerns and Tom was more than happey to address any and everything we needed, even on such a small job. Fantastic product and Tom was extremely knowledgeable.
Description of Work
Sanded, repaired and replaced damaged boards, stained and sealed hardwood floor in hallway and bedroom and two closets. Also installed wood transitions into adjacent rooms.
Category
hardwood floor
David W.
5.0
02/14/2013
AMAZING. That is the only word to describe how the floors look. Tom was great to work with and they were done within two days. Simply astonishing how quick the work was done and the floors look brand new! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them in the future. Great company....great prices.
Description of Work
Refinished oak hardwoods in dining room, living room, family room, steps and two hallways.
Category
hardwood floor
Gerard M.
5.0
01/20/2013
I hire Tom Edwards at 5th Ave Floors to finish my hardwood floods in a building that was over 100 years old. Tom was very informative about old flooring. They replaced a few damaged boards and matched them up perfectly. I am real happy with the floors, and they left the home spotless, clean as a whistle. Thanks guys.
Description of Work
5th Ave Floors repaired some damaged sections of our wood floors, and then sanded and finished them.
Category
hardwood floor
Brittain H.
5.0
10/15/2011
We called Tom to set up an estimate and he was very quick to accomodate. Most of the contact wound up being through email, which worked well for us both. He checks it frequently throughout the day. He gave us several finish options and their costs onthe estimate. He was very flexible about scheduling since he understood that remodeling does not always go as planned. We gave him a target week to start the job. He was very understanding when we had to delay several days in order to finish the walls.Once work began it went very quickly. The longest part seemed to be the set up. They masked off the work areas carefully and started in the corners. The removal of the old finish was done in several hours. Then Tom came to finalize the stain choice. To all of our surprise, the stain we had selected, thinking it would be closest to the original, was so dark -that it matched the new cabinets. Through several other samples we came to the conclusion that the original was merely oil based varnish that had aged. Originally we had thought to stain and finish with the harder, faster curing water base-since it is the kitchen. But once Tom showed us what the oil based would look like . . it was an easy choice. They applied two coats on that day and brought in a finishing crew on the next day for the final buff and coat. The small was pretty strong, so we lived in the basement for a day or two, but it was worth it to see the diference in the depth of the wood grain on the floor. When it had all dried I noticed a small spot near the front door that had been missed as they painted their way out the door. The crew and Tom were back the next morning and took care of it quickly and carefully. Our floors look great and we are ver y happy with the service he provided.
Description of Work
Small repair and refinishing of kitchen and dining entry existing hardwood floors including thresholds and quarter rounds.
Category
hardwood floor
Nancy E.
5.0
08/18/2011
They are excellent. I have used them twice. I was delighted with their service the first time. They are very professional. The owner is very, very thorough. He gives wonderful estimates and his crew does nice work.
Description of Work
I used 5th Avenue Floors LLC to finish two hundred-year-old floors.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Nancy E.
5.0
02/13/2011
Tom Edwards is the consummate professional. He did everything the way a client would prefer - from the initial quote (which was done almost immediately - in July of 2010) to the actual work, which didn't happen for more than 6 months, due to his having to wait for other contractors to finish their work. I had to reschedule at least 3 times and never did he make me feel as if I were being a major headache for him - which I am sure I was. He cares about the quality of the work and his reputation - and he is an enthusastic teacher about wood flooring. I learned quite a bit from him. His price was more or less ballpark. Flooring prices seem to be pretty consistent across the board. I highly recommend this contractor, whom I found via Angie's List to begin with.
Description of Work
Fifth Avenue Floors refinished the heartwood pine floors in a 100 year-old rental property. They also replaced a missing board and filled in gaps at the ends of boards.
Category
hardwood floor
Mark H.
5.0
04/03/2010
He was a fabulous floor finisher and he was very good. The man's name is Tom Edwards. I liked his style and his pricing. The workmanship was fabulous. I think he mostly works with contractors. He is a consummate professional and he was always on time. He really demanded that I come and see the product to make sure we saw everything. He wanted us to see what he was doing face to face and so I came out of work and saw what his crew was doing. They were very fast and clean. He advised me very well on how to treat the floors and how to keep them. He did everything right. It is the only thing he does so he is a real specialist in this. His price seemed fair for the square footage that we were doing. He was really passionate about his work and I appreciated that.
Description of Work
We used 5th Avenue Floors to do all our floors before we moved into our house.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Other Information

Services offered

Hardwood flooring installation, refinishing & restoration.

FAQ

5th Avenue Floors LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

No, 5th Avenue Floors LLC does not offer free project estimates.

No, 5th Avenue Floors LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, 5th Avenue Floors LLC offers warranties.

5th Avenue Floors LLC offers the following services: Hardwood flooring installation, refinishing & restoration.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Bluehawkflooring llc

5.0

(7)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Bluehawkflooring llc

We are a company that offers installation of wood floors, sanding and refinish of wood floors, installation and repairs of laminate, lvp or waterproof materials, we install carpets and ceramic tile. We offer residential and commercial services. We started 3 years ago but we have a long experience. people fully trained in what they do very kind and understanding.  

Kerin's Flooring LLC

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Kerin's Flooring LLC

We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in flooring services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

Elegant Floor Services

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Elegant Floor Services

Elegant Floor Service has been offering leading, comprehensive wood floor services to residents in Maryland, Virginia, and DC since 1987! Our trusted, in-house contractors carry extensive experience and top-class training, ensuring we can meet all of your home or business flooring needs. From maintenance to total installation, you can count on Elegant Floor Service to provide. Offering many varieties of hardwood, flooring installation, refinishing, and restoration of stone floors.