Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc

Founded 1973 • With Angi since September 2009

4.1

(53) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8911 Oxon Hill Rd

Fort Washington, MD 20744

Description

Established in 1973. Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc. is a family-owned and operated full service Landscape contractor in the Washington, DC./Baltimore Mid-Atlantic Region since 1973. The Denison family has been growing our organization and over the last several years we have been named in the

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

07/28/2017


Mark F.

I've used Denison for leaf take out in the fall. I've been dealing with them for years.

Description of Work
They rake leaves and stuff.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

Mark, Thank you for the feedback! Looks like we came up short on a few issues like quality, punctuality and professionalism on your review. If you wouldn't mind giving us some extra feedback on how we can improve these traits and better serve you the next time around? Have a great day sir and thank you for working with us for so many years. - QA/QC
1.0

04/05/2017


James C.

See above. Note that they once claimed that we never hired them to do work in a rebuttal to an earlier review, and I have the invoice for the work in case anybody doubts our claim.

Description of Work
They hired day laborers to install a drainage system in our back yard. When I discovered them drilling holes in a plastic pipe for continuous drainage, and then connecting the pipes with duct tape, we brought in another group to finish that work. They were also hired to take down a cedar tree, which they dropped on a nearby boxwood hedge. I could go on. We had a horrible manager and a bad crew, but other people I know have had a good experience with Denison. Not us.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, tree service

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], While going through our sites and reaching out to old and new comments and complaints we reached out to [Member Name Removed] a few months after we saw he left a review. We did not claim that we never did the work, we said we could not find any record based off what we had to work with in the review. The separate review that was mentioned did not have a lot of definable information for us to use and did not have a last name attached to it. Not until we saw this review here did we see a much more detailed description of your project from 5 years ago and were able to look you up from your address. We sent you a message asking you to reach out to us because we'd like to talk about the situation. The first review was left 2-3 years after the work was completed and this review 5 years later so we were hoping to talk about what happened and what we did wrong in detail and how we could've helped you at the time. We still hope to hear from you and see how we can improve ourselves further so something like this never happens again and make amends. Please feel to reach out to our main desk 301-567-0210 and ask for our online administrator. - QAQC
2.0

03/16/2016


Steven C.

After taking measurements and getting an idea of the landscaping and backyard renovation I was seeking, Denison representative promised to return "within a week" with an estimate and a timeline for the requested job. A date and time for his return visit was set. However, the Denison representative did not show up as scheduled. Follow-up phone calls were not returned either by the representative nor anyone from Denison. I paid a visit to Denison nursery to find out the status of the estimate. I was informed that the representative was not on site at that time, and was "promised" that he would call me later that day to rescheduled. Never heard from this representative. Never heard from ANYONE at Denison. Horrible customer service. This is NOT how a company wins new customers.

Description of Work
Contacted provider for hardscaping estimate. Denison representative showed up at my house and took measurements, left materials featuring different types and colors of hardscape, and seemed eager to take on the job . The representative promised an estimate within a week.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

1.0

12/28/2015


Mary-Sarah A.

I was unable to reach anyone to receive a quote for services. I am unable to recommend or disapprove of services as I was unable to reach anyone.

Description of Work
I tried reaching this provider several times from May-October for lawn and sprinkler services estimates. I left several messages, but reached no one in the office at the various times I called. I did receive a call back, and when I tried to answer, they hung up. When I immediately returned the call, I received no response. I see their vehicles in my area so I know they must be very busy. It simply didn't workout for me.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems

4.0

10/20/2015


Joseph H.

We kind of held off on it and I tried my own hand at it and we finally got some grass to grow. We didn't use them. They were good. I didn't think it would cost that much. I thought the estimate was kind of high. My interaction with them was great. He was on it. He explained what all had to be done. If I didn't have any success with it myself, I probably would have gone back and gotten them. It cost me a lot less. Their quote was pretty detailed. They came right out. They responded real quick.

Description of Work
We got an estimate from them. My front lawn has got a real hard slope to it. I was going to take out all the grass and just put in gravel or mulch or something. We could hardly get grass to grow on that slope. They gave an estimate to come out, dig it up, put in topsoil and dirt and all that because there's a lot of rocks out here in this neighborhood.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

3.0

07/05/2015


Vidyasagar A.

2 people showed and they were simply wasting time and at the end they charged huge amount of price by calculating the unnecessary number of hours.

Description of Work
Sprinkler Tune Up

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems

2.0

03/12/2015


William C.

When Denison Landscaping answers the phone or email, all is well. Problem is trying to get a hold of them and then having the company follow back up. Denison Landscaping came out to my house in 2012 and built a rather large retaining wall behind my house and replaced the lower deck platform that was badly tilting due to excessive soil erosion. Denison Landscaping did a great job, the price was very reasonable so after that job was completed, we had do additional work to the front of the house consisting of hardscape the two front gardens with stone and build a paver pathway to our front door from the driveway. Total for all that work was approximately $15,000. All the work was great so we were hopefull to have them come out in 2014 to so some more work. I both called and emailed the company via their "contact us" form on their website and no answer. I'd call the residential services phone number and every single time, it would go to voice mail. After 3 or 4 attempts, I gave up and we hired someone else to do the additional work. Now it's March 2015 and I need an additional retaining wall built to level out the ground to support stairs for a new deck that's being installed next month so naturally, I'd like Denison Landscaping to come out and do the work because of the outstanding job on the first retaining wall. This time, in the course of three days, I called twice and left voice messages, sent them a message via Angie's List (because now I'm a member) and on top of that, I emailed the company via regular email, not the "contact us" on their website. Several days later I get a call back from an answering service on Monday, March 16 stating they got my message and I would get a call back. Three days later, no phone call or email. This is the last time I'm going to contact Denison Landscaping for anything. Good workmanship, good prices but very hard to get a hold of and unreliable when it comes to communicating with their clients. No one actually answers the phone; customers just get invited to leave a message. In the end, not worth the time and effort.

Description of Work
Built retaining wall of 6x6 timber. Built new stone wall around two gardens. Installed a paver walkway.

Category decks, landscaping, mulch, hardscaping

4.0

10/23/2014


Patricia G.

The job was completed after three (3) visits. The provider returned the second time to smooth out the graded area and the third time to lay seed and straw. After three visits the yard is looking much better. They were kind of hard to pin down to complete the job, but they got it done.

Description of Work
The provider graded the existing low area on the side of my house and laid seed and straw over the graded area.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/07/2014


SHAMARLI K.

Everything was done professionally and timely.

Description of Work
Denison built our backyard patio

Category landscaping

2.0

04/26/2014


Lillian T.

The initial estimate went swimmingly. I waited to contact the Denison Representative to engage them to do the work. When I did make contact to hire them for the job, the Representative that performed the initial estimate stated that my job was given to the Department Head and that he would contact me. I waited several weeks to hear from the Department Head to no avail. I contacted the original Representative to let her know that I had not heard from anyone. Couple of months later, I still have not heard back from Denison. Little did they know that depending on how well they performed on the initial job, I had other work I would have hired them to perform. However, that is no longer the case.

Description of Work
No services rendered apart from initial estimate

Category landscaping

5.0

04/21/2014


LaKarla L.

Very well. My yard looks like new and fresh!

Description of Work
A year of lawn service maintenance, clean up after cuts, edge curbs, and extra for spring clean up leaves, mulch, trim bushes.

Category lawn service

4.0

04/17/2014


Rachel K.

in sping of 2013 we had some landscaping done in our front yard. The price was reasonable and we were pleased with the outcome. We contacted Denison this year to have the landscaping pruned and munching done. Basic sping touch ups done. I called for an estimate and my phone call was promptly returned that day. I set up a date and time for an estimate to be done. That is where the good service ended. They never showed or called on the day we set for the estimate. I called the company to complain. Got a call back from the same employee who was supposed to come on that day. He apologized and said it was a oversite and he forgot to put it on his calendar. He then said that he would come out ASAP and do the estimate and give me a call soon. Five days past and I did not hear from him. I then called and left him a message directly asking if he had come. That was five days ago and have not received a return phone call. I am pleased with the work that was done last year however, I am very dissapointed in the customer service this year. For that reason I would not use them in the future.

Description of Work
landscaping in front of yard

Category landscaping, mulch

5.0

02/24/2014


Catherine W.

I purchase things from them all the time. It is a family run business. They are highly professional and they guarantee their plants for at least a year as long as you do what they tell you to do to take care of them and it is entirely successful on my part. They are a bit expensive than the independent people that go around your house.

Description of Work
I used the landscaping service of Denison Landscaping & Nursery. They planted some bushes in my front yard several years ago.

Category landscaping

1.0

01/21/2014


Jane A.

I wanted to spend money on landscaping. They never responded to my requests. So I spent $100k with someone else. Now, in person? I have had good experience when buying from their business. WHEN I GO IN PERSON. But they are just too busy for some of us. I can understand being busy, but they could have responded to me and told me that.....instead of ignoring me.

Description of Work
Nothing. I wanted landscaping done. I filled out a request online. I heard nothing. I went in person and filled out a form. I heard nothing. I filled out another request online. I heard nothing.

Category landscaping

3.0

12/09/2013


Charles D.

I have used them a number of times. Unfortunately, a few times they did not show up until 3 weeks after I called them. They were never able to give me a specific day and time that the work would be done. Sometimes I had to call twice. They were not good at following instructions. However, it looks like they are the only game in town where I live since I can't really get anyone else to show up for that price sometimes any price.

Description of Work
Trimmed plants and flowers and pulled weeds.

Category landscaping

5.0

10/03/2013


Jay K.

It's okay. It would be much better if I had taken care of it. A couple of the heavy winters we had, did some damage. The wall is okay and most of it is still pretty good. It was a little pricey but I had seen their work and I knew that I would get a good product. I didn't have any issues with the estimate, landscape architect or the crew. I was at work for most of the work. They did a pretty good job in just a couple of days.

Description of Work
I used Denison Landscaping & Nursery to put in a low stone wall around my landscaping and they redid the landscaping.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

1.0

09/04/2013


Mary M.

No work was done at my address below because Denison never contacted me. By now, I think that someone should have contacted me about whether or not they could give me an assessment and do the work. Also, see my commentst under "What did the provider do?"

Description of Work
On 7/24/13 I left a voice mail message for Denison to come to my home to assess whether grading/raising the elevation of the dirt/soil in my yard would solve the problem of water coming in my basement.. I never got a call from them. So I went to their business office on 7/27/13, filled out a form requesting this service, and gave it to the receptionist. She said it would be 5 to 7 days before they would contact me. It is now September 4, 2013 and I have not yet heard from them. Therefore, I give them "F" for responsiveness and professionalism. I cannot rate them on price, quality, or punctuality because they never contacted me about providing the service I requested.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/14/2013


Harold C.

I went into contract this year with them but I have been using them for many years. They are very punctual and very professional. They are a little bit more expensive but I never feel t like I am being robbed. They give me cheaper options and sometimes, they tell me how to do it myself instead of me having them do it and then pay for it, so I like that about them. They charge me a $120 for the spring service and I can find a guy that will probably do it in $100. But in the end, they don’t take advantage of me and they do a good job and they get it done. I think it is a very fair price but it is still expensive than most of them if not all of them. They give me a window of one to six and they are here at 5.55 so they are within the time that they say are going to be but I am always their last customer! They are very professional.

Description of Work
I used Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc for my sprinkler system. They blow out the air, set it up for the spring and the fall, and service the sprinkler system.

Category irrigation systems

5.0

06/29/2013


Daniel I.

Very well. Small problem at first with grade of gravel, but they were accommodating and delivered some extra, while removing the unusable portion. Deliveries of field stone and soil were very timely, and well placed. Soil quality was oustanding. Very professional service overall.

Description of Work
Delivered gravel, field stone and soil.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/25/2013


Charlena Y.

They were really good, they came out and they had suggestions and said that it would be too late to lay sod and grass seeds and suggested a better time frame to do that and ideas on different plants we're planting, they're really good.

Description of Work
Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc. just came out and gave a quote. It's a thousand just for the garden bed and laying rocks.

Category landscaping, lawn service

3.0

06/17/2013


Charronne J.

The technician was on time and professional. The work he did was okay. However, after he left water was leaking into my basement. I called them to come out immediately to fix the leak but they said they could not come out until four days later. I had to hire a plumber to come out that day. I was not happy with their service.

Description of Work
I originally hired them to turn on the irrigation system.

Category irrigation systems

5.0

05/16/2013


Paula T.

They were good and professional. Their price is a little high but they did what they were supposed to do.

Description of Work
Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc removed some trees and did the landscape in my front yard.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

5.0

05/10/2013


Mrs. Shirley G.

They did a great job. They were done in a timely manner. They were very polite and courteous--I would use them again.

Description of Work
They planted shrubbery and moved 1 azalea out around to the back of my home. They also mulched for me.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

04/10/2013


William B.

We used them in March. They did a flowerbed and cleaned up bushes and trees. The quality of the work was excellent, the response time was good, they were able to work with my schedule. They offered great craftsmanship. The price was high but the quality of the work was good. I will use their services again.

Description of Work
I use Denison Landscaping for Landscaping.

Category landscaping

5.0

01/30/2013


monique H.

I liked them a lot. The only difference between them and the company I ended up using was that Dennison did not use a 3D program to show how the project would look. The company I used had this 3D program which was very important to me. It allowed me to see the project and made decisions based upon how the 3D image looked. I liked the people, their responsiveness was excellent, and the people were great. The price was also competitive. The only difference was the program.

Description of Work
I got an estimate for landscaping work.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

    Other local Pros in your area

    Avec Construction Inc

    We are locally owned and operated construction company and have been doing installations and remodelling since 2005. We like to differ ourselves from the competition with the exceptional customer service and care, attention to the details and therefore to excellence in quality of workmanship and products. With each and every project being unique, we do oversee the entire project from initial design and free estimate, the permit applications, throughout the entire construction to very last clean up. We treat your project with the highest priority and take a pride in each and every installation. Our satisfied customers are our best advertisement.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    MRW Lawns Inc

    Over 30+ years, we have worked hard to make the trademark virtues our customers have come to know us by. Whether it is for the quality professional products and technicians, or the honest way we present expectations and meet or exceed them. MRW Lawns, Inc. remains the best choice when you choose to hire a professional lawn care and pest control company.  

    Angi Certified

    Next Vision Services LLC

    Next Vision Services, is here to help you on your Next project on Hardscape and Tree removal. Let us make your Vision come true, with our Stone patios to Retaining walls and walkways, serving Central and Northern Va.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    39539_2701038241_400316800354
    Trade License Locale
    Maryland_Virginia_DC
    Trade License Authority
    DLLR
    Trade License Expiration
    09/09/2018
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential landscape design, Landscape Architectural Drawings, SketchUp/Photoshop/AutoCAD Architectural Renderings, irrigation, plant pruning, lawn fertilization, outdoor lighting, drainage & erosion control, lawn maintenance, holiday lighting, snow removal, fall & spring yard clean ups, leaf removal, hardscapes, decks, fencing, outdoor sound system, stormwater management, Master Planning & Landscape Architecture, tree removal

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc

    How is Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc overall rated?

    Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc open?

    Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc provide

    Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing, Discover

    Does Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc?

    Yes, Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc offer?

    Denison Landscaping & Nursery Inc offers the following services: Residential landscape design, Landscape Architectural Drawings, SketchUp/Photoshop/AutoCAD Architectural Renderings, irrigation, plant pruning, lawn fertilization, outdoor lighting, drainage & erosion control, lawn maintenance, holiday lighting, snow removal, fall & spring yard clean ups, leaf removal, hardscapes, decks, fencing, outdoor sound system, stormwater management, Master Planning & Landscape Architecture, tree removal