Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC

Founded 1990 • With Angi since June 2005

4.5

(46) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO BOX 188

Forest Hill, MD 21050

Description

We do all types of electrical wiring from changing light bulbs to wiring shopping centers. No job is to small we offer senior citizens and military discounts all pricing for jobs is done upfront before we start the work. Estimates are free we also offer 24 hours 7 days a week for emergency calls.All work comes with 1 year garantee on parts and labor our technians are qualified to handle any type of electrical situation. Testerman Electrical is licensed in Maryland Delaware and Pennsylvania....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/14/2016


David E.

It did not. Although his office confirmed appointment, he did not show up and no one ever called back. I do not believe his company "blurb" and there is no way I would recommend this company!

Description of Work
Wanted estimate to replace a service entry cable.

Category electrician

5.0

06/16/2016


Bryan M.

The young man who did the work seemed quite knowledgeable and friendly; he answered all my questions. He cleaned up after himself, he even brought in a vacuum. They were fair in their pricing, as well as punctual. Overall, it was a pleasant experience to work with them.

Description of Work
They fixed a couple sockets and a light fixture.

Category electrician

4.0

05/27/2016


Eston H.

I eventually ended up changing all wiring for the lights in the basement myself and doing a different kind of lighting. It would have been good to get some advice from them instead of just doing exactly what I thought I wanted. They could have recommended something better, but they did what I asked. So, I cannot blame them for that because, I did not really know what to ask for.

Description of Work
I was working in my basement and they helped me with some wiring down there.

Category electrician

5.0

03/28/2016


Shawn J.

It was $99 but required materials which was the additional $60

Description of Work
Installed an outdoor electrical socket.

Category electrician

5.0

03/11/2016


Scott C.

It went well. They were efficient and they got everything done that I wanted.

Description of Work
They added two new outlets.

Category electrician

5.0

03/07/2016


Robert H.

Everything went well. They sent two technicians and they finished all of the items on our list. This was the Angie's List coupon for an electrician for a day. It is well worth it if you have a number of things to be worked on. Technicians and phone staff very professional.

Description of Work
Replaced 3 ceiling fans, 7 lights, took out track lighting

Category electrician

4.0

02/25/2016


lawrence C.

Went very well. Electrician was veryknowledgeable and efficient.

Description of Work
Upgraded outlets to GFI

Category electrician

1.0

02/23/2016


Marcie A P.

We asked the service provider to diagnose and fix a problem with a ceiling fan. We had someone else try to install it but it wasn't working. Don came and spent no more than 10 minutes in the house, told us the fan wasn't working and left. We exchanged the fan and asked him to come back, diagnose the electric to make sure that the wiring had no problems, and if everything was fine to install the fan. We said that if there was an additional wiring problem that we'd pay more to get that done. We called multiple times but he never came back to fix the issue. We paid $99.00 for $200 worth of services. I guess he thinks his time is worth $200/10 minutes. Extremely disappointed with the results of this interaction. We would have paid more to fix any additional issues that needed to be resolved, but he never gave us the opportunity to do that. He refused to come back and complete the job.

Description of Work
We asked him to diagnose our electrical issues, see if there was anything wrong with the wiring, fix anything that was wrong, and install a ceiling fan.

Category electrician

5.0

02/08/2016


Thomas D.

Had a weird problem - dropped a backpack close to an electrical outlet and power went out on 3 of the 5 outlets in the living room immediately afterwards. Couldn't figure it out and saw a deal on Angie's list with Testerman Electrical. Danny from Testerman Electrical was courteously early. He was about 15 min early and parked around the corner waiting for the time to arrive. My wife saw him parked as she left for work and waved him in. Danny asked a couple questions about the work, confirming the earlier discussion with Testerman (they were very courteous on the phone) and he got right to things. About a half hour to install the new fan, and about 15 min to troubleshoot/fix the outlet problem - a grounding wire got knocked loose when the backpack dropped taking down the outlets. All better, and don't have to use an extension cord to power the TV any more. Would definitely use Danny and Testerman again. Thanks!

Description of Work
Install ceiling fan and fix outlet problem

Category electrician

3.0

01/20/2016


PHYLLIS F.

Expected the electrician to stay 2 hours. Wasn't able to do what we wanted because of extenuating circumstances on our part,

Description of Work
Put a cover over an outdoor electric box. Checked fuse box and outlets. Didn;t think it was worth $139....was gone inside of an hour

Category electrician

5.0

01/08/2016


Karen T S.

The guys were great. I did not have the lightbulbs that I needed and they waited for me to run out to the store and get some. Very nice and professional.

Description of Work
Hung a new chandelier in my foyer, 2 stories up.

Category electrician

5.0

12/03/2015


Paul and Brenda C.

After checking the two ceiling fans, they located the problem and gave us the option of ordering the parts and having them come back to replace them or replacing the fans at a much lower rate. We chose this option. They came back next morning and replaced fans quickly and cleaned up any mess before leaving. We decided against replacing motion detector. Workers, Matt and Chris, were extremely professional and helpful. We would definitely use this company and recommend them to family and friends.

Description of Work
Lights did not function ontwo ceiling fans and checked motion detector light.

Category electrician

2.0

11/05/2015


Bryan G.

It took me a while to get them scheduled. This was partly my fault and partly theirs. They showed up to do the job and had purchased two dimmers for my lights. They charged me $100 for two dimmers that aren't near that cost at the store. The guy installed the dimmers and fixed another light switch for me in a matter of 15-20 minutes then left. A couple hours after he left, I noticed that one of the dimmers was extremely hot to the touch, and the other one stopped working all together. I contacted them and they were able to come back the next day but only first thing in the morning at 7am. I got up early to take my pups out before they got there, and they ended up arriving about an hour late. He finally showed and fixed the heating issue and seemed to fix the non working problem on the other switch, but realized he needed different parts that he didn't have with him. He then left to go get them and didn't return for about 2 hours and I had to sit waiting for him to return with no contact info in case I had to leave. He finally returned and fixed it all. It is all functional and working properly, but it was a painful experience that I paid $300 for. I won't use them again and I should have gotten some of my money back.

Description of Work
Installed dimmers on two switches and switched another light switch around.

Category electrician

2.0

08/20/2015


Joanne G.

I purchased an Angie's List coupon. 75.00 for 200.00 worth of labor. The provider's communication wasn't the best, but I know I can be tough to reach. It was ok. They were supposed to call when they were on their way to my house. There was no call. They just showed up. Better than not showing up, but I would have cleared some things out of the area where they were to work. I wanted to have an outlet installed in my garage and I wanted to have a light fixture installed. I was clear about the circumstances with the light fixture. When the electricians arrived they said they didn't do the kind of work entailed with the fixture. I accept that, but I probably wouldn't have purchased the coupon for what turned out to be about 1/2 hours work. To make matters worse, when I called to set this up, I asked the person who scheduled the appointment if I needed to buy an outlet. She said they carry them in the truck. I expected to pay something extra for the convenience of not going to the store, but I was blown away by the fact that they charged me 75.00 for the outlet and some wire! At Home Depot, a better outlet cost 10.00 approximately. I later saw them for 5.29. The electrican who wrote up the bill said, "that is what my boss told me to charge you" when I questioned the charge. What a rip off. The total came to 150.00 for 1/2 hour's work, which I would have probably spent (or maybe less) with another electrician without the coupons. I paid the bill, but I will never use Testerman Electric again, and I will seriously consider bothering with the Angie's List Coupons. It seems that this vendor was going to recoup full charge, one way or the other. .

Description of Work
Installed an electrical outlet

Category electrician

5.0

08/06/2015


Steven S.

Scheduled same day I made first contact, came on time (a little early, actually) and performed the work well and quickly. The Angie's List Big Deal discount was $99 for $200 worth of services. Testerman charges $250/hr. but the job took only half that. I paid an additional $50 to Testerman.

Description of Work
Replaced an old fluorescent fixture in basement with a new one.

Category electrician

5.0

12/26/2014


Dave B.

My wife really wanted this chandelier hung before Christmas, and when it arrived on 12/22, I made calls immediately. I wasn't very optimistic that I could find a reasonable provider who could do the job in such a short timeframe especially since the new chandelier was significantly heavier than the old one. However, Donny Testerman said that he could have someone there tomorrow (Christmas Eve) morning. Danny and Matt showed up early for the appointment the next morning and did an excellent job overall. They went up in the attic to view the box and ensure that it could in fact support the 80lb of the new chandelier. Throughout the job, they were very patient with my supervision and made sure that everything was exactly the way I wanted before they left the job site. Today, 12/26, the chandelier is still shining brightly and is still up there in the two-story foyer. Overall, we are very pleased with the Testerman Electric and are in the process of getting a few more estimates for additional electrical projects in the house.

Description of Work
Testerman Electric was hired to remove and replace a chandelier in a 2-story foyer.

Category electrician

1.0

10/07/2014


sandra P.

We did not receive a reply when we tried to schedule. I received several emails about asking if I wanted all the services provided in the offer but no response to possible scheduling dates.

Description of Work
.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

This customer has the wrong company. We did not do any work at this address or have any customer with this name. Please correct this immediately! Barbara Memmo Office Manager
5.0

05/10/2013


Doug W.

The professionalism of these guys was very refreshing! Clean, neat, courteous and very knowledgeable. The best contractor experience ever! They came out when scheduled, got the work done without trying to sell me something I didn't need. They found some safety issues, and some inefficient ways I was lighting and made very intelligent and knowledgeable suggestions. Their pricing was more than reasonable, and they delivered the goods on time and under budget!! Best customer service I have had form a contractor ever!

Description of Work
Called Don with Testerman Electric because my exterior lights were having issues. Needed them to come make repairs They changed out my light bulbs. and fully restore the Lighting. I was unavailable at the time so they patiently communicated through my assistant. Then they came back and put in new fixtures and upgraded timers and sensors for the most efficient and secure lighting ever!

Category electrician

1.0

01/09/2008


SHERRY M.

They were to come out, but never showed up nor called. When I called them, they didn't know what happen. We did have bad weather but they should have called to inform me that no one would be out.

Description of Work
Needed to have some work done.

Category electrician

3.0

11/14/2006


PAUL S.

They were a subcontractor recommended by my kitchen installer, so unfortunately, I did not get bids from other electricians. The upgrade of the electrical box failed the inspection by the city inspector, requiring Testerman to come back out and then me having to reschedule a second appointment with the city inspector (they come any time between 9 and 5, so I missed way too much work for this). On several occasions the people coming out to do the work were not clear on what they were supposed to do, apparently due to a lack of communication with their supervisor, with whom I communicated.

Description of Work
Upgraded electrical service in house from 100 to 200 amp; did electrical work as part of kitchen renovation - installed 3 recessed lights in ceiling, added three outlets, two switches, installed under counter lighting, and hooked up power to garbage disposal.

Category electrician

2.0

08/21/2006


TRACY S.

Initial contact seemed very professional but initial quote did not list specific work to be included (labor, materials, etc.). After inquiry, was told that all work could be completed in 1 day. I insisted that the day the company was to do the work that they arrive on time because I had a meeting to go to. They were late. Either way, the work would not be completed in 1 day. BGE had to come out afterwards to move the meter outside, Testerman to finish, and then an appointment made with the inspector. The company has visited our house at least 4 times (and 2 other times without notice), and the work is not completed. The inspector has visited twice, and the electric is not up to code to date. We have not been billed for any work as of yet, but we also have not heard from Testerman as to when the work will be completed. Testerman left the house a mess after its inside work, and has not offered to replace the ceiling tiles it cut out of the basement ceiling.

Description of Work
Hired at the end of June to Upgrade Electrical (220) in Rowhome built in 1950's, provide an extra outlet in front of home and extra for the dryer in the basement. Estimate was $1975.00. Used This Company based on other reviews in Angie's List. I had planned to wait until the work was completed to report, but almost three months has passed since initial contact and company has not contacted us as to when work will be completed.

Category electrician

5.0

03/01/2006


DAN C.

Two electricians were on time, had the correct installation equipment, knowledgeable, cleaned work area when done, job completed on time and I am extremely pleased. We discussed recessed lighting and they are very helpful. No doubt that when the time comes testerman will do the electrical work. By the way the price they charged was excellent.

Description of Work
Install a replacement dining room fixture in a dining room with a 20 foot ceiling. Move a doorbell button. Help layout of recessed lighting fixtures in basement family room.

Category electrician

5.0

06/28/2005


DIANA W.

WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH THIS COMPANY'S SERVICE. THEY WERE VERY HELPFUL IN HELPING US CHOOSE THE BEST AFFORDABLE OPTIONS THAT WERE AVAILABLE TO US. WE FEEL LIKE WE GOT OUR MONEYS WORTH.

Description of Work
I HAD A SWITCH REPLACED ON THE WELL PUMP. I HAD ELECTRICAL WIRING DONE FOR MY NEW STOVE. UPGRADED ELECTRIC IN HOUSE.

Category electrician

5.0

06/20/2005


LINDA N.

TESTERMAN ELECTRIC DID AN EXCELLENT JOB ON THE OUTLETS. ALL I'VE GOT TO DO IS FLIP ONE LIGHT SWITCH AND ALL THE CANDLES IN MY WINDOWS GO ON OR OFF. WE ARE VERY PLEASED WITH THEIR WORK.

Description of Work
TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL WAS HIRED TO WIRE MY ELECTRIC SOCKETS SO THAT ONE SWITCH WOULD CONTROL ALL THE WINDOW OUTLETS TO LIGHT ELECTRIC CANDLES.

Category electrician

4.0

06/20/2005


ALVERTA L.

WHILE OUR CALLS WERE RETURNED, WE PLAYED PHONE TAG FOR A FEW DAYS WHEN THE TWO YOUNG MEN CAME TO THE HOUSE THEY PROCEEDED TO DO THE WORK RIGHT AWAY. HOWEVER, THEY DROPPED THE OLD LIGHT THAT WAS IN THE FOYER AND THEN HAD TO CLEAN UP THE BROKEN GLASS. EVERYTHING ELSE WAS FINE AND OUR OUTSIDE LAMPPOST WORKS FINE. WE WERE GIVEN A SENIOR DISCOUNT OF 10%.

Description of Work
TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO. WAS CALLED BECAUSE OUR OUTSIDE LAMP POST WAS NOT WORKING. THEY FIXED THAT AND ALSO INSTALLED A NEW LIGHT, WHICH WE HAD PURCHASED, IN THE FOYER. WE WANTED THE NEW LIGHT MOVED TO A MORE CENTRAL LOCATION THAN THE OLD ONE, AND THIS WAS DONE.

Category electrician

    Other local Pros in your area

    Ultra Guard Security Systems

    We are a local boutique security company in Gaithersburg, MD. We offer solutions from residential smart homes to full commercial operations. Personal service, expert design and installation, and cutting edge technology are our strengths.  

    Offers by Ultra Guard Security Systems on Angi
    VIP Telecommunications LLC

    Serving the east cost since 2009, Vip Telecom, LLC is that rare choice in a business where you not only receive professional acumen but much more. We provide superb craftsmanship, dedication to customer satisfaction, and all the skills utilized to cater to your needs expertly. Vip Telecom, LLC has proven, trained, background-checked workers working under its banner. We are on time, on a budget, and we’re perfectionists! All of our work is guaranteed to achieve 100% customer satisfaction. Call us now if you need our antenna installation, TV mounting, and cord cutting services in east cost states PA, NJ, NY, DE, MD, WV, VA, NC and SC. We cut right through difficulties. Call us toll-free at 1-855-KORDKUT Antenna installations , flat TV mounting , & custom wiring -security camera installation.  

    Callahan Electric

    Callahan Electrical Services is an electrical contractor with 6 employees. We believe that we offer a product and service above and beyond larger companies because of our more involved, personal touch. We have grown our business with no advertising until now, through referral and word of mouth, from our attention to detail and our courteous and friendly staff. At the present time, we accept checks or cash.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    NEW AND EXISTING HOMES WITH ELECTRICAL REPAIRS AND NEW INSTALLATIONS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC

    How is TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC overall rated?

    TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC open?

    TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC provide

    TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC offers free project estimates.

    Does TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC offer a senior discount?

    No, TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC offer emergency services?

    Yes, TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC?

    Yes, TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC offers warranties.

    What services does TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC offer?

    TESTERMAN ELECTRICAL CO INC offers the following services: NEW AND EXISTING HOMES WITH ELECTRICAL REPAIRS AND NEW INSTALLATIONS.