Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bluestone Landscaping LLC

Founded 2005 • With Angi since March 2007

Owner-operated. No travel charges. Extra charge for after hour services may apply. May contact through email.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(124) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 124 reviews
Russell S.
5.0
09/03/2017
We moved back to our home after renting it for a couple of years. The yard was a mess and the trees were overgrown. John and his team were professional, courteous, and fast. They showed up with a smile on their face and got right to work. Over the span of a couple of days they removed the old leaves, weeded, laid new mulch, put down river rock to correct a drainage issue, and planted some new plants to help control erosion. I have used Bluestone multiple times and I always feel like it was a great service at a great price. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
Large yard cleanup
Category
landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, mulch, tree service, hardscaping
Maryann C.
5.0
06/19/2017
Bluestone was easy to schedule and completed according to schedule. Workers were polite and completed the job efficiently and on time.
Description of Work
Mulching of gardens and topsoil and seed a portion of lawn .
Category
lawn service
Owen L.
5.0
06/18/2017
I have found John's team to be a reliable and reasonably priced regular mowing service.
Description of Work
Regular Mowing Service
Category
lawn service
Joanne E.
5.0
04/07/2017
Bluestone Landscaping did a great job with the aeration and seeding. The owner, John Cochran, and the crew are knowledgeable, thoughtful, and meticulous with their work. While the job was not an easy fix, John discussed all of our options and offered his best advice. My husband is retired military and holds anyone with whom we contract to very high standards. John and his team have always met the bar! We have been working with Bluestone for almost a decade. I recommend Bluestone without hesitation.
Description of Work
Aeration and seeding of lawn. Our home is located in an old hard-wood forest of tall oaks, poplars, sycamores etc. The tree canopy provides so much shade that growing grass is very difficult. Our acre of ground was in dire need of aeration and seeding when we moved in.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, mulch
Billy & Doedy G.
1.0
08/29/2016
I called the company and texted them a couple of days ago, but haven't heard from anyone. I spoke to a person on the phone at inception, he advised that he would call me back but never did.
Description of Work
I needed landscaping (grass mowing, ect...)
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Bob W.
2.0
06/03/2016
On average the crew spends 10 minutes or less. Sometimes they edge, sometimes they don't. Frequently they do not even blow the patio or walkways leaving cut grass for me to cleanup. The mower often throws grass over my car, sometimes they blow it off, sometimes they don't. Generally when they come it looks like a NASCAR pit stop, in and out as fast as possible. We have been a customer for over two years and we have decided to move. I paid the contract in full each year. We contacted them about refunding the unused months in the contract and have heard nothing. My sense is that the more you spend, the service improves. Based upon our service, I would not recommend this company.
Description of Work
Cut the grass and edged along walkways, mulched, and fertilized. Annual contract.
Category
lawn service
Matthew H.
5.0
05/22/2016
John was very straightforward, professional, and courteous. He responded immediately to my request to assess the work and even met me on a Sunday afternoon. I did need to ping him to submit the actual quote, but he scheduled the work relatively quickly, even during the rainiest May in memory. Bluestone does excellent, even meticulous work. They preserved 90+% of the sod over the areas where they buried drain pipe. Best of all, the price was superior to another quote from a very reputable service here on Angie's list.
Description of Work
(1) Edged, re-mulched and applied pre-emergent weed control to one large bed and three smaller ones, removed a dead arborvitae and planted an azalea. (2) Installed four buried drain pipes from downspouts with pop-up draings. (3) Installed 3 layers of 4 x 4 landscape timbers to finish the periphery of a 5' x 8' raiin garden.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch, drain pipe
ELAINE L.
5.0
07/20/2015
Very happy with the results and the whole experience with John Cochran and his company. John was able to assess the situation and give me an estimate in a very timely manner. Then, he was able to do the work quickly. The crew was very professional and left my patio looking just great. I would definitely use Bluestone Landscaping again and recommend them to my friends.
Description of Work
Cleared out overgrown growth on patio of townhouse. Included trimming tree, removing small tree, bushes and various other plants and ivy. Also, mulched area.
Category
lawn service
Beth S.
5.0
05/10/2015
The first few times I worked with them, I didn't even meet anyone. John drove by our house, emailed an estimate, I told him I'd like the work done, and they did it the next day! When I hired them for some bigger jobs, John walked around the house with me and was very thorough asking what I'd like. They did the job quickly and I'm very satisfied!
Description of Work
We had a side of our house that was rocky/sandy soil. Bluestone added top soil, this green mesh stuff that prevents erosion and sod. They did a great job and the lawn looks excellent. We have also had them trim bushes, install mulch (they did a nice thick layer of mulch - I was very impressed), and they have also cleared leaves for us in the fall.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, mulch, tree service
Reynita T.
5.0
04/22/2015
They're efficient. Basically I called them yesterday, I came home today, and my grass is cut. They did a good job cutting it. I absolutely have no complaints.
Description of Work
Bluestone Landscaping did my yard. They cut the grass but I have a decent side yard and they did both sides of the sidewalk for me
Category
landscaping
Krista I.
5.0
02/02/2015
Very professional and easy to work with. Was not done in the time frame they said it would have been done, but was apologetic enough and discounted the service. We will definitely be using him again!
Description of Work
Snow removal from a long curvy driveway.
Category
snow removal
John K.
5.0
10/28/2014
Provider has been very responsive to all questions and came out the same day that we requested an estimate.
Description of Work
Mowing and other landscape maintenance.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Phyllis M.
5.0
07/16/2014
We are simply THRILLED at the work completed by this company!! John Cochran was very easy to work with. He provided us with a thorough statement of work/estimate. Our property has a tremendous amount of landscaping - - and we simply were not able to keep up with it. We were embarrassed by how overgrown the shrubs had become, large weeds had over-taken the beds. We were overwhelmed and didn't even known where to begin to restore our mess of a yard! John's crew was polite, extremely hard-working and seemingly tireless!! On some of the hottest weather we have seen this summer, those guys were like a group of Energizer Bunnies. They removed countless trailers full of trimmings, weeds, branches, Unbelievably in a few short days we have our property back. What had become an eyesore is now a manicured showplace and the envy of our neighbors! We would absolutely, positively recommend Bluestone Landscaping and will definitely use their services again.
Description of Work
Restored order to a severely over-grown and neglected 1/2 acre property. Removed a fairly large tree, substantially trimmed back and shaped shrubs, weeded, edged, put down mulch, planted shrubs and a tree.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service
Margaret M.
5.0
06/18/2014
They were excellent and really good. They were very goof with follow up. They corrected a problem that we had in our draining in our yard. The problem was not totally fixed but they came back a couple times and they figured out what was wrong. They were very good follow through to make sure it was really fixed.
Description of Work
They did a drain in the back yard. We had water that was coming in the corner of our house. Because of the grade of the land they had to add a fridge drain.
Category
drain pipe
Jessica S.
5.0
06/17/2014
John has always been very prompt and professional in all of our dealings with him over the last few years. His crew is quick and consistently leaves our lawn looking neat and well-groomed.
Description of Work
Yearly landscaping contract includes weekly mowing and trimming, mulch, weed-control and fertilizer application, aeration and over-seeding.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch
Damien L.
5.0
06/15/2014
This is my 2nd year using them. No issues
Description of Work
Weekly grass cutting
Category
lawn service
Emily S.
5.0
06/10/2014
They show up every week and do a good job. And been very responsive to our requests.
Description of Work
Lawn care
Category
lawn service
Russell S.
5.0
06/02/2014
Took 3 guys about 4-5 hours. Guys were very professional and did a great job. Very pleased and will use them in the future.
Description of Work
Spring clean up, bushes and trees trimmed back, splitting and transplanting plants, mulch on a 1/2 acre lot.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service
DIANA S.
5.0
05/30/2014
MY yard is gorgeous. When John comes I feel like a Princess-I leave in the AM and return and the yard is beautiful. They always do a good job-we have used them for several years
Description of Work
clean flower beds, edged beds and mulched the flower beds
Category
lawn service, mulch
Theresa B.
3.0
05/14/2014
I found the crew came to mow whether or not the lawn needed mowing. The owner was always receptive when I contacted him to let him know of problems and things would be okay for a week or so, and then the crew would come to cut and end up scalping the lawn. As nice as the owner was, I could not recommend him to others.
Description of Work
Mowing. Cuts were to be done as needed.
Category
lawn service
George C.
5.0
05/14/2014
We are using this company for lawn care the first time this year and a month and half in, they are doing very well. Always show up on time, are quick and unobtrusive, and have been doing a good job for a very fair price.
Description of Work
Lawn mowing
Category
lawn service
Vivek S.
5.0
04/23/2014
We live on a shared private driveway and we have to take care of snow removal /deice etc... Since the area is fairly large we have contracted bluestone to do the job on a contract basis. This year (2013-14) has been one of the craziest year regarding snow accumulation and frequency and Bluestone staff has demonstrated utmost professionalism and efficiency in getting the job done. I really appreciate for what they do and would highly recommend.
Description of Work
Snow removal and deice
Category
snow removal
Joel S.
4.0
04/04/2014
They were great and very good. They just came and did it. They were reliable. I would prefer them to be a little bit more particular. They curved it enough. I am particular anyway and to ask anything like that because I like everything done right. They came with the machine, cut the lawn and were gone. They were okay.
Description of Work
They cut the lawn.
Category
lawn service
Georgia M.
5.0
03/26/2014
Very happy with the results. John Cochran was very helpful and responsive. And I thought his price was reasonable. I'm hoping I can get him back soon for spring yard work.
Description of Work
Fall clean up. Cleaned out all beds, edged, trimmed what was appropriate for that time of year, mulched; also aerated, seeded and fertilized the lawn, including a mowing which it needed; also fertilized my shrubs.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, leaf removal, mulch
LIN E.
5.0
01/09/2014
John is very professional and knowledgeable The work was done well and on time.
Description of Work
Lawn cutting and edging/ leaf removal
Category
lawn service

Other local Pros in your area

Great Falls Stone

Great Falls Stone is a Family owned and operated business that has been serving Maryland, Virginia & DC for the past 30 years. We use a variety of Natural stone and brick products. We can give you a free estimate, we will be happy to advise you on all your needs. Our service is excellent and our prices are competitive. Our experienced professional's can help you select just the right product to complete any job.  

Angi Certified

Diversified Contractors LLC

Customer satisfaction comes first, which is why the owner is present throughout most of the construction and installation. We love what we do and we put that care into each project. We have hundreds of satisfied customers in MD, DC and Northern Virginia who will be more than happy to provide references. From simple and humble patios to vast and spacious landscapes, we always bring sophistication. Great or small, every endeavor is an honor to us and your exquisite taste is our passion.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

East Coast Landscape Design

BEAUTIFUL OUTDOOR LIVING. East Coast creates inspiring landscapes, hardscapes, water features and drainage solutions that bring beauty, new outdoor experiences and exceptional value to your life and home. SPECIALIZING IN: Patios, walkways, driveways, landscaping, fire pits, outdoor kitchens, retaining walls, outdoor lighting, drainage and erosion control (including eco-friendly permeable pavers, dry riverbeds and rain gardens through RainScapes and RiverSmart rebate programs). TRUSTED: Employees drug tested and background checked. License #42490. Insurance #Q89-0102236-M. ADDITIONAL EMAIL: mark@eclandscapedesign.com  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

5501 Montgomery Rd

Ellicott City, MD 21043

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Bluestone Landscaping LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Bluestone Landscaping LLC is open:

Sunday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Bluestone Landscaping LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Bluestone Landscaping LLC offers free project estimates.

No, Bluestone Landscaping LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Bluestone Landscaping LLC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Bluestone Landscaping LLC offers warranties.

Bluestone Landscaping LLC offers the following services: Deck Maintenance. Decks & Porches. Drain Pipe Installation - Exterior. Fencing. Gutter Cleaning. Hauling. Landscaping. Landscaping - Hardscaping & Pavers. Lawn & Yard Work. Lawn Fertilization & Treatment. Leaf Removal. Mulch & Topsoil. Pressure Washing. Snow Removal. Tree Service. Window Cleaning.