Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Anthony Holden Home Improvements

Founded 1960 • With Angi since July 2012

4.8

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8911 Lee Manor Dr

Ellicott City, MD 21043

Description

A full service Family owned and operated business for over 52 years serving All of Maryland . License # MHiC 94487. Insured and bonded....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/21/2020


Tiloy G.

Mr. Holden was very accommodating and communicated any changes in scheduled times. The leak was repaired and tested the same day thanks to the hurricane.

Description of Work
Chimney repair

Category chimney repair

5.0

07/20/2020


Norman A.

Anthony Holden and I came to an agreement on the painting project on Fri morning 061720. His crew came to my house that afternoon on Friday 061720, worked until 2000 and were back on Saturday 061820 at 0800 finishing the project around 1600. Nice friendly crew that work well together. My house and breezeway look very nice. I am pleased and would recommend Mr. Holden for your project. By the way. No up front money was exchanged until the project was completed, and I was satisfied. Nice gentleman that loves to talk.

Description of Work
Exterior House Painting

Category pressure washing, house painters

5.0

06/22/2020


Donna K.

He was very prompt with his estimate, reasonably priced and easy to work with. We requested for the work to be done while our tenants were out of town and he accommodated my request. Several heavy storms later, no leaks!

Description of Work
Repair of roof leak

Category roofing

5.0

05/04/2020


Gerard F.

It was less than 1 week from quote to completion of job. Very pleased with work done; old gutters, down spouts, and facia boards were replaced. The new gutters and downspouts were high quality. The workers did a great job with installation and cleaned up and removed all old gutters and debris.

Description of Work
Gutter Replacement

Category gutter repair

5.0

08/22/2019


Albert F.

Anthony Holden and his men did an excellent job. The cost was reasonable and the work was done in a professional manner. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Gutter covers and chimney repair

Category gutter repair, chimney repair

1.0

07/22/2019


gretchen H.

I have called everyday but they don't respond. I would like someone to come over to do the work. Nobody answers my calls. On June 7, 2019 he gave me a contract to put up gutter and put up new seamless gutter in. He hasn't fulfilled the contract.

Description of Work
They gave me an estimate on June 7th, 2019 and said he will be here.

Category gutter repair

5.0

07/21/2019


Christopher G.

Mr. Holden responded promptly to my request on Angie's List. He gave a very competitive estimate, waiving the fee to fix the one missing shingle as part of installing gutter guards along the back of our very high (>40 feet) rear gutters. I would highly recommend him. He came after the work was done by his crew to inspect the work before receiving payment, which showed he stands by his work.

Description of Work
Replacement shingle and gutter guard installation

Category gutter repair, roofing

1.0

12/20/2018


Oscar M.

We just had a bizarre experience with Anthony Holden and consider ourselves lucky that we discovered this before we contracted with him for any work. After coordinating by phone for a week, he agreed to send one of his workers to our house to give us a quote. The worker arrived not knowing what he was supposed to do. My husband was home to show him the roof, but since I have been managing these repairs he did not have specifics and called me for more information. Literally while I was on the phone with my husband Anthony texted me to tell me that my husband seems surprised and confused that his worker was there and that he does not work with people like us. I called Anthony to discuss, and when he did not answer the phone I texted back to tell him that he was misinformed and that I had just talked to my husband to give him the details. In fact, it was his worker that did not know what he was there to do. The text conversation ended with Anthony saying that they would move on and me saying I thought that was for the best. It was really an unbelievable and bizarre interaction.

Description of Work
Roof Repair

Category roofing

1.0

10/24/2018


Denise E.

Unfortunately we were not able to get the work done on our gutters as promised in the signed contract provided to us by Mr. Holden. We made several attempts to get the job done this summer, however after I made several phone calls and was given one excuse after the other for the delays, so I gave up. He was very apologetic each time I was able to speak to him, however he would never follow-up with what he promised even stating several times that he forgot about me. Recently, my husband tried again and finally after several days of not returning calls he told my husband that he would be by one week and never showed. Again he was very apologetic when my husband called him and stated that he forgot about us and would be by the following week. He never showed and never called. It was as if he wanted to loose our business because he had other higher paying jobs and wanted us to get frustrated and drop the contact. We told him that we would be righting a review about how unprofessional he was and he never responded because he does not care.

Description of Work
gutters replaced in the front and back with some wood placed

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

10/08/2018


Carolyn L.

Mr. Holden will make sure that the work is done very thoroughly and the right way. No shortcuts, just good work. Got better gutters with helmets, now it doesn't rain in the house!

Description of Work
Install gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

08/19/2018


Patricia Y.

responsive to initial query, no pressure sales guy, just a quote, Install crew was polite and worked hard to complete the job in a single day. Cleaned up the area and when I had a question they responded the next day and corrected the small issue that had been over looked. Gutters and covers seem to work as advertised, I plan to hire them again for some additional work I need done on the exterior of the house, All in all a very good experience.

Description of Work
New gutters with covers

Category gutter repair

5.0

08/15/2018


Kate F.

The Arnold Schwarznegger of raccoons had mangled the box vent on our roof and had become a very frequent (and very unwelcome) visitor. Anthony came out to have a look the day we contacted him and was able to quickly assess the damage and outline the necessary repairs. Admittedly I was a little surprised at how much this was going to cost me, BUT he also was very honest when I showed him other wet stains on our ceiling that I thought might be due to damage on the roof and told me they were not, and advised how we could deal with them. He could have easily hoodwinked us and padded the needed repairs, but I was impressed by his honesty. We decided to go ahead with the work. He couldn't find the same vent that had been damaged and had to hunt around for an alternative. Even with the difficulty in finding the right vent, and the almost daily thunderstorms, within a week from first contact, the job was complete. I would have never even known they were there except for the fact that the repairs were obvious. Often, when we have had outside repairs done, we find ourselves stuck with the clean up. Not so with Mr. Holden. It is so difficult to find a home improvement contractor who is prompt, competent, and reliable. I'm very happy to have found Mr. Holden, will happily hire him for any future work we need done, and can say that I recommend him without reservation.

Description of Work
Box vent replacement and some other roof repairs

Category roofing

5.0

05/02/2018


Jim B.

Mr. Holden and his crew were prompt, polite and professional. Price was good and we would definitely hire him again.

Description of Work
Gutters and chimney repair

Category gutter repair, chimney repair

5.0

04/07/2018


Jeff H.

I had some loose shingles that were blown up during recent wind storms. After contacting a couple roofing companies that told me they only replace roofs, I found this company on Angie’s List/home advisor. I spoke with Anthony Holden on Friday and he came out Saturday morning. Anthony and his son showed up on time and were very professional. He completed the repair of the loose shingles in a short amount of time. I would use this company again.

Description of Work
Repair of loose roof shingles

Category roofing

4.0

03/24/2016


James B.

Description of Work
New roof placed on our house and garage. The roofs look good and the company was very neat so I have no complaints in those areas. He was supposed to "do" my chimney but I believe that he left off the top plate. Furthermore, I have a small leak in my garage roof. I've called at least seven times in the the past 2 1/2 weeks to no avail. I always left a message but have never gotten a reply. As far as the price goes, we felt that is was quite high when least compared to what some friends paid for a similarly-sized homes, but in all honesty we do not know the quality of the shingles, etc., that those friend bought so our comparison is not without some holes. NB:Given the choice in the "Ratings" scheme I would have given an A-minus in the "Overall" category.

Category roofing, house painters

Service Provider Response

As I stated to you when I returned your call . I was on vacation with my family during your seven calls . As I stated on the phone with you I will look at the chimney which was NOT part of the original contract when I get home . I recemented the top crown of the chimney the next day after the job was completed as a professional courtesy FREE of charge to you . As far as the current issue as I stated in the phone I will be happy to look at it and correct it for you if needed . I know you would like a chimney cap on your flue again not part of any work you hired me for but again as I stated on the phone I will install one if able FREE of charge . Thank you for the work and I will look at the current issue when I return after April 1
5.0

03/23/2016


James B.

They were neat and punctual. I thought his price was a little high compared to what some of my friends told me. However, there are too many variables to make a fair comparison. He was kind enough to call me during his vacation to address a little problem I had with the roof.

Description of Work
Full re-roof on my house and garage.

Category decks

5.0

10/13/2015


Barbara H.

They removed the old roof and replaced damaged areas of wood as well as corrected a joist issue on the garage. They completed the work in one day. Everything was left clean and nothing was damaged in the landscaping around the house. Anthony is extremely professional and very straight forward to work with. I will use this company in the future. The supervisor on the job was responsive to questions and concerns. Anthony checked on the job several times during the day as well. He came by the next day to see the finished job and be sure that I was satisfied.

Description of Work
Replaced roof.

Category roofing

5.0

06/23/2014


Pat G.

They were extremely professional, quick, and did a fantastic job. We've had at least five roofers inspect our roof. He was the only one to do a thorough examination. He spent a good bit of time walking around and taking pictures and he was the only one to discover an actual hole in the rear peak of the roof that was probably partially responsible for some of our interior leaks. He also found exposed bare wood along one edge and showed us a clear photo of an area where the roof was sagging in the middle due to water damage under the shingles. He had clear pictures of all the problem areas and presented us with several options that did not include replacing the entire roof. We opted to go with a more expensive shingle and replace the entire roof even though he told us up front that his company was on the expensive side. We were glad we chose that option as they had to replace quite a bit of decking. His crews were all professionals, started promptly on time, were neat and cleaned up the area quickly. He even asked his foreman to rehang a sagging back door for us. Best of all, they were able to start work the following day because someone had to postpone a job This enabled him to put two crews on our rather large, steep roof. They finished up hours ahead of a series of major rain storms. We couldn't have been happier and we couldn't believe the difference. We no longer hear every rain drop or water rushing through the gutters from inside the house. While horribly expensive, they did a great job and it looks to be well worth the money. We have no regrets and would definitely use them again. I will add that they replaced the roof on my son's house a year ago. They did a fantastic job on that as well. We highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Replaced our roof and gutter system, power washed the house, installed new downspouts, cleaned the rear deck, painted the rear iron railings and built a box to cover the cable lines.

Category gutter repair, handyman service, roofing, pressure washing, house painters

5.0

07/24/2012


LeEllen B.

The work was completed in 4 days. This crew worked from early in the morning to sometimes 7:30 p.m. My house looks great, I was very pleased with this service and I will certainly use them again and have recommended them to friends that want home repairs done to their homes.

Description of Work
Removed all existing gutters and downspouts from exterior of house. Inspected all wood behind gutters and replaced wood where needed. Installed new gutter shutter system to all exterior of house. Installed new 3x4 downspouts to gutter shutter system. Power-washed all brick chimney on house. Cleaned and disposed of all debris related to job. Applied H&C, clear water protector, to all exterior of house and chimney. Labor and material. Washed complete exterior of home, wrapped all window caps using non-aluminum caps. Sanded, caulked and prepared surface for paint. Painted all shutters, columns, front door, storm door and door frames. Removed all cement from top crown of chimney, removed first row of bricks at top of chimney, ground out pointing from vertical facing bricks on chimney. Replaced vertical section of bricks on chimney. Replaced top crown of chimney. Applied H&C clear waterproofing sealer to entire brick chimney. .

Category gutter repair, handyman service, masonry, chimney repair, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Reyes Bros Services

    Reyes Bros Services is a full service licensed general contractor. We originally started as a painting company in 2005 but with all the request from out clients we decided to offer a our clients a 1 stop solution for all their Residential/Commercial need. Client satisfaction is our #1 goal we aren't happy until you are. Give us a call to schedule your free estimate 301-213-8526  

    Pro Stage Home Improvement

    With over 20 years of experience behind the scenes at your favorite events, we offer the highest quality of work always sticking to YOUR schedule. .  

    Offers by Pro Stage Home Improvement  on Angi
    Sheldon & Sons Inc

    In 1972 we started Sheldon & Sons as a small family run business. For over 40 years we have evolved into a full service painting contractor. Each step of the way we have worked hard to build a top notch reputation based on quality workmanship and attention to detail. Today Sheldon & Sons employees 12 work crews consisting of long time employees and family members. We have the expertise to perform jobs of all types and sizes, but pride ourselves on the personal attention that comes from a family owned business.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    All home Improvements.

    Services Not Offered

    None

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Anthony Holden Home Improvements

    How is Anthony Holden Home Improvements overall rated?

    Anthony Holden Home Improvements is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Anthony Holden Home Improvements open?

    Anthony Holden Home Improvements is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Anthony Holden Home Improvements provide

    Anthony Holden Home Improvements accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does Anthony Holden Home Improvements offer free estimates?

    Yes, Anthony Holden Home Improvements offers free project estimates.

    Does Anthony Holden Home Improvements offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Anthony Holden Home Improvements offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Anthony Holden Home Improvements offer a senior discount?

    No, Anthony Holden Home Improvements does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Anthony Holden Home Improvements offer emergency services?

    Yes, Anthony Holden Home Improvements offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Anthony Holden Home Improvements?

    No, Anthony Holden Home Improvements does not offer warranties.

    What services does Anthony Holden Home Improvements offer?

    Anthony Holden Home Improvements offers the following services: All home Improvements.

    Are there any services Anthony Holden Home Improvements does not offer?

    None