Green Future Construction

About

Founded 2002 • With Angi since July 2010

Green Future Construction and Tree Specialists is the area's premiere full-service company that can handle all of your outdoor needs! Scheduling your next project couldn’t be easier or more convenient because we offer experts in construction, landscape design and tree services all under one roof.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Paver PatioPatio with GazeboNatural Stone Pool Deck

Verified Reviews

4.9

(134) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

126

4

4

3

2

2

2

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

tree service (72)hardscaping (47)Patios (41)lawn & landscaping (39)decks & porches (33)drain pipe installation (22)lawn care (22)concrete repair (21)excavating (20)masonry (16)fence company (14)mulch delivering (13)
Showing 1-25 of 134 reviews
5.0

09/21/2022


John A.

This is a review of Green Future Construction and the work that they performed for me. For three weeks in July and August, their crew dismantled a stone retaining wall and rebuilt it using much of the same stone and replacing the stone that was weather worn. They also dismantled two pressure treated wood retaining walls and rebuilt them with stone to match the first wall. Their other work consisted of the repair of three other retaining walls that needed the top stones reset. Their work load was during the heat wave that was in the area during the hottest days of the Summer. One would think that this type of weather would deter them from performing at their best. They excelled at what they were able to accomplish. In fact, their upbeat attitude was a pleasure to witness. I didn’t notice anything that wasn’t done to high standards considering the conditions they were working under. They were always careful to clean up at the end of each day so while the area still looked like a construction zone, they made sure that any debris that accumulated during the day was picked up and bagged. After the project was completed, the grass areas that were worn from the foot traffic and vehicle use, were topsoiled and reseeded in an effort to bring my yard back to its natural look. The crew members on most days were Manuel, John, Oscar, and Santana. There were others who were there occasionally, specifically Freddie, who performed admirable work. I chose Green Future after having viewed another job in my neighborhood that they had worked on. I was impressed with what I saw plus their pricing was very competitive. I highly recommend using Green Future Construction and I hope your experience is as positive as mine.

Description of Work
Building of retaining walls and repair of others

Category landscaping, masonry, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2022

Images

Review for Green Future Construction - 6264 Race Rd, Elkridge, MD - 39881428
5.0

07/26/2022


Richard P.

We had our small backyard almost completely remodeled: removing our old concrete driveway, regrading and installation of a stone block retaining wall, sod installation, extending an existing patio and installing techo block overlay on our existing steps and newly extended patio. We had a pretty good idea of what we wanted and got quotes from three different contractors. We decided to go with Green Future, despite them not being the cheapest of the three, for a number of reasons. First, John Kattwinkel, our only real contact with the company prior to beginning the job, was extremely knowledgeable, flexible, and responsive. John sent us a detailed design and quote within a couple weeks of looking over the job site and talking with us. We made a number of changes he helped talk us through and was quick with changes to the design and quote. Second, Green Future was initially the most responsive of the contractors and their proposed timeline was the quickest (material delays upended this, but it was initially a factor for us). Third, we were particularly concerned about the health of the tree in the yard as it was relatively close to the proposed retaining wall. John talked through the standards for protecting a tree like that and even offered to bring in their arborist. Once work began the crew was friendly, arrived early every morning, and worked clean. The job progressed very quickly. And we were essentially finished within a week of starting the job. The finished product exceeded our expectations in every way. The installation is inch perfect. The materials that John suggested are beautiful. Our backyard is now the nicest part of our house. Our only complaint was the delay in beginning the project, which was substantial, due to issues sourcing materials -something that is common everywhere these days. The delay was unfortunate but not John's fault as I understand it. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Backyard Remodel

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, excavators, landscaping, lawn service, tree service, stamped concrete, patios

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2022

Images

Review for Green Future Construction - 6264 Race Rd, Elkridge, MD - 39813774
5.0

07/01/2022


Justin M.

We are thrilled with the project we did with Green Future. Green Future laid a flagstone patio, built a low retaining wall, and installed artificial turf - from start to finish, they delivered top notch service. Elisa designed and budgeted the project to fit within our parameters. Junior was our project manager and was responsive throughout the whole project with his eye on all the details and overall look of the finished project. Peter was a regular worker and was diligent and very pleasant. Loved the whole team and would do another project with Green Future anytime.

Description of Work
Flagstone patio, retaining wall, turf installation

Category concrete repair, decks, excavators, masonry, mulch, drain pipe, stamped concrete, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2022

5.0

05/06/2022


Miriam C.

From estimate to completion, the work went smoothly. The estimator, plant consultant, project manager, installers, and office staff were all professional and responded to my comments, questions, and concerns in a timely and friendly manner. The project manager kept me appraised of each step of the project and the daily work to be completed. The installers were hard working and left the job site clean and tidy each day. I am pleased with the results, would use GFC for future projects, and would recommend them for landscaping projects.

Description of Work
I had a flagstone patio and walkway installed along with some plants.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2022

5.0

03/23/2022


S R.

So happy we picked this company to work on our patio and walkway!! We looked through top guides for Howard County and met with three different companies. We thought Green Future was a great balance between cost and good design of our new patio (and replacement of walkway). Anthony was great during the cost estimation and material selection process, as well as helping us prepare for the Columbia Association permit process. Walter was our project manager: he and his team were excellent during the construction process -timely, clean, communicative, and friendly. They knocked out our project in roughly a week and it looks awesome! So excited to use the patio this season, we would recommend Green Future to anyone thinking about this type of work.

Description of Work
Patio and walkway

Category concrete repair, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/07/2022

Images

Review for Green Future Construction - 6264 Race Rd, Elkridge, MD - 39669854

+3 More

5.0

02/28/2022


Michael M.

The team that came were amazing. They had modem equipment and bright a 40 ton crane to remove the tree. The tree climbers were professional and the removed the tree limb by limb that was between two homes without incident. I could not believe how they were able to maneuver the large branches between the two structures. This was a massive tree, over 100 years old so this was no easy feat. The crew also trimmed another healthy tree to perfection and ground the tree stump as well pricing was very competitive and the quality and professionalism of the whole team from the office staff to the team in the ground was outstanding. I would call them again without hesitation.

Description of Work
Green Future Construction removed a large diseased Silver Maple next to our home

Category concrete repair, tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2022

Images

Review for Green Future Construction - 6264 Race Rd, Elkridge, MD - 39642658
5.0

01/19/2022


Danna W.

Green Future Construction was one of few landscaping companies that would do our entire project holistically -- regrading side and rear yards and integrating and building a new deck within the plan. All parts of the business work seamlessly with other parts. Our main contact, Anthony Martone, showed up to talk to us about grading due to flood issues and ended up with the whole project. (We talked to five companies total.) He was knowledgeable about all aspects of the work needed and offered a competitive bid. He kept in touch and was always avail for questions, etc., and didn't mind small add-ons and fixes to existing issues as the project went on (such as replacing the lattice panels all the way around the house). The direct project lead, Junior Valerio, gave us detailed updates as the project progressed and always lived up to his word. The project was completed in good time and looks fantastic -- regrading, drainage, a beautiful deck with lighting and a stone landing pad. The workers were professional, good-humored and toiled in the cold for long hours. They always showed up when they said they would, and we are very happy with the outcome.

Description of Work
Landscaping and deck construction

Category decks, landscaping, lawn service, drain pipe, hardscaping

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/19/2022

Images

Review for Green Future Construction - 6264 Race Rd, Elkridge, MD - 39602764

Service Provider Response

We can’t thank you enough for the kind words about your experience! Your review means a lot to us and lets us know we’re on the right track! Your project turned out beautifully and we are confident it will provide you many years of satisfaction!
5.0

10/24/2021


Diane S.

We had a great experience with Green Future, specifically my point of contact, John Kattwinkel. We had a large project and received excellent guidance every step of the way. Not only did we add an amazing patio to my yard, but we were able to address serious drainage and erosion problems plaguing our yard. John was very helpful, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The showroom is beautiful and inspirational. John's design plan made the most of our space and incorporated some personality as well! The company has terrific resources and our project was completed quickly and efficiently. Moving forward we will definitely stick with Green Future when ready to remodel the deck.

Description of Work
Patio and drainage/erosion control

Category excavators, landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2021

Service Provider Response

It was truly a pleasure meeting you and having the opportunity to build your outdoor oasis. Having customers like you is what makes all the hard work we put in every day worth it. We are always trying our best to make each experience memorable, and we’re glad that we’ve achieved it! We wish you many days and evenings enjoying your beautiful outdoor space.
5.0

10/20/2021


Laura C.

It was wonderful. The crew was respectful and careful digging for the wall around my 20 foot tall yoshino cherry tree and established landscaping. They did a great job, cleaned up the site, and I would not hesitate to use them again or recommend them.

Description of Work
removal of rotting wood retaining wall and wood privacy fence, installation of new engineered retaining wall, new 6 foot chain fence with driveway and walkway gates, regrading under elevated deck and repair of elevated deck to bring to code.

Category excavators, fencing, masonry, driveway gates

Cost $31,075

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2021

5.0

10/14/2021


Giovanni E.

We are grateful for Green Future Construction’s excellent and professional workmanship. They went above and beyond in helping us design and build our dream patio and pavilion. Special shout-out to John K. (Designer and PM) and his crew for their top-notch service and commitment to the success of the project! They were detailed-oriented and artistically passionate from start to finish. Plus, they were true experts in hardscaping, landscaping, and design / build construction. We would hire them in a heartbeat! Big thank you. Gio E.

Description of Work
Stone pation and pavilion

Category decks, landscaping, foundation repair, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/13/2021

Service Provider Response

It was truly a pleasure meeting you and having the opportunity to build your outdoor oasis. Having customers like you is what makes all the hard work we put in every day worth it. We are always trying our best to make each experience memorable, and we’re glad that we’ve achieved it! We wish you many days and evenings enjoying your beautiful outdoor space.
5.0

08/26/2021


Saundra H.

I am extremely pleased with the outcome and the professionalism of the crews made the experience wonderful.

Description of Work
I had a garage demolished in my backyard and a wonderful patio with a gazebo was design. Glen designed the patio with pavers, plants and stone embellishments. Because of the delays caused by the pandemic, it took longer than originally expected. Thomas Bailey, the project manager and Glen were both professional and attentive to all details.

Category concrete repair, patios

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2021

Service Provider Response

We are thrilled to know that you are satisfied! Thank you for putting your trust in us.
5.0

07/08/2021


carrie B.

What a wonderful experience! Thomas, Anthony, and the rest of the hard-working crew did such an amazing job on our new patio. We were treated like family every step of the way. We knew what we wanted and green future made it happen. It is much better than we had expected. We highly recommend this company and we use them again in a heartbeat!

Description of Work
Paver patio, Fire pit, sitting wall, Deck stairs

Category decks, masonry, hardscaping, patios

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2021

Images

Review for Green Future Construction - 6264 Race Rd, Elkridge, MD - 39396454

+6 More

Service Provider Response

We can't thank you enough for the kind words! Receiving feedback like yours, reaffirms the hard work we put in everyday. Thank you for your compliments and your business. We hope to work with you again in the future.
5.0

06/22/2021


tony C.

We had large trees pruned--Anthony, Walter, project manager, tree climbers and the entire team did a great job. They were very professional. We would definitely use them again

Description of Work
Tree pruning

Category concrete repair, tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/21/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to service your home and for taking the time to share your experience. Anthony and Walter were especially happy to receive your review! We hope to work with you again in the future!
5.0

05/02/2021


Deborah C.

John Kattwinkel and his team provided an incredible customer experience! We replaced an aging deck and added some retaining walls and planting areas. John listened closely to what we liked and didn't like about our existing structures and came back with a design that we loved. Osman and his team did a wonderful job on the deck. The attention to detail and the craftsmanship were evident evident throughout the construction. Roque and the masonry team showed the same attention to detail and craftsmanship on the hardscape. The crews were very professional and friendly and very patient in answering our questions. John was very attentive throughout the process, often checking on the progress and ensuring that we understood and were happy with everything. He answered all our questions and was very easy to work with. We went with Green Futures, over three competing bids, based on the quality of the design that John came up with. We will go back to Green Futures for additional projects because the overall quality, professionalism, and friendliness was exceptional.

Description of Work
Replaced a deck and added hardscape

Category decks, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2021

Service Provider Response

Wow- what great feedback! Thank you for sharing your experience. Your project turned out beautifully and we are happy to hear that John and his team exceeded your expectations! Receiving feedback like yours, reaffirms the hard work and dedication we put in everyday. We are very grateful for your business.
5.0

03/12/2021


Karon L.

Still in awe. Never in a million years did I think our yard could look so amazing! To be totally transparent, my backyard used to depress me. Not only did we have standing water throughout the yard when it rained, we would get a little "pool" in our patio area when it rained hard. When John K. came out to evaluate our problem he knew just what we needed. He explained the process step by step and wrote up a quote. John told us take our time and get back to him when we were ready. Well life happened and we couldn't get the project done. Months passed and we called John back out because we were pleased with his professionalism and knowledge when he first came out. Low and behold, somehow our issue was a little worse off than what it was 6 months prior, so John once again came up with a solution (a wellflow system with French drain). Never did we feel pressured into going with GFC to get the job done. Once we were ready to move forward, John worked with us to get everything set up and explained everything all over again. The team that came out to work in our yard showed up on time everyday and left the yard spotless when they left. They were courteous and professional. The job took an extra two days than expected due to weather but they kept us in the loop every step of the way. Everyone from the project manager, to the crew who worked in the yard, to the young lady who answered the phone...they were all a joy to work with. I would definitely recommend GFC to anyone who needs work done. And did I say how amazing my yard looks!

Description of Work
Drain System for Backyard

Category landscaping, lawn service, wells

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2021

Images

Review for Green Future Construction - 6264 Race Rd, Elkridge, MD - 39243674

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Your review made our day, especially John's. We are so grateful for your kind words and for your business. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the community. We hope to work with you again in the future.
5.0

03/08/2021


CHERYL F.

I could not be happier with the results. Every time I'm outside a passerby or neighbor will tell us how great the wall looks. The crew was punctual and got the job done sooner than I expected. They were polite and helpful and they cleaned up the site every evening before leaving. It was a big project for us, but it was worth every penny. We have had so many compliments and I am very happy with the final result

Description of Work
retaining wall replaced, driveway replaced.

Category concrete repair, driveway pavers

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/16/2021

Images

Review for Green Future Construction - 6264 Race Rd, Elkridge, MD - 39235684

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience! We are confident that your new project will provide you with many years of satisfaction!
5.0

02/10/2021


Larry W.

Green Future Construction Inc. via project manager John Kattwinkel and Foreman Rocky Roque Oseas did a outstanding job! John's Design was more then I imagined. My wife and I are my then pleased we are blown away. Job was costly but worth the investment. John and Rocky are truly asset to a great company. Thank you gentleman and Green Future.

Description of Work
Patio design and installed

Category concrete repair, landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2021

Service Provider Response

What great feedback!! We are honored that you gave us the opportunity to complete your project and are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We count ourselves lucky to have an exceptional team, like John and Roque, and wonderful customers like you! We would be forever grateful to receive referrals from your family and friends.
5.0

01/22/2021


jerri D.

John Kattwinkel, the Green Future representative with whom I worked was excellent. I was concerned about whether to go forward with the work in the winter but John explained how the crew would be able to complete the work and when work might be delayed. He was patient and responsive, and I'm glad that I decided to entrust this significant financial investment to him and Green Future. It paid off beautifully! Everyday the crew left the work space clean and safe. They addressed drainage issues and left me with a beautiful outdoor space in the back yard and in the front. I would gladly work with them again, and in fact have hired them to do some work on the outdoor stairs to the basement that was not included in the work I initially contracted for. I so enjoy walking up to my front yard, or pulling into my driveway in the back. I can hardly wait for spring so that I can truly enjoy the outdoor spaces John and Green Future created for me!

Description of Work
Hardscaping in backyard-pavers, retaining walls, re-cover stairs, concrete 4-car parking pad; and fencing. Hardscaping and landscaping in the front yard - river rocks, plantings, mulch; pointing up masonry

Category concrete repair, fencing, landscaping, masonry, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/22/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the awesome review and for putting your trust in us for your requested project! We are grateful for your business and hope to work with you again in the future!
3.0

01/22/2021


Beau P.

remove porch and deck, install pavers, new concrete, driveway repair, new stairs and fence

Description of Work
Poor communication. A lack of oversight and management of subcontractors. A long process compared to the expectations which were set. Would not hire again or recommend to a friend or relative.

Category concrete repair, decks, concrete driveways, fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/1970

5.0

01/20/2021


Cynthia M.

Green Future responded quickly to my initial inquiry and came out to give us an estimate within a few days, even close to the Christmas holidays. We worked with Glenn for the estimate, which again came in quickly and was very reasonable. We got estimates from a few local companies and Green Future was the most competitive for a shadowbox privacy fence. Communication was fast and easy. Scheduling was prompt. Payment was simple and fast through the online portal. Thomas (project manager) and Jose (team lead) were a joy to work with. The guys arrived timely every day and did a fantastic job within the expected timeline, staying late to finish on time. They were experienced, friendly, and professional. When a lock on the fence door ran into an issue the day after, Thomas and Jose promptly resolved and fixed it even after the project completed. I will be using them again in the future and would highly recommend!

Description of Work
New privacy fence

Category fencing

Cost $8,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2021

Images

Review for Green Future Construction - 6264 Race Rd, Elkridge, MD - 39144903

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you are satisfied with the work we provided. GFC is very proud of our talented team and respected clients who share their experience. Please keep us in mind in the future. We would be forever appreciative for referring us to your friends and family!
5.0

01/18/2021


Steven W.

Worked with John Kattwinkel as our project manager from design to implementation. He listened to our ideas, put together a beautiful design, and quickly made it a reality. He proactively communicated with us through the entire process and ensured we were happy with each step. Looking forward to spring to talk with John about landscaping and a new deck. We highly recommend Green Futures and John Kattwinkel for your outdoor construction needs!

Description of Work
New paver patio with fire pit

Category hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2020

Images

Review for Green Future Construction - 6264 Race Rd, Elkridge, MD - 39140405

+4 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your 5-star experience! We agree, John is an amazing designer and we consider ourselves lucky to have such a talented team. It gives us incredible satisfaction to know you are satisfied with the final result and that Green Future Construction team was able to bring your design to fruition. We hope to work with you again on any future projects!
5.0

12/16/2020


walter F.

From the initial visit with John Kattwinkel we were impressed with his knowledge of landscaping design, as well as his enthusiasm for his work. We are very happy with the end product. We now have a very beautiful backyard to enjoy.

Description of Work
Replace deck with Trek materials - designed and implemented patio area (hardscape/rocks/plantings).

Category concrete repair, decks, landscaping

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2020