Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

BST Design and Build

About

Founded 2004 • With Angi since November 2015

BST Design and Build specializes in unique, high-quality kitchen and bathroom remodeling, as well as other home improvements such as basement finishing, home additions, and comprehensive renovation projects. We are not an only an experienced general contractor but also cabinet, countertop and flooring store and we provide complete remodeling&renovation service to our customers from initial planning to final installation. As BST Design and Build, we provide quality cabinets, cutting-edge designs, unrivaled prices, outstanding customer service, and a stress-free construction process to our customers. With a combination of a charming showroom atmosphere and our expertise in construction, our pledge is to establish lasting relationships with our customers by exceeding their expectations and gaining their trust through exceptional service & performance by every member of the design and construction team. ...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+26 more images

Master Bathroom with Free Standing Tub

Master Bathroom with Free Standing Tub

home remodeling2020
Master Bathroom with Free Standing Tub
Kitchen Renovation project
Kitchen Renovation

home remodeling

2020
Basement Refinishing project
Basement Refinishing

basement remodeling

2020

Verified Reviews

4.8

(19) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

18

4

0

3

0

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (15)countertop installation (6)marble & granite (4)architect (3)flooring (2)tile installation (2)cabinet makers (5)woodworking (4)basement remodeling (2)cabinet refacing (1)
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews
5.0

11/12/2021


John M.

We got our kitchen remodeled with new cabinets, granite countertop and backsplash. The team did a great job , the price was very competitive and the whole project was completed within 3 weeks . The quality of the work was excellent and the crew was very professional.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodeling

Category marble & granite, home remodeling

Cost $16,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2021

5.0

10/27/2020


Deborah L.

I am very happy with their job and they were very professional. The only problem I had is the the language barrier.

Description of Work
Vinyl flooring installation, kitchen cabinet, flooring, plumbing and kitchen remodeling.

Category home remodeling

Cost $33,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2019

5.0

10/21/2020


Deborah L.

Great! Love everything the company did. They were ontime and also made last minute adjustments I decided on with no issues.

Description of Work
kitchen remodel to include moving plumbing and Luxury tile flooring installed. New baseboard and crown molding installed.

Category countertops, architect, home remodeling

Cost $23,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2020

5.0

10/21/2020


Kandar S.

They did an excellent job, I am extremely happy with the project. Thank you Matt, Tim and the team for the outstanding job

Description of Work
basement renovation

Category architect, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2020

5.0

10/21/2020


Craig S.

It went perfect. There were no issues from start to finish. The final product and quality of work was more than we could have ask for and Matt and his crew were courteous and professional.

Description of Work
Full master bath remodel.

Category architect, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2020

5.0

07/14/2018


Mehul P.

Matt helped us select right cabinets & granite for our basement kitchen & bathroom vanity. Cabinets were delivered on time in great condition. Granite was professionally installed within 5 days from the date of taking measurement. He gave us the best price, which was lower than Home Depot, and couple other cabinet and granite stores in Baltimore area for which we obtained price quote.

Description of Work
Kitchen & Bathroom Cabinets & Granite

Category custom cabinets, countertops, marble & granite, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/05/2018

Service Provider Response

Hello, We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. Our company values put customer satisfaction as the top priority and we are committed to our customers. It's customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you again. United Cabinet Store
5.0

04/05/2017


Alice L.

We are very happy with the outcome.

Description of Work
Full kitchen and 3 bathroom remodeling along with hardwood flooring for the basement and kitchen area. Tiling for the bathrooms and finishing the basement.

Category home remodeling

Cost $75,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2017

Images

Review for BST Design and Build - 6325A Washington Blvd, Elkridge, MD - 34760433

+6 More

Service Provider Response

Hello, We take pride in giving outstanding service to every customer and we're overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. United Cabinet Store
5.0

12/10/2016


Eric V.

Great, excellent product. Matt was great to work with. He helped us plan and design the kitchen. Good price in a high end product.

Description of Work
New Kitchen Cabinets, counter top, back splash and pulls. As well as bathroom vanity.

Category

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2016

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. United Cabinet Store
2.0

12/04/2016


Erin S.

I did a full kitchen remodel with these guys-with Alex as my project manager. They came highly recommended by a good friend and dos a beautiful job on her kitchen. Our initial meetings were great and I had a lot of confidence going into the project. Pros: 1) I loved the design they came up with. They took a tiny kitchen and tiny dining room and made a large kitchen with large island--just what we wanted. Cons: 1) It's possible that I over-negotiated on the front end which led Alex tone frustrated and ultimately write off the project. But once we agreed on a price, I felt nickel and dimes the entire way. From soft close drawers, to a basic shelf, to the most basic moldings around the island base cabinets, everything was an up-charge. Ultimately, our final cost was MORE than the initial estimate I was provided. Mea culpa for negotiating, as it would have been cheaper if I'd just signed initially. 2) Alex promised he would treat the project "like it was his own kitchen and his own home." We left town for the first ten days of demolition and rough-in. When we came home, we found that they'd dumped all the trash from the kitchen in the yard and killed fairly new sod. They didn't lay drop cloths when they painted, and that led to paint on upholstery in the living room and on the kitchen table that didn't come off without tarnishing the finish. They broke lamp--not an expensive one, but ~100. They never apologized, never made it right or acknowledged it. 3) Once we were home and living in the chaos, there was virtually no communication. At 8am, I'd get a text that the workers were arriving by 10am that day. At 1pm, I'd call to say they hadn't arrived, and I'd be told that they were not coming for another 2 days. We never knew when workers would show up, and when they arrived, they would sometimes stay for an hour to do a quick job and then leave. 4) When the kitchen was "finished," there was so much that was most definitely incomplete. Nail holes in the molding were never filled and painted; likewise with molding seams around standalone cabinets and range hood. The dishwasher was installed crooked and at an angle. Two of the shelves that we were charged for "wouldn't fit" due to no pre-drilled holes, but we were never refunded any money. The grout between the counter and backsplash crumbled after a week, leaving a 1/4 cm space between counter and tile. I ended up hiring someone else to come fix the work and make it look right--for another $600. The total project cost 60k--with 37k going to united cabinet. We thought it was a terrible experience, we were treated like we were nuisance or like Alex was doing us a favor to return a call or show up. In fact, he never came to do a final walk through--he delegated that job to someone we had never met previously in the process. My friend did think they were fabulous-but I would describe it as the worst contractor experience I've ever had. (In fact, I believe it's the only bad experience I've had.) Buyer beware. I would advise friends and neighbors to steer clear.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel including tear down of a wall.

Category woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

Cost $40

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2016

5.0

07/08/2016


Imani A.

United Cabinet was very professional in helping us with our renovation of our kitchen cabinets. We were able to find the right style and color. Upon arriving in the showroom Alex was very helpful he sent someone to our house the same day to get measurements done. After making our final decision on the cabinet we were going with, Alex was also able to help us in selecting a granite top for our counter. Alex also provided us with the location of where the granite was coming from and suggested that we go visit to ensure that the color and style was to our liking. In addition to the counter top a sink was included. The associates at United Cabinet kept in contact with the details of our order. Once the cabinets arrived we received a call to come pick them up and Alex assisted my husband in loading the cabinets into our truck. Everyone was very professional and pleasant. With he cabinets being reasonable priced we were able to upgrade on a couple of new appliances for our kitchen.

Description of Work
United Cabinet provider us with cabinets for our kitchen they were able to help us with our selection.

Category countertops, home remodeling

Cost $3,700

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2016

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. United Cabinet Store
5.0

06/25/2016


K W.

It went extremely well. I purchased an older home that needed a complete remodel to repair and update. I purchased kitchen cabinets, specialty accent tiling, Italian flooring and a modern stand-alone tube from the company. The kitchen cabinet design process was efficient and comfortable. Alex and Ahmut were personable, professional and accessible to dedicate time assisting me with design ideas and changes. They were patient with my indecisiveness and responsive to changes I suggested in a very fast turn-around time, either the same day but no longer than 48hrs after submitting changes to them by email or by phone. I received the design changes by email and most times a call to update/remind me that an email had been sent with the changes attached. The price of all materials I purchased was pleasingly competitive compared to discount cabinet and tiling centers,for example I compared the price (once I knew the number, size and type) of the cabinets to Ikea and estimated I saved over a thousand dollars for high quality soft-close expresso colored high density cabinets from United Cabinet Store. The price adjustments and care to meet my needs as a customer was impeccable. Alex and Ahmut also recommended or collaborated with their associates to assist me in securing other products that they either dont sell or know of whom may offer more competitive rates and services. This professional netwroking really helps with saving time for shopping around, money, builds comfort in service when recommendations are suggested from a reputable trusting company (United Cabinet Store) to another reputable company Alex and/or Ahmut trusts. What impressed me most was both Alex's and Ahmut's honesty and amicable and professionalism as a culture of their business, they are the epitome of the quality of "family owned and operated" businesses. Alex made adjustments to his schedule to meet with me at my home to discuss issues or correct problems. His diligence and dedication to serve the customer are of the highest quality. I am from a family of contractors and work with many contractors on my home remodel, I attest that United Cabinet Store is ranked with the top contractors I've worked with in quality of product, professionalism, and customer service. I have recommended United Cabinet Store to all my colleagues and friends and to my Uncle who is a General Contractor. I personally received a thank you for recommending this company to them. Personally, I will continue to patronize this business on the fact that I really appreciate, respect, and trust Alex, his father Ahmut, and his entire family to provide me with great service and products.

Description of Work
Designed and custom built kitchen cabinetry, provided ceramic tiling and tube for bathroom. Consultation on project

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, home remodeling

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2016

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. United Cabinet Store
5.0

06/08/2016


Jennifer H.

United Cabinet Store created beautiful custom pieces for my kitchen. I decided to remodel my kitchen and replace the old cabinets. They were no good. I had a specific idea in mind for my new cabinets and United Cabinet Store created exactly what I wanted. When it came time to install them, their team was quick, efficient, and friendly. They were done in no time, allowing me to move on to the next step in my renovation. I highly recommend them to anyone who needs professional cabinet service.

Description of Work
United Cabinet Store installed custom cabinets in my house.

Category custom cabinets

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2016

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. United Cabinet Store
5.0

04/20/2016


Lisa D.

We recently purchased new cabinets for our master bath renovation from United Cabinet Store and they were absolutely awesome to deal with! The cabinets are top notch high end quality...absolutely gorgeous! We have received so many compliments on them! The project manager Alex Gumus helped us with the design and he exceeded our expectations, was very professional, extremely knowledgeable and provided phenomenal customer service and support! Alex made the whole process from purchase to installation flawless and went the extra mile every step of the way to ensure our complete satisfaction. United Cabinet Store truly cares about their customers and we look forward to using them again in the future, could not be more pleased and highly recommend them!!

Description of Work
Provided new custom bathroom vanity cabinets

Category custom cabinets, countertops, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $2,050

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2016

Service Provider Response

Hello, We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. Our company values put customer satisfaction as the top priority and we are committed to our customers. It's customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you again. United Cabinet Store
5.0

03/15/2016


Alex S.

.

Description of Work
.

Category cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/14/2016

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. United Cabinet Store
5.0

02/12/2016


Melissa P.

My husband and I were interested in getting a new kitchen. We had been extremely selective on the look and feel of the countertop, backsplash and floor tile and cabinet that would go with our stainless steel appliances that we recently purchased. We found United Cabinet Store through our neighbor whom got her kitchen and bath remodeled last year by United. We went to their showroom and met with Alex Gumus. He helped us walk through the options and he very quickly demonstrated everything about kitchen remodeling. We were working with a designer specialist and she collaboratively worked with us designing the kitchen I always wanted and now our kitchen got an awesome look. The advantage is that she works in collaboration with him to move the product and solve any issues if they arise. It was an amazing experience! We are perfectionists and couldn't be more satisfied with our experience with them!

Description of Work
Full Kitchen Remodeling

Category ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $32,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/22/2016

Service Provider Response

Hello, We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. Our company values put customer satisfaction as the top priority and we are committed to our customers. It's customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you again. United Cabinet Store
5.0

02/02/2016


Jeffrey A.

Description of Work
This is my first project with United Cabinet Store. Everyone was great and we thank them - it was great to work with Alex on the design and we appreciate his working with the subcontractors to ensure they understood the job. We also are grateful for the management of logistics in working with our daily lives.

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. United Cabinet Store
5.0

12/29/2015


Rebecca R.

After getting in contact with several different companies and fail due to high sky prices (which I totally don't get) I somehow I got to United Cabinet Store and Design Center. I called them and asked them all of my questions, which for my surprise were answered very politely and even though they didn't knew I was going to spend money they still treated me amazing. Alex was very helpful in the explanation of prices and materials and helping to match granite with counter cabinets. The whole experience totally exceeds my expectations. I will definitely getting back to United Cabinet Store to remodel my newly purchased house's kitchen and master bathroom.

Description of Work
Kitchen and master bathroom remodeling (new cabinets, new countertops, flooring and new paint)

Category custom cabinets, countertops, flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/25/2015

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. United Cabinet Store
5.0

12/15/2015


Betty W.

United Cabinet Store is a first class cabinet design center which is committed to professional service. Everyone who worked on our kitchen remodeling project was courteous, highly skilled and committed to perfection. 3D Design work was free, and the job itself was done on time and on budget. No surprises and no worries. The project manager Alex took care of quality control at every step of the way. We could not recommend them more highly, and we will be buying our vanities from United again soon.

Description of Work
kitchen remodeling project- silestone countertops, tiles, new cabinets and a new design for the kitchen area

Category home remodeling

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/10/2015

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. United Cabinet Store
5.0

11/18/2015


Kevin F.

We had an absolutely outstanding experience working with United Cabinet Store's team-- I'm a little late submitting the review, but, definitely want to do a shout out for Alex and Dwain who helped us with our project. We bought a house last fall and needed to revamp the kitchen. My wife shopped around quite a bit since it was going to be quite an investment -- we found Alex excellent to work with on a number of fronts -- quality, pricing, selection, and, design support. They turned around drawings pretty quickly and gave us several recommendations on the layout as well as various options that have made life a lot easier. Once we placed the order, we still ended up making a couple of modifications that Alex was very accommodative on. I need to post pictures, but we went with a Fino Bronze on the main cabinets and a Wenge/Chocolate for our Island. When our contractor was installing the cabs, he stated on several occasions that they were absolutely the best quality he had installed in his 20 years of remodeling. While we ended up with a bit of a snafu on delivery schedule, overall, our experience with Alex was absolutely 5 star, and, when I think about the quality of what we got, and the very 'designer' look, it was absolutely worth it. When you are considering a sizeable investment such as a kitchen remodel -- do yourself a favor, don't focus on lowest price (unless you're just looking to flip a property) -- think about having to live with the kitchen for 20 years -- what will provide you with the durability, functionality, and, a looks that you will enjoy for that timeline. We got all that and aggressive pricing to boot with United Cabinet Store. Thanks again for everything. Best Regards, Kevin.

Description of Work
Kitchen cabinets.

Category woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2015

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. United Cabinet Store

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    6325A Washington Blvd

    Elkridge, MD 21075

    Hours

    Monday
    9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday
    9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday
    9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday
    9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday
    9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday
    10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Website

    https://bstdesignandbuild.com/

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information

    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    Yes
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    138402
    Trade License Locale
    Maryland
    Trade License Authority
    MHIC
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    COVID-19 Update
    We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

    Health & Safety Measures

    Please call for more details.
    All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BST Design and Build

    How is BST Design and Build overall rated?

    BST Design and Build is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are BST Design and Build open?

    BST Design and Build is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does BST Design and Build provide

    BST Design and Build accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does BST Design and Build offer free estimates?

    Yes, BST Design and Build offers free project estimates.

    Does BST Design and Build offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, BST Design and Build does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BST Design and Build offer a senior discount?

    No, BST Design and Build does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by BST Design and Build?

    Yes, BST Design and Build offers warranties.

    What services does BST Design and Build offer?

    BST Design and Build offers the following services: Kitchen remodeling, bathroom renovations, cabinets, flooring, home improvements.