Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof

Founded 2000 • With Angi since February 2008

4.6

(217) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6610 Devlon Pl

Elkridge, MD 21075

Description

A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof is a member of the Better Business Bureau and is a certified Recommended Roofer, specializing in residential roofing repairs and replacements. Roofing Contractor Maryland that provides superior service for both residential and commercial roofing. When you call us, you'll get a roofing experience unlike any other Maryland roofing companies can provide. License #: 85692. Also doing business as A-1 Handyman Service and Kanga Roof. Additional DBAs - A-1 Roofing Services Inc., A-1 Handyman Service, Kanga Roof, A1 Roofing Services Inc....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/13/2019


liz C.

The representative came out immediately and was able to schedule me for the next week. Between the time I scheduled the work and the work was completed, there was a big rainstorm and I continued to have a leak. I contacted the company on a Sunday, got a life person answering the phone, and was called back within an hour by a representative who gave me tips on managing the leak until the rain stopped. The representative completed the work in the agreed upon time frame, was punctual, and professional. He even went above and beyond to clean my gutters and caulk a break he found in the house foundation to ensure that there were no leaks. Very satisfied with the work done.

Description of Work
I had a roof leak in the house and needed to get the roof replaced

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

5.0

04/18/2018


MARK R.

Perfect. Technician (Sam) called before hand and arrived on time. Evaluated the repair quickly and professionally. Would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Flashing was torn off and soffits were hanging.

Category siding

5.0

12/15/2017


A B.

Mr. Harrison sat with us before the job began to go over every detail. Kanga Roof delivered the shingles the day before the project began. At least four roofers arrived the next day and began work immediately, removing the old shingles and installing the new roof. They protected the landscaping and cleaned up after the job. The job was completed in two days, including the installation of the new gutters. We were extremely pleased with interaction with the company and delighted with the new roof.

Description of Work
Replacement of a roof and installation of new gutters and downspouts.

Category gutter repair, roofing

4.0

09/22/2017


Janet B.

They were good. They completed it in a timely fashion. Considering how long ago it was, it's been holding up pretty well. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Roofing, outside work and inside work, drywall.

Category drywall, roofing

5.0

05/17/2017


Mark H.

It was good, really good, very positive.

Description of Work
They fixed a leak in my roof.

Category roofing

5.0

02/20/2017


Cynny A.

Maurice worked with us to schedule service and arrange for payment even though we were out of town during the repair. He communicated with us via phone frequently during the process and even sent photos of the completed work.

Description of Work
Several boards along one side of the house were replaced on an emergency basis.

Category roofing

1.0

03/21/2016


Jonathan S.

Everything started of great with this company. I requested an estimate for a new low slope roof on one of my properties and the company was very responsive and friendly. The issue came when I asked for an estimate to do a roof on a second property and wanted to find the price if I did both properties at the same time. The sales man was 45 min late for the appointment and told me that it was due to him leaving his truck running last night and had to get a jump from someone before heading to the office to get his work truck. He called 15 min before our scheduled appointment. He went on the roof to measure and we then sat down to talk about price, which was about 2500 higher than the next closest estimate. I showed him an estimate from another company using the same materials (50 yr Owen Corning) and he started to talk about how that other company wasn't making any money from that deal and called his boss (the owner and his uncle) to see if he could match or beat it. This was done while he was sitting at the table next to me and I could clearly hear his boss tell him to walk away because there wasn't enough margin. He hung up and I reminded him that i was looking at two properties for the job and he tried to call the owner back but could not reach him. I told him that he could get back to me about the price on Monday as I was expecting another bid back that day as well and wanted to make a decision. As he was packing up his demo kit, he asked me what price I was looking for and I told him and said if he could do it for $10,000 I would sign the contract today and no entertain the other bids. He said ok, and would call me Sunday or Monday. I was pretty surprised when he pulled back in to my drive way less than 30 minutes later and said he spoke to his boss and said he would do that price for both but I needed to do the contract that day. I said that was fine and we proceeded to do the contracts for the the properties and pick the shingle colors. I was very happy the the process and the price (total time was about 2.5 hours. Unfortunately, this ended when I received a call from the Sales person this morning who told me that they were no longer going to do the work and were pulling out of the job as "there wasn't enough meat on the bones," I told him we had a signed contract for the job and he had taken my deposit already. Which he replied we have three days to pull out and they hadn't charged my card yet. He then passed me on to his manager/owner, who told me that although he had approved the price on Saturday when he looked at the margin he just couldn't do it. I reminded him of the contract and that he had approved it before I signed and he said he just couldn't do it, he said what would I do in that situation and I told him that there was a signed contract with an approved price that he approved, and if it was me I would honor my commitment and address the issue with the sales person and himself as he approved the price. He then began to tell me that I was trying to take advantage of him. I told him no, I am looking for you to honor the price agreed upon, as he was pulling out of the contract not due to any violation but because he decided they gave me a price that was too low for them.I then asked what type of counter he had and he gave me a price that was $1872 higher and there was no more room to work on this further. I asked for the Sales person's MHIC license number and he told me that he didn't have one and there was only the one for the business not the specific sales person. So be aware that this is violation of MD State Law and unless Maurice (owner signs the contract you are not protected by MHIC and it is not a valid contract. At least this was discovered now and not before any issues as there is no protection for the consumer in this scenario. All in all I was BEYOND upset that the company who I really liked and decided to go with for this work, canceled their signed contract because the Owner decided after he approved the price that he wasn't making enough money on the job. Poor customer service and not the way to conduct business.

Description of Work
Estimate for new roof on two propertys

Category roofing

3.0

03/21/2016


Melissa G.

I purchased a flat rubber roof from Kangaroof in 2008 for about $2000 for my small rowhouse. The roof they installed had a service warranty, and also a manufacturer's warranty, to last 10 years. I was happy with the service. I had leaks later on, and called them to come out. They explained that wind had raised a flap, and they fixed it at no charge. All was well. The rain in early March 2016 caused new leaks. I called to have someone from Kangaroof out to look, and spoke to Maurice. He scheduled Sam to come out on Thursday March 10 at 10am. Around 10am, Sam called to tell me his child was in trouble at school, and he could not come at 10am, but could come at 11am. I said that I was due at work, but that he could come the next day. He did not call back, and I called the company the following Saturday and Monday to reschedule. Sam did come on Thursday March 17. However, he did not get on a ladder or go up to look at my roof. He told my boyfriend that he could tell from the ground that we needed a new roof, and he wrote an estimate for roof work that costs $5600. I reported this to Maurice, who apologized. We tried to schedule something again. I was told that 10am is the earliest appointment that could be scheduled, "because of traffic." We scheduled for a Saturday afternoon, knowing that the appointment might need to be cancelled due to predicted rain. Sam called on Saturday to say that because of the rain, he would have to reschedule. I said I understood. Then he said he wanted to apologize for not going on the roof the previous visit. He explained that he was just "low energy" due to working another job. I said that I actually didn't want to hear more about his personal life, I just wanted a roofer to look at my roof and offer me some options, and no excuses. He was contrite and polite. I will not be calling this company again. The communication isn't great, the excuses aren't helpful, and the appointment times are not convenient for me. I'm extremely annoyed that Sam tried to book us for a new roof without actually looking at my roof at all.

Description of Work
I am choosing not to continue working with this company.

Category roofing

5.0

10/13/2015


Janice D.

the job went well. extra time was needed to order a replacement window. but overall very satisfied with this provider

Description of Work
partial replacement of roof and siding because of a leak

Category roofing, replacement windows

2.0

10/08/2015


Eliott P.

I never received a return call, so no work was preformed.

Description of Work
I called the company to get an estimate on repairs to my roof, but I never received a call back.

Category roofing

5.0

10/05/2015


Thomas K.

The contractor came promptly and gave an estimate. Given the urgency of the situation I agreed to the price which I thought was a little high. However, the workman came the next day and not only fixed the 8 inch hole but replaced about a 4 x 4' section of the roof to make sure that it would not leak. The repair has held up very well. The asphalt tiles on the roof are well matched. Overall it was an excellent job.

Description of Work
An 8 inch hole in the roof caused by a tree branch was patched.

Category roofing

5.0

09/15/2015


Robin B.

Kanga Roof is awesome. The whole team is incredible. I am pleasantly amazed that this type of company and customer service exist. I contacted them on Angie's List to come out and do an estimate. They responded within a few hours. Sam set a date to come out, but then emailed me that he could come earlier. I took the earlier day, and he was there right on time. They offered me a fair price for the work, a guarantee/warranty for the work, and the option to fiance the work at 0%. They never, ever tried to sell me work that I did not need or want. Other companies tried to make me pay $4000 or more to redo the entire front roof. I had the roof done a few years ago, but the roofer did a bad job and did not do the flashing properly. Kanga, not only repaired the roof, but guaranteed their work. With Kanga, I paid a third down and financed the work for six months at 0%. When I called Sam to let him know that I selected Kanga to do the work, he came out, set up the financing with me over the phone with the finance company in less than 10 minutes, and the work started the next day. Alfredo came to my house on time. He was awesome. It must have been 95 degrees outside. He worked and worked and worked. I tried to get him to come inside to get a drink of water or to use the bathroom, but he never came inside the house. We took him glasses of ice water outside. He showed us what he was going to do and how and why water was getting into the house. He was awesome. This is why I love Kanga: After the work was done, in one day, I could see the lines of the silver flashing on the roof. Alfredo had been given silver flashing instead of brown flashing. When we called Sam and Maurice and told them I did not like the work because I could see the flashing lines( Alfredo even took a picture of the roof for me and we texted it to them), Maurice did not fuss or bicker with me. Maurice said Kanga was not done until I was satisfied. The next day, it rained, so Alfredo came back the day after, pulled off the work he had done and replaced the silver flashing with brown flashing. It looks awesome. I could not believe it. This company is incredible. ,Barbara, in the office who you speak with when you call or when she calls to let you know anything about your work, is happy, pleasant, professional and well informed. Maurice and Sam are honest, fair, and they get it done. Alfredo is an artist at his work. He takes pride in the work being done and cleaning up the mess. I wish Kanga sold cars, floors, and everything else. This company is a role model for customer service and how business should be done. In six to eight weeks, I am having Kanga come back and do my windows.

Description of Work
Roof work: installed new flashing around three domer windows and other area on the roof.

Category roofing, replacement windows

5.0

08/30/2015


Jim B.

The gentlemen that arrived worked quickly to isolate and patch a hole left by shoddy builder. The price with coupon was fair and they provided a list of additional items that should be addressed. very professional

Description of Work
Climbed up on roof and inspected and repaired leaky roof.

Category roofing

5.0

08/10/2015


Alita W.

I will continue to use them in the future.

Description of Work
They did some roofing for me.

Category roofing

5.0

08/10/2015


Byshe H.

The technician was very professional. The company is not about wanting to replace a roof without even looking at it. They were the only company that I felt truly understood that most homeowners can't just spend $5,000 to $10,000 all of the time. I'll be calling them for any repairs or replacements in the future.

Description of Work
They inspected the roof for any problems.

Category roofing

3.0

07/23/2015


Peter M.

For what it's worth, this company's quote of approximately $11,500 was more than twice that of the next closest quote for the same project. I did not use them and I cannot recommend their services. The company is trying to sell "complete roofing systems" and the person they send to your home is a salesman not an installer or project manager. They could not install a "complete roofing system" in my condo because logistical considerations prevent the installation of a ridge vent. Even after subtracting the cost of the ridge vent and offering to throw in the attic insulation for free, that company's quote was not competitive. BTW, the free attic insulation would only knock $200 off the total job price. That's about $600 below the next closest quote covering attic insulation. I guess I am saying that I did not trust the numbers provided by the salesman. Also, I don't like that the company uses a two step process. After the salesman gives a price, a project manager then must consult. The salesman does not bring a ladder or flashlight; consequently, he does not go up on the roof, nor does he even look in the attic. Again, I find it difficult to trust a company that uses salesmen instead of installers to provide quotations based solely on approximate square footage.

Description of Work
Provided quote on roof replacement, gutter/downspout replacement, and attic insulation.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

We do roof repairs and roof replacements. This customer scheduled an appointment for a roof replacement, which is a complete roofing system. If we had known he was looking for a repair, we would have given an estimate for repair. Our sales people are Roofing Specialist. They are not installers. We use our installers to install the roof, which is what they do best, not sell a roof. This customer is not telling the full story. We are not the cheapest roofing company out there and we are not the most expensive either, but when you deal with us, you can't lose.

5.0

07/14/2015


sally ann K.

The initial phone contact was very polite and professional. It was very nice to have the phone answered by a live human and not be asked by a recorded message to leave a call back number! This was such a small job that the firm's estimator himself came back the following day and did the repair.

Description of Work
Replaced rusted vent from a range hood. Repaired roofing and flashing around it.

Category handyman service, roofing

5.0

06/09/2015


John M.

From the estimate to the finish job, everything went smoothly. Maurice did a great job with the estimate. He did a thorough job of examining the damage and explaining it to us. He even had samples of the materials his tech would use for part of the repairs. He also took some photos to show the tech, so the details of the job were not a surprise when his tech arrived to do the work. The work was done very well. The tech spotted some other damage and was able to add this repair to the work he was doing. From beginning to end everything and everybody were very professional and friendly.

Description of Work
Repaired/replaced water damaged fascia boards, soffit board and roof framing that had resulted from a damaged gutter.

Category roofing, siding

5.0

06/07/2015


BARBARA R.

Provider was very communicative of what needed to be done and cost with the deal. Apparently there had been some misunderstandings in the past. They came on time and we're efficient during project.

Description of Work
Provided additional blown in insulation and baffled in attic of townhome. Total price was 1584. Had Angie's list deal so total was $1084.

Category insulation, roofing

5.0

05/14/2015


WILLIAM R.

The estimate technician Maurice was very professional and explained exactly what needed to be done and a straight forward estimate was given. The work technician Alfredo showed up and we discussed the problem area for repair. He proceeded to fix the corner repair needed, then secured all the window shutters that needed fixing. The work looked great as if no damage was ever done. Very satisfied and would not hesitate to call them again.

Description of Work
Repair work done to soffit and roof fascia. Tighten or replace all lose and missing screws to window shutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows

5.0

04/23/2015


Amanda S.

It was good. They left the area clean.

Description of Work
Repaired a leak and replaced some shingles.

Category roofing

5.0

03/09/2015


PATSY (pwardw@gmail.com) W.

Provider set up blower in the yard and threaded the hose through the window. Insulation was installed and clean-up was made. The operators were friendly and capable and I'd use this company again.

Description of Work
Installed blown-in insulation.

Category roofing

4.0

03/02/2015


Toby C.

Requested refund as service was not available.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category roofing

1.0

02/24/2015


Anna B.

I bought a deal on angie's list for $500 worth of attic insulation for $99. Upon inspection of the attic I was told that angie's list only reimburses $500 but the total amount of the job would be well over $3000. I am not able to spend that much money at this time - my sole purpose of purchasing this deal was to add a bit of insulation to our attic for better utility efficiency - NOT to re-insluate my entire attic. I hope that angie's list will recognize this deal as not worth it for most people - and should put additional information that would indicate that this could be a very expensive job based on size of attic. ad was misleading. The man who came out was very nice and very informative - I'm glad he gave me the information before going to the trouble of measuring and preparing an estimate.

Description of Work
came out to give estimate for additional attic insulation.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We are sorry for the misunderstanding. The customer misread the ad. She could have contacted Angie's List for more clarification. This is why we instruct our technicians to fully explain the particulars or ins and outs of the deal prior to giving a cost for the insulation.

5.0

01/18/2015


Dwight S.

The team came on time and did the job in time told. Professional and cleaned up when finished.

Description of Work
Insulation installed in the attic

Category insulation, roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    FCH Roofing Exterior and Interior LLC

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in roofing and remodeling services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    GLR Home Improvement

    We have over 30 years experience! Our company is based on the belief that our customers' needs are of the utmost importance. Our entire team is committed to meeting those needs. As a result, a high percentage of our business is from repeat customers and referrals. We would welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service in the industry.  

    Hassle Free Home Improvements, Inc

    High quality full scale home remodeling; many good references and testimonials; skilled employees, including master carpenters and tile setters. Occasionally use reliable and professional subs when needed. Kitchen and bath design center & showroom located at 26218 Ridge Road, Damascus, MD 20872. Factory direct dealer for several cabinet lines. Lots of cabinet, counter top, and tile samples in showroom. In-house kitchen design services. Cost of work is determined by the job. Travel charges only on small jobs. Free estimates. Licensed and insured. May contact by email. 5% Angie's List discount on all jobs.  

    Business Highlights

    Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    85692
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Roofing - Repairs, Inspection, & Replacement. Siding Repair. Attic Insulation. Skylights. Gutter Replacement.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof

    How is A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof overall rated?

    A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof open?

    A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof provide

    A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof offer free estimates?

    Yes, A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof offers free project estimates.

    Does A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof offer a senior discount?

    No, A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof offer emergency services?

    Yes, A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof?

    No, A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof does not offer warranties.

    What services does A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof offer?

    A-1 Roofing's Kanga Roof offers the following services: Roofing - Repairs, Inspection, & Replacement. Siding Repair. Attic Insulation. Skylights. Gutter Replacement.