Diversified Contractors LLC

About

Founded 2001 • With Angi since August 2008

Customer satisfaction comes first, which is why the owner is present throughout most of the construction and installation. We love what we do and we put that care into each project. We have hundreds of satisfied customers in MD, DC and Northern Virginia who will be more than happy to provide references. From simple and humble patios to vast and spacious landscapes, we always bring sophistication. Great or small, every endeavor is an honor to us and your exquisite taste is our passion....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+29 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(173) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

143

4

9

3

1

2

10

1

10

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

hardscaping (141)lawn & landscaping (76)Patios (66)concrete repair (22)masonry (21)stone & gravel (20)lawn care (14)decks & porches (12)drain pipe installation (11)mulch delivering (10)excavating (9)outdoor kitchens (7)
Showing 1-25 of 173 reviews
5.0

03/23/2021


Patrick M.

We had a great experience working with Mike and his DC Patio crews. Relationships are important when entering into a big project, and we clicked right away with Mike. During his initial site visit, he listened to what we were looking for, provided suggestions for us to consider on details where we were undecided, and really took it all in as it was a large project wrapping around three sides of the house. He was flexible regarding our desire to source some of our own materials, and provided a detailed, comprehensive estimate that was very competitive relative to other proposals we received. Our project was delayed due to our preferred materials being unavailable as the factory shut down for two months during the initial COVID-19 lockdowns, but once we had a delivery date, DC Patio was able to get us on their schedule and get started. The crews were great: respectful, courteous, polite, tidy. Edgardo and Victor were here almost everyday, and Henry, Marvin, Donaldo, and others joined depending on nature and scope of the day's work. Mike usually came out in the morning to go over the plan for the next day or two and walk through any design decisions that were needed. In the course of about five weeks, the crews were able to remove two old walkways (including jackhammering out a set of concrete steps), add 4-10 inches of soil all the way around the house to create slope for drainage, divert 5 downspouts with underground pipes and pop-up emitters as well as two catch basins, build the crushed stone base for the new walkways and multi-level patio, install a small retaining/seating wall as well as two long, curved steps between the levels, build three small sets of bluestone steps into the house, and install two curving paver walkways, three pavers circles, a fire pit, and a large paver patio, totaling almost 2000 sq ft! And they moved a few large plants and installed some landscape lighting at each stair riser to boot. The last step was to seed the area around the patio for grass, but due to it being early July, we all expected that it may be too hot for the seed to take root even with daily watering. Mike anticipated this and planned to send a crew back in the early fall to overseed, which he did proactively without prompting. The grass seed took hold the second time and now we are all set to enjoy our new spaces this spring! We always like to support local business who take care of their customers AND their employees, and Mike's commitment to communicating with his crews in Spanish is clearly appreciated. The commitment goes both ways - we talked to several of his guys who have worked with him for many years. I would highly recommend considering DC Patio if you're in the market to transform your property with beautiful hardscaping.

Description of Work
Paver Patio, walkway, walling installation; grading and drainage

Category ceramic tile, landscaping, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2020

5.0

06/15/2020


linda P.

I will be using them but they will not be able to do it until July. They are responsive.

Description of Work
To replace a retaining wall.

Category landscaping

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2020

5.0

11/11/2019


Sara H.

Mike and his team were awesome. Mike was great to deal with from start to finish, very flexible and laid back about everything, always ready to talk something over or swing by with a sample. The team finished the patio in 4 days! They were super efficient. Pricing was definitely competitive. I would recommend them and will probably call them back in the future for other work.

Description of Work
New paver patio

Category patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2019

5.0

03/20/2019


Catherine M.

Mike and his team did an excellent job! Our concrete stairs already had a sandstone overlay that needed to be taken off which was labor-intensive, then a slate overlay put on. We chose pavers for the walkway that leads to the driveway. Mike had excellent suggestion as to colors and patterns. We are very pleased with the work done.

Description of Work
Front concrete stairs needed sandstone overlay pulled off and new slate overlay put on, as well new walk way to be laid.

Category masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2018

5.0

11/13/2018


Kryss L.

GREAT! They did everything asked, and it all looks wonderful

Description of Work
A 15 x 11 paver patio installed. 3/4" river rocks put in under pre-existing porch. Beautifying/trimming 3 HUGE trees, and complete removal (stump grinding included) of one HUGE tree.

Category decks, landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, tree service, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2018

5.0

10/25/2018


Kevin G.

Mike and his crew are A+. I can't say enough good things about them and the work they performed. They were respectful, courteous, incredibly hardworking, and responsive. In the initial phases, Mike stood out from others contractors we talked to. Rather than being an order-taker, he provided great suggestions and valuable insight which improved upon our initial ideas. We had a pretty specific idea of what we wanted, and combined with his knowledge and suggestions, they nailed it. Overall, I can't recommend them enough and will absolutely be using him again when the time comes.

Description of Work
Installed Patio off of porch

Category hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios, outdoor kitchens

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2018

5.0

10/24/2018


Dustin F.

Removed old concrete patio: This was an old 1963-era concrete slab. Massive. Mike & his team brought in jackhammers and made quick work of it. Waterproofing: Removing the old slab revealed a damaged (and possibly leaking) portion of the house wall, which Mike's team repaired well. Replaced with new patio: Mike's team poured a new cement layer, then installed a new flagstone patio surface on top of that. Also a new step (concrete with flagstone exterior) at the door threshold. They also re-installed an iron railing which had been part of the original patio configuration. The job went well in all respects. We're happy with the team's work and with the new patio. I've worked with Mike and Diversified Contractors several times now. Each time, Mike has had good ideas & suggestions. Each time, his team has demonstrated excellent skills. Again, I'm looking forward to our next project.

Description of Work
remove old concrete patio; replace with new flagstone patio; re-install iron railing

Category concrete repair, masonry, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2018

5.0

10/24/2018


Tracy M.

Diversified Contractors was one of four companies that we contacted for design ideas and estimate. Mike Erickson, owner, was the first person to respond and was professional, friendly, and responsive throughout the process. He came out to meet with us to hear about our vision and discuss ideas. Mike was the most prompt with an estimate (including a second one, when I changed my design ideas). He was always very patient and responsive to my many, many questions and ideas and was able to quickly grasp the look and feel we were going for. We decided to move forward with DC because of their responsiveness, recommendations, and reasonable pricing for the work. While the work was delayed due to a very rainy couple of weeks, Mike was very good about communicating throughout the process. The team that came did a very good job with demolition, laying the foundation, and cleaning up after themselves each day; and the stone masons did beautiful work. They were attentive to the design and my daily input and clearly took great pride in their work. Mike came out each day to discuss progress. The final product is all that we could hope for, and we couldn't be more thrilled with our new patio. I have recommended DC to family and neighbors and will use them without hesitation for future projects.

Description of Work
We had concrete steps covered with stone; existing flagstone patio pulled up, concrete re-graded, new concrete laid for a patio extension. Both old and new flagstone used and beautifully merged. Pea gravel fire pit area ringed with stone.

Category hardscaping

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2018

5.0

07/23/2018


Kim M.

I couldn't be happier with Diversified Contractors. Mike was immediately responsive to my request for a quote, provided the quote in a timely fashion, and showed up every day once the work began to check on the progress and make sure I was satisfied with the work being done. His crew worked so hard in extreme heat, were very professional, polite, and punctual. They took real pride in the work they were doing and left the job site clean every day. I can't say enough good things about my experience with this firm - highly recommend! The project, from start to finish, exceeded my expectations.

Description of Work
New front walkway and steps and new back patio

Category hardscaping

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2018

Images

Review for Diversified Contractors LLC - 15901 Derwood Rd, Derwood, MD - 37261988

+1 More

2.0

12/29/2017


Clarence G.

Contracted with Diversified Contractors, LLC to install a front patio, retaining wall & low voltage riser lights in spring of 2016. Personal contacts included Doug A. Barahona (Co-owner, Resident Agent & Project Mgr); Julio (Stone & Lighting worker); & Bryan M. Guiffre (Acct Executive). Seven (7) months after work was completed, the wall lighting system malfunctioned repeatedly. Diversified prolonged remedying the defective lighting system they chose & improperly installed. This was diagnosed by a certified electrical contracting company. In spite of urgings to address the problem by 2 TV consumer advocate divisions (Ch 7's "7 On-Your-Side" & Ch 4's "NBC Responds), Diversified Reps procrastinated for months causing me to pursue legal action. 4/2017, I filed with the MD Dist Ct a complaint. 7/2017, The court issued a judgment & ruling against Diversified Contractors, LLC for Breach of Contract & Failure to act in a responsible manner in honoring its contractual duties & obligations under the warranty. Damages Assessed.

Description of Work
5/13/2016 Angie's List Review & Below Follow-up

Category masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/29/2017

5.0

12/25/2017


Michael S.

DC Patio was a perfect choice. We are in Northern Virginia, not Maryland, but their on-site inspection and estimate for the work was provided promptly, their work began promptly when scheduled, the workers were total professionals at doing their work (I am truly impressed with their work-ethic), and their after-job cleanup was exemplary. They removed all furniture from the patio before beginning work, cleaned the patio and joints, replaced all of the existing joint mortar, leveled and reset all loose stones, and returned the furniture to the patio at the end of the job. The price was more than reasonable, given other estimates. One caution -- they appear to be very busy so schedule accordingly. Once scheduled, our work went like clock-work.

Description of Work
Repair aging flagstone patio -- grind, clean and prep all joints and reset loose stones

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Cost $3,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2017

5.0

12/21/2017


Charles M.

We hired Diversified Contractors to install a new patio, walkway and retaining wall at our home during the summer of 2017. The job consisted of removing an existing concrete patio and then installing a new patio and a 60-foot walkway using Westchester pavers. In addition, a 25-foot retaining wall incorporating a new PVC drainage system was installed under an existing deck. The job required a significant amount of landscaping and regrading of our backyard. Diversified Contractors completed the work on schedule and the men who performed the installation were courteous, professional and excellent craftsmen. The manager/owner came by each day to review the progress of the work. He was always accessible to address our questions. We are extremely pleased with the service and could not have asked for a better contractor to perform the work. The quality and design of the resulting patio, walkway and retaining wall have exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend Diversified Contractors to anyone who is considering having masonry work done at their home.

Description of Work
Install new patio, walkway & retaining wall.

Category decks, landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2017

5.0

09/18/2017


Michael & Barbara T.

They were excellent. Yes, I would use this provider again.

Description of Work
They did basic handymen service, gutter cleaning and hung some heavy art on the wall.

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2017

5.0

09/09/2017


Yevheniy B.

Wow!!! I have never had such pleasant experience. Everything was just perfect. I am so thankful to Mike Erickson and his tireless crew. Every aspect for this company work could be rated as A+++. I highly recommend Diversified Contractors to everyone. High quality work and responsiveness for very reasonable price!

Description of Work
I had to build brand new patio which included high-end paver, high-end stepping stones, and gravel.

Category pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/09/2017

5.0

06/06/2017


Arthur H.

Mike listened to our preferences; he offered ideas; he e-mailed written estimate; he was patient during the deliberations with the HOA. Mike followed up with us and provided timeline estimate. He is caring, considerate of needs and professional.

Description of Work
Designed patio and built steps.

Category drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Cost $11,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2017

5.0

02/25/2017


Michele S.

Mike and his crew at DC Patio did an excellent job replacing and expanding our patio and related work. During the bidding phase, Mike took the time to answer all our questions and provide a fair and accurate contract. As work was completed, Mike was on site every day and in contact with us daily to report progress as well as to answer questions. The new flagstone patio and retaining wall they built came out wonderfully. We highly recommend DC Patio.

Description of Work
Replace and expand patio, build retaining wall.

Category hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/25/2017

Service Provider Response

Hey guys, thanks so much for the kind words! It was great to work for you both, and glad you are enjoying your new patio space. Looking forward to getting back out there this Spring for the landscape plantings! See you soon! Cheers, Mike E.

5.0

09/17/2016


Kazuko W.

Since the work was so perfect, we asked them to re-do the entire driveway which now has a brand new look. From designing and picking flagstones to completing the patio and driveway projects and planting flowers and trees, Mike (Owner) is very attentive and friendly. The work is very professional.

Description of Work
They started with building a new flagstone patio.

Category concrete driveways, patios

Cost $80,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2016

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], it was such a pleasure to work for you, I was so happy to hear from you again for the additional project. I am still getting a bunch of inquiries about the patio from pictures we took, everyone loves the look of that golden quartzite! You made a beautiful choice! And the pavers for the driveway seem to compliment the stone house veneer so well! And with the plantings to enhance everything, this project quickly became one of my favorites of all time! Thanks so much for the opportunity to work for you, truly appreciate it! Best Regards, Mike Erickson DC Patio Owner

5.0

08/14/2016


Paul R.

Exceptional work performed at a fair price. From the initial project visit, I found Mike and Don to be extremely professional - in the manner in which the project was measured, assessed and priced. Along with their work crew, they were responsive in the truest sense of the word, especially when it came to ironing out unexpected wrinkles in the project. Diversified Contractors ensured my total satisfaction, by replacing two flagstone pieces at my request, providing better color-dimensionality for the walkway. A willingness to listen, project flexibility and concern for overall project quality is what I believe sets Diversified Contractors apart. I would not hesitate to consider them again for another outdoor project, and recommend them to anyone looking for high quality work at a fair price - with great customer service relations.

Description of Work
Sidewalk Entry and Backyard Gate Landing - Flagstone overlay

Category hardscaping

Cost $5,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2016

Service Provider Response

Hello there [Member Name Removed], Thanks-a-million for the very kind review! I think the walkway/entrance renovation turned out beautiful! It's amazing what a little natural flagstone can do for some curb appeal! It's very rewarding to hear feedback like yours, I appreciate that you chose to go with us for this project. Thanks once again, and if there is ever anything else you need down the road, we'd love to hear from you! Best Regards, Mike Erickson DC Patio Owner

5.0

07/21/2016


Damone J.

Things could't have gone any better. Doug and Don worked very closely with us on our vision for a complete backyard renovation. They made recommendations that saved us money and improved on our vision. They were flexible, fair, and knowledgable throughout. Them and their team brought our dream to life and truly transformed our dumpy patch of grass in the back into a real outdoor living space. Even when the county came sniffing around b/c of nosey neighbors, they kept things on track and squashed any potential issues. I know my wife and I were a pain in the rear end, but they kept a smile on their face and answered even the most minute of our questions, and triple-confirmed everything as the project kicked off. Thanks Doug. Thanks Don.

Description of Work
Backyard renovation (new fence, new wall, wall repair, sod installation, land grading/fill).

Category excavators, fencing, hauling services, landscaping, lawn service, masonry, mulch, hardscaping, patios

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2016

5.0

06/27/2016


Jeanine C.

I bought a townhouse that was maintained on the inside but the outside was awful. It had dead sod, dead bushes and a hole the size of a bathtub in the center of the yard ,that had once been a fish pond but was then used as dog's digging haven. I knew that I wouldn't be able to enjoy using the yard no much enjoy looking at it. Thanks to Diversified Contractors, I have a beautiful oasis that I enjoy everyday . The slat patio is the envy of the neighborhood. They removed everything, old concrete, dead landscaping and sod. Installed a perfectly measured and graded oversized patio with a stacked stone wall. The crew showed up on time every day and were anxious to make sure I was pleased. I couldn't be happier.

Description of Work
slate patio and landscaping

Category landscaping, patios

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2016

5.0

06/10/2016


Danielle V.

They are very responsive, professional and make sure the customer is satisfied. They installed a patio at our old house and once we moved to a new house, we knew we wanted to work with them again. If you're in the market for a patio, make sure to contact Don at Diversified Contractors (aka DC Patio).

Description of Work
Installation of 22x11 ft Nicolock patio including 2 burried drains for downspout and sump pump water flow incl. pop-up valves.

Category patios

Cost $4,540

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2016

1.0

03/02/2016


Patrick K.

Used their website to request an estimate on doing a hardscape patio. No response for about a week, so I called on a Friday, and left a message. It's now Wednesday, two weeks after my website attempt, and 5 days after leaving a phone message. No response. Could be a website issue, so I will let that one slide. However, when you're running a business, I expect a return phone call within 48 hours (24 is probably the better rule). As a lawyer, I wouldn't have many clients if I didn't return phone calls within 48 hours. I guess they just have too much business to bother about new customers.

Description of Work
Nothing. Never returned my phone call.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Work Completed On 02/05/2016