Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Aragon Chimney Services

Founded 2008 • With Angi since March 2015

4.9

(41) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

19645 Muncaster Rd

Derwood, MD 20855

Description

We have been involved in the chimney and venting industry for a number or years, Carlos Aragon’s ability, resources, and determination allowed his new enterprise to quickly mature. After a modest beginning, with only one service vehicle, Aragon Multi-Services, Inc. has grown into one of the largest, most respected companies in the Washington Metropolitan Area....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/20/2020


Marina T.

All handled professionally and with kindness.

Description of Work
cleaning of chimney and two dryer vents.

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

5.0

01/21/2019


Ed N.

Aragon was a pleasure to deal with. Their chimney cleaners called to see if they could come earlier than scheduled, which worked out very well, and upon arrival were friendly and professional. They removed their shoes and got to work checking the flue and explained what they were doing. We did not have access to the roof because of the style of townhouse we live in, so they could not check the top of the chimney, but they gave the green light and offered to start a fire so that they could check that the chimney was drafting properly. It was, and they said there was no charge because they couldn't get to the roof. It was a nice surprise and we've had a fire burning all day. I'll use them again next year!

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

10/20/2018


Jennifer P.

Carlos did an amazing job in fixing our three exhaust pipes going through the roof. They were leaking water around them and now the leaks are gone. Carlos put new upgraded storm caps on them that will keep blowing rain out of them and he put tar over the flashings to seal them. Very professional and he was extremely knowledgeable. Highly recommend for any exhaust flue or chimney work!!

Description of Work
Exhaust flue repairs

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

10/08/2018


IRSHAD A.

The job was started and completed within the projected time frame. All contacts with the company were courteous, respectful of concerns and intelligence and responsive to my questions and follow-up questions. Of the several contractors that bidded on the job, Aragon was the most comprehensive and respectful. They provided visual evidence to support their recommendations and they assessed the entire fireplace system, providing the cost of alternative solutions, not just the flue, and not just a liner vs a ceramic coating. I tend to do tons of research before consulting with a contractor. These folks exceeded my expectations. They cost a bit more that I expected and what some of the others quoted, but they were thorough and reliable; thereby making it worth it.

Description of Work
Rebuilt firebox, installed stainless steel liner, repaired and sealed furnace crown, installed new damper, repaired outside chimney shoulder to prevent further water leakage.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

09/13/2018


stanley R.

Aragon did a great job replacing my chimney cap and painting my furnace pipe. They were professional, friendly, showed up when expected and efficient in performing the work.

Description of Work
replace chimney cap

Category chimney caps

5.0

01/03/2018


Ed R.

The team did excellent work. They were fast and efficient and completely cleaned the work sites after they were done. Everything was done according to the contract and completed on schedule.

Description of Work
Rebuilt upper portion of chimney and tuck pointed brickwork. Replaced venting duct work for my gas hot water heater and furnace.

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

11/14/2017


gloria E.

If I could give ten stars to Carlos and his company, I would. He was friendly, reliable, honest and very personable. He understood what i needed and gave me a very fair estimate. While other companies tried to tell me that i didn't need a permit, Carlos went right down and got one for the work on my home. His team came as schedule, and did the work. They were professional, worked very hard, and cleaned up after themselves. Would i hire them again? In a heartbeat!!~

Description of Work
My granite wall was hit by a truck and needed repair work. Also, I asked for estimate for repointing the granite steps and walkway of my home.

Category masonry, chimney repair, pressure washing

5.0

10/22/2017


David W.

Excellent. Carlos and his staff were punctual, worked hard, and did a very nice job. Without exception, everyone I communicated with from the company was a pleasure to interact with. The estimate appointment was easy to schedule, the estimate was clearly written up and the invoice/receipt was prompted emailed. I can't think of anything that Aragon could have done that would have made the experience better.

Description of Work
The crown on my chimney needed to be replaced. Cracks had to be repaired. And the chimney needed to be sealed to prevent water from seeping in.

Category chimney repair

5.0

10/12/2017


Kristina J.

Carlos was on time and very professional. He and his team cleaned the chimney and identified a potential issue. It was all very easy and quick.

Description of Work
Basic chimney inspection

Category chimney repair

5.0

09/27/2017


Sylvia D.

Everything went very well. The house was built in 1921 and the chimney had not been used in over 15 years. The CEO of the company Carlos came and inspected the chimney. After his inspection he informed me of the condition of the chimney and discussed the required repairs needed to make the chimney safe for usage. Carlos also provided me with a brochure which showed pictures of a chimney structure and what parts my chimney was missing. He also took pictures as part of his inspection and showed them to me so I could see exactly where the repairs were needed inside the chimney. Within a few days his crew came to make the repairs and finished in one day. Old cracked terra cota lining was removed, new stainless steel lining installed with insulation, chimney caps installed, and repair of brick work was done. The crew cleaned up after themselves and left the home spotless. Carlos came by during the repairs to check on the crew and to see if I had any questions or concerns. The chimney is now ready for winter!!!

Description of Work
Chimney repair

Category chimney repair

5.0

08/03/2017


Laura B.

Carlos was a true professional. I would highly recommend his company!

Description of Work
Furnace liner and masonry

Category masonry, chimney repair

5.0

07/03/2017


Daniel B.

Very prompt, professional, clean, and honest - didn't try to oversell. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Assessed and cleaned chimney.

Category chimney repair

5.0

06/23/2017


Jeanine T.

Aragon is great. Second time we have used them and they are always timely. They do quick work, but are always willing to discuss what they have done, any issues and what we need to be looking out for. Punctual, polite and fairly priced service.

Description of Work
Chimney sweep and inspection.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

05/10/2017


Jim G.

Excellent service. Technicians inspected flue and connection pipe from water heater to the flue, finding and removing an obstruction in the connection as well as installing a raincap on the chimney. Pricing was reasonable and prompt response to our service request was commendable. Inspection of our fireplace chimney provided free of charge.

Description of Work
Inspection of masonry chimney flue for furnace and hot water heater.

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

05/02/2017


Kristine J.

They showed up right on time and gave an estimate on the spot. The description of what needed to be done matched what other companies told me and the price was competitive. They took extra time explaining what work would be done and why it was important. They were able to schedule the work within the next few days. When they showed up to do the work, they were again right on time. It took them about a day and a half to complete the job. Throughout the process everyone on the crew was extremely professional. The care they took to manage the dust and not damage the fireplace mantel was amazing. Will definitely be using them for routine chimney sweeping in the future.

Description of Work
We had both our fireplace and furnace chimneys lined in our two story house as well as some masonry work done on the chimney crown.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

04/29/2017


Karla S.

It went well the day of the visit. They cleaned my chimney and inspected it. I received an email about a week later with the results of the inspection.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

04/26/2017


Cat L.

Great! The work was done in a timely manner, the crew cleaned up after themselves well. The new brick courses look a little different from the older brick, but should weather to match.

Description of Work
Remove terra cotta chimney liner; install steel liner. Replace upper courses of brick chimney; install new concrete cap.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

01/31/2017


Ricardo R.

Excellent service and very accommodating to tenants in the property.

Description of Work
Reparging of two fireplaces

Category chimney repair

5.0

12/26/2016


Bill T.

They were excellent from start to finish. Answered my questions, showed before and after photos, gave good recommendations and quickly sent estimates for three different options at my request.

Description of Work
Aragon Chimney Services cleaned my chimneys and changed a damper.

Category chimney repair

1.0

10/31/2016


Abby A.

We were told we did not need a cleaning, but that there were cracks in our chimney that needed to be repaired and that it would be $3,800. We just purchased the house a year ago and were provided receipts for $5K worth of work done, so this did not seem right. Our friends who used Aragon were told they had the exact same issue, so that raised our suspicions even further. We got a second opinion (were provided pictures) and were told our chimney was fine. Aragon did not leave us with any pictures - only a recommendation to pay them $3800. We believe they were scamming us and, when I called them to address this, was told we would receive a refund for our inspection fee. It was never refunded, so we called them back and then were told by Carlos, the owner, that we would not receive the refund. He extremely rude and unprofessional and started yelling at me and telling me I was "lying to myself." I don't know how this company is still in business, but I beg you not to use them, unless you like throwing money away.

Description of Work
We paid for an inspection.

Category chimney repair

5.0

07/23/2016


Robert R.

It went very well. Owner Carlos Aragon came as schedule and wrote out very detailed estimate, covering all components. In contrast, a firm offering a lower price did not have all components listed, which could have exposed me to extra charges, such as for an in-attic 45-degreee elbow or using stainless steel. Workmen arrived at scheduled time. Worked on roof and in attic on very hot day. Quality of work appears to be excellent--of course, time alone can tell.

Description of Work
Replace gas furnaces/water heater vent through roof; sweep fireplace chimney

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

01/12/2016


Nathan F.

Workers were very professional and did a great job on the work. Only hiccup was that it took them two days to pick up their construction debris after stating they would pick it up at two different times and failed to do so. Overall happy with the work and would hire again.

Description of Work
Replaced Chimney Liners

Category chimney repair

5.0

09/12/2015


Jason K.

I was delighted with Aragon Chimney. First, their owner - Carlos Aragon - was one of the warmest individuals I have met in a long time. From the initial inspection to the end, both Carlos and his team were very careful to explain what needed to be done, including taking several pictures along the way so I could see exactly what they were looking at. They walked me through all of the materials they would use and worked diligently throughout the day and a half the work took (in fact, I put sandwiches out for them because otherwise they would have worked right through lunch). I noticed one small problem after the work was done (three bricks had come loose when they were removing the old terra cota lining in an area that did not disrupt the functioning of the fireplace but which were cosmetically important. Carlos had people back at they house within 12 hours of my calling him, and the work was quickly and professionally done. Overall, Aragon was excellent. I only give them a B on price as I continue to be surprised how much chimney work costs, but Aragon's prices were very competitive with 2 other providers I had bid on this work -- and for higher quality materials. Overall, I feel like Aragon gave me very solid work and quality materials at a reasonable price.

Description of Work
Aragon Chimney service removed the old terra cota lining in our chimney, re-lined our chimney with a stainless steel pipe, replaced the vent for our furnace, capped our chimney and added a new flue, and did a little pointing up work.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

03/24/2015


Albert Z.

If I could give someone six stars, I would give it to Carlos. He was one of three companies to estimate and he was the most honest, reliable, friendly, and competent. Whereas the other two guys claimed I needed certain things done, Carlos didn't and without any prior knowledge of what the other guys recommended. I can't say enough good things about Carlos and the work his crew does and would hire him again without a second thought!

Description of Work
Carlos and his crew replaced a liner, did mortar work, installed caps and a vent.

Category masonry, chimney repair

5.0

02/02/2015


Sean W.

We have had Aragon come to our house several times. The first was to inspect and clean our chimney, which they did a great job at. Carlos is great and explains everything that he is doing and gives you several cost options. We also had them fix the crown on our chimney. This time, Carlos came out and explained that because of the recent ice storm, that it would cost more to do the gutter work. However, he would be more than willing to come back when the weather changed so that he could save us some money. I really appreciate his honesty and his flexibility. I hope to work with Aragon in the future!

Description of Work
Carlos came over to clean out our gutters.

Category chimney repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Nicto Chimney Sweeps Inc

    Nicto Chimney Sweeps is a small, family-run business specializing in chimney repair and cleaning. All of our technicians possess years of on-the-job experience. Not only that, they're also industry certified and committed to keeping up with the latest advances in the field. You can rest easy, because your chimney repair will be in the best and most skilled hands that it can be.  

    Potts Brothers LLC

    Interior & exterior painting, kitchen, bathrooms & basement remodeling. Award winning. New in 2019 home elevators We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Colina Renovations

    Colina Renovations was created to meet the growing demand and on-going need for professional grade painting and remodeling services in the VA, MD and DC area. Our focus is to provide high quality surface preparation, finished painting and remodeling services to our residential and commercial clients.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    13%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Chimney sweeps, brick laying, wood stove dealer, new liners, b-vent pipe installation, rain caps, top dampers, solar attic fans, Level 1,2 & 3 inspections ,2nd opinions free

    Services Not Offered

    Wallpaper. Home additions.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Aragon Chimney Services

    How is Aragon Chimney Services overall rated?

    Aragon Chimney Services is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Aragon Chimney Services open?

    Aragon Chimney Services is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Aragon Chimney Services provide

    Aragon Chimney Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Aragon Chimney Services offer free estimates?

    No, Aragon Chimney Services does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Aragon Chimney Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Aragon Chimney Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Aragon Chimney Services offer a senior discount?

    No, Aragon Chimney Services does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Aragon Chimney Services?

    Yes, Aragon Chimney Services offers warranties.

    What services does Aragon Chimney Services offer?

    Aragon Chimney Services offers the following services: Chimney sweeps, brick laying, wood stove dealer, new liners, b-vent pipe installation, rain caps, top dampers, solar attic fans, Level 1,2 & 3 inspections ,2nd opinions free

    Are there any services Aragon Chimney Services does not offer?

    Wallpaper. Home additions.