Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

King Cuts Landscaping

Founded 2001 • With Angi since May 2011

4.8

(66) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

.

Davidsonville, MD 21035

Description

King Cuts Landscaping is an award winning, family-operated, fully licensed and insured company that specializes in residential landscape/hardscape installation, design and maintenance services. King Cuts Landscaping began as a small landscaping company with one part-time employee and a handful of maintenance customers. Today, we have six landscape/hardscape teams made up of top industry professionals and we successfully handle a significant number of loyal and satisfied customers. K.C.L has been able to enjoy more than a decade of success due to our commitment to quality, dependability and customer service. The owners of King Cuts Landscaping (brothers Bret and Keith Whetzel) are involved in every aspect of the business including the planning and practice of services. Our goal is to provide the best results for our clients at an affordable rate all while maintaining a professional image. Contact us today and "Enjoy the Royal Treatment"....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/09/2020


Bonnie S.

King Cuts Landscaping is the best! We highly recommend them without reservation. They have done a couple of drainage projects for us to deal with complicated water issues in our yard. Bret took the time to thoughtfully evaluate the situation and readily reworked the plan as new information became available. His clear estimates let us make a plan and a timeline that worked with our budget. And the crew is great - hardworking, respectful and polite, we wouldn't hesitate to have any of them back. His plan worked, too - it gave us the use of our yard back and it looks great!

Description of Work
Drainage projects to remediate major water issues in our yard.

Category landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, drain pipe

5.0

10/21/2019


Michelle B.

I was very pleased with King Cut's responsiveness to my quote request, their follow-up to spec the job, and the execution of the task. I asked for two levels of quote: simple repair of existing flagstone and a more ambitious paying stone rebuild of front walk. Two detailed quotes were prepared and transmitted to me for evaluation; I was very impressed with the detail. For budget reasons, I opted for the less expensive flagstone repair. My front walkway's flagstone arrangement had degraded over years and the polymeric sand had essentially disappeared prompting weed growth in cracks and other unsightly developments. ,King Cut's staff arrived early on the day of the job and finished the job in one day as estimated (which included laying gravel rock down around portions of house for erosion control purposes). The job involved re-bed of the flagstone on gravel then application of polymeric sand in the joints, The overall cost was as quoted. The job was completed on time and within budget with utmost professionalism. Very pleasant experience!

Description of Work
Repair of Flagstone Front Walk

Category pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

09/30/2019


Wayne M.

Excellent - work was performed competently and on schedule.

Description of Work
Misc lanscaping - shrube replacement, landscape timber replacement, lattice installation, stone path installation

Category landscaping

5.0

09/03/2019


Alan K.

King Cuts did an excellent job on our project after basement flooded. Project was completed on schedule. Grading and exterior drains installed and the landscaping was beautiful. Thank you.

Description of Work
Exterior drainage, grading, and landscaping

Category landscaping, drain pipe

5.0

05/01/2019


Kathleen R.

This is the second year I have had King Cuts perform my spring clean-up and both times the clean-ups were the best I have had. Both the completed job and the crew are very professional. The crew is very friendly and work very hard. You can tell they take a lot of pride in what they do. I would certainly recommend Bret and King Cuts.

Description of Work
spring cleanup

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

12/06/2018


Kathryn R.

Very well. They showed up on time and completed the work quickly.

Description of Work
Repair and improvement of underground drain pipe.

Category landscaping, drain pipe

5.0

10/18/2018


Stepen T.

Fantastic. Bret and the crew were a joy to work with. Highly recommend them. Act early because they are busy!!

Description of Work
Wanted to replace a 45-year-old brick patio and install a garden wall.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing King Cuts! It was a pleasure to work with you on this project - we hope you will get a lot of use out of your new space this fall season! Thanks again! Bret & Keith

5.0

07/31/2018


Nancy E.

Everything went very smoothly with this project. The company was very responsive, friendly, and efficient. The estimate was excellent, breaking down each specific charge. We are thrilled with the results. The crew was very helpful and courteous and left the work site spotless each day. They were so thorough and attended to every detail in the estimate. The wall is just beautiful and we could not be happier with the final results. We will highly recommend them to neighbors and friends and will not hesitate to call King Cuts in the future for all of our landscaping needs.

Description of Work
Installation of retaining wall

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We greatly appreciate your business and are so happy to hear how satisfied you are with the finished product. We look forward to being available and we certainly appreciate the referrals. Thank you!

5.0

01/19/2018


David M.

Let me start by saying how organized and professional King Cuts Landscaping is. This company was by far the most prepared in quotes, sketches, materials used, planned work being done, timeline, responsiveness, details etc... Working with Bret, George and crew was just perfect. The professionalism of the company far exceeds other contractors I have used in the past. These guys do the job sticking to paver and landscape standards/code. Bret was super responsive prior to the work, during the work, and after the work was performed. King Cuts was not the lowest bid I got but they totally make up for it with the quality of work performed. You get what you pay for. I would not ever use any other company as this Angie's List "A" rated company just nailed the job and scope of work. I will surely use the company in the spring for plants/sod/landscaping to put the final touches on my project. These guys worked in 20 degree weather and had no complaints. Thanks Bret for doing an amazing job on my Landscape/Hardscape project. All my neighbors want you guys out here in the spring! Look forward to working with you guys again in the near future.

Description of Work
Hardscape/Landscape project Front/Side/Back of house

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping

4.0

01/19/2018


Rhoda L.

I found the work done very professionally

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping

5.0

12/19/2017


Randy W.

Polite professionals who performed quality work. Delivered on time. Leadership checked in routinely. Responsive to customer requests. Overall, Excellent experience.

Description of Work
Natural Stone retaining wall across the width of back yard. 2 to 3 feet high. Tied into fence and steps on left and right. Associated grading, sod, and clean up.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

06/01/2017


Lisa H.

These guys are AWESOME ! Last year they did work in our backyard, including new patio, fire pit and landscaping and we were blown away so we couldn't wait to see how our front yard would turn out. We cannot say enough good things about them. Their crews are fantastic, courteous, prompt, their attention to detail is beyond compare and they are very careful to clean up completely each night before they leave.

Description of Work
We had our front yard landscaping done, including removal of a tree, planting 5 new trees, creating several flower beds, sod and install underground drain pipes.

Category landscaping, mulch, tree service, drain pipe, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We greatly appreciate your business and we are happy to hear how thrilled you are with our work. We thank you for choosing King Cuts and we look forward to being available!

5.0

01/12/2017


Robert H.

King Cuts performs excellent work at reasonable costs. From cutting grass on weekly basis to various landscape and hardscape projects around the house. Would highly recommend them to anyone

Description of Work
Landscaping Around House and Hardscapes

Category landscaping, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping

5.0

10/10/2016


K. S.

They gave a very honest estimate, they came when they said that they would, they did a stunning job and when I needed something's done besides that they were back in a week and took care of it, so they work with you until your absolutely pleased.

Description of Work
I used King Cuts Landscaping for Landscaping - Hardscaping & Pavers.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

07/26/2016


George G.

After I called for an estimate (free) a representative arrived promptly, thoroughly explained the options available to me and gave me firm prices for the various options outlined. I chose one, and the time and date for installation was agreed on. The crew arrived in the morning on the date specified and began work. They could not have been more industrious, courteous or respectful of property. They worked hard all day and when they had completed the job the area they had worked in was as clean and neat as when they arrived. I am delighted with the new retaining wall. I give King Cuts Landscaping 10 out of a possible 10 and would not hesitate to recommend them to my friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
Removal of an old wooden retaining wall and installation of a new Cambridge Maytrx wall.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

05/15/2016


Parin Z.

We were very happy with our experience with King Cuts. The staff were punctual and professional throughout the process. Our backyard has been transformed into a peaceful, tranquil space for our family. Thank you.

Description of Work
Backyard cleanup, constructed boulder wall, installed french drain, regrading, and sod installation.

Category landscaping, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping

1.0

05/05/2016


Robert S.

This organization is unprofessional. Do not return calls.

Description of Work
Did not perform services as agreed upon.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Please do not take this vindictive review seriously - as we value all clients. Our office cancelled this client based on legal counsel recommendation after the following occurred only after a few short weeks: Verbal threats to our teams onsite Verbal threats to our office staff over the phone and email Refusal to speak calmly/professionally to our staff on every contact Refusal to cooperate Refusal to pay based on "damages" that never occurred After trying to resolve, it was clear the client was intentionally being combative. Once we decided to stop all services through written notice, per our terms and legal counsel's recommendations, client responds with the following via email: On Wed, May 4, 2016 at 6:00 PM " if this is the way you treat your customer base, you do not deserve to be in business. I made it very clear from the outset, the type of service I expected, and you assured me that is how your company operates. I do not appreciate the manner in which you informed me of the discontinuation of all services. Man up, grow some balls, and come to my residence to discuss. If you do not, it speaks volumes about your character and that of your company." No service provider would appreciate this client's forceful demands, tone, attitude, blatant disrespect , refusal to pay and a plethora of unwarranted complaints flooding our office on a weekly basis. Since angie's list refuses fairly represent both parties and does not take into account a proven record of quality customer service, feel free to contact our office with any questions related to this review or any questions related to our business as it pertains to customer service.

5.0

03/05/2016


Matt D.

King Cuts Landscaping was a pleasure to work from beginning to end! Bret spent a lot of time with us upfront discussing options for how to deal with some tricky drainage and run off issues. This was a big investment for us, but Bret was patient and professional in walking us through the whole process. His crew arrived on time, cleaned up after themselves everyday, and really went above and beyond while on site to complete the work. In addition to doing the main drainage work, his crew spent extra time spreading the extra dirt around our lawn to correct low spots. They also made efficient use of all extra materials, giving us way more than we thought we would get from tackling this job! Everything is functional and looks better than ever! I would highly recommend King Cuts Landscaping for big and small jobs alike!

Description of Work
Installed drainage, steppers, prepped beds, leveled yard

Category landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping

5.0

01/18/2016


Lauren S.

We were impressed with the professionalism of the King Cuts team. From conceptualization to implementation, Bret and Keith partnered with us 100% of the way as they wanted to ensure our needs were met and that we understood project process and status. We went through a couple of different designs to get exactly what my husband and I were looking for. Bret and Keith gave us their recommendations for shapes, colors, etc. based on their experience which really helped. Our backyard has now been transformed into a beautiful living space. Their landscaping/patio installation team is friendly, super efficient and it is clear they know what they are doing. We are located in a critical area and our Project Manager Jorge too the time to help us with spacing of the trees based on water table, where to maximize privacy, etc. We highly recommend King Cuts and look forward to working with them in the future.

Description of Work
King Cuts helped us with the design of our back yard living area as well as develop future plans for the rest of our property. We installed a 750 Sq ft patio complete with fire pit, extended deck with stairs down to patio and planted a privacy fence with native evergreens. King Cuts also manged the permitting process.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

5.0

11/21/2015


Richard M.

The crew was prompt and incredibly efficient. A time lapse video should have been taken for entertainment purposes. Everyone worked together with a clear vision and purpose. They were respectful of existing paver driveway and property. Twice we had trouble with lines being cut but Bret was right on top of it and fixed any issues immediately. When Bret initially projected 1 1/2 days to complete the project we all had a good laugh at his expense but the joke was on us. They arrived while it was raining and worked anyways. They broke once for lunch and kept working. They cleaned up, hosing the driveway and even the street! The trucks pulled out at 4:45 PM with only one minor project let to do. The only reason it couldn't be done on the same day was because of it being wet from rain. He came back within 36 hours to completely complete the job. Bret even followed up with an email with clear instructions on how long to water and how often. He also described each plant's maintenance through the seasons. It was a wonderful experience!

Description of Work
Bret and his crew of 6 arrived on time to tear out existing lawn and landscaping, replace with sod, plants, graded away from the house and decorative edging put in. They tore out side lawn grass, built a retaining wall and finished with a gravel parking pad. They also tore out the back yard Wild Kingdom and replaced it with ground cover and touched up esthetics.

Category landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Hello! Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure working with you on this project and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again in the future. If you have any questions/concerns moving forward, feel free to reach out. Wishing you and yours all the best! Bret and Keith Whetzel

5.0

10/21/2015


Cynthia D.

Due to rain, our job was delayed three days, but they let us know in advance when they would be able to start. We were ready early for them, having removed plant material that surrounded & filled inside of these walls. The crew arrived on time, worked efficiently, taking care of our property all the while; removed all the old damp and splintered wood of two long L-shaped retaining walls, taking apart the steps of wood and brick, and hauled away all the old timbers. We asked the crew early on to save the good soil they removed. At the end of each day, they left our property very clean. We so appreciated that!! They rebuilt the new walls and steps in record time, and gladly refilled the new planting beds with our good soil. We are very happy with the quality, professionalism, respect, and kindness they showed us and our property, and will happily use them again! To Bret, Keith, and the entire staff & team of workers...we thank you and appreciate your beautiful efforts!

Description of Work
Tore down & removed old wood retaining walls (2 tiers) & steps from side yard to lower deck. Rebuilt to exact specs with new wood the same walls and steps with stone & brick pavers.

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting your review. It was great to working with you on this project and we certainly appreciate your business. We are happy to hear you are satisfied with the work and look forward to being available should you require our services in the future. Thank you! Bret and Keith Whetzel

3.0

10/07/2015


ROSALBA R.

That was a bad job. I didn't get it through Angie's List but I know they are on Angie's List. They were really a nightmare. First of all they were supposed to stay there until a certain time. They said 12:30 and the people started parking up at 11:00. We had talked about them doing this, this and this but they just wanted to leave and didn't want to do it. The were taking breaks all the time. Before the foreman came, the people were working very well, once the foreman came they started taking breaks and not working hardly at all. They cut down stuff and my husband ended up having to clean it all himself and my husband is an older person. He had to work there for days after they left. They did not clean up what they were supposed to clean up. They didn't cut the things they were supposed to cut. On top of everything else, only after 2 weeks that they had done the flower beds the weeds started coming back up. I would say a C is a very generous grading for those people. The brother of the owner was screaming at me on the telephone because I said, you have to finish the job like you promised you would. He was very unprofessional on the telephone. I am an older person, a senior citizen. We had a big problem with those people. Considering the job was not finished, the price was too high. They were really unprofessional.

Description of Work
I used King Cuts. They did some cleaning of the flowerbeds and did some cutting around my property of branches and big bushes. They cut a lot bushes and brush.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review- we thank you for your feedback as it helps us constantly improve and provide the best service for our clients. You were satisfied once the project was completed - thanked us and paid us in full (same day) with no issues mentioned once we had completed. If you were not satisfied with the work we completed it would have been beneficial to bring it to our attention as we take pride in our customer service and would have addressed any of your concerns as we had done during the entire project. Now, months later – you post this misleading review. Although I understand that not being able to add additional items with no added fees may be frustrating to you, we – like most people – prefer not to be taken advantage of. We did not become an A+ service provider by disrespecting our clients or not completing the work we propose to do. As you mentioned in your review we completed your project as promised – even adapted to your additional changes – because we care about our service, clients, reputation and the work we perform. In summary: our work was completed, even some of the additional items you requested – you were satisfied - you thanked us – paid us in full – and even ended up apologizing for how things transpired (we appreciated your apology) . We left on a positive note, even after your undeniable miss interpretation on services to be completed. We thank you for choosing King Cuts Landscaping and wish you the best of luck moving forward. **All Potential Clients: Please contact our office if you have any questions regarding this review - we would be happy to discuss in detail**

5.0

09/04/2015


Jeffrey H.

Absolutely amazing experience! Every detail was seen to perfectly. The work crew was always on time and was very friendly. When I had questions after the project started, Bret talked through them with me and addressed all my concerns. You could tell he genuinely cared that we were happy with the end result. The wall looks great and I can sleep soundly knowing that our house won't be sliding down the hillside any time soon.

Description of Work
Removed an existing timber retaining wall and installed a 65 foot long paving stone retaining wall using Sigma wall blocks. Planted sod 300 square feet around the wall and grass seed on any lawn surface damaged by the equipment.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting your feedback. The project turned out great and we certainly appreciate you choosing King Cuts to perform the service. We are happy to hear you are satisfied with the project and we look forward to being available should you require our services in the future. Thank you!

5.0

09/04/2015


Ellen M.

I wish I could rate them higher than an A!! They were very pleasant to work with, reasonably priced and did a beautiful job. Great company and we will definitely hire them again!

Description of Work
Designed and built patio

Category landscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your review! We appreciate your business and we are happy to hear you are satisfied with the work and our team. We look forward to being available should you have any questions or like additional proposals in the future. Thank you!

5.0

07/04/2015


Matt D.

Everything went great. The final product included exactly what they estimated along with a few last minute changes we discussed as the project progressed. Communication was good, other than one small communication about arrival time. But this was quickly resolved and acknowledged. Install team was great, cleaned up, and professional. Final results were fantastic. Every time we drive up to the house we say how much better it looks! Service Details: Plant installation along front of house. Installed with new soil 5- Ink Berry Holly - 3 gal 7 - Big Blue Liriope - 1 gal 3- Spirea GoldMound - 3 gal 3- Knock Out Roses - 3 gal 5- Viburnum Maple Leaf 3 gal Shredded Harwood Mulch All previously mulched tree rings and shrubbery beds shall be mulched to a depth of 2" using a premium quality, double-shredded hardwood mulch free of fungus and non-organic materials. All edges will be a smooth line, be free of weeds cleaned prior to the installation of new mulch. Mulch is applied to conserve moisture to improve the fertility and health of the soil, to reduce weed growth and to enhance the visual appeal of the landscape. (description provided by contractor)

Description of Work
Removed LARGE over grown bushes from front of house, Removal of bushes and vinca ground cover on side of house. Followed by planting replacements.

Category landscaping, mulch

    Other local Pros in your area

    E & F Masonry LLC

    Affordable Hardscapes that will turn your yard into a Masterpiece.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Solid Brick Contracting LLC

    Solid Brick Contracting, LLC offers design and installation of landscaping and hardscaping. We have been working in the landscaping and hardscaping business for over 9 years with a goal to establish a good relationship with all of our clients. Let us help you transform your backyard into a beautiful outdoor living space with a beautiful paver patio or landscaping. Our services include paver driveways, walkways, patios, outdoor kitchens, retaining walls, fire pits, fireplaces, all brick work and landscaping services.  

    Artistic Stamped Concrete of Maryland

    Decorative concrete is a great way to get the look of natural stonework at a fraction of the price. Transform your outdoor space with decorative concrete from Artistic Stamped Concrete of Maryland, LLC. (ASCM). A family owned, local Maryland company. For more than 20 years, we have been providing quality workmanship on stamped colored concrete & hardscapes. We are a full service construction company. From design to new build or demolition to renovations. Building from your dreams, implementing a concept and turning it into a reality. Transforming outdoor living spaces from ordinary to spectacular. Let us show you what ASCM can do for you! Sustainable, green, stamped concrete, driveways, pool decks, patios, walkways hold up to the test of time. Since opening our doors, ASCM has provided expert decorative concrete design and installation throughout Maryland. Our primary goal is to provide our clients with high quality, low maintenance, affordable solutions for patios, pool decks, driveways and walkways and more also known as hardscapes. We now offer fencing and pool renovations.  

    Offers by Artistic Stamped Concrete of Maryland on Angi
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape Design, Hardscaping, Paver Patios, Walk Ways, Retaining Walls, Stone Work, General Landscaping, Sod Installation, Rain Water Management, Spring Clean Ups, Mulch Installation, Hedge, Bush & Tree Trimming, Local Leaf Removals, Hauling, Land Clearing, Local Mowing, Snow & Ice Management.

    Services Not Offered

    Lawn Irrigation

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about King Cuts Landscaping

    How is King Cuts Landscaping overall rated?

    King Cuts Landscaping is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are King Cuts Landscaping open?

    King Cuts Landscaping is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does King Cuts Landscaping provide

    King Cuts Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does King Cuts Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Yes, King Cuts Landscaping offers free project estimates.

    Does King Cuts Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, King Cuts Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by King Cuts Landscaping?

    Yes, King Cuts Landscaping offers warranties.

    What services does King Cuts Landscaping offer?

    King Cuts Landscaping offers the following services: Landscape Design, Hardscaping, Paver Patios, Walk Ways, Retaining Walls, Stone Work, General Landscaping, Sod Installation, Rain Water Management, Spring Clean Ups, Mulch Installation, Hedge, Bush & Tree Trimming, Local Leaf Removals, Hauling, Land Clearing, Local Mowing, Snow & Ice Management.

    Are there any services King Cuts Landscaping does not offer?

    Lawn Irrigation