Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc

Founded 1986 • With Angi since August 2007

5.0

(139) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

879 Mount Airy Rd

Davidsonville, MD 21035

Description

2012, 2013, 2014, & 2016 SUPER SERVICE AWARD WINNER! Local family-owned & operated for over 30 years. No commissioned sales personnel or high pressure sales. Always free estimates and lifetime warranties. We care about our customers satisfaction and will go above and beyond to make sure you are happy and your home is beautiful. It's how we do business and we hope you will recommend us to your family and friends. Member of the Better Business Bureau of Maryland with A+ rating and zero complaints. Special discounts for all Angie's List members....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/29/2021


Maurice R.

We recently had Chesapeake Thermal come out to replace 12 windows and 2 patio doors (as well as cap a bay window.) Matt, Nancy, and John were super easy to work with to get a quote on the replacement of our original 30 yr windows. The turnaround time between initial deposit and installation was ~11 weeks; a timeframe likely impacted by the uncertainty of the ongoing pandemic. With regard to installation, Sang (and team) did a phenomenal job. They were able to finish most of the install in one day, with some additional capping work finished two days later. The difference in comfort between our original windows and replacements is dramatic. We've noticed our HVAC rarely turning on now, and the comfort across the various levels of our townhome seems to be considerably more stable. We were really impressed from start to end, and wouldn't hesitate to use them again.

Description of Work
12 Windows, 2 Patio Doors and Bay-Window Capping

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

11/22/2020


Luciana M.

Great work, on time, punctual, high quality, honest salesperson. Plan to bring them in to replace front door.

Description of Work
Window installation and French sliding door

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

05/21/2020


Elise A.

We're very happy with the work that was done. The estimate was a shocking amount lower than we received from a national company for the exact same product. Everything from the estimate to the installation went well, and we love the door. I would definitely use Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises again.

Description of Work
Replace patio sliding door

Category doors

5.0

05/21/2020


Sharon S.

It was great, especially since we're in virus times. I put off the installation for a few weeks, and we put up plastic tarps to isolate the work area from the rest of the house. They arrived when they said they would, worked efficiently all day, cleaned up really well, and the door looks great and works perfectly. I especially love how easy it is to go from glass the screen in the storm door.

Description of Work
We replaced our front door.

Category doors

5.0

08/20/2019


William K.

From the initial sales meeting to installation everything was handled in a professional matter.

Description of Work
Replaced 5 windows.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you! It was a pleasure working for you. Chesapeake Thermal
5.0

04/23/2019


David C.

Excellent-very professional, top quality, installation expertly completed.

Description of Work
Replace entry door, install 3 new windows

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write about our service. Chesapeake Thermal
5.0

04/23/2019


David C.

We had originally been promised a 4-week window to order and install the doors, but Chesapeake Thermal was not able to keep that promise, at least partially due to bad weather. When they were finally able to install the doors and windows, they did a terrific job. I don't think they are the cheapest alternative, but the quality and responsiveness makes them well worth the price.

Description of Work
Replace entry & storm door, install replacement basement windows

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review!
5.0

04/23/2019


Rob G.

Matt and Tom came out and reviewed everything prior to installation and ensure the measurements were correct. Both were absolutely great to work with. On the days of install, Sang and his crew arrived promptly and were very professional in completing the project. They cleaned up after it and the windows look fantastic! Very happy with Chesapeake Thermal!

Description of Work
Window Replacement

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write one and hope to work for you in the future. Chesapeake Thermal
5.0

03/13/2019


Larry R.

The whole evolution went extremely well. I chose 3 Angie's list providers and Chesapeake thermal had the best price for the same exact doors offered by the other two. When doors arrived at Chesapeake Thermal, I got a call right away and we arranged for an installation a couple of days later. The primary worker was exceptionally professional and accomplished all the work in the day estimated by Chesapeake. The clean up was slightly less than desired but that was ok. The work was extremely well performed and the doors both perform as predicted by the company.

Description of Work
Installed new French Doors between dining room and porch and new sliding glass door between finished basement and patio/porch

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We will address the clean up with our installers. We appreciate you letting us know. Chesapeake Thermal
5.0

01/31/2019


Ed P.

Back on 5/26/2016 we had six builder grade windows on the third floor replaced with Vytex Fortis windows. Due to the excellent performance of the windows we had the first and second level windows replaced (minus the kitchen window) along with the sliding glass doors this year. The windows again the Vytex series and the sliders were the Alside Promenade series. We went again with Chesapeake Thermal, with not soliciting other bids, due to the prior great installation and the performance of the windows. It was cold when the windows were installed but Sang and his helper worked thru and got the job done in a timely and professional manner. You could definitely tell the difference as we could feel drafts around the old builder grade windows plus a few were beginning to fog up. The sliders were not much better. The true test came on the night of the polar vortex when we dipped to zero degrees. We felt no drafts when the wind kicked in. Plus our HVAC has not to work as much since the installation was done. Another factor is that since we live next to MD route three the noise from the road has been greatly reduced. We are very pleased with the results and would highly recommend Cheaspeake Thermal.

Description of Work
Replacing windows and sliding glass doors

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

We love your review! Thanks again for your business & review. Chesapeake Thermal
5.0

11/08/2018


Matthew B.

I could not be happier with the work performed. Chesapeake Thermal was great to work with throughout the process. Installers were courteous, respectful, and did an amazing job demolishing the old windows and installing new.

Description of Work
Window Replacement

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review. We appreciate it!
5.0

04/19/2018


Arsalan S.

In five separate projects, spread over two years, Chesapeake Thermal replaced all of the doors and windows of my house. Of note are two special situations, one an octogonal bathroom window and one a front door project. In an old house such as mine, almost nothing is level. My first project was to replace the original front door. The door badly needed replacement but the pilasters were also rotten and needed to be made to size and replaced. When I first met Mr. Tom Dowson to get an estimate for the door, I asked him if they could do the entire job and make it look nice. Chesapeake Thermal's estimate was in the middle of the range of the estimates that I had received. I chose them because, they were prompt, answered all of my questions sincerely, guarenteed their workmanship and the product and most important to me, they could do the whole job (Pilasters and all). I put down a deposit and 5 weeks later I got a call that the door had arrived. John, Tom's brother, did the installation and it was smooth, clean and artisan. This was more than two years ago. To this day whenever I see the front entrance, remember the shape that it was in and see how nice it looks now, I thank John and Tom out loud. The craftsmanship that went into that front door made such an impression on me that I decided to prioritize replacing windows and doors over other projects. Another unusual project was a custom octgonal bathroom window that was rotten through and needed to be replaced. This was a difficult project but Tom stayed with it until it was done to my satisfaction. All of the other projects were relatively straight forward and they were completed promptly, professionally and cleanly. If there are any issues, I'd call Tom or Matt and they'll come by and stand behind their worksmanship and their products. I would further add that the I have been happy with the quality of the products that they recommended as they are durable, energy efficient, easy to clean and were appropriately priced. Surely a lot of companies can replace doors and windows pretty well. But, when things don't go as expected, you'd need a craftsman to build something to make it happen, or there is an issue and you need the vendor to stand behind the product and work, you'd be happy with Chesapeake Thermal.

Description of Work
replaced all exterior doors and windows.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

04/06/2018


Geoffrey G.

Replacement windows arrived sooner than expected. They installed them on the first date I had available. The wrapping of the window frames was excellent. Door frame looks great. Window sashes have more glass and less frame work than originals. Crew vacuumed work area after installation. Wife pleased with the new windows.

Description of Work
Windows replaced and door wrapped

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Hello Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for writing a review. We love that you included a picture. It turned out great. Take care, Tom Dawson
5.0

01/08/2018


Jackie F.

Chesapeake Thermal was great! From our first call to them, to our first meeting with Matt, through the project and the follow up, we couldn't have asked for better service and a more professional job. Their price was competitive, and they made the bidding process pleasant. They set up the installation exactly when they had said they would -- even though it was the day after Christmas, and their workers arrived shortly after 7:00 a.m. and worked until dark for 2 days, despite the freezing cold. Both Matt and his uncle, the owner of the company, stopped by to make sure everything was going well. The quality of the windows is beautiful, and we can already tell the difference from the old windows, especially with the cold and wind we've had over the past couple of weeks. Everyone involved in this job was a pleasure to work with, and we love the new windows. Can't recommend them highly enough.

Description of Work
We replaced all of the windows in the second story.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

So nice of you to write us a great review, thank you! It was a pleasure working with you. Tom, Matt & Nancy
5.0

01/08/2018


Brian S.

All work was done to my satisfaction . Would hire again.

Description of Work
Replacement door and window

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing your review!
5.0

01/03/2018


Ashley F.

Both my windows and front entry door were original to the house so it was time to upgrade. Matt Dawson was great in showing me the products and explaining the warranties and installation process. Turn around time for my job estimate was a few days. It was about 5 weeks once deposit was made, order was placed and products installed in my house. The tech Wang was great. He was very detail oriented especially when it came to hanging the front door. Chesapeake Thermal has a 3 year service contract which is nice in case of those last minute fixes. Overall, very happy with finished job.

Description of Work
New Window and Door Replacement

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. You got your new windows and door just in time for this cold weather! We hope you enjoy them for many years to come. Thank you for your business. Nancy
5.0

12/11/2017


Jerry K.

After getting 4 bids using Angie's List, we selected Chesapeake Thermal. They were cost-competitive and had installed new windows for me 2 years ago. Once again, working with Tom Dawson was a pleasure. He decided to sub the siding job out directly to Alside, who also manufactures the siding, and I agreed that was a good idea since the siding job was rather tricky. There were problems with the ordering caused entirely by Alside. First they ordered and delivered the wrong length - I wanted 25' lengths to avoid seams and they ordered 16'. Then after a 2 month wait, they ordered and delivered the wrong style. Tom helped me deal with Alside to get fair compensation for their mistakes because it caused a considerable delay and I ended up with a style of siding that I did not order. The Alside siding installation crew Omar, Nelson, D'Juan, and job foreman Garcia were excellent - punctual, attention to detail, and very hard workers. Dave's Best of Waldorf installed the gutters and did a good job. Overall, we're very happy with how it turned out and would definitely hire Chesapeake Thermal again.

Description of Work
Insulated siding, house wrap, gutters, 2 windows

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Your house looks beautiful! Thank you for your patience and understanding during the process. And thank you for writing a review!
2.0

10/26/2017


PATRICIA L.

Family business not professional. Installed new door - door is nice. In process they failed to tell me the storm door (new) I had would not likely reinstall properly. Would not have done job had I known this since it was new. It now is not closing properly and air pours in. They reinstalled lighted doorbell and now it no longer lights. Emailed rep and have heard nothing. I would not recommend or use ever again. Oh, and they broke something I had sitting on my porch - no offer to do anything to compensate and they did not seem all that apologetic. It was like hiring an inept relative to install a door.

Description of Work
Replace front door

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Hello Mrs. [Member Name Removed] I am glad you are pleased with your entry door you contracted with us to install. I apologize that Matt did not emphasize that reinstalling an existing storm door on a new door may not work. We do not recommend doing so, even if your storm door is relatively new. They do not always operate the same when removed and reinstalled a second time. As you know, we did offer to install a new closer on your storm door which you declined. As far as your doorbell not lighting up, we received your note about it last week and have it on our schedule to see if the door bell light is faulty or if there is a problem with the wiring or light itself. We will come by as soon as possible. As you can see from our other reviews and ratings, we pride ourselves on our quality of work and customer service.
5.0

10/26/2017


Sage C.

They did a fantastic job from the initial meeting and job estimate to the last detail of cleanup. After receiving estimates from multiple window companies we felt that Chesapeake Thermal estimate was the best price and most detailed. Matt was always responsive to our questions and concerns. The entire job took a day and a half. Sang and his assistant worked efficiently and left our house spotless. We look forward to using their company again for future work.

Description of Work
Chesapeake Thermal replaced all of the windows in our house, and converted 2 windows into a sliding glass door.

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing our review. We enjoyed working with you and look forward to doing so again in the future. Chesapeake Thermal
5.0

10/02/2017


Ruth R.

Beautifully... without any issues. Installers were efficient and professional. Matt Dawson, who coordinated and supervised the project has been wonderful to deal with throughout the entire process. I recommend this company without reservation.

Description of Work
Complete home window replacement

Category doors

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your review! Thank you and we hope you remember us to your family and friends! The Chesapeake Thermal team
5.0

09/22/2017


Maria N.

Went very well. Very pleased with the product and the professionalism of this company.

Description of Work
Replaced a side door on our garage that had deteriorated due to exposure to the elements.

Category doors

5.0

09/22/2017


Maria N.

It went smoothly. Their salesman was friendly, not pushy, and professional. The door was ordered and it came within the expected time. The installers came at the agreed date and time. All went well and we are very satisfied by everything.

Description of Work
We replaced a side garage door that is exposed to the elements and has had to be replaced before.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

We hope you enjoy your new doors and appreciate your business! Sincerely, Chesapeake Thermal
5.0

09/20/2017


Christopher D.

Great. Chesapeake was easy to work with from start to finish. The sales folks were a font of useful information without engaging in any pressure tactics (which was not our experience with every company we got a quote from). The installers really knew their stuff; I was impressed with how quickly and accurately they did the work. And the price was eminently reasonable, considering what some of the competition would have charged us. You can tell it's a local, family company that has earned its good reputation.

Description of Work
We had 14 windows and a sliding glass door replaced.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your review! Thank you for your business.
5.0

09/20/2017


michael C.

The entire process from estimating to installing went really well. Everybody showed up on time and were very professional in there follow up. The estimate/design process was really easy and all the options were thoroughly explained. The install team showed up on time and ready to go. The install was very challenging due to the poor condition of the framing surrounding the old patio doors due to water leakage over the years. The installers did a great job of repairing all the wood rot and at a very minimal cost. The installers did a really beautiful job on the fit and finish. We ended up with good looking, quality doors at very good price.

Description of Work
We replaced an entryway door and two sliding patio doors.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

We are glad you are happy with your new doors. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Please remember us to your family and friends!
5.0

09/17/2017


Ollinger C.

Door installation excellently done. Shutters done well.

Description of Work
Doors and outside shutters replaced.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed] for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business. Tom

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gutter Helmet by Harry Helmet®

    Gutter Helmet Gutter Protection | Proudly Serving Local Homeowners Since 1981 Never Clean Your Gutters Again! Gutter Helmet is the one-time investment with a lifetime of benefits. Our system installs over your existing full-sized rain gutters, and we offer the only true four-season/365 day-a-year total rainwater management protection system. Trusted by over a million customers nationwide, we guarantee your gutters will remain free flowing and clog free from all debris with our triple lifetime, transferable performance warranty. Call to learn more about the Gutter Helmet difference and schedule your free demonstration and estimate today. (877) 779-8048. Senior & military discounts available.  

    Offers by Gutter Helmet by Harry Helmet® on Angi
    Arundel Construction

    We have been in business for over 30 Years. I have had the same workers for an average of 8 years. I do not sub contract out my roofs to the cheapest bidder like most of my competitors. We give the best price as well as the best workmanship than our competitors. You will see this when you have us do your work. Word of mouth is my best advertisement so I make sure when we leave my clients are more than happy with every aspect of our work.  

    Offers by Arundel Construction on Angi
    Window Nation Inc

    Window Nation is one of America's leading window replacement companies. Founded in 2006 by brothers, Harley and Aaron Magden, Window Nation has installed over 1 million windows in more than 125,000 homes across New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Ohio, Indiana, Kansas, Missouri, Illinois, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Washington D.C., Maryland, and Northern Virginia. Over the past decade, Window Nation has grown to become the 5th largest home remodeling company in the country, according to Remodeling Magazine. At Window Nation our mission is simple. We solve problems by installing solutions. We do this by offering customized products installed by highly skilled professionals at an unsurpassed value.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 & 2019 SUPER SERVICE AWARD WINNER! We furnish & install custom made replacement vinyl & wood windows, bow, bay & garden windows, curved & shaped windows, custom made entry doors, storm doors, sliding & French patio doors, vinyl siding & trim, and roofing. Our installers are family and not sub contractors so you can be assured the job is done right. Exclusively Energy-Star rated products

    Services Not Offered

    Window & door repair, skylights.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc

    How is Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc overall rated?

    Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc provide

    Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc?

    Yes, Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc offer?

    Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc offers the following services: 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 & 2019 SUPER SERVICE AWARD WINNER! We furnish & install custom made replacement vinyl & wood windows, bow, bay & garden windows, curved & shaped windows, custom made entry doors, storm doors, sliding & French patio doors, vinyl siding & trim, and roofing. Our installers are family and not sub contractors so you can be assured the job is done right. Exclusively Energy-Star rated products

    Are there any services Chesapeake Thermal Enterprises Inc does not offer?

    Window & door repair, skylights.