Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Hassle Free Home Improvements, Inc

4.9

(120) Verified Reviews

Founded 2003 • With Angi since May 2008

Licensed
Trade License Number
86083
Trade License Locale
Maryland
Trade License Authority
Maryland: General
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Company Contact

26218 Ridge Road

Damascus, MD 20872

Description

High quality full scale home remodeling; many good references and testimonials; skilled employees, including master carpenters and tile setters. Occasionally use reliable and professional subs when needed. Kitchen and bath design center & showroom located at 26218 Ridge Road, Damascus, MD 20872. Factory direct dealer for several cabinet lines. Lots of cabinet, counter top, and tile samples in showroom. In-house kitchen design services. Cost of work is determined by the job. Travel charges only on small jobs. Free estimates. Licensed and insured. May contact by email. 5% Angie's List discount on all jobs....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(120) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

107

4

6

3

4

2

2

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (81)tile installation (28)plumbers (25)flooring (24)interior painting (23)woodworking (20)electrician (18)countertop installation (18)drywall (17)door installation (12)lighting (10)general contractors (9)
Showing 11-20 of 120 reviews
5.0

08/23/2019


William L.

From the design to dependability, reliability, workmanship, and on-time delivery, everything was done right.

Description of Work
New Kitchen and laundry room

Category ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on us. We really appreciate it and enjoyed working with you. Please let me know when we can help you again. Mickey Taff
5.0

08/22/2019


Samuel P.

Hire Hassle Free Home Improvements. Mickey (who runs the company), his team, and his company are top notch. They delivered a total kitchen renovation on budget and in only five weeks. Our old kitchen had original... everything. Cabinets, countertops, sink. It was cramped, poorly laid out, and falling apart. When we started planning our kitchen renovation, we sought out bids from four well-reviewed companies. Here's what we liked best about Mickey and the Hassle Free team: 1. Mickey was willing to get specific about both plans and costs before we signed a contract. I appreciated having a firm sense of what our renovation would cost -- before I wrote a large check to get started. That wasn't possible with some other contractors, who wanted us to sign a contract with a proposed budget range of several thousand dollars that might fluctuate depending on our choices over the course of the project. Negotiating with details involved was a lot more up front work for Mickey, but it made me feel much more secure about the kitchen we'd be getting. 2. Mickey's team included a kitchen designer, who visited our home and drew up a plan based on his expertise, as well as our preferences. Other companies asked what we wanted and tried to conform their plans to just those ideas. That's fine, but what do I know about designing an optimal kitchen? I appreciated that Kevin, Mickey's kitchen designer, made suggestions about how to lay out our kitchen differently -- and better -- than I had imagined. The day he visited our home and walked us through an alternate design, it felt like a huge weight lifted off of my shoulders because we had someone with genuine experience to help us with the very important task of sorting out how to lay out the new kitchen. 3. Steve, Mickey's foreman, is amazing. Steve's work is very good, he is responsive to questions and comments, and he keeps the job moving forward. I work from home a lot, so I was around during much of the renovation. Steve was unfailingly happy to answer my frequent questions and to make small fixes as the work went along. He and his team also did incredible work. Our backsplash tile is pretty detailed, and the skillfulness of the tile cutting and setting made for quite a dramatic effect. 4. Budget and timing. Conventional wisdom says that you should budget for a kitchen renovation to run 20% over budget. Crazy. Our kitchen renovation was 100% on budget -- the only additional charge we encountered was when we decided to add more lighting than originally included in our contract. The additional cost was reasonable. As for timing, our renovation took only five weeks from Day 1 of demolition to the day Steve told me I could start putting things in the cabinets. It's practically unheard of for a kitchen renovation to be completed so quickly. 5. Quality. Kevin and Mickey helped us select quality cabinets, countertops, and hardware that were the right balance of high end details and construction and affordability to fit our budget. I really value that Hassle Free could facilitate our desire for both quality and cost-consciousness. I'd absolutely hire Hassle Free Home Improvements again. They are first rate.

Description of Work
Kitchen renovation

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2019

Service Provider Response

Wow, what can I say? That was the most awesome review ever!! Thank you so much for taking the time to submit such a detailed, informative, and positive review on us. We thoroughly enjoyed working with you both as well, so it was a two-way street. We appreciate that you have allowed our potential customers to call you, and even visit your home. You are both so awesome!! Please let us know when we can help you again, or any of your friends and neighbors. Sincerely, Mickey Taff
5.0

08/22/2019


Jason S.

It went very well! Mickey and his team did a fantastic job at coordinating all of the pieces that needed to get done. Great work guys! Would definitely hire them again and recommend them to friends and family. In fact, I already have!

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks much for your kind review. It was a real pleasure working with you both. Please let us know when we can help you again. We also appreciate your recent referral! Mickey Taff
5.0

10/29/2018


Daniel B.

Great job on the screened in deck, looks great.

Description of Work
Screened in part of deck.

Category decks,remodeling,sunrooms

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/29/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review. It a pleasure, once again, working with you. We appreciate your business! Mickey Taff
5.0

10/29/2018


Carolyn B.

Great! The Hassle Free team was friendly, professional, and very skilled in their workmanship. We are 100% happy with our new kitchen and family room. The hardest part was choosing the floor, cabinets, countertop and backsplash. However, I felt no pressure from HFHI even as I kept changing my mind. They were patient and helpful in guiding us through the entire process. In the end, we made the exact right choice for us and have a beautiful kitchen now open to our family room. We highly recommend HFHI as a team you can trust to help you implement your dream for your home.

Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel including removing wall between kitchen and family room.

Category ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,flooring contractor,hardwood floor,remodeling,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2018

5.0

10/29/2018


John G.

Mickey was a pleasure to work with on a personal level. He was timely in quote responses and made himself available off hours for showroom visitations and material selections. His quotes were more reasonable then others we had received. As the project was underway we had a steady crew of workers that performed the day to day job and it was nice seeing the same faces each day. Communication from Steve, the head builder was frequent and he answered any questions we had. The quality of work was top notch. We are very pleased to present the finished master bathroom to our friends and family. The mudroom turned out perfect even though we went into it with a rough idea of what we wanted. They were flexible and helped give ideas on layout, functionality, and looks. I plan on using them again for kitchen work in the future and would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodeling for master, kids bath, and powder room. In addition, new mudroom and bedroom closets.

Category contractors,ceramic tile,closet systems,drywall,flooring contractor,glass repair,handyman service,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

Images

Review for Hassle Free Home Improvements, Inc - 26218 Ridge Road, Damascus, MD - 37511022

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind and positive review on HFHI. It was a real pleasure working with you. We appreciate your business and look forward to helping you again in the future! Mickey Taff
5.0

07/03/2018


Peter A.

Can't say enough about how accommodating the team was for each change that became necessary. A real pleasure to work with Hassle Free. Quality of work is 5 star plus. The project came out better than we hoped for, on schedule and on budget. We are very, very happy customers.

Description of Work
Renovate our master bath/vanity

Category contractors,ceramic tile,countertops,flooring contractor,glass repair,lighting,plastering,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,ceiling fans,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind review. We truly enjoyed working with you both and are so glad you are happy with our work. Please let me know if we can help you again in the future. Have a great summer! Mickey Taff
2.0

04/27/2018


wegene T.

I spoke someone for kitchen remodeling consultation. i was told to send a picture of my kitchen and i did so. Then he asked me to provide so may answer and measurement through email. I politely refused and asked him for visit. I was responded to his email of my name, address and phone # and suggested my best time. Then he never answered my request for a week which is very unprofessional and full of hassle. I don't think the name of company and their action is the right fit. Bad business model!!!

Description of Work
Kitchen remoeling

Category remodeling

Work Completed On 04/27/2018

Service Provider Response

I recently had computer problems and unfortunately lost all files and data from my computer. Fortunately my files were backed up on our cloud, but there were many things I could not remember that were deleted, such as this person's correspondence. When I saw this review I was distraught and we were able to find their emails. I promptly replied and apologized for the lack of response. The poor review seems a bit harsh, esp. considering that we did not even perform any work, but they are subject to their opinion. I pride myself on being punctual and responsive to all communications, and will continue to do so. Mickey Taff
5.0

04/21/2018


Adam G.

We love our new kitchen that Mickey Taff’s team with Hassle Free Home Improvement built! We obtained bids from three other contractors, and were impressed with Mickey’s professionalism from the start. We had already selected our cabinetry, so our job was to completely renovate our kitchen per a design conceived by our cabinetry dealer, including removing a load-bearing wall between our kitchen and family room, and we needed a contractor to turn this plan into reality. We initially pursued another contractor because of a lower bid, but when we discovered that this other company’s licensing status was not as represented on Angie’s List, we turned to Mickey. His references spoke very highly of his work. Mickey also worked hard with us to define requirements and identify issues up front, and employed a clear and reasonable contract. His on-site team, lead by Steve, was a model of quality and integrity. They were always courteous and considerate in our home, and we were glad to have them there. You may hear stories of nightmarish cost overruns in kitchen remodels—there was nothing like that in our case. Supplements in our project were few and far between, a testament to the fidelity of Mickey’s original estimate and the value his company provides. The craftsmanship of Hassle Free’s work is outstanding, and their commitment to satisfying the customer is sincere and strong.

Description of Work
Total Kitchen Remodel

Category ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,hardwood floor,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,home remodeling,interior painters

Cost $51,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/07/2018

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate your very positive and thoughtful review. It was a real pleasure working with you both. Thanks for your business and let me know when we can help you again. Mickey Taff
5.0

04/10/2018


Carol H.

I hired Hassle Free to remodel my kitchen which included new cabinets, a quartz countertop, and tile floor. I am very happy with the work they performed and love my new kitchen. The remodel went very smoothly and was completed in less than 3 weeks. Steve and his crew were great and tried to their best to make the remodel the least disruptive for me – I was able to have my fridge and my oven most of the time. They really were as hassle free as you can be with a kitchen remodel. Mickey was very helpful in setting up times to pick out samples and setting up the schedule. They were even able to start the job a few weeks earlier. I plan on having them remodel my powder room. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category ceramic tile,countertops,woodworking,home remodeling

Cost $24,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/22/2018

Images

Review for Hassle Free Home Improvements, Inc - 26218 Ridge Road, Damascus, MD - 36970418

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review. We very much enjoyed working with you and appreciate your business. Please let me know when we can help you again. Mickey Taff

Services Offered

Remodeling including kitchens, bathrooms, basements, family rooms, bedrooms, decks, porches, additions, painting, drywall repairs, tile installation, interior and exterior wood trim, carpentry/ framing, siding (including installation of James Hardie products), window & door installations.

Services Not Offered

HVAC, electrical, plumbing, duct or chimney cleaning, brickwork, landscaping, fencing, pools & general maintenance work.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check
Senior Discount
No
Warranties
Yes