Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Doctor Dan LLC

Founded 2005 • With Angi since October 2009

Owner operated. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service charges. May contact through email or web site. Free estimation.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
10%
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(30) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 30 reviews
Pamela S.
5.0
11/25/2017
It went great. Very nice and personable.
Description of Work
New shutters. Fence pole replaced. Front door side panels replaced where wood was rotting. Front door painted.
Category
handyman service
Veronica O.
5.0
11/02/2017
A pleasure to do business with — responsive, clear, answered questions and sent photos of finished work. Will definitely contact again.
Description of Work
Various tasks including painting interior ceiling, checking plumbing for leaks, check smoke detectors for malfunctions, reattaching bathroom tile, etc.
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, interior painters
Brian S.
5.0
05/25/2017
Dan was fantastic! From coming out within 3 days of my initial call, to being extremely timely and professional, perfect contractor. He did really great ceramic tile work, at a very fair price, and finished it faster than I had hoped. He's also a really great guy - and that's important when you invite someone to your home. I'm thrilled I found Dan because he seems to do just about anything around a house. I'm a DIY guy but often run into "can i do this?" moments... in the future I will look no further than Doctor Dan. I'd recommend him to anyone, especially over these large contractors that take forever, charge too much, and send out subcontracted workers that don't care about quality.
Description of Work
I needed someone to complete a ceramic tile shower I had already started but didn't have time to finish. It's our only bathroom and I needed it done right but also very quickly, and without concern that they didn't get "the whole job".
Category
ceramic tile, handyman service, home remodeling
Frederick B.
5.0
05/24/2017
In the basement, in two basement closets, there was some, from 30 years ago or more, there was some pegboard, so instead of seeing cinder blocks when you opened the closet, you saw the pegboard. I wanted the pegboard torn down, and replaced, and repainted, and he did that.
Description of Work
He tore down pegboard in two basement closets, replaced and repainted them.
Category
handyman service
Frederick B.
2.0
03/29/2017
My fiance contracted Doctor Dan LLC in early January, 2017 to prepare her home for resale with a punch list of repair and painting projects. After waiting for his initial consult, she was forced to wait another three weeks before she saw him again. Painting of the three car garage was the first project that he was charged with. The wall preparation required patching of holes and much spackling. This first project took longer than anticipated, because he had to leave the premises every day in the early to mid-afternoon. When he left, he never bothered to sweep, vacuum or clean up, leaving spackle dust everywhere on the garage floor. He also underestimated the quantity of paint required to complete the job and left it unfinished at the bottom edges, hoping that no one would notice. After she paid and tipped him accordingly, later that weekend, I was visiting and inspecting his mediocre work and noticed several missed areas that needed to be addressed. She then purchased more paint and contacted him to return and complete his job. Now the end of March and he has never returned. She recently completed the project herself and has decided that she doesn’t want him back on the premises to complete the remainder of the punch list.
Description of Work
Garage painting.
Category
drywall, handyman service, house painters

Service Provider Response

Fake news !!!! No work was performed for [Member Name Removed] Never met this person.'
Frederick B.
5.0
01/31/2017
I think he's reasonable. He just does a very high quality of work. It's like he cares about what he's doing. He charges by the hour. He's always here when he says he's going to be.
Description of Work
He took down wall paper, took the glue off the walls and repainted a certain section of the house and in that section of the house put up crown molding.
Category
handyman service, wallpaper removal, interior painters
Rony E.
5.0
10/23/2016
Dan performed the work in a very professional and timely manner. He took the time to get matching paint color so the repaired areas do not stick out. He is easy to deal with and friendly.
Description of Work
I hired Dan to replace and paint rotting wood on exterior window frame and repair and paint front door crown molding.
Category
handyman service, woodworking, house painters
Kathleen M.
5.0
09/15/2016
Dan was a pleasure to work with. Other than a minor delay, the work went very smoothly and he did a beautiful job. I am extremely happy with the job he did and my new bathroom!!
Description of Work
I upgraded my old bathroom - old vanity, old acrylic shower and vinyl flooring with a new vanity, marble flooring and ceramic tile shower (with a tile box). I purchased most of the items myself, and Dan installed.
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
Richard G.
5.0
08/07/2016
The first task was to paint the garage doors, gutter, and downspout, and the house entryway. A pair of hard-to-reach shutters had to be removed, painted, and re-installed. We had a period during which it rained every day. We kept in contact and as soon as it was dry, Dan called and came to the house. I supplied the paint, and Dan did an excellent job, leaving no mess at all. There was some rot at the base of one post of the garage side door. Dan cut out the base and inserted a new piece. After he painted it, it looks like it was always there. The second task was to fix the gate to the rear yard - it was falling apart and wouldn't close properly. Other bidders had suggested building a new gate. Dan re-screwed the boards together and shaved them to fit. The result - a gate that still matches the existing fence, but now works. All at a great price. The third task was to adjust the sweep of an indoor closet door that was rubbing against the carpet. Again, handled successfully. The next time I need this type of work, the first number I'll call is Dan's.
Description of Work
I had some exterior painting, some exterior wood repair, and some interior odds and ends.
Category
handyman service, woodworking, house painters
Susan P.
5.0
04/07/2016
unknown
Category
drywall, handyman service
Joan S.
1.0
12/15/2015
Everything was fine until I received an email that stated that "I picked up more jobs over the weekend. Unable to give you a quote.Thanks anyway." What a waste of my time. He did refer me to a relative of his who is an electrician for a portion of the work I had needed done. Based on my experience, unless you have a lot of work for him- stay clear of this "doctor".
Description of Work
I should have been skeptical given the title "Doctor Dan". He responded to my call and I clearly explained the scope of the work on the phone and when he came to look over the job.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

A potential customer called me and introduced herself as [Member Name Removed]. She wanted a few lights replaced and dead bolt installed. When I got there, there was a painter finishing up painting walls and ceilings. She told me she needed approximately 6 ceiling light swapped out and or replaced. No issue there so far. Next, she wanted 2 new outlets installed in one closet and living room wall. Told her that she needed a licensed electrician for that work. She gave me the " look" like I was stupid. Then, she noticed her painter was using the wrong paint sheen on her living room walls. She went off on him and called the painting contractor to tell them about the latest problem. So, her comment about me wasting her time is not true. After that she showed me some lower landing interior steps the floor person worked on. She said the steps looked like "shit" and needed to be re-done or fixed. At that point, my warning bells was activated. The last thing she showed me was an old exterior garage steel door that she wanted to have a dead bolt installed. I asked her if she wanted the old door replaced and again I got the "look" and said no. The old steel door didn't have a pre-drilled holes for dead bolt which she failed to mentioned. After that wonderful experience, went home to find out I landed 2 smalls jobs with happy customers. At that point, I was unable to take on more work and gave her information on a local licensed electrical contractor. They would hopefully been able to wire up 2 new outlets without making too many holes on a freshly painted walls and mess up the ceilings installing the new or old lights. I'm sure I'm not the only contractor that received a wonderful review from her. Happy Holidays !! . They
Suzanne and Bradley D.
5.0
12/04/2014
Dan was referred to me by a fence company as my job was too small for them and I'm thrilled they did. He is prompt, had excellent suggestions, is a hard worker and a very nice person with reasonable rates. He has knowledge in fixing things (correctly as he had to repair the wood area that another man we had used had REALLY messed up in the past) and is very easy to work with. I plan to use him again in the future and highly recommend him to others.
Description of Work
fixed our fence including installing new double gate, fixed wood beneath outside window and touched up paint near it on exterior of house, fixed mailbox post to be sturdy
Category
handyman service
Joy B.
5.0
11/18/2014
This is the second time we've had Dan out to do some handyman work for us. The first time he did some repairs to the frame of an outside window and two door frames. He went above and beyond on the window due to the amount of damage there was. Now you can't tell it was even repaired. We were very happy with the results. This time, we had him come out to fix an area of the wall next to the tub and also put in new vinyl and quot;sticky-backand quot; flooring in our boys' bathroom. It turned out exactly how we wanted it! Dan is always polite and friendly. He does a great job cleaning up afterwards--a real pro. He provided clear, easy to understand estimates for the work via e-mail and was quick to respond when we contacted him about the work. I would highly recommend him. When we are ready for our next project, he is the guy we will call.
Description of Work
Repaired window and door frames. Patched up wall next to the tub and put down new flooring in the bathroom.
Category
handyman service, woodworking
William W.
5.0
11/12/2014
I had previously used Dan and felt confident that he could do the necessary work at a fair price. We agreed that Dan would rescreen them at his workshop and return them at his convenience as there was on urgency for replacing them. The wooden screens and the material required to rescreen them were picked by Dan in groups of three and four. All fifteen screens were made of 2and quot; x 2and quot; pressure treated lumber, screened with grey plastic vinyl screen wire and attached with 2 lath. Three screens were 32 inches high and 6 feet long; two screens were 32 inches high and 8 feet lond. All five of these screens had center braces. The remaining ten screens were 50 inches high and 4 feet wide. The job consisted of removing and replacing the existing lath, spline and screen wire. Dan did excellent work. All fifteen screens were very tight and neetly finished.
Description of Work
Rescreened fifteen custom wooden porch screens.
Category
handyman service
Scott L.
5.0
06/21/2014
Dan was GREAT! He arrived when he said he would went to work was right on the money with the estimate. We will definitely hire him again for future repair work.
Description of Work
Repaired rotted fence
Category
handyman service
William W.
5.0
06/06/2014
.I contacted Dan by email on Monday and outlined the needed work. Dan returned my email on Tuesday and explained that as soon as he was able to establish a schedule for existing work obligations he would let me know when he do the requested work. Wednesday Dan emailed me and asked if 10:00 AM Friday would be an acceptable time for him to start on the job. I agreed this schedule and He exactly on time and completed the work by noon. Half of the shutters were on the second floor and require Dan to work on a ladder. The grown level shutters had very thick shrubs in front of them. Neither of these conditions were a problem for Dan.
Description of Work
Inspected 10 pair of vinyl external window shutters and replaced or repaired any broken or loose attachments.
Category
handyman service
Jean Paul Y.
5.0
04/15/2014
We were extremely pleased with Dan's expertise. Prior to coming over to our house, he even researched the closet online so that he could be prepared. He gave us a ball park estimate over the phone, calculating how many hours it would take and he stuck to it and gave us a 10% senior discount. The closet had many pieces, and my husband wanted to help so that he could learn. Dan was precise and knowledgeable and worked very hard, and was incredibly patient with a job that would have been very frustrating if we had to do it alone. We felt completely comfortable with Dan and will definitely use his professional services again!
Description of Work
Dan installed an 8' X 10' Ikea closet with glass sliding doors. He attached the closet to the wall and worked for 6 1/2 hours.
Category
handyman service
Sarah K.
5.0
03/10/2014
Dan did an excellent job! He had not done a project like mine before but he understood what I wanted and figured out quickly what materials he would need and how to proceed with the job. We weren't sure about where to get custom sized panels. Dan found a source very quickly. Another reviewer stated that Dan is good at problem solving and I found that to be true. Hanging the picture was a little tricky but he figured out how to get it done. Dan arrived on time each day (the project took 3.5 days) and went right to work. At the end of each day he cleaned up before he left.
Description of Work
Dan customized my fireplace facade. He covered the brick with wood, drywall, panels, and paint. He also hung a large picture over the mantle.
Category
handyman service
Frederick B.
5.0
01/13/2014
He's excellent and does excellent work. When he stumbles into a problem, he always comes up with an innovative solution.
Description of Work
He refinished a room, tore up rug and refinished the floor. He made bookshelves for each side of my fireplace to match my mantel.
Category
handyman service, remodeling, woodworking
Deborah B.
5.0
12/26/2013
ed Have used Dan before and he always does a great job. He removed and replaced the counter tops in my daughters condo. He cut down the stock counters we got at Lowes, applied the end caps and they look great. He also replaced the sink when the existing one didn't work with the new counters. Also fixed a bifold door and speckled the drywall around the counters and fixed the drywall in the bathroom that was due to a leak.
Description of Work
Dan removed and replaced kitchen cabinets with new stock laminate counter tops from lowes. Also replaced sink, fixed a bifold door and spackled drywall.
Category
drywall, handyman service, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great comments :-)
Patricia D.
5.0
12/21/2013
Daniel was right on time and installed a heavy iron pot rack in my kitchen on 12/21/2013. He was so friendly did a FANTASTIC JOB! He gave me a quote over the phone, when I made the appointment for him to do the work, and completed the installation within an hour and a half. I could not have asked for better service and results. I will definitely call on him again, when I require a man with his knowledge and skill! A+++!! THANK YOU, DANIEL!!!
Description of Work
Dan installed a very heavy wrought iron pot rack in my new kitchen
Category
handyman service
meredith B.
5.0
03/31/2013
From beginning to end the process was professional. Dan was punctual, did the work for the price he quoted us, and worked hard to make sure we were happy with the results. We will definitely use his services again.
Description of Work
Dan built bookcases and a console for us . He also framed out and insulated 3 window AC units . In addition , we had Dan make new windowboxes using the vintage 1950 ones as a template .We were very pleased with the results because Dan listened carefully to us and constructed exactly what we asked him for. On the handyman side Dan measured and installed curtain rods for us so that the curtain length we wanted to use worked perfectly. He also helped assemble a few furniture pieces.
Category
handyman service, woodworking
John C.
5.0
03/11/2013
I had a difficult-to-diagnose leaks around my false-French-door frame which is the entry to my deck. Furthermore, I was about to leave the area for an extended period and needed some attention to it pronto. Dr Dan came on short notice, talked with me about the problem, and examined the area of the past leaks. He came up with an inexpensive solution that covered the period that I would be gone, and perhaps a lot more. When I returned, there had been no leakage.
Description of Work
Fixed leaks around deck door frame. Diagnosed problem and used a sealant which turned transparent upon drying.
Category
handyman service
Kathleen I.
4.0
01/19/2013
We experienced interior water around our front door.....couldn't tell if it was coming from recently replaced roof covering the front porch, or from a window directly above the front door/porch roof. Contacted Doctor Dan via email, he responded promptly, and scheduled a service call within the next couple of days. He arrived on time, inspected both areas and couldn't determine any significant problem areas. He recaulked around the window just incase that was the spot that allowed water to come through walls. We haven't had a really big rainstorm since then to actually determine if the problem has been fixed, which is the only reason I'm giving a B rating rather than an A......simply don't know how to judge yet the quality of the repair work.
Description of Work
Prompt response to service request
Category
handyman service
keith E.
5.0
10/02/2009
He has done a lot of work for us. He is just a kind of basic handyman that does whatever had to be done. I will continue to use him for as long as possible.
Description of Work
I use him for handymen service. We had termite damage, so, he tore off the walls, put in new wall boards and painted it. He also replaced floors.
Category
handyman service

Phone

Address

25413 Clearwater Dr.

Damascus, MD 20872

Other Information

Services offered

Rough & finished carpentry, rotted wood repairs, deck maintenance, minor plumbing & minor electrical, home improvements, drywall repairs, painting, ceramic tile, laminate flooring & room finishing services.

Services not offered

Major plumbing, electrical, roofing, gutters & siding. Window installation & repairs.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Doctor Dan LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Doctor Dan LLC is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Doctor Dan LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Doctor Dan LLC offers free project estimates.

Yes, Doctor Dan LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Doctor Dan LLC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Doctor Dan LLC offers warranties.

Doctor Dan LLC offers the following services: Rough & finished carpentry, rotted wood repairs, deck maintenance, minor plumbing & minor electrical, home improvements, drywall repairs, painting, ceramic tile, laminate flooring & room finishing services.

Major plumbing, electrical, roofing, gutters & siding. Window installation & repairs.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Klappenberger & Son is a full-service painting company offering residential and commercial customers interior and exterior painting, power washing, wallpaper removal, deck and fence sealing and staining, and lead paint encapsulation. Since 1989, we have put you, the customer, first. That means fair pricing, prompt service, and the quality you deserve. Our trained painters do things the Klappenberger & Son way. We strongly believe in the benefits of 'best practices' and doing things right the first time.  

Herrod Brothers, LLC

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

Herrod Brothers, LLC

When you choose Herrod Brothers for your remodeling needs, you work directly with Jeff and Dave, from the first meeting to the completion of the job. They do all of the work and do not hire subcontractors. No job is too big or too small. Jeff and Dave are very detail oriented, creating custom niches in your bathroom to a custom pantry in your kitchen. You will be treated professionally and your requests will be heard. The brothers love to make your dream bathrooms and kitchens a reality. They like to concentrate on one job at a time and most bathrooms are complete in about one week. Their pricing is always fair and reasonable. Call Herrod Brothers today and make your dreams a reality.  

C&Painting LLC

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

C&Painting LLC

C& painting llc. Are a painting company operated by the owner and with more than 20 years of experience in Exterior and Interior Paint works. We also do lead paint encapsulation. The satisfaction of our clients and our high quality is our best reference. You can also write to us at cpainting16@gmail.com or visit us at our website WWW.C-PAINTINGLLC.NET It will be a pleasure to help in your next project. Full licenses and insurance MD. MHIC #05-133056 Dc Gc Lic #4105166000208 C& PAINTING LLC: