Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating

Founded 1972 • With Angi since October 2004

4.7

(73) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10001 Lewis Dr Ste E

Damascus, MD 20872

Description

Emergency Service Available 7 Days a Week! A & B LUCK Plumbing and Heating has been serving Frederick, Montgomery, Howard and Carroll counties since 1972. We are your specialists for every plumbing service whether residential or commercial. Our service is reliable, fast, and we offer reasonable rates. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/20/2021


Mingze Y.

Never hire them! they came to unclog my kitchen sink, they charged $214 for 15 mins job, it worked for one and half weeks. They are not doing good job. Now they said they have to come back again to fix it and charge another fee. Jay from Germantown, Maryland

Description of Work
unclog kitchen sink

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, drain cleaning

1.0

10/21/2019


Theresa L.

Terrible. Brian caused a major leak that came through our ceiling causing major electrical and drywall damage.

Description of Work
leaky faucet handle

Category plumbing

5.0

03/21/2019


john B.

They did a really great job! The water heater pilot kept going out. They came out and changed one part so the pilot stayed on, but discovered the burner wouldn't light. It took some research to locate the right part for that and then time to get it in, but as soon as we finally had it, they came right over and finished the job saving me thousands of dollars for a new heater and installation and possibly other required upgrades. They were polite, professional, honest and hospitable. Their price was less than others quoted and there were no "extras" pushed. Great experience. Would definitely use them again!

Description of Work
Fix my water heater

Category plumbing, water heater repair

1.0

12/20/2017


Jinghao Z.

We found A&B Luck Plumbing through Angie’s List. On 3/29/17, we hired them to clear the washer drain blockage. Brian was the plumber assigned to the job. After spending one hour failing to snake through. He did wrong diagnosis on the location of the blockage, cutting pipes open in 2 irrelevant places. One of the pipes he cut open was the ventilation pipe. Before he made the cut, I questioned the locations, but he insisted that he knew what he was doing. After 2 hours not being able to identify the location of the blockage, I had to ask him to leave. The following picture was taken at the time he left. It is showing that the 2 openings he cut were far away from the actual blockage. Brian was not only incompetent for the job, but also perform very unprofessionally, left the dirty water uncarefully sprayed all over on the newly painted wall and flowed behind the drywall. After Brian left, I called in the office and spoke to the office manager, Karen. Karen arranged a plumber to call me back. He tried to defend Brian without the interest of knowing what Brian did and how he did and said that he would perform the same way. That made me totally lost the confidence in the company. My husband had to get someone else fix the mess. Within a good half hour, the issue was resolved. The blockage was caused by a plastic cap fell into the washer drain. It was very close to the top of the pipe. The following picture is showing where the fix was made. The blockage was clearly on the vertical section of the pipe, far away from the openings that Brian cut. We were not only waste precious 2 hours with Brian, but had to pay extra to get it fixed, including opening up more dry wall space, and connecting the pipes mistakenly cut. Brian and A&B luck directly cause many unnecessarily damages to our house.

Description of Work
Washer drain blockage

Category plumbing

3.0

08/22/2017


Robert S.

No complaints about the work - he solved the problem. But they charge by the quarter-hour and I feel he overcharged his time. It was a 30-minute job and he charged for 45 minutes, a difference of $34. Some of that time was spent on pleasantries, chatting etc. which is fine - I like chatting. But he shouldn't have charged for that. We quibbled a bit about the bill and he said they charge from the moment they pull up to when they leave. I didn't make a big deal about it. Should have set a stopwatch, I guess -- yeah, that wouldn't be too awkward. I suppose I'd call them again but I didn't appreciate that too much so maybe I'll shop around next time.

Description of Work
Clear a stopped-up kitchen sink

Category plumbing

5.0

03/09/2017


Jerry B.

It was $3,200. They were excellent, I was very happy with their work. The price was actually good. I had 4 or 5 estimates and they came in reasonably. They were definitely reasonable. There was one, that?s the plumber and two helpers. They came many different times. There was definitely always two people here, but there were other people other than them, not always the same two people. It was a day and a half roughing in and then a day to finish. Two and a half days, not consecutive. They left the area very clean. They were very neat, they put tarps down all the time and they cleaned up after the work. It was very neat, they vacuumed. Everything was really well. It wasn?t an easy job, but very professional. They did exactly what they said they were able to do. They actually gave us good ideas on different things and what we could do also. The plumber was Tim and he was good to deal with. That was my first time with them. They were one of 3 plumbers that I got estimates from and I decided to go with them. I would use them again for other plumbing needs.

Description of Work
I worked with Andy Luck. They did the remodel of my bathroom.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/31/2017


Robert M.

On time. Never stopped working. Excellent use of their time. Answered all my questions. I don't like the idea of paying for travel time, but overall the price was okay. Would hire again.

Description of Work
Copper pipe sprung a leak.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/30/2017


Robert M.

Arrived on time. Worked constantly to get the job done. Very professional and friendly. Answered any questions I had.

Description of Work
Copper pipe in a bathroom ceiling sprung a leak.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/27/2017


Jack and Norma Jean L.

It was great! Covers on shoes, brought the tank up, it was a seamless event. Which I loved. They took the old water heater out and they were great! His assistant Josh was excellent. I could not say enough good things. The pricing was great, it was inexpensive compared to the other providers.

Description of Work
We had them come in to reset a toilet. Fix the faucets in a shower and fix faucets on a sink in the master bathroom. While he was here, I stated I think we need a new water heater because it was 8 year old. So while he was here, he took a look at it, he knew the brand and said I'll get you estimate.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/17/2016


Peter J.

A and B Luck were very quick on coming out and giving a quote, the work was done on time and they were great to work with. If I ever need plumbing work again I will be calling this company.

Description of Work
We had to have our water line replaced from the meter to the house.

Category plumbing

5.0

10/17/2016


Michael W.

They were at my house within 2hrs of my call, and the service man went above and beyond to get me fixed up and functioning. Especially impressive since this was an emergency call on a Sunday afternoon. Great job!!

Description of Work
Broke a pipe on a Sunday so needed immediate help installing new piping and fixture for tub.

Category plumbing

4.0

08/03/2016


Barbra B.

You have to be careful of the plumber you get. I had the same task done by two plumbers. One charged me $324 and one charged me $149. One said I need two different snakes and you have to pay equipment rental. The one he charged me $149 knew what he was doing. I asked him about needing two different snakes and he said no. The $324 I asked him to do an additional task and he said no because it was not written on the ticket and so they would have to come back another time with another service fee. I was very happy this time but because I knew the plumber to ask for.

Description of Work
I used A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating to snake a drain.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/20/2016


Carol S.

I called the office at 7am this morning and they promised to arrive before noon. At 8am, Josh and Kevin were knocking on my door. Josh quickly diagnosed the problem and installed the new pressure guage. He gave an estimate for the new tank, but didn't pressure me to do the replacement today. I trust the guys from A&B Luck to tell me the truth and advise me appropriately. They are always prompt and respectful of me and my time.

Description of Work
I had brown water and low water pressure. Pressure guage was replaced and water pressure rechecked. Recommended that the water pressure tank be replaced within a month or so.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/12/2016


Sam C.

They provided excellent and prompt service.

Description of Work
We used provider for all plumbing services including kitchen remodeling and a new hot water heater.

Category plumbing, water heater repair, home remodeling

5.0

03/02/2016


Carol S.

The guys from AB Luck always do the best job at diagnosing the problems and fixing them at the best price. They came early because of the impending snow storm and were able to repair vs. replace the master bath toilet. This saved me a lot of money. The sink drain was just a bolt tightening! I will definitely call on AB Luck for all my plumbing needs. They are really nice to work with and very helpful.

Description of Work
Fixed leak in master bath toilet and double sink drain.

Category plumbing

5.0

12/08/2015


Joseph C.

Josh was very professional and thorough in his assessment of our issue. He was very careful not to cause damage and did his best to ensure no water was released inside the house. He completed the job, ensured there were no further clogs, and cleaned up the work area. He was pleasant and courteous throughout the call.

Description of Work
Josh unclogged a drain between the kitchen sink and the main to the street.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

12/05/2015


Joy L.

We have used this plumber many times over the years. The people they send out have done good work and resolved our problems quickly. In this case they fixed leaky faucets but in the past they have installed faucets and garbage disposals, fixed running toilets, replaced a leaking hot water heater, and capped a leaky shower that was so rusted it couldn't be fixed. We never had any problems with their work once it was done.

Description of Work
In this case fixed a leaky hot water tub faucet, but in the past they have done other jobs as well.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

11/11/2015


Darren F.

Making the appointment was quick with reasonable times available. The plumber was on time, nice guy, knew what he was doing. He quickly assessed then cleared the drain. He cleaned up afterwards. Will definitely use A&B again. Thanks!

Description of Work
Floor drain in basement was nearly clogged- cleared the drain

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

03/27/2015


william D.

I tried to fix a leak on my indoor shut off valve myself. I turned off the main before I started but it kept running a little bit and I assumed I had an additional leak and pressed on. I had a problem finding a washer to fit and had run out to get another with the valve in hand. I had my father changing the cup that was left to catch the leaking water. I got the best fit washer but couldn't get it to stop leaking once I had it replaced. I called on an emergency basis since I couldn't wait a day due to the continued leak, they said they would be there in an hour and arrived in 20 minutes. Brian cranked the main further to turn it off (apparently, I should have used a wrench to close the main tighter) and replaced the old valve to get the house up and running in about a half hour. I made an appointment for the next day to come out and connect the valve back to the front spigot. Josh came out the next day and replaced my spigot with a frost free model and a different indoor valve in about 45 - 1 hour. So, two visits ( one on an emergency basis) for 335 bucks. Maybe a little bit expensive but I think it could have been worse. Great job by team Luck!

Description of Work
Replaced indoor shut off valve and outside spigot.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/09/2015


Howard P.

On time. Team was fast and friendly. Happy to answer.questions. Answered questions about additional capabilities. Cleaned up after work. System checked out fine.. Recommend for future work.

Description of Work
Replace tub drain assembly to trap. Repair faucet.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/13/2015


Janette B.

They did a really good job and I would recommend their services to others for heating/ac.

Description of Work
I hired them to service my ac unit and furnace and make any necessary repairs.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/09/2015


James H.

They first came because I wasn't getting any water out of the system. They pumped air into the holding tank and -- voila -- I had filtered water! They asked how long it had been since I changed the filters, and I confessed that it had been about three years. So they agreed to come back to change the filters. Several weeks later, they returned and changed the filters -- but readily admitted that the old filters were remarkably clean (because we filter our well water). Soon after they departed, several weeks I'd venture, I discovered a vibrating sound coming from a small box in the midst the system. They returned and verified the source of the noisy vibrations. The technician tried to take the box apart, clean it out, and reassemble it, but the vibrations continued, so he had to come back with a replacement part. I told him I thought we ought to replace the faucet because it has been leaking quite regularly. He returned with the right part for the box, but found that he didn't have the right re[placement faucet. So finally he returned with the right facet and plugged it in without undue strain. Every time A&B Luck showed up in our driveway they charged me for their time in reaching us. In settling with me on their last visit, the technician totaled up the recent trips and charged me only about half for them, helping me with the total. The total $700 is more than I would have imagined necessary for this little filtering system. Presumably, it would have cost me less if they had the necessary parts on hand when they came to us. Nonetheless, they knew a lot more than I did about the system, and I'm confident that I'll get years of trouble-free service out of our system because of A&B Luck's expertise

Description of Work
This review covers numerous visits A&B Luck made to our house beginning in October and ending today, 1/9/2015, to fix several problems with our reverse osmosis water filtering system.

Category plumbing

4.0

11/23/2014


Peter M.

I first called them in Sept when I noticed that the sewage sump was full and the pump was not coming on. The sump serves only a basement bathroom which we didn't use too often, so didn't notice the problem right away. They scheduled a call for the day after next and came out on time. The service person was very polite, got to work and shortly had the float switch activated by jiggling it through a small hole in the cover of the sump. Problem solved and it cost only a service call in the neighborhood of $100 (they have an online coupon which reduced the price somewhat). Or so I thought. In a few weeks, I noticed that the pump was again not emptying the sump. This time, having observed what the technician did, I opened the port on the sump and quickly got it working again -- the float was apparently waterlogged and did not have enough bouyancy to activate the switch. I thought that the float could simply be replaced. I called again, and a different person came out, and this time provided a completely new float switch which was fixed to the outflow pipe, and lead to a wire leading up to the outlet, into which the pump itself was plugged. This is a good design since the pump can now be activated by plugging it directly into the wall instead of the new float switch. Again, it took about an hour to install, and I was glad to have a professional do this work. He discovered an additional problem with the original installation, where a small drain hole had not been provided in the outflow tube, or it had been put in the wrong location, making the pump spray up against the bottom of the cover, causing a messy leak. He took care of the problem, too. Price for this service was about $350. My only complaint was that the first service man did not correctly diagnose and fix the problem on the first service call, and that I had to pay for a second call. Otherwise, this company provided great service.

Description of Work
First, got sewage pump working again. It had a bad float. Later, replaced the float and float switch with a new, position activated mercury float switch.

Category plumbing, wells

5.0

09/22/2014


James B.

We discovered the water service line to our home was leaking. Dept. of Utilities determined we were losing over a gallon a minute underground, outside the house. We called several plumbing companies, A & B Luck scheduled a time later that day to come out and give us an estimate. Mike came out and was able to determine by listening to the leak that it was likely just outside the wall, he thought most likely it was due to stress on the line from backfill against the house settling over time. This was on a Friday, they could come out the following Tuesday (Monday was a holiday) and excavate the line. Estimate given was $1200 if all was needed to dig out the line near the house and repair it, $2400 if entire replacement (46 feet of line) was needed. He came out with a helper Tuesday, excavated the line and determined the leak was just outside the house as he'd expected. The service line was high quality rolled copper, excellent thickness, and didn't need to be replaced. He replaced the bad section with new 1 inch plastic pipe, installed that through the wall in a sealed sleeve and patched the wall with high pressure concrete. Then installed a pressure reducing valve, new main shut off valve, and an overflow tank above our water heater to meet new plumbing codes. No extra charges were made for the valve or expansion tank, total cost was $1336 ($136 permit fees plus the $1200 agreed upon price for the repair. Repairs were inspected and approved by the County inspector, Mike came back and backfilled the area to rough grade per our contract. A & B Luck were prompt, professional, and did a great job at half the price another company has estimated for the repair. We're very satisfied with the work and wouldn't hesitate to use their services again.

Description of Work
Repaired leak to underground water service line outside of home.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/28/2014


meghan W.

The technician arrived on time and got right to work. Quickly snaked a clogged floor drain and even cleaned up the floor where water and gunk had spilled out all over the place.

Description of Work
Snaked clogged drain

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning

    You and your family deserve to receive the best care and the best service. Not every heating & A/C company gives you the quality people and care that Presidential does. We offer 40 Years of Award-Winning Quality People, Quality Installation, and Quality Service. Delivering this quality service and care for your home is our commitment to you! Family-owned and operated, Presidential specializes in residential and light commercial service and installation throughout MD, VA & DC. Ask us about our system replacement specials and The Advantage Maintenance Plan for preferred VIP service. Presidential has been awarded the Carrier Factory Authorized Dealer Award and is a member of the ACCA (Air Conditioning Contractors of America) and the Quality One service network.  

    Offers by Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning on Angi
    Weather Masters Corp

    While we focus on Lennox and serve as a Lennox Premier Dealer, we have the ability to service all other makes and models. We are fully licensed and insured. We're also a Rheem Pro Partner. Furthermore, our company has been showcased as one of the best HVAC service providers on HomeAdvisor. We take pride in our work ethic and in ensuring customer satisfaction. Our main goal is to keep our customers in Frederick comfortable during the hot, humid months as well as during the freezing winters.  

    TruTemp Heating & Cooling

    TruTemp Heating & Cooling is a local, family owned business serving the Maryland market. We are dedicated to providing our clients with the very best in installation, maintenance and repair of your HVAC needs. Our company is built on honesty and integrity and we take pride in the quality of our workmanship. We look forward to building long-term relationships with our clients and guarantee your satisfaction.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Emergency Service, Plumbing, drain cleaning. Water heaters. Heating, air conditioning. Remodeling - Kitchen & Bath, pipe replacement, toliets, vanitys, faucets, well line repair and replacement, sump pump installation, jet sewer and drain cleaning, gas line installs, garbage disposal replacements, water purification systems, water conditioners, water treatment

    Services Not Offered

    HVAC.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating

    How is A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating overall rated?

    A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating open?

    A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating provide

    A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating offer free estimates?

    Yes, A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating offers free project estimates.

    Does A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating offer emergency services?

    Yes, A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating?

    No, A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating does not offer warranties.

    What services does A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating offer?

    A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating offers the following services: Emergency Service, Plumbing, drain cleaning. Water heaters. Heating, air conditioning. Remodeling - Kitchen & Bath, pipe replacement, toliets, vanitys, faucets, well line repair and replacement, sump pump installation, jet sewer and drain cleaning, gas line installs, garbage disposal replacements, water purification systems, water conditioners, water treatment

    Are there any services A&B Luck Plumbing and Heating does not offer?

    HVAC.