Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Solstice Kitchen And Bath

Founded 2007 • With Angi since October 2009

5.0

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1651 Crofton Blvd Suite 10

Crofton, MD 21114

Description

Solstice provides full service custom kitchen and bath remodels as well as retail cabinetry to both homeowners and contractors. Any remodeling project requires many decisions. Solstice Kitchen and Bath simplifies the process with friendly, experienced designers, knowledgeable in the design and construction process. Our Kitchen and Bath designers combine product knowledge, design expertise and project management experience to guide you efficiently through your choices. As a constant point of contact throughout your project, your designer provides continuity from your initial meeting through completion of installation. If you are considering a remodel, new construction or a general face-lift for your home, we invite you to visit our showroom and see our product lines first hand. As a small firm, we offer you the opportunity to meet with us by appointment so that we can direct our attention to your specific job. We offer free design consultations to all Angie's List members....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/24/2017


Carolyn K.

I had a wonderful experience. They worked very hard to stay within my budget and offered expert advice throughout the process. Everyone associated with the company was top-notch: super professional, experienced, and extremely nice. They have also been extremely responsive over the last year since I had the work completed when I've had a question. I HIGHLY recommend them.

Description of Work
I had a kitchen remodeled.

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/23/2016


Sandra P.

We couldn't be more pleased with our new bathroom and we are so appreciative to everyone at Solstice for making the process such a positive experience. We generally knew what we wanted the finished project to look like and we had some specific requirements - marble counter tops, white cabinets, etc., but it was Derek who provided the plan. He asked the right questions, listened to our answers, made suggestions, explained options and put it all together. The recommended dealers for products were knowledgeable and coordinated well with Solstice. The actual work took about 8 weeks. Scott kept everything on schedule and kept us informed throughout the process. There were no extended periods when work stopped because everyone was at another site. We were especially impressed by the respect and care given to our home by everyone who worked here. At the end of the project there was not one mark or scratch on any surface. I still don't know how Danny and Carl got the tub down the steps without even a scratch. Everything was cleaned up daily, both in the bathroom and staging area in the garage. Everyone who worked on this project was professional, skilled, and personable. Marc, who did the tile work, was a perfectionist and spent so much time working with the placement of the tile to enhance the overall effect. It paid off as it is beautiful. He is skilled, but also an artist. Our new bathroom is functional and beautiful and everything we wanted. Thank you to everyone involved. We are so glad we worked with Solstice on this project and will use their services again when it is time to remodel another bathroom.

Description of Work
This was a total remodel of a second floor master bathroom in a 26 year old house. The room was taken down to the studs with the removal of all drywall, flooring, tile, shower enclosure, and fixtures. A large jetted soaker tub was removed and not replaced. The room was reconfigured to include a larger glass enclosed shower, 2 separate vanity areas with marble counter tops, porcelain tile on the floor and in the shower enclosure, new toilet, new plumbing and lighting. Only the location of the toilet remained the same.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Wow what a beautiful home you have! Thank you for allowing us to help you create your dream bathroom. It was truly a pleasure working with you both.
5.0

11/06/2014


Clare B.

Overall: Fantastic,from start to finish. Couldn’t ask for better. Scope of the job: These were 3 separate contracts, all done within the same year. They were total remodels of the master bath, guest bath, and a half-bath with adjoining passage area. Solstice provided and installed new fixtures (tubs, toilets, lavatories, faucets, cabinets, lighting, vent fans, floor tiling, wall tiling, decorative tiling, drywall, painting). In 2 of the areas, the job included changing the location of tub, toilet, and lavatory. In all 3 areas, the subflooring required replacement or majorrepair. The job included removing 2 walls, creating a new wall, and creating a closet with bi-fold doors in the passage area. Method/approach: The business is owned and run by 2 partners—one takes the lead to help you plan, the other takes the lead for the onsite job. On the planning side, Derek met with me many times until we worked out every detail of the job. After the first planning session, there’s a modest up-front fee for continued planning that is taken off of the total price if you have them complete the work, but there was no limit on the help provided in the planning phase; it’s tailored to how much the customer wants to be involved. The contract that resulted from the planning included every detail—sketch of layout, what fixtures, what cabinets, tile, granite, paint color, etc. Once the job started, Scott was the lead. Technically, the work itself is done by “subcontractors” but Solstice uses the same subcontractors consistently over the long term, and has a close working relationship with them; and the subs are chosen because they are highly skilled in their respective fields—tile layer, plumber, electrician, painter/carpenter, granite prep. Scott schedules each one to come in the sequence that is best for the job and he coordinates everything and stays close in touch. His goal throughout was perfection. If any little (or big) thing came up, I just had to call or text Scott. His approach is this: “We can take care of it; now let me see just how we’ll do that.” But never any question of whether they would take care of it to my complete satisfaction. Excellent communication throughout. One more key player to mention is Danny. Not sure what to call Danny’s role; he manages dust containment (really important), does the demolition at the beginning, is the carpet expert, and does a million little things along the way, like making sure the tub’s there when it’s time for the plumber to put it in or re-install a robe hook that wasn't in just right. He’s sort of the day-to-day glue; and that’s so important. Timing. The first couple weeks of each job were very busy. I do have to say the jobs dragged on longer than they might have, with a fair amount of non-productive time after the first couple weeks, the result of their working on multiple jobs at once. But I was more interested in the outcome than a race for the finish. Outcome: Superior. As close to perfection as was humanly possible. Really! Price: A bit on the high side, compared to other bids, but worth every penny. I’d hire them again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Remodel 3 bathrooms

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words. We loved working with you on all of your projects and are so pleased that you are happy with them. Please call us if you need anything in the future. Derek
5.0

01/08/2014


Cecile R.

I decided to remodel a bathroom in the house I just bought. Basically removing a bathtub, moving a toilet to a new place and building a shower as well as installing a new vanity. Scott and Derek listened to what I want and gave some good suggestions. Danny and the rest of the team worked really well and did an awesome job. Every time I had questions or concerns they provided a timely answer and/or solution. The bathroom came out great and everyone gives me compliment about how good it looks!

Description of Work
Remodeling of a bathroom

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [removed member name]. We really enjoyed working on your bathroom remodel with you. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. Derek
5.0

12/06/2013


MIchael P.

Solstice professionals Scott, Derrick and Danny created two (2) wonderful living areas in both our Master Bedroom Bath and the expanded Kitchen and Dining room areas. Our primary objective was focused on RESALE within the next 2-5 years ! We decided to improve our 'quality of life' by pro actively having Solstice do the work now. Following the renovations which my wife Marsha coordinated, we are really enjoying the quality UPGRADES to our overall living experience for our last years in Davidsonville (FoxHall Estates)! We have encouraged both Scott and Derrick to take pictures for their web site (SOLTICE) and I have offered to speak to their future clients if they so choose !

Description of Work
Complete renovation of Kitchen area including new cabinets and new appliance including extensive redesign of entire area ! Previously a complete renovation of Master Bathroom and external attached Ladies sink, counter including extensive granite counter tops through the entire areas !

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Wow, thank you [members name]. That is a wonderful review to see. We had a lot of fun with you guys during your projects. We hope to see you again soon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future.
5.0

09/27/2013


Paula R.

Very well. Derek worked with me to find good quality vanities in my budget. We love them!

Description of Work
Vanities for 2 1/2 baths purchased and installed. The quality of the cabinet is definitely worth every penny. The installation fee was bit high, but the installer was very careful, professional, clean, so in the end, it was probably worth it.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [members name]! We appreciate you sharing your experience with Solstice. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. Derek
5.0

05/31/2012


Jennifer W.

Went very well

Description of Work
Solstice Kitchen and Bath fully gutted and remodeled the kitchen and bath in our new (older) home. This was a complete renovation of a foreclosed property done by Solaris Construction. It was part of a larger renovation (approx. $90,000 in total renovations). The kitchen and bath were completey gutted down to the studs. In the kitchen, after minor plumbing and electrical adjustments, Solstice installed new painted maple cabinets - a large run of 17', a new island, and granite countertops. Appliances were installed but purchased separately. To lower costs, we will install backsplash and paint. In the bathroom, walls were moved, plumbing relocated, and new walls built (done by Solaris). Solstice installed the cabinetry - same as kitchen - and granite. Looks great. Solstice came in with a fair budget, quality product, and was able and willing to adjust requirements to meet specifications. Product was delivered in a timely manner, as per contract, and staff were courteousy and responsive. Permits were pulled and inspection was seemless. While initial cost projections were higher than we alloted, they were able to work with us to deliver a product that meet our needs.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you (removed member name). We hope that you are still enjoying your wonderful kitchen. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. Derek
5.0

03/02/2012


David W.

After meeting with Derek at Solstice, we determined that they were not the ones for us. Not because they couldn't do the work, but because they normally do more extensive work, and this project was better suited for another firm. Although Derek said that they could do the work, he acknowledged that the cost would likely be more than we could get it done elsewhere. Not only was he honest about that, but he even recommended another firm that handles just the kind of work we need to get done. Although I didn't use their services this time, the professionalism and honesty of the staff means that they'll be the first to call when I do need their level of work performed.

Description of Work
I need to have a shower/tub install done in place of a claw foot tub. I'm looking to not spend a lot of money and have been looking at pre-fab shower/tub units.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words (removed member name). I hope that the project ended up going smoothly for you. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. Derek
5.0

01/13/2012


Karen B.

We observed Solstice Kitchen and Bathroom working around the neighborhood and then we interviewed them and selected them. They were excellent.

Description of Work
They remodeled two bathrooms.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi Mrs [removed member name], thank you for your kind review of us here at Solstice. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. We would love to work with you guys again. Derek
5.0

05/05/2011


Art G.

N/A

Description of Work
Contacted for estimate on minor kitchen renovation. Helpful and responsive on the phone, said they would call back. Called them back after a week or so, they said the job sounded like something they would refer to their "counter guys", but never heard from the subcontractor, so don't know if the referral was made or not. Seems like the job was too small to be of interest to them. UPDATE: After posting this review, I was contacted by Bruce Moffatt of Counter Intelligence. Solstice did in fact refer my job to them, but it slipped through the cracks on their end, so he wanted to apologize for the lapse and assure me that Solstice was not at fault. I appreciated the follow-up by both companies, and may use Counter Intelligence for the new counter-tops in my kitchen.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. (removed member name), I hope that recommendation for a counter top fabricator ended up working out for you. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. Thank you, Derek
5.0

08/29/2010


Mari Ann B.

from initial contact, estimates, design services, and all work performed the service (and craftsmanship) was impeccable. we would recommend Solstice without reservation and will retain their services again for future projects.

Description of Work
complete remodeling of our kitchen including electrical, plumbing, cabinets, floors, and countertops.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi (removed member's name), Thanks so much for the review on your kitchen remodel! Since then we have done the master bathroom as well and once again enjoyed working with you and (removed member's spouses name) very much. Please let us know when you would like to tackle that last bathroom! Thanks, Derek
5.0

07/22/2010


Nancy S.

It went amazingly well--beautiful work by polite, courteous, professional workers and work. Consideration was given to our needs and schedules.

Description of Work
Remodeling of the kitchen area with new counter tops, removable of some cabinets to open up the area, installation of new island hood to ventilate the area. Complete remodeling of a 1975 bathroom--tear out and replace everything with high quality items.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi [removed members name], Thanks so much for your kind review. We loved working on your bathroom as well. We hope that you folks are doing well. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. Derek
5.0

10/22/2009


Michael D.

From start to finish I can not express how pleased we were with this project. The contractors took great care to insure the house was protect and kept as clean as humanly possible. The existing hardwood floors, stairs and railing were cover and protect through out the project. They installed plastic zipper doors to block off the work areas. The work area was cleaned and vaccuumed each work day. From plumbing to carpentry the workers were true professionals and the work was first rate. The project was completed on schedule and pretty much withing budget. Everyone that has seen the kitchen is spellbound by it. I would recommend Solstice Kitchen and bath to anyone think of remodeling without hesitation. As a matter of fact we plan on using them again in the spring to install a powder room in the basement.

Description of Work
Designed complete kitchen remodel that involved combining the existing kitchen 10X14 and dinning room 10X14 into one large kitchen 20X14. Following is an outline of tasks completed: Demo: - Removed and disposed of fixtures,cabintry counter tops, and existing flooring - Removed wall dividing kitchen and dining room. - Removed existing pantry. - Covered and sealed existing hardwood floors in hallway and living room. - Removwed and replaced subfloor as needed for plumbing, electric, and HVAC. Framing: - Framed 2X4 wall 16" OC against block wall. - Framed 2X4 knee wall for breakfast bar. - Framed 2X4 wall from closet to kitchen enterance. - Installed and repaired drywall as needed. HVAC: - Ran new duct from new range hood to outside of house. - Capped old HVAC return duct. - Relocated return vent from demoed wall to new wall in hallway. - Add additional supply vent in cabinet toekick. Plumbing: - Rerouted masterbath water supply lines for demoed wall to new 2X4 wall. - Installed double bowl sink, faucet, gargabe disposal, and dishwasher. - Rerouted gas line from existing location to new range location. - Installed new water supply line for pot filler. - Installed new water supply lines and drainage for island. - installed single bowl sink, faucet, and garbage disposal in island. Electrical: - Installed additional 200amp electrical service. - Installed 8 - 6" high hat lights. - Installed 2 - 4" high hat lights. - Installed 3 pendant light fixtures. - Installed incabinet and undercabinet lolw voltage lighting. - Installed 5 dedicated 15amp circuits for dishwasher, microwave,refrigerator, beverage refrigerator, and range hood. - Installed 2 dedicated 30amp circuits for dual fuel range, and inwall oven. - Installed 15 15amp outlet GFCI to code, - Installed 2 HDMI,1 Component, 2RCA, and 2 coxial cables from A/V cabinet to wall mounted TV. - Installed 9 in ceiling 6" speakers. - Installed 9 Maestro Dimmer Switches. Paint: - Painted first floor ceiling. Tile: - Installed 1/2" durock subfloor in kitchen. - Installed 3 patern tile floor. - Installed tile backsplash with decorative design above range and sink. Cabintety: - Supplied and installed cherry 14 wall,11 base, 1 refrigarator, 1 oven, and 1 pantry cabinets per drawings. - Installed 52 handles and pulls on cabinets. Counter Top: - Installed approximately 26 linear feet of granite counter top. Trim & Doors: - Removed and installed all base moulding in kitchen and dining room. - Removed and installed base, shoe, chair rail and crown in living room as needed to install the new 2X4 wall on block wall, - Removed and replaced crown as needed to allow for HVAC to be run. Appliances: - Installed Dishwasher, Duel Fuel Range, Refigerator, Beverage Refigerator, Microwave, Wall Oven, and Range Hood. - Installed blocking and TV bracket. New Dining Room & Living Room: - Installed 1 chandelier and 2 6" high hat lights. - Installed 2 Maestor Dimmer Switches.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi [removed member name], That is quite a review you gave us and we really appreciate all of the detail you went into. We hope you guys are doing well and would love to hear from you. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. Derek

    Other local Pros in your area

    Elohim Construction, LLC

    At Elohim Construction, LLC, one call does it all. We specialize in Complete Bathroom and Kitchen remodeling and more. No project is too large . We can help save time from the first phone call through project completion. We help by multi-tasking work which means we complete jobs faster and better than your typical handyman for hire. We are located in Pasadena an Olney Maryland.  

    LSD Enterprise LLC

    Family Owned -General Contractor - w/25years experience in customer satisfaction in residential and commercial construction industry. We approach and treat every project with the same level of effort and skill to assure success. Our crews and staff have worked together for years understanding what success teamwork can accomplish. A unique company with a successful track record to prove it.  

    Straka Contracting LLC

    I started Straka Contracting over a decade ago in Howard County after having gained considerable experience in all areas of home improvement. Much of that know-how came from working with my father who has been in the trade since the 1960s. Today we serve the central Maryland area with a full array of services including remodeling, additions, decks, fencing, roofing, skylights, siding, windows, doors, gutters and gutter guards. Straka Contracting is dedicated to quality work and we offer a guarantee to back it up on every job. What’s more, when I take on work I am personally involved from beginning to end, making sure things are done properly. Karel Straka, Owner Straka Contracting  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    General Remodeling
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Solstice offers turn key kitchen and bath remodeling services. We take care of the entire project ourselves so that there is less for the homeowner to worry about. All plumbing, electrical, tile, paint, drywall, cabinetry, carpentry, windows, etc that your project requires will be done by our team. We also help select any and all of the products that will be necessary to complete the project to take some of the burden off of our customers since we understand it can be overwhelming at times

    Services Not Offered

    Minor repairs, retail plumbing fixture sales, and service calls. We only take on full kitchen and bath remodels/new builds and retail cabinetry sales.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Solstice Kitchen And Bath

    How is Solstice Kitchen And Bath overall rated?

    Solstice Kitchen And Bath is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Solstice Kitchen And Bath provide

    Solstice Kitchen And Bath accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Solstice Kitchen And Bath offer free estimates?

    Yes, Solstice Kitchen And Bath offers free project estimates.

    Does Solstice Kitchen And Bath offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Solstice Kitchen And Bath offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Solstice Kitchen And Bath offer a senior discount?

    No, Solstice Kitchen And Bath does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Solstice Kitchen And Bath?

    Yes, Solstice Kitchen And Bath offers warranties.

    What services does Solstice Kitchen And Bath offer?

    Solstice Kitchen And Bath offers the following services: Solstice offers turn key kitchen and bath remodeling services. We take care of the entire project ourselves so that there is less for the homeowner to worry about. All plumbing, electrical, tile, paint, drywall, cabinetry, carpentry, windows, etc that your project requires will be done by our team. We also help select any and all of the products that will be necessary to complete the project to take some of the burden off of our customers since we understand it can be overwhelming at times

    Are there any services Solstice Kitchen And Bath does not offer?

    Minor repairs, retail plumbing fixture sales, and service calls. We only take on full kitchen and bath remodels/new builds and retail cabinetry sales.