Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Economic Roofing Co

Founded 1972 • With Angi since October 2006

With a dedication to quality and service, economic roofing company is continuing to provide thousands of homeowners a year with the peace of mind that comes with knowing their roofing job has been done by one of the oldest and most respected roofing contractors in the region. Economic roofing company was founded in 1972, by TY Hines who had relocated to the fledging town of Columbia, Maryland from Virginia Beach, Virginia. After having provided proven, quality work in the Columbia area, economic roofing began to grow greatly, landing contracts with some of the biggest builders who have formed the backbone of the Columbia community. Additional email - ty@economicroofing.com.

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
2%
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(82) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 82 reviews
Dion M.
1.0
10/11/2022
First the receptionist hung up when I asked for the owner I called back and they did not answer. I put a review on their business. I was called by the owner threatening me that he was going to have several negative reviews on my own company. I have had to file complaints with the BBB. If you use this business understand that when you call you will not be able to speak to the owner, but you will be treated poorly. I highly recommend that Angi get involved and investigate this company. It is not fair to your other clients to represent a company with no professionalism. Something needs to be done on your end to avoid companies like this.
Description of Work
Speak to Owner
Category
gutter repair
Regis T.
5.0
05/24/2017
he did an excellent job. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
He replaced the roof and he removed the gutter and re nailed the phase board on the trusses.
Category
roofing
Arthur R.
5.0
11/13/2016
Economic was extremely professional. Once we reached agreement on the final scope of the work, they were able to schedule the job within the week and, with a large (and courteous) crew, the entire project was completed in one day - to my satisfaction. My bill included full picture details of the work performed which also indicated where and why any plywood was replaced (this was the only item that job dependent). The site was protected during the work and cleaned after. I was very pleased with their professionalism and responsiveness and recommend them highly (and have already done so to family in Rockville).
Description of Work
Annapolis - Full roof and skylights. I had never replaced a roof before and tried to get as much information as possible. I received 3 full bids from respected contractors (at least 3 bids are recommended for any major work) and found the response from Economic to not only be the most reasonable (price and other factors considered - warranty, timing, materials, response, etc.), but also the most detailed and professional in what work was to be performed with specific priced options for each of the upgrades or additional work I was interested in (e.g., replacing aging skylights). They also provided pictures from my house to indicate why they were recommending certain work. This allowed me to keep the work within my budget while it also provided me the ability to discuss each of the options and modify or negotiate alternatives as I wanted. The other bids I received were merely a set price and did not give me the same opportunities to consider each of the options separately. With regard to other bids, I strongly recommend not only obtaining multiple bids, but also discussing (questioning) the work to be performed with each of the contractors before making your decision. The information you receive from this process will increase your understanding of the work and give you the ability both to negotiate your final contract and find you do not second-guess yourself as to what "should" have been done after the project is completed.
Category
roofing, skylights
Jeff D.
5.0
04/11/2016
Economic Roofing has to be one of the best Roofers in the entire Baltimore /Washington area. A friend of mine who was a commercial roofer told me that Economic Roofing was the best residential roofer so I used them. The owner Ty Hines is great as was the jobsite foreman Vilmar. They replaced the a lot roof, Sheathing, facia boards, painted the facia, new gutters and covers. I had a leak and they came out immediately on December 31st. They are a great group of people who know what they are doing and are fast. I bought a top of the line 50 year roof and love the way it looks.
Description of Work
Replaced the Roof, Gutters, Downspout, gutter covers, painted facia, replaced sheathing, and more.
Category
roofing
Robert C.
5.0
11/29/2015
These guys are GREAT,
Description of Work
Roof Repair
Category
roofing
Glenda K.
3.0
09/26/2014
They were fine. All the roofs in our cul-de-sac started having problems and they realized it was a problem with the manufacturer so the manufacturer gave us some money. The price they gave us seemed pretty fair because the roof was 10 years old. I didn't like them at all. They came out and I couldn't talk to any of the people because they were all Latinos. They dropped the packets of roofing, which weigh about 100 pounds each, onto the roof and they were knocking nails out of the walls. I found somebody in our cul-de-sac that did speak Spanish and she talked to them. After that they were a little more gentle. It was a one day job which is what they said.
Description of Work
They did roofing.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

We went back to our records of this job 16 yrs ago but we did not find any notes about problems on this job - perhaps it was not mention to us , our job supervisor reported that the customer was happy.
Michael H.
3.0
09/14/2014
They did a fine job and kept at it until after dark to get it done. I've seen no more leaks. I'm very happy with the work they did. However, the last few times that I tried to get a few more things taken care of I have been unable to make an appointment. I talk to someone in the office who passes my name to the scheduler. The scheduler calls once. If I miss him her does not return my call. If I can't support the first appointment date and time he proposes he never call me back to tell me if the date I propose are acceptable. This has happened 3 or 4 times over a year. The scheduler forgets about me after one call. I've given up on them.
Description of Work
Economic roofing fixed a leak where the flashing was done incorrectly on my house in 2012.
Category
roofing
Karen P.
5.0
08/09/2014
I did not encounter any issues. I would recommend them to my neighbors. They were very good. They gave me a new roof. I have had no problems with my roof since they installed it in 2007. I would use them again if I had to. They were good on responsiveness.
Description of Work
I used Economic Roofing Co for installing a new roof.
Category
roofing
Elizabeth O.
5.0
05/22/2014
Ty was very helpful and prompt. He emailed the contract with a detailed explanation of all work to be done, with options that were available. His crew showed up on time and were curteous and professional and worked fast. They finished in about 4 hours including a good cleanup and did a professional looking job , and at a fair price I might add. We ary happy with the results, thanks TY.
Description of Work
Removed 1 layer of old roof, inspected plywood deck and installed new roof. Also resealed chimney. plumbing vent pipe and exhaust vent with new flanges.
Category
roofing, chimney repair
Jesse A.
3.0
04/07/2014
Failed to show up when booked for estimate on the work.
Description of Work
Requested a quote for minor roof repair, booked date, but the contractor failed to show up for the estimate.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

We have no record of a request for service from this customer since 5-19-2008 , our order # 822847 where we provided an estimate but we were not sdelected to do the work . Not sure what this is all about but we would be very happy to provide service to this customer.
Yetta H.
5.0
04/01/2014
I was very pleased once again with the service provided by Economic Roofing. I called them on 1/31/14 after I saw leaking from the rain we had over the weekend. I was told that they were quite backed up from all the snow we had this winter causing damage to many roofs. I was told it may be a week before someone could be here and since it wasn't a large leak and wasn't yet reaching the floor I could afford to wait since previously I have been happy with this company. I was pleasantly surprised when they called today (one day later) and said they could come today. After inspecting the roof he found several gaps in the joints in that area and repaired the gaps and checked and repaired other potentially problem areas.
Description of Work
Repaired leak in roof.
Category
roofing
john K.
5.0
03/15/2014
fast, good clean-up, responsive to my questions and concerns during the job, good job, good follow-up
Description of Work
complete roof and rotted subroof replacement
Category
roofing
Michael S.
5.0
02/04/2014
My furnace was not working because of my blocked chimney. They treated this as an emergency. Working in the rain to reline my chimney. I was very pleased with everyone and the work.
Description of Work
Repair and reline chimney.
Category
roofing
David W.
4.0
01/24/2014
Did not choose them to replace our roof.
Description of Work
Gave an estimate for a roof replacement. Showed up on time, did a very thorough measurement of the roof. Their estimate was the third highest out of 4, but was only about $2000 higher than the next two.
Category
roofing
Milissa R.
5.0
12/17/2013
They came and gave me an estimate. I was going to have them do roofing and gutter work. They were very professional and the gentleman who came out was very nice. They got in touch with me very quickly by phone call to set up an estimate. Their pricing was a little bit hirer than another company that we got an estimate from though.
Description of Work
I was going to have them do roofing and gutter works.
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Al D.
5.0
02/13/2013
Ty made things easy start to finish
Description of Work
Roofing replacement and minor siding repair
Category
roofing, siding
antoinette S.
5.0
11/02/2012
Excellent!!!! I would call them again!!
Description of Work
Fixed Roof Excellent!!!!! Please call them I had a leak on the roof they fixed everything including cleaning the gutters and chauling the windows!! John Carlos and Sergie were great! Professional!!!
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Diana T.
5.0
10/22/2012
I contacted Ty, the owner of the company. I explained that we needed repairs for our townhouse that we were selling. I asked for an appt asap. He sent someone the next morning. The crew called when in route. They were friendly and efficient. I would highly recommend them!
Description of Work
Had the aluminum chimey cap replaced on my chimney and shingles were replaced.
Category
roofing, chimney repair
Rori B.
5.0
10/12/2012
Our experience with them was okay. We conducted business and they took care of the problem. I could not remember too much, they were not there very long but the problem was repaired and that was the end of it. I did not seem to have a problem with them. I thought the pricing was reasonable.
Description of Work
Economic Roofing came in and repaired a couple of tiles on our roof.
Category
roofing
Beth V.
1.0
07/24/2012
They never returned any of the messages I left on their answering machine.
Description of Work
They never returned any of the messages I left on their answering machine.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

We have no record of a call from this customer , we have a receptionist and their was no message on her voice mail as well. Perhaps they called the wrong phone # or a different company with a similar name. She can reach us at 443-661-1225 and we would be happy to help her .
Jean M.
5.0
06/19/2012
I sent an estimate request from the website. They responded the next day and gave me a date for the following day. They called before they arrived to let me know they were on the way and arrived when they said. They looked at the leaks in the house. They went on the roof. When they came down they explained what was wrong, showed me the replacement parts, told me the cost and asked if I wanted to have done then. They completed the work, showed me the removed vent collars, cleaned up and left.
Description of Work
Inspected roof for leaks, replaced vent collars, caulked vent ridge.
Category
roofing
Joe B M.
5.0
04/30/2012
The company was able to replace my roof one the first day that I was available. They showed up with their crew at 7:45 and were completely finished, including cleanup, by 4:00. They were extremely competent and were extremely professional and courteous.
Description of Work
Removal of two layers of existing shingles and replace all plywood and install new twenty five year shingles.
Category
roofing
Sandy B.
5.0
03/05/2012
They were very good. They have been around since Columbia was being built. They have been in business for a long time like thirty plus years. They were very reliable. They started by 8 in the morning and finished by 5 in the evening by getting it all timed. . I was very pleased with them. I have had no problems so far with them.
Description of Work
I used Economic Roofing Co for roofing services.
Category
roofing
Jennifer B.
5.0
02/16/2012
On two separate occasions, one a couple of years ago and again this month, I had two skylights that were older and developed leaks. I called all over to get estimates on having new ones installed as a caulk or seal would not be sufficient. When I first spoke with Ty Hines, the owner, about my dilemma and my limited income he was willing to work with me on the costs. Each time his crew would come out and look at the problem to determine what was needed first. Then when it came time to do the installations they would call first to set up time/date and would call again when they were on their way to do the work. They were so pleasant and professional to work with. The skylights were installed well and no problems after installation.
Description of Work
I've had the opportunity to use Economic Roofing twice. Once a couple of years ago and again recently to replace old, leaking skylights. Ty Hines, is the kindest, most generous man I've ever dealt with. His crew is always professional, do wonderful work & clean up and are just pleasant to work with. I recommend using Economic Roofing highly. Ty Hines, the owner, is a compassionate man with integrity. If I ever need the type of work done that he can do, I'd call him first in a heartbeat. He's the best!!
Category
skylights
Carl J.
5.0
10/22/2011
I am very pleased with Economic Roofing. I highly recommend them. The roof looks great. I look forward to many years of worry free roof coverage.
Description of Work
I originally contacted Economic Roofing in December of 2010 to inspect my roof when I noticed a leak after a heavy snow storm. Economic Roofing quickly scheduled the appointment and arrived the next day to inspect my roof. They inspected the roof, the attic, the ventilation and also took photos of problem areas they found. As my roof was 22 yrs old, they gave me the option of repairing the roof or replacing the roof. They provided written estimates for both options. At the time I was working through my insurance company and opted for repair with another contractor. Because of my very pleasant experience with them, when I was ready to replace the roof in September 2011, I contacted them again. Ty Hines, the owner, personally engaged me to ensure I understood my options, pricing, products, warranty, roof replacement process and invoicing process. I was please to find that he was able to offer me an even better price than in 2010. I received quotes from three other roofers to ensure I was not only receiving the best price, but also the best warranty, service, reputation, products and replacement process. I researched Angie's List, the Better Business Bureau and Washington Consumer Checkbook Magazine. After doing all the research, I chose Economic. They met all of my requirements for price, product, service, reputation, licensing/insurance and warranty. Their offer included a 10 year workmanship warranty and there was no payment required until the roof was finished and I was completely satisfied. I checked the CertainTeed site and found that Economic is one of CertainTeed's top rated installers and was certified as a CertainTeed SELECT Shinglemaster, which according to the CertainTeed site is "the top level CertainTeed roofing credential, and represents the highest standards of excellence, quality and knowledge in the shingle roofing industry. An SSM has shown extensive knowledge of shingle installation and quality through rigorous testing, and have provided CertainTeed with proof of workers' compensation and liability insurance. Only an SSM can offer you the highest level of SureStart PLUS™ extended warranty coverage when an Integrity Roof System is installed on your home". Ty Hines provided information on CertainTeed, GAF and TAMKO roofing options. There was no hard sell for either product. After some online research, I selected the CertainTeed Landmark 30 yr architectural shingles, with the upgrade options necessary to qualify for the CertainTeed ShureStart PLUS 4 Star Warranty (requires the Integrity Roofing System including 30 Yr architectural shingles, Roofers Select Underlayment, WinterGuard Ice & Water Shield, ShingleVent II Ridge Vent System, and installation by a CertainTeed certified SELECT Shinglemaster) . With that Warranty, I received the 20 year non-prorated materials and labor replacement (lifetime prorated coverage after 20 years), a 130 MPH Wind Damage warranty and a 15 year algae resistance warranty. I was scheduled for installation within one week of signing the contract. The materials were delivered on a Thursday and the work was performed and completed the very next day (one day start to finish). They arrived promptly, answered all of my questions and got right to work. The crew was friendly and courteous. They finished late in the evening after sundown. The project manager returned Saturday morning to ensure everything was done to my satisfaction, completed the final inspection and provided an invoice reflecting the exact price quoted. They also repaired my chimney crown and installed a stainless steel chimney flu cap at no additional cost.
Category
roofing

Phone

Address

9150 Rumsey Rd Ste A5

Columbia, MD 21045

Other Information

Services offered

Roofing - Shingles, Tile, & Metal. Siding. Gutters. Downspouts. Skylights. Windows. Roof Inspections.

Services not offered

Masonry, Carpentry, & Landscaping.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Economic Roofing Co is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Economic Roofing Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check

No, Economic Roofing Co does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Economic Roofing Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Economic Roofing Co offers a 2% senior discount.

Yes, Economic Roofing Co offers warranties.

Economic Roofing Co offers the following services: Roofing - Shingles, Tile, & Metal. Siding. Gutters. Downspouts. Skylights. Windows. Roof Inspections.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

GLR Home Improvement

5.0

(13)

Angi Certified

GLR Home Improvement

We have over 30 years experience! Our company is based on the belief that our customers' needs are of the utmost importance. Our entire team is committed to meeting those needs. As a result, a high percentage of our business is from repeat customers and referrals. We would welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service in the industry.  

Operating in Montgomery County, Maryland since 2001, Capitol Chimney Service LLC believes in old fashioned values, like getting a quality job for a fair price. As a member of the esteemed National Chimney Sweep Guild, we are a family owned chimney company and we take pride in our work. From chimney cleaning to chimney repair and chimney rebuild, we are your one stop chimney service. Give yourself peace of mind by hiring a licensed and insured professional chimney company. We do it right the first time! You can feel confident that we have the knowledge and experience to resolve the toughest problems and that we understand the basic fundamentals of chimney cleaning, construction, and design. To ensure a professional relationship with us, we are licensed and insured and we pride ourselves on our affiliation with The Better Business Bureau. With Capitol Chimney Service LLC, you can be assured that our primary objective is to make your home heating and venting systems cleaner, safer, and more energy-efficient. Additional phone number: (443)687-8422 (Baltimore).  

Chelsea's Chimney

5.0

(13)

Angi Certified

Chelsea's Chimney

Chelsea's Chimney is a licensed Gaithersburg chimney sweep company specializing in chimney and fireplace inspections, repairs, sweeping, restoration, and repointing. Schedule an inspection with one of our local chimney contractors at your convenience where we'll come out to your property, identify any damage or concerns, and give you an honest quote. We currently service Gaithersburg, MD and the surrounding areas including Bethesda, Silver Spring, Kensington, Rockville, White Oak, and Washington DC. Call now or submit a request through our website to get started. We look forward to speaking with you! For additional information check out the below: Website - https://chelseaschimney.com/ Yelp - https://www.yelp.com/biz/chelseas-chimney-gaithersburg-2 Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/chelseaschimney/