Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Moyer & Sons Moving & Storage Inc

4.9

(68) Verified Reviews

Founded 1969 • With Angi since December 2004

Business Highlights

Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Licensed
Trade License Number
147853
Trade License Locale
Federal
Trade License Authority
US Department of Transportation Motor Carriers
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

13050 Shawnee Ln

Clarksburg, MD 20871

http://www.moyerandsons.com

Description

Moyer and Sons Moving and Storage Inc. specializes in local and interstate moving, including residential and office moving. Our family of movers is devoted to the protection of your valuable household/office possessions. The Moyer & Sons Moving & Storage family takes a genuine, personal interest in serving your every moving need, including packing and storage, and providing packing materials for your convenience. Our state of the art warehousing operations and experienced moving professionals are prepared to assist your next move whether it is across the street or across the nation....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(68) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

64

4

2

3

2

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

movers (68)storage unit (5)
Showing 1-25 of 68 reviews
5.0

04/24/2020


Joanne W.

They were quick, efficient and very respectful.

Description of Work
Medical Office move

Category moving companies

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2020

5.0

04/17/2020


Charlene D.

I was looking for a company at the last minute I called Moyers and Mr. Rick came out to my home and did his walk through I was shock!!! All my heavy furniture and a 3 level 4 bedroom 4 bath townhouse for a great pack in and out price. I must say the team of movers that was sent was the BEST they came at got to work they were super friendly I had got to the point o just sat down I had alot of trust within the movers everything was pack so neat. I'm requesting for the same 4 movers when I move in my new home. I'll recommend this company to everyone the best moving company out there..... Charlene Davis

Description of Work
Entire townhouse

Category moving companies

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2019

5.0

01/30/2020


Cherie W.

AWESOME!!! Highly recommend Moyer & Sons

Description of Work
Corporate Office Move

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/16/2020

5.0

01/09/2020


Richard R.

It went very well they were very quick and clean

Description of Work
Moving from one apartment to another

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/09/2020

5.0

12/26/2019


Heather Y.

Moyer & Sons came through for us at the last minute. Rick G.'s estimate came in well-below what we had originally anticipated. Our moving team of Cris F., Taveine B., Julio B, and Sergio were fast, friendly, and even helped us figure out how best to set up furniture in a couple of our rooms. I would use them again and HIGHLY recommend this company in general, and our moving crew especially.

Description of Work
Moving to a new location

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2019

5.0

10/17/2019


Barbara D.

Everything went great! They arrived at the time promised and everything went smoothly. Will definitely call them again, and would recommend them to anyone planning a move.

Description of Work
Small move of furniture and moving cartons within the state

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for leaving such a great review. It was our pleasure to love you. - Moyer & Sons
5.0

10/17/2019


David S.

We cannot recommend Moyer and Sons highly enough. The initial estimate and especially the move were as stress-free as moving can be. The crew were top-notch in their hard work and attitude. We would definitely work with Moyer and Sons again.

Description of Work
60 mile move in Maryland

Category moving companies

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for such a positive review. I’ll make sure to pass this on to the amazing crew you had - Moyer & Sons
5.0

07/07/2019


Susan S.

I am very pleased with every aspect of this move. From Jose who went above and beyond to contact the places where the delivery would go to the men who moved the furniture into the new locations. Great company and easy to work with.

Description of Work
Moving furniture long distance to 2 locations

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for such a great review. We always appreciate positive feedback! You were great to move and if you ever have any moving questions.... you know we are here for you. Moyer & Sons
5.0

05/31/2019


Steve E.

Hi Don- Just a quick note to say thank you to you and the team for the assistance provided on our recent furniture move. It was truly an Outstanding Experience! Your team (Jack, Nat, and Jabari) were great to work with and handled the logistics of moving from multiple locations to even more destinations with a breeze. Not only were they extremely professional and knowledgeable, they were also a real pleasure to be around. Thank you again for everything and we will definitely be back, the next time we have need of moving services. -Steve

Description of Work
Local move of furniture

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], It was great meeting you at the 50th lunch for HCC and so glad it turned into such a wonderful move! The movers said you guys were perfect to work with! Thank you for the kind words Moyer & Sons
5.0

05/23/2019


Tamara W.

Excellent company to work with.... from sales person, to front desk support, to crews packing and unloading truck. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a good, reputable, honest and reasonably priced moving company

Description of Work
Moyer and Sons moved us from Northern to Central Virginia

Category moving companies, storage units

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

11/08/2018


Claudia T.

Excellent - the entire group of professional movers that came to our home in MD and SC were wonderful. We have recommended them to our family and friends in and out of the area. Brian who lead the team in MD for the storage and our final pickup was great! William who made the final delivery to us in SC and his crew here did a fabulous job. Everyone was caution on the loading, unloading, breaking down our furniture and setting it back up. NO DAMAGE!!! It was a stress-free process with Moyer!

Description of Work
We had Moyer store furniture for us and ultimately move us to SC from MD

Category moving companies, storage units

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2018

5.0

08/31/2018


Barbara H.

It went great! We were moving from a 4 bedroom house in MD with a basement to a 2 bedroom house in Florida with no basement. We had so much "stuff" to deal with. Moyers was great to work with. At one point during the move, my husband became ill and was hospitalized. They put our stuff in storage (another great feature of their service) and waived the storage fee. Both John Sr. and his son Jason were so professional and accommodating, as was the crew doing the move. Everything arrived in Florida in perfect condition. Also, they are very altruistic and picked up some furniture from our MD house after its sale, and donated it to a local charity, sending us the donation receipt. They are really top-notch!

Description of Work
Needed to have furniture and belongings moved from Maryland to Florida

Category moving companies, storage units

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2018

5.0

07/25/2018


Charity M.

The entire move went smoothly and efficiently. The guys were professional, friendly and very helpful! The staff at the location and the movers were all amazing! I am very impressed with this company. Pricing seems to be reasonable but honestly I did not shop around based on reviews of other local companies.

Description of Work
Moving from one house to another with 1 week of storage in between

Category moving companies, storage units

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/25/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for such a great review, we appreciate you and will share this with the team that moved you! Thank you, Moyer & Sons Moving & Storage
5.0

05/21/2018


Bruce O.

They were very helpful, they were on time, price was as we were told and they did anything we asked them to do. I would recommend them highly. Best,

Description of Work
Move my granddaughters furniture

Category moving companies

Cost $360

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review [Member Name Removed]! We will pass this on to the movers who helped, they always appreciate the feed back!
5.0

05/04/2018


Christine Y.

THE CREW DID AN OUTSTANDING JOB. THE PACKING WAS DONE WIHT GREAT CARE. THEY WERE THOUGHTFUL AND PROVIDED EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THEM.

Description of Work
MOVING house hold effects for relocation

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2018

5.0

03/28/2018


Randi H.

Called me back very quickly and since they already had job in the area, they were able to come to my home the same day. Friendly, professional and efficient.

Description of Work
Needed to move an armoire from the basement to a second floor bedroom.

Category moving companies

Cost $180

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2018

5.0

03/28/2018


Randi H.

Flawless. They came right away, were professional and did the job.

Description of Work
Move a cabinet from the basement to the second floor

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/28/2018

5.0

02/14/2018


Ivan P.

If you need to make a long distance/cross country move from the DC area, this is the company to use! Moving is not a high-tech enterprise - it is all about packing your goods properly, moving them safely across the country and getting them in your new home without any damage. This company excels at all three. We did not have a lot of big furniture but we did have a lot of items that needed to be packed, including glassware. We made the decision that packing all of this was not something we wanted to take on, but wanted to get someone who would do a good job without any problems. We planned for the move in late summer, and Moyer was not the least expensive, but it had the best reputation from all the people we talked to and the articles we read. We read a lot of reviews that contained horror stories about problem moves, and wanted to be sure we got the best company. The moving company rep came on time, and gave us a binding quote. We had a pack date of 10/17, move date of 10/18, and a delivery date of no later than 11/5. The longer date was fine with us, since we were already set up with basics in our new home (including a bed), so we did not need to worry about the end date. The packers came on time at around 9 am (three of them) and were absolutely awesome. Everything was packed and ready for pick-up by 4 pm. The next day the truck came and it was packed in just a few hours. Since we lived in an apartment complex, a standard moving van could not get into the lot, and the movers came in a smaller truck so our goods could be stored and transferred at its facility in Clarksburg. We drove to Scottsdale and arrived on 10/23; the van arrived on 11/5, the last day of the window. Our new home is on a cul-de-sac; a van could get in if cars are not parked on the street. The driver took the time and trouble to drive over in the tractor and scope out our location the day before. Since the movers were delivering on a Sunday, a lot of people were parked on the street. The van driver parked at the end of the street, and he and the two helpers moved everything on hand trucks from the van down the block to the house!! (Not a problem since Scottsdale in October is not very hot and NO rain). I am mentioning all of this because despite having a lot of glass packed, having everything moved from the apartment to the moving facility, then onto a moving van, and then again down the street to the new house, that the only damage was one cheap-o plastic wheel on a file cabinet, which was easily replaced by a better wheel at Home Depot! This move could not have gone better. My main takeaway is that packing is key - if that is done correctly, you really have little to worry about, and these movers had an excellent packing crew. The pickup crew was great - I could not believe how much stuff they could carry all at once! The driver and unloading crew were courteous and very professional - the van driver even put my bicycle back together! Again, this is a great moving company and we highly recommend them.

Description of Work
This was a cross country move from Rockville, MD to Scottsdale, AZ

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2017

Images

Review for Moyer & Sons Moving & Storage Inc - 13050 Shawnee Ln, Clarksburg, MD - 36831486

+2 More

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We were privileged to do business with you and went we showed the drivers and movers this review they wanted me to extend their thank you for taking the time to praise the hard work they put in. Enjoy the new home and if you ever need anything from us please do not hesitate. Much Appreciation, Moyer & Sons
5.0

12/11/2017


Rita A.

The movers arrived on time, were professional and friendly. They were efficient and we were pleased with their work. There was some confusion about figuring the final bill, which was larger than estimated. The worker initially miscalculated the final cost., and we discovered that we had misunderstood what was covered by the estimate's "Travel/Prep Time" (which we had not realized applied only to the movers' time before they arrived at the pick-up location). We were glad that we had obtained a written estimate in advance, although the movers were polite about resolving the final cost issues through a phone call to the office.

Description of Work
We had several large pieces of old/antique furniture moved from a relative's residence to our home.

Category moving companies

Cost $794

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2017

5.0

11/09/2017


Kathleen M.

Fantastic, far better than I ever expected, and the price was pretty good as well! The crew went far and above what they had to do and were so friendly and helpful. I cannot recommend them highly enough!!

Description of Work
Packing and moving

Category moving companies

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2017

5.0

10/16/2017


Joanne S.

Great! The guys were careful, professional and they worked efficiently!

Description of Work
Moved furniture from my storage unit to my house.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/09/2017

3.0

09/25/2017


Veronice M.

The move went well, few pieces broken. Good communication with moving team. Communication about method of payment was mis-communicated and discussion with owner was uncivilized.

Description of Work
Moving household from Md to Ky

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2017

5.0

08/11/2017


Elaine F.

Awesome. They moved everything carefully and placed all the items exactly as we asked.

Description of Work
We were moving from Boyds MD to Annapolis. We have a 4 bedroom house, with a number of valuable or antique pieces. The 4 man crew, Shiloh, Erwin, Marco, and Gene, were the best movers ever. They were very careful, but also quick and efficient. This was definitely the A Team, and we were so grateful for their hard work and professionalism. Highly recommend!

Category moving companies