Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AJ Construction & Development LLC

Founded 1998 • With Angi since April 2012

5.0

(61) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9244 E Hampton Dr Ste 612

Capitol Heights, MD 20743

Description

We are a home improvement and remodeling company dedicated to partnering with our clients to complete their projects successfully on time and on budget through professionalism and attention to detail. Subs used for electrical, plumbing or HVAC when necessary.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/04/2021


Deborah H.

AJ and his staff did a terrific job. This was the second time I'd hired him. Several years ago, he corrected part of a kitchen renovation that another contractor botched. This was a much larger project. Throughout, he listened to my requests, provided clear assessments and explanations, arrived exactly when he said he would, and consistently delivered excellent work. I plan to hire him for my next project.

Description of Work
Basement and bathroom renovation

Category drywall, flooring contractor, picture framing, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

05/02/2021


Philippa M.

AJ is one of the best in the business. He previously did a complete tear down, remodel and expansion of the entire upstairs of my house and there was no one else I contemplated for this project. AJ and his team took out the ancient pipes under the basement floor, relaid new pipe, retiled the laundry room and bathroom, installed a shower and repainted. He is consistently courteous, polite, responds quickly, listens to concerns and has meticulous attention to detail. He always shows up on time and does what he says he is going to do. When it's time to remodel the porch, I'll be calling him again.

Description of Work
Replacement of pipes in the basement, bathroom renovation, laundry room renovation

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

10/29/2020


Kelsey H.

AJ and his team were great and we will certainly call them again for any future home projects. AJ came out to inspect our old door and work up an estimate. He was able to give a fair quote for the work with out any hidden or surprise costs. He fully explained the scope of the estimate - communication was always prompt and thorough. His team arrived on time with all the supplies necessary. They observed all safety precautions and cleaned up after the project was through. It was a great experience and I'm very pleased.

Description of Work
install sliding patio door

Category handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, doors

5.0

06/09/2019


Bob R.

We couldn't be happier with the result! Not that the outcome was ever in doubt, as this was the fourth project on our house by AJ and his team. Prior work included a complete renovation of our kitchen in 2013, followed by new ceilings, walls, and lighting throughout the rest of the first floor, and restoration in the basement following some foundation work. We started with the third-floor bathroom first, so that we would have a nice, new bathroom to use when the construction would necessitate we vacate the second floor. The third-floor bathroom was expanded into space that had previously been occupied by a long-disused kitchenette. The remainder of the kitchenette was converted into a large walk-in closet with very sturdy custom shelves. AJ also finished an area of the third floor sitting room that had been left roughed-in by the roofer when the third floor was extended back about seven feet during a recent roof replacement. For good measure, we also has AJ prep and paint the entire third-floor sitting room and guest room and install all new recessed LED lighting to complete the beautification. Once the third floor was finished, the second-floor bathroom and spare bedroom were gutted and the separating wall removed. The entire space was stripped down to studs and joists, which included removal of the original clawfoot tub and breaking up and removing six inches of concrete between the floor joists that formed the entire floor of the 110-year-old bathroom. Once all of that was removed--along with all plumbing and electrical--new leveling joists were married to the original joists in floor and ceiling; same with the wall studs. The new spaces were framed, and all new plumbing and electrical service was run. The sub-floor in the shower was laid with a continuous slope toward the shower head end for the desired end drain opposite the sill-less, walk-in entrance. Two zones of Schluter floor heating were installed, with separate controls for the shower and vanity area/water closet. Large ceramic tiles were used for two of the shower walls; the third wall is a sheet of half-inch thick, acid-etched glass. Large ceramic tiles were also used for the floor of the entire space, minus the shower floor, which used two-inch shower floor tiles. A doorway was created between the bedroom and bath where there had never been one. Drywall, painting, installation of all cabinets and electrical and plumbing fixtures followed, along with installation of a pocket door for the water closet and sliding barn doors for the bedroom and both doors into the vanity and storage areas. Three new windows were installed, along with a sewing counter in the laundry area. AJ's highly skilled team drove the work, with sub-contractors brought in for plumbing, electrical, and tile installation. AJ's team always showed up on time, cleaned up at the end of each day, took meticulous care of the house in and around the work site, and delivered the highest quality, artisan-level work on a continuous basis. AJ was on-site daily, delivering supplies, checking on his team, and providing updates as needed to my wife and me. All subcontracted work was well-scoped and personally reviewed by AJ. Clear communication, attention to detail, and delivery of the highest-quality result are AJ's trademarks. We have never worked with another contractor who instills the level of confidence that we have in AJ and his team. And that's fine, because, at this point, I don't think we would ever work with anyone else.

Description of Work
My wife and I hired AJ for an expansion and renovation of our third-floor bathroom and a complete conversion of our tiny second-floor bathroom and spare bedroom into a gorgeous, luxurious master bath with two-sink vanity, walk-in shower, separate water closet, and adjoining laundry and storage.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, picture framing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

05/14/2019


Aaron C.

I recommend choosing AJ Construction and Development LLC for your next project because of the quality of his work, because he stays on budget and on time, and his professionalism. He does great work. When my architect looked at AJ's new structure, he said “wow, that is sturdy!” In addition, AJ's contract outlines the cost and schedule clearly and he sticks to both. AJ and all his sub-contractors act very professionally. He arrives when he says he will and communicates clearly. Also, I appreciated his commitment to the job. He found old window sills after I had mentioned once to him that I like that old style. But most importantly, I am just happy every time I step into my new kitchen or the new bathroom.

Description of Work
House addition, moment frame installation, utilities installation, kitchen installation, and new master bedroom suite.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, picture framing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors

5.0

06/05/2018


Gbenga T.

AJ Construction & Development is a company of true professionals. This was the second job I had them do. I needed to install a hatch and attic ladder to get access to my roof. They work they did was impeccable and delivered on time. I also had some damaged ceilings due to leaks and this work was also phenomenal. They are prompt, the contracts drawn up are itemized and detailed, and most importantly they deliver on time. They also leave your house spotless after the work is complete.

Description of Work
Install attic hatch and fix ceiling due to water damage

Category drywall, remodeling, water damage restoration, interior painters

5.0

04/09/2018


Charlie F.

AJ came into the middle of the project and helped us get through some challenges. Once he had fully taken charge, the quality and timeliness of the work was outstanding. AJ worked with us to find creative solutions to the problems typical in any renovation. We would hire AJ again, and recommend him to our closest friends.

Description of Work
Basement renovation

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

10/18/2017


Paul A.

AJ was great. Will be using him again for bigger projects.

Description of Work
repair of water damage

Category handyman service, remodeling

5.0

04/20/2017


Vanessa C.

Great! He came over whenever needed to investigate the source of the leak, and was always incredibly responsive and helpful in answering my many questions. He tracked down the source of the leak, and did the necessary demolition to allow the plumbers to access it. After the leak was fixed and the mold was cleaned, AJ and his crew came back to rebuild it and add a little customization that I was planning to do soon anyway. I'm VERY pleased with my experience with AJ and his team, and will certainly use them again and would recommend them to anyone. I've heard horror stories of contractors simply not showing up, changing prices, and doing shoddy work, and I can assure you that AJ will NOT be one of those. AJ, though very busy, manages his schedule amazingly, and was available when needed every time. Both he and his crew were very punctual - if they said they'd be there at 8am, the doorbell rang at 8am every single time! Honestly, with parking in my neighborhood, this is no small feat. Every change to the work that I requested was promptly incorporated into a detailed, emailed estimate. And the work itself was top notch - AJ's crew even patched some holes an electrician left for other work, which I really appreciated. And on the way out, they cleaned up much more thoroughly than I expected, which was also very appreciated. Finally, as a single woman, I felt 100% safe with everyone who entered my home to do work. Both AJ and the crew who handled my rebuild were always incredibly polite and helpful, and made this rebuild as simple as possible for me.

Description of Work
After a drainage pipe leak in my bathroom wall, AJ handled the demolition (multiple stages), and rebuilding after the leak was fixed and the mold was removed.

Category contractors, drywall, picture framing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/17/2017


Deborah H.

The work was impeccable. The repairs were precise and effective; the workers were polite and tidy. I wish I'd hired them to do the kitchen the first time. I'll definitely hire AJ again and I'll definitely recommend him to others.

Description of Work
AJ's company removed water damaged drywall in the basement, replaced insulation and replaced drywall, then added new baseboard trim. In addition, the crew corrected wall and tile work done by another company that had installed my new kitchen. The workers for the original contractors left big gaps behind the stove and refrigerator, presuming that I wouldn't discover the shoddy work. AJ's crew did the work correctly.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

4.0

12/28/2016


Lorraine T.

I decided not to use their services based on the lack of knowledge of needed permits. Also, the estimate was about $13000 higher than any other business. AJ was professional and punctual.

Description of Work
Needed a half bathroom turned into a full bathroom. Frame and finish a wall.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

In response to Ms. [Member Name Removed]'s review I cannot comment on whether our pricing was beyond other contractors, and it very well may have been, but regarding permit knowledge I will have to disagree with her assessment. We perform work everyday that requires permits and inspections by local authorities. As a general contractor and carpentry contractor we have certain permits and inspections that are unique to our trade, and our subcontractors have trade specific permits and inspections which we are fully aware of. I'm not sure how Ms. [Member Name Removed] arrived at the conclusion we lacked knowledge of needed permits but I respectfully disagree with this assessment. Respectfully Submitted, AJ
5.0

11/21/2016


Brad F.

Overall this was the best and least stressful experience we have had for a home improvement project and we have had work done a few times before. The main differentiator for AJ was his thoroughness of understanding exactly what we wanted. We had a statement of work written out of what we thought it would take to complete our job. AJ went through each item and asked questions to understand really what we were trying to achieve and he provided other options than just what we wrote down. In the case of what I was suggesting for the front door and what the actual fix was that we needed was a major cost savings to me. I thought I needed to replace the entire front door threshold. He said if I wanted to he could, but he didn't suggest it and explained why. After going through everything and discussing exactly what was wanted I was confident that he understood what we needed when we left to put together our quote. He was not the least expensive quote we received. However, based on the conversations and comfort level I had through his understanding of the project we decided to go with AJ. An item to point out on pricing. This is the first project I had a quote that at the end of the project the pricing came in exactly as what was quoted. He was also very flexible on if we purchased our own materials or if we wanted him to do it. I would just say if getting multiple quotes if he isn't the lowest think about how much time the other people spent with you understanding what needed to be done. Other vendors have felt like they will give a low price just to get in the door and then haggle over it at the end. AJ takes the time put together a true estimate working through the details and doesn't just tell you what you want to hear to get in the door. Overall just a very positive experience with no pressure and clear communication through the entire process. And of course just as important as the experience, the actual work itself looks fantastic and we already had a couple good rain storms and no leaking in the front door. Any future projects we want to take on AJ will be the first place we start.

Description of Work
-Replace the tile floor in about a 200 square foot area -Fix the front door leaking when it rains -Repair the water damaged boards as well as address some drywall issues from some pet accidents

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, interior painters

5.0

11/01/2016


Richard M.

AJ's team removed and replaced the drywall, sanded, and repainted the entire ceiling, matching exactly the existing color. AJ's workers were highly professional. They showed up on time, thoroughly covered and protected non-work areas and the entryway, and really cleaned up the work site on both days. Although AJ's price is at the top of the market, is it WELL worth it. I intend to call on him again for any future repairs or renovations.

Description of Work
AJ repaired a living room ceiling damaged by extensive leaking.

Category drywall, remodeling, interior painters

5.0

10/19/2016


Eric D.

Working with AJ to get this work done was an absolute pleasure. The work was done within scope, budget, and time. Frankly, this is probably the best experience I've ever had working with a contractor (and I've had my share) They were actually concerned with completing the work to my complete satisfaction. Fortunately, the work was done meticulously enough that I didn't have to call them back to redo anything except a second coat of paint on the back door. The carpentry work was very well done and I didn't notice any "abuse" of caulk to compensate for sloppy cuts. Overall, I highly recommend AJ for your home repair or remodeling needs.

Description of Work
The scope of the work involved changing rotten wood around all windows and exterior doors with a vinyl composite equivalent. The windows and doors were also caulked and painted. Working with AJ to get this work done was an absolute pleasure. The work was done within scope, budget, and time. Frankly, this is probably the best experience I've ever had working with a contractor (and I've had my share) They were actually concerned with completing the work to my complete satisfaction. Fortunately, the work was done meticulously enough that I didn't have to call them back to redo anything except a second coat of paint on the back door. The carpentry work was very well done and I didn't notice any "abuse" of caulk to compensate for sloppy cuts. Overall, I highly recommend AJ for your home repair or remodeling needs.

Category remodeling, woodworking, house painters

5.0

08/31/2016


Tamara C.

AJ trimmed out the area of the ceiling and wall where there was water stains and mold. He replastered it and made it paint ready. He did not repaint since we had planned on bringing him back to complete a whole house interior paint job. He checked the attic as well to ensure the mold did not spread into the attic.

Description of Work
After we found mold growing on our upstairs ceiling, we realized that there was a leak in the roof. This was an especially difficult situation because our attic isn't finished and the leak was not obvious. I searched Angie's list and found AJ. He came over for a quote and was very respectful from the beginning. He took the time to go up into our attic and check around all areas. After sending a quote, he made time to make the appropriate fixes. When he arrived with his crew, he put plastic up every - made walls of it - which was especially important since one member of our household has a lung condition. He protected our floors also. He fixed all areas with mold and even a bonus patch near the moldy area that just needed a touch up. He could not have been more respectful, honest and reasonably priced.

Category remodeling

5.0

05/02/2016


Margaret S.

AJ and his crew did a professional job in all aspects of the work. He provided clear and knowledgeable explanations for all the work that would be done and kept us informed as to when different aspects of the job would be completed. AJ is a delight to work with and is always courteous and professional. I would not hesitate to call upon AJ for any future projects and home improvements.

Description of Work
Installed, repaired and painted drywall. Installed six panel interior doors. Painted back porch and rescreened the porch. Sealed basement perimeter walls with Drylock paint and coated basement floor with concrete epoxy paint.

Category remodeling

5.0

12/05/2015


Felecia P.

AJ was very nice and personable with my parents and family. Since my husband and I were managing the work from 1500 miles away, it was important to find an honest company that I could trust to do right by my elderly parents. He was very respectful and most importantly my mother liked AJ and had no issue communicating with him. My parents wanted the work done prior to having house guests for Thanksgiving and the work was done in time. My siblings were pleased with the work. I was also able to see it for myself when I arrived in DC for the holidays. Great job by AJ and his crew. I would recommend him to someone else and use him for future jobs.

Description of Work
AJ and his crew fixed patched walls in my parents' 80+ year old row house in DC that had been damaged by water and earthquake tremors from a few years ago. Also due to plumbing damage, tiles had to be removed from the ceiling and thus the ceilings were exposed in multiple places. They dry walled the ceilings to give them a smooth surface ceiling, they repaired walls, painted and installed ceiling trim. They finished the work in four days which was well within their estimate of 5-7 days.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling, interior painters

5.0

09/10/2015


Evadne H.

During the entire renovation process, I had absolutely NO complaints about AJ. He as well as his sub-contractors were extremely professional. They showed respect for me as well as my home. He listened to what I wanted and often made suggestions that saved me time and money. The project was completed on time and under budget! I am extremely pleased with the outcome and would definitely recommend him for other jobs.

Description of Work
Complete renovation of home interior.

Category remodeling

5.0

08/28/2015


Dwight W.

He's very professional and always on time.

Description of Work
He evaluated the work I needed done, but was never able to complete it because of county restrictions.

Category remodeling

5.0

07/24/2015


Nhan N.

We initially chose AJ Construction and Development for our project because AJ was very professional and punctual. He was very honest with us in providing suggestions and recommendations for various aspects of the work that he and his crew performed on the house, i.e., he did not try to unnecessarily expand the scope of the work. In many instances, he suggested practical cost-saving measures. He provided a very detailed and transparent quote, and was very diligent about documenting any costs, including change orders. Given that this was the first major home-related renovation project that we undertook, he was very patient with us and was responsive to any questions and concerns that we had about all aspects of the work being performed. We appreciated that he always responded to emails and texts very quickly. His crew was extremely respectful and polite--they always took the time to clean up the work area at the end of each day and took many steps to minimize the disruption. One of the most impressive aspects of our experience, however, was his attentiveness to addressing any issues in a prompt and professional manner, particularly when a sub-contractor was involved. Due to unforeseen circumstances unrelated to AJ and his crew, our project also incurred a scheduling overrun, but AJ was very flexible in adapting to scheduling changes. Overall, we were very pleased with the results of our project and expect to work with AJ on future projects.

Description of Work
Expansion of kitchen by removing brick wall and creation of new doorway; complete kitchen remodel; repair of exterior wall by removing concrete stucco siding and replacing with vinyl siding; repair structural framing on cantilevered portion of dining room; install insulation into walls and flooring; drywall repair

Category ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

5.0

06/17/2015


Lhatoya R.

This project went very well from start to finish. AJ is a true professional. He was accommodating with regard to my schedule for conducting the initial consultation, and his expertise was clear as he answered my questions. Also, he was quick in responding to my e-mails. On the day the work began, I appreciated that AJ came in before his crew to review with me the scope of work and ensure we had the same understanding. His crew was punctual and their work was excellent. AJ came by periodically to check progress. After the work was completed, AJ asked that I take some time to inspect and determine if it the work was complete and done satisfactorily. I appreciate that he did not rush the close-out proces. It was a pleasure to work with AJ Home Improvement, and I would recommend the company without reservation.

Description of Work
The provider closed an opening where a wall unit A/C had been, repaired some water-damaged wood paneling and ceiling, and painted.

Category drywall, remodeling, interior painters

5.0

05/08/2015


Sula R.

A J (owner) and his crew did an excellent job! AJ Construction Company was among five such companies I called to repair damage to our home's rear entry storm door and door frame caused by very high winds during recent storms. The damaged storm door was barely hanging on and it was knocking against the house so badly that it could cause even more damage if not removed quickly and then subsequently repaired (along with the door frame which was also very badly damaged). I left messages everywhere I called until I reached AJ Construction, and much to my delight and relief, "AJ" came within 2 hours and removed the door (so as to avoid further damage to the house). He assessed and clearly explained the repair work we needed to have done. We were so impressed with his responsiveness, that I also asked him for an estimate of work we needed to have done on the rusty wrought iron railings of our patio.(Those railings had never been done correctly and they had years of rust on them). The next day, AJ sent me an estimate, then a contract with full details on the scope of the work to be done, materials needed, cost and payment schedule, expected length of time needed to complete the work, when work would start, warranty, etc. Weather was a primary factor on WHEN the work could be done and we are grateful to AJ for his flexibility and patience . He and his crew did excellent job on the storm door, door frame and the railings! They arrived on time, worked throughout the day and returned on a second day to complete and job. They were polite, professional, and attentive to details, neatness and cleanliness. We were very pleased with the quality and cost of their service. I don't know what the "AJ" stands for in the name of the company, but I've decided in my case it stands for "A+ Job" because that's what we got from them! And Yes! would and will recommend them to family and friends.

Description of Work
Repaired damaged rear entry doorway brick molding and frame then caulked, primed and finish painted the brick molding and door frame. Re-installed rear storm door with new closure hardware and chain to restrict the door's opening range. (2) Repaired rusty rear wrought iron railing . (Scraped, stripped it, removed loose and peeling paint; applied metal primer and coats of RustOlium finish paint ).

Category remodeling

5.0

02/27/2015


Holly L.

I really liked them and they had a good price. He was really professional and great. They worked with a specific plumber and the plumber came out too. The only reason we didn't go with them is they were a small company and thought it would involve more decisions. Looking back on it now I would definitely used AJ.

Description of Work
Estimate for guest bathroom remodel.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/12/2015


Rachel W.

AJ was fantastic. He was professional and very reasonably priced. He completed the work ahead of schedule and under budget. All of the work was excellent. No complaints. Will hire him again for house projects.

Description of Work
They did a bunch of small projects in our home, i.e. install chair railing, masonry work, installed a bathroom ventilation fan, install bathroom vanity and chandelier.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/29/2014


Naomi S.

It went well - appreciated that AJ and team arrived on time (both days) to start project. They anticipated 2 1/2 - possibly 3 days of work, but worked diligently and efficiently to complete work in 2 days. Also appreciated that AJ constantly kept me informed and updated on progress and asked permission before moving things and access other spaces in my house. Team was professional and friendly. Estimate was spot-on. Easy and pleasant to work with. Will plan to use them again for other construction projects.

Description of Work
Fixed plumbing issues w/master bathtub and under-carriage pipes, replaced ceiling and part of wall in guest bathroom that was damaged and molded due to leaks, and re-drywalled and painted part of living room wall that was water-damaged

Category drywall, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Flood Crew LLC

    *24 Hours Emergency Service Response Call 571-332-3890* Flood Crew works with all insurance carriers and offers a Free Infrared Inspection* Throughout our history we have developed superior technology and processes with one goal in mind – a healthy indoor environment! We are the choice for many homeowners, realtors and businesses. Flood Crew is a full cleaning & restoration company based out of Sterling, Va since 2008. We believe in providing top notch service when you need us most. You can be assured that every job is done with the highest of skills. Serving Virginia, Maryland, and Washington DC. Call our office at 571-332-3890  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by Flood Crew LLC on Angi
    Mendoza Home Improvement

    Exterior Painting, Interior Painting, Carpentry, Drywall, Hardwood Installation and Repair  

    Angi Certified

    Turner's Remodeling, LLC

    Turners Remodeling LLC is family owned and operated with over 25years experience. Fully Licensed, Bonded and Insured we have the knowledge and experience to tackle any remodeling project big or small. Currently specializing in Deck and Porches for the 2021 season. Contact us with your next projects details today!  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodeling - kitchen & bathroom, additions, renovations, basements, general. Painting, drywall, carpentry, tile, cabinets, home repair & improvement.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AJ Construction & Development LLC

    How is AJ Construction & Development LLC overall rated?

    AJ Construction & Development LLC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are AJ Construction & Development LLC open?

    AJ Construction & Development LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does AJ Construction & Development LLC provide

    AJ Construction & Development LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal

    Does AJ Construction & Development LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, AJ Construction & Development LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does AJ Construction & Development LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, AJ Construction & Development LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AJ Construction & Development LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, AJ Construction & Development LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by AJ Construction & Development LLC?

    Yes, AJ Construction & Development LLC offers warranties.

    What services does AJ Construction & Development LLC offer?

    AJ Construction & Development LLC offers the following services: Remodeling - kitchen & bathroom, additions, renovations, basements, general. Painting, drywall, carpentry, tile, cabinets, home repair & improvement.