Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc

Founded 1982 • With Angi since August 2007

5.0

(105) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4120 Sandy Spring Rd

Burtonsville, MD 20866

Description

9 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service fee. Extra charge applies for after hours service....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/09/2021


Suzanne S.

We had a great experience with RJ Berra. They came on time, verified exactly what we wanted and then carefully and safely removed the limbs that we wanted removed without hurting our deck, fence or even any plants in our yard. They were conscientious, friendly and professional and we are so happy with the results. Would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Needed several tree limbs removed from large oaks

Category gutter cleaning, tree service

5.0

05/19/2020


James L.

Very prompt. Crew was careful not to damage other fauna or the house. They cleaned up thoroughly.

Description of Work
Tree removal and stumping.

Category gutter cleaning, tree service

5.0

12/18/2018


Dolores S.

Wonderful, they did a beautiful job. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Trimmed both Holly Trees, and rounded off. Cut where necessary, trimmed hedges across front of home, big holly bush trimmed by side of house, blew out gutters.

Category tree service

5.0

07/30/2018


Vincent D.

quick and efficient, team was professional and experienced . Completed the work in a timely manner

Description of Work
Remove dead tree

Category tree service

5.0

06/10/2018


ALEX K.

Excellent! My property has many trees and I have used several different services over the years. R.J Berra was the best by far. They were the lowest bid by a considerable margin on removing two large and two medium trees. In fact, I wondered at first if this would be a case of "you get what you pay for" and I would regret it. But a neighbor who had work done by them recommended them highly, so I accepted their proposal. The job couldn't have been done more professionally, quickly, and courteously. I've paid much more in the past for other jobs, and didn't get the great service they provided. I highly recommend them any anyone!

Description of Work
Removal of several trees

Category tree service

5.0

04/24/2018


Diane P.

To be honest they were 5 minutes late. They arrived 8:05 a.m. I figured rush hour that was on time for me. They started to cut down the huge tree with such precision it was amazing. all of a sudden my tree was gone. Then they pulled up the grinder on my lawn and started that. My stump and roots were huge and deep. That tool more time than the tree. They went down 10-12 inches below ground. Then they started to clean up the mulch and debris. Amazing the team work. Then the last thing they did was to use the blower to totally clean the entire area in front of my house.

Description of Work
tree and stump removal

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing us to service your tree removal needs.
5.0

11/30/2017


Yusuf M.

Bob was very responsive and knowledgeable what he does. If you need to cut a big tree, I would not go any other companies. They know what they are doing and very efficient. They came with a big crew and they cut down two big trees, In addition, they removed the stumps.

Description of Work
They have removed two big trees which were not easily accessible and closed to our house and powerlines.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

07/21/2017


Steve S.

They did an fantastic job. It was over $2000 difference in five estimates. I paid $2100, and the highest was $4400. Several was $3900, and $3500. They were really good. It does pay to get the estimate. I defiantly would use them again. I saved the card, and the saved the invoice. They came in with a crew of six people, and two big trucks with a lot of equipment. They were in and out in three and a half hours. They were here in less than an day. They brought an enormous amount of equipment, and crew. I didn't ask them to grind the stumps down, because of the location of the trees were. The stumps weren't going to be an issue.

Description of Work
They did some tree removal. It was multiple trees they took down. Five, sixty foot or more. They removed an Cyprus, and an huge Oak that two tree climbers got in there, and thinned it out and raised up the canopy. Two Oaks, and one large pine that was removed, and trimmed up some other things.

Category tree service

4.0

07/12/2017


Bruce V.

It went well. This company seems to specialize in doing big jobs, so their equipment is very large--probably bigger than necessary for many tree removal jobs. So they are not "surgical" in doing their work.

Description of Work
Cut down a pretty large pine tree

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! We are very well equipped with both talented staff, along with all the equipment necessary for full tree removal. Tree pruning however would of course appear more surgical in nature as preservation of the tree is the first order of business. Thanks
4.0

06/14/2017


Kwang J.

Tree is gone so I am happy. However, they messed up my lawn and left bald spots and streaks where trees were dragged and tire marks from the heavy equipment use. They did not re-seed the damaged lawn for us, but was never discussed before the work.

Description of Work
Took out a huge oak tree in just a few hours. Others said it would take 2 days.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review of the removal of your very large tree from last February. Unfortunately when removing a tree of such great stature, large equipment is necessary for the safety of the workers and your home. All care was taken to to safeguard your landscape; however with the soft moist ground in early February some turf damage is unavoidable. That being sad, you are correct seeding was never discussed or figured into the proposal as February temperatures are not conducive for seeding. We do appreciate your allowing us to assist in your tree removal needs. The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

05/15/2017


Leslie L.

The crew that came out (including the initial estimator) were talented, professional, efficient, and precise (they were working among many small landscaped plants), while at the same time, they were friendly! I noticed that when one of the guys needed assistance, the other members of the crew did not hesitate to run over and offer help. What I assumed would be a battle ground with all of the work they had to do was quite the opposite. Very impressed with the entire job and will recommend to my neighbors (all with large wooded lots)!

Description of Work
We had 14 (many of them huge) dead trees removed from our 2-acre back yard, side yard, and front yard. Our job required a crane, Bobcat, a grinder, and 4+ loads of removed logs and ground-up logs.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the review but most of all we are thankful you asked us to help protect your home and landscape from your dead trees. Often home owners fail to prepare and leave dead trees standing not understanding the danger they can cause to their home, landscape and most of all human life. All the best for a great summer! Thanks The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

05/10/2017


Lisa S.

We had a dying pine tree right next to our pool dropping its needles everywhere. It had to come down. From my initial contact with Jeffrey to taking down of the tree, the experience was great. Jeffrey fit me in the very next day so that I could have the tree removed before the pool was opened. They also removed a huge pile of logs from a pine tree that was removed last year by BGE and the crew even trimmed back an overgrown pine next to the driveway as a favor. The crew cleaned everything up, raked and blew away all the dead pine needles and were prompt, polite and courteous. I would certainly recommend and use them again.

Description of Work
Removal of medium pine tree, removal of logs, pruning of pine tree

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing our team to help you in preparing your home for the summer season. The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

03/22/2017


PAUL AND ANNE F.

They really rescued us in some bad situations. They will do anything. A major branch fell and they came out the same day, they sent one man out. A party was planned for the next day and you could not tell that a tree limb had fallen there. The are wonderful and the owner is a veteran.

Description of Work
Clean up of major tree limb falling, cut up limb, cleared the whole thing up and carried it to the chipper and chipped it up and took the whole thing away.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to help you out in your time of need. The RJ Berra Team!
4.0

03/04/2017


Dolores S.

It's kinda tricky because I'm a senior citizen, and I'm a registered nurse. I say that to say that when you send a company out to my house, I like to be respected. And while the company was wonderful, they had at least 1 of the 3 workers, who was not. And I asked, and I spoke right up and I said to the manager, the boss or whatever, the person who was in charge of the project, I said Look one of those guys was disrespectful to me and there was no call for it. So he asked me, well what did he do and I explained to him. First of all, I greeted them and when I went to make little small talk, one of the guys pretended he didn't understand English, I ignored that for a period and I said well Deloris just have a good job done. When they began to start the work, one of the guys, when I went to tell him what I wanted done at one point, he said to me, something on the order, "I'm not going to do that or I can't do that", the one that doesn't speak English. "I'm the one that's going to be up in the tree." And I'm thinking to myself, why do I need to hear that? I'm paying for the service, not for an attitude from someone who is unhappy with whatever's going on in his life or whatever beef he has with the company. So I reported him. So I think it was within that same week, they sent a different crew and they graciously did everything they were supposed to do. And they said, "Well, Mrs. Sands we're not going to have that guy out again". I said, "not here you won't." Nor my families house, because one part of my family uses them and they are the ones that recommended them to me, not Angie's list. It was just that I had used them as kind of a family thing because my mother in law recommended them. The company itself may be great, the people they send out are kind of not so great. I am not going to let one bad apple spoil the whole bunch, so I will give them a B for professionalism. I'll give them a B overall, because they fixed the problem, so I have to give them a B because you can see I have a taste in my mouth. The person who walks in with the clipboard, takes all the facts and figures, and says I'm gonna do this and that, you never see them again. And then they send in the bozos that can't speak or won't speak or better off if they don't speak, that's where you're gonna have your problems. It's not the company name, or the person that takes the facts and figures, but the bozos that come in smoking a cigarette. Not just landscapers, but other companies, and I can just speak from my own experience. He botched up the hollies in the front yard, the one wouldn't speak English. I called immediately about the problem and the way I came across was kind of a red flag and they didn't want to lose business so they responded right away. I would use them again because I think the problem has been fixed. There was a follow up and feedback and I liked that.

Description of Work
They replaced 2 holly trees with holly hedges, they trimmed the holly trees in my front yard. I have one on either side, right and left side. And the hedges, they trimmed those, and then I have another big holly to the left of my walkway, they trimmed that. They did some work in the back yard, trimmed the trees in the back yard. Took the branches and trimmed them out of the next door neighbors yards, the neighbor on the right and the one behind me. I requested to have those limbs removed, because they were giving too many leaves to me in my neighbors yard. I didn't like that so I asked to have them removed. So they cut those back. They also removed the limbs hanging over my roof. They also put up Christmas lights for me, complimentary. They also cleaned the gutters.

Category gutter cleaning, tree service, holiday decorators

5.0

01/31/2017


Frederick K.

From initial contact to job completion the responsiveness of all company personnel was immediate and satisfying in all respects. The tree and stump removal crew demonstrated the highest degree of professionalism and expertise in all their actions, which they accomplished with great efficiency. It was especially satisfying to do business with a firm that shows their pride in what they do as evidenced by their personnel, equipment and relationship with the customer. The fact that their cost for the service was the best of four firms contacted was a huge bonus.

Description of Work
Hired Services Unlimited to remove and stump grind a VERY large oak tree in a somewhat confined space and trim two additional trees.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review. We aim to please and I am happy to hear that we met that goal. The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

12/17/2016


Paula D D.

Superbly. These folks are real experts. My 2 trees were threatening to topple toward my fence or into my yard, with possible home or neighbor damage. The Services Unltd. crew climbed into adjoining live trees with cables and sheer courage to tackle the problem and get the trees down with minimal (if any) damage to my remaining plants, of which there are many. They hand carried all the trunks and limbs out of the yard to avoid dragging them through beds and grass. Very thorough, very neat. Done in a few hours. Price was right. Extremely nice representatives and workers. Highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
I had to remove 2 large, dead trees, maybe 30 feet or more tall.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing our team to service your tree removal needs. Have a Merry Christmas! The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

12/02/2016


ALTAMASH A.

The experience was very well. From the time I called Jeffery to the time work was done (within 24 hours). I was having my driveway repaired so they were kind enough to accommodate me in their schedule so they wouldnt have to drive over my new drive way with their truck.

Description of Work
Had a big maple tree in the backyard that needed pruning.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

We are happy to have been of service to meet your timeline. Happy Holidays! The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

11/22/2016


Gary N.

From my first phone contact to the final cleanup, everything was done exceptionally well. Jeff Keane came quickly to give an estimate. The crew took care of the tree with what was, to my eye, amazing efficiency, and the final clean-up was thorough. I will certainly call Services Unlimited again if I have tree work to be done.

Description of Work
Removed a fallen tree.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

We very much appreciate your allowing our team to service your tree. Happy Holidays! The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

11/22/2016


solomon T.

They did an excellent job. The price and the service they provide is an excellent service and excellent price as well. The other contractor their price was way way lower and they did more job than the other contractor gave an estimate for.

Description of Work
I used Tree Service Experts for tree service.

Category tree service

5.0

10/24/2016


Dana B.

We got a great price. They arrived within the time frame they said. They did a great job cleaning up. The maple looks great! We are so happy to be done with the dangerous pines.

Description of Work
We had 2 extra large pines near the driveway that needed to be taken down, another pine to be trimmed to be balanced, and a maple to clear dead wood and bring the canopy up.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

We are happy that all worked out for you! The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

10/08/2016


John C.

Very professional work staff, very conscientious, great communication skills, and extremely accommodating. Clean up was meticulous . If you need tree service, highly recommend this company. The cost for the work when compared to previous tree work I had done was very, very reasonable.

Description of Work
Several trees (3) were topped off.

Category hauling services, tree service

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your call and allowing our team to service your tree. Thanks The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

10/06/2016


Maura B.

We had overgrown trees and raccoons were getting on our roof. Jeffrey came out and was very helpful explaining what needed to be done, what limbs, etc and explaining how he was coming up with his estimate. His estimate was reasonable compared to others we received and they did a very professional job. They did a great job cleaning up after the pruning. We would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Tree trimming behind house.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

We look forward to working with you again. Hope your issues with the raccoons has been solved. The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

08/17/2016


matt K.

Outstandingly well. After a heavy thunderstorm the night before the estimator arrived the following afternoon within an hour of being called. The estimate for removal of a 45 foot fallen pine tree and pruning of a heavy extensive branch on another pine tree was fair and reasonable. The crew arrived the following morning ( 4 men with chain saws, two trucks, large mulching machine, small tractor) and dismembered, loaded and cleaned up within one hour. To be clear, the tree fell pulling out the roots so no stump removal was necessary but I still considered the work done was for a very reasonable price. The estimator (Jeff) and the crew chief (Paul) were both professional and courteous. The estimator was generous with his advice and did not try to create more work than was necessary in response to my questions about other trees. I would definitely call them again.

Description of Work
Tree removal of a fallen 45 foot pine tree and removal of large heavy branch on a second tree.

Category hauling services, tree service

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your call and hope to be able to assist you or a neighbor in the future. The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

07/12/2016


Brenda D.

From a rapid response for an estimate throughout the removal and cleanup process, this company was the best. Another company from Angie's List had committed to do the job but failed to show for either confirmed, scheduled appointment, causing us to have the large willow tree across our backyard for more than 2 weeks. Services Unlimited Company was contacted on 7/11/16, Jeffrey Keane (Maryland Tree Expert) came out that afternoon for the estimate and by 9:00 a.m. today (7/12/16), the crew was here as promised. I will definitely be calling this company for any future work needed.

Description of Work
Fallen tree from neighbor's yard needed to be removed from my backyard.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing us to assist you in your time of need. No one gets excited about having to pay to clean up following a storm or just having a tree that split or died removed. We are grateful for the opportunity to have had our staff on hand to help when you needed it. We appreciate your business and look forward to projects in the future. Thanks The RJ Berra Team!
5.0

02/22/2016


MariaLucia G.

Though we chose another company to do the job this time, we will call again R. J. Berra for future tree care need.

Description of Work
We had used this company many years ago, and we were very happy with the results. Mr. Jeff Keane, the company's estimator, came to our home at the scheduled time, and gave us a very concise presentation of the work he would propose to do, based on a detailed list which we presented to him. It was evident that Mr. Keane was a seasoned arborist and we were very impressed with his observations.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to place a bid for your tree service needs. We are sorry that we could not meet your financial expectations for this particular job, but we look forward to assisting you in the future. The RJ Berra Team!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Yard By Yard Makeovers LLC

    Brian David Mahan, Master Gardener, and his expert crew have been helping homeowners in Silver Spring and Takoma Park, Maryland since 1993. We can reshape and beautify neglected yards, or any yards. Our creative expertise can provide you with a basic plan compatible with your needs and budget  

    Woodstone Group Landscaping & Design

    We are a fully licensed and insured landscaping business specializing in the design, maintenance, and installation of your landscaping needs including a water features division which specializes in custom waterfalls, ponds, fountains, and much more.  

    East Coast Landscape Design

    IN BUSINESS SINCE 1979. 15 EMPLOYEES. All WORK IN HOUSE EXCEPT FOR FENCING. ALL EMPLOYEES DRUG TESTED AND BACKGROUND CHECKED. COST DETERMINED BY THE JOB. LICENSE #42490. INSURANCE #Q89-0102236-M. ADDITIONAL EMAIL: mark@eclandscapedesign.com. Specializing in retaining walls, patios, landscaping, drainage and erosion control.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    Tree care including pruning & trimming, stump removal, crane work, heavy hauling, storm damage, land clearing & firewood.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc

    How is Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc overall rated?

    Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc open?

    Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    What payment options does Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc provide

    Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc?

    No, Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc offer?

    Services Unlimited by R J Berra Inc offers the following services: Tree care including pruning & trimming, stump removal, crane work, heavy hauling, storm damage, land clearing & firewood.