Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Douglas & Son Services

About

Founded 2018

Douglas Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC, a Maryland limited liability company, trading as Douglas & Son Services (hereinafter referred to as “Douglas & Son Services”) specializes in, but is not limited to, providing residential and light commercial plumbing, gas, heating and air conditioning services in Washington, D.C., Maryland and Virginia...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+9 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(14) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

13

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

plumbers (8)HVAC Companies (4)water heaters (3)drain cleaning (1)gas leak repair (1)excavating (1)
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
5.0

12/21/2021


James C.

Great. Brian and Chris did a very professional job. Kept us informed. They were customer oriented and were good representatives of Douglas & Sons. You can hire them with full confidence that they will do a competent job.

Description of Work
Plumbing leak. Find and Fix.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and say such wonderful things about our team! We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you again in the future!
5.0

11/16/2021


Patricia F.

Fine. I was very pleased from start to finish at its different stages: clarified probable problem; inquiry about vaccination status; alert to me that the HVAC professional was on his way; greeting/introduction at the door; person was masked up & then put on booties over his shoes upon entering my residence; confirmed problem and solution; explained it to me in great detail (since I always have a LOT of questions); secured my additional fees (on-line w/receipt); ordered parts, which arrived QUICKLY; rescheduled a return-repair; fixed my water heater. ALA...I have hot water again. Easy-peezy. So grateful. In the end, we always pay for a trusted service provider. Dispatch person (one of the co-owners, Lori, was particularly empathetic to my situation as a person on a fixed income. Defininitely recommend to others.

Description of Work
Amendments to my water heater to bring it to code standards required by Maryland; then the sensing device (on/off) fixed.

Category excavators, heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2021

5.0

08/11/2021


Beverly W.

Darroll and his assistant were courteous, Professional and very knowledgeable. Was able to unstop drain and noted another issue that I will be calling them to schedule that work.

Description of Work
Unstop kitchen drain

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2021

5.0

05/08/2021


Sandra F.

Great work.

Description of Work
Toilet repair

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2021

5.0

10/20/2020


William W.

Review for 10-19-20 Silver Spring, Md. home I called Douglas & Son Plumbing to replace an old frost free outdoor faucet. Shawn Douglas plumber installed the new frost free exterior faucet that was twelve inches long and inside my house installed a shut off valve; furthermore, the plumbing code recommended. He neatly cut a small square box in the panel in the Den to find the pipe. After he found the pipe he installed a shut off valve for the frost free exterior faucet. His measurement was exactly correct to find the hidden pipe behind the outdoor wall. He explained that the exterior faucet should have a separate shut off valve. He had great rapport with the customer that is me and I was impressed that he used a lever to balance the frost free exterior faucet. I do not about any customer that was not satisfied with his work but he receive a five star rating for this job.

Description of Work
Replace an old frost free outdoor faucet.

Category plumbing, gas leak repair

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2020

1.0

10/02/2020


Willa P.

Not good. They dug up my floor to repair a broken pipe; there was no broken pipe. Facts were misrepresented about the project. I would NOT EVER use them again.

Description of Work
Repair what they stated was a broken Pipe in my kitchen floor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2021

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to this unfortunate misrepresentation of facts. W. [Member Name Removed] is a warranty insurance customer who we attempted to assist with a kitchen drain line that has failed causing years' old rancid food/grease water to back up into her home. "Snaking" the line failed and we could not inspect the line via camera due to its condition. The next step was to open the floor to find and repair the pipe which revealed that this line turned outside the back of the home to run off into what is believed to be a never serviced failing old septic/cistern system. This is an anomaly as the rest of the home's plumbing ties into public sewer. As the 3rd party contractor, we had to stop work and report to the insurance company that this line was found not to be connected to the dwellings main sanitary per Code requirement. It is our understanding that the insurance company has denied any further contract coverage because this type of line is exempted from policy coverage. It is unfortunate that we attempted to help [Member Name Removed] P., just as any other company would have done, and she in turn writes a horrible and disparaging review because she was denied insurance coverage. Unfortunately there is no easy inexpensive fix for this problem. The alternative proposal we presented was to install an ejector pit in the basement, tie the kitchen line into that pit and run the plumbing up through the basement ceiling, to the front of the home and tie it into the main sanitary for the dwelling. However, insurance would not pay for this option and therefore W. [Member Name Removed] is apparently angry with us. We did not create this situation that we were asked to help resolve. It is injudicious to say the pipe is not "broken" when the entire line has failed. At the end of the day we can fix just about anything as long as we are compensated for our services. In this case, neither the customer or the warranty company was willing to compensate us leaving our hands tied to resolve this issue for this customer.
5.0

08/17/2020


Alicia W.

This company is very professional and extremely personable. Patrick went above and beyond to ***** my issues and I was extremely satisfied I will definitely be using this company again for all my heating/cooling and plumbing services. Thanks again for doing a great job.

Description of Work
Leak Search

Category water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for saying such wonderful things about our company! We look forward to serving you again!
5.0

05/19/2020


Leslie & Robert S.

Perfect, friendly, expertly performed, affordable. The list could go on and on. Great company to use. We will be a customer for life and will recommend to everyone I know!

Description of Work
HVAC diagnostic and refrigerant charge

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2020

5.0

04/28/2020


Stephen B.

Douglas & Son Services were very professional and courteous. I would definitely hire them for another job, and I would also tell a neighbor or a friend about their services.

Description of Work
Faucet installation

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/28/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words! We look forward to hopefully earning more of your business!
5.0

04/20/2020


Lorraine L.

It was excellent. They did an excellent complete job. I had no problem with them and I'm very pleased with their service.

Description of Work
They repaired the leaks that come through my shower heads.

Category plumbing

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We look forward to earning more of your business!
5.0

04/20/2020


Natalie K.

Very well. This is a nice business, reposnsive to clients, able to give prompt and punctual service.

Description of Work
toilet installation

Category drain cleaning

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2020

5.0

04/14/2020


LINDA B.

They were excellent and polite. The explained everything to me and no hidden charges.

Description of Work
They fixed my water heater.

Category water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review! You know how to reach us if ever you need us!
5.0

04/09/2020


Tracy F.

We had an back up in our outside basement stair drain that required emergency service. Douglas Plumbing responded the same day and were able to quickly correct the problem. The tech was professional and knowledgeable. We would definitely use then again!

Description of Work
Plumbing

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/11/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our company! Your business is very much appreciated!
5.0

04/04/2020


Andrea O.

Very professional and completed all tasks to my satisfaction. I will never use any other plumbing company but Douglas and Son. They surpassed my expectations.

Description of Work
Water Heater Repair and Plumbing Maintenance in Home

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Douglas & Son Services for your plumbing, heating and air conditioning needs!

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    19801 Bucklodge Rd

    Boyds, MD 20841

    Hours

    Sunday
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Monday
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Tuesday
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Wednesday
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Thursday
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Friday
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Saturday
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Website

    http://www.douglasandsonservices.com

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information

    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    yes
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Douglas & Son Services

    How is Douglas & Son Services overall rated?

    Douglas & Son Services is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Douglas & Son Services open?

    Douglas & Son Services is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Douglas & Son Services provide

    Douglas & Son Services accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Douglas & Son Services offer free estimates?

    Yes, Douglas & Son Services offers free project estimates.

    Does Douglas & Son Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Douglas & Son Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Douglas & Son Services offer a senior discount?

    No, Douglas & Son Services does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Douglas & Son Services offer emergency services?

    Yes, Douglas & Son Services offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Douglas & Son Services?

    Yes, Douglas & Son Services offers warranties.

    What services does Douglas & Son Services offer?

    Douglas & Son Services offers the following services: Douglas & Son Services specializes in, but is not limited to, providing the following types of RESIDENTIAL and LIGHT COMMERCIAL SERVICES in the Washington, D.C., Maryland and Virginia Areas: • Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning Unit Annual Check-Ups, Maintenance, Installation, Repair and Replacement • Thermostat Installation, Repair and Replacement • Boiler System Installation, Maintenance, Repair and Replacement • Gas Line Installation, Repair and Replacement • Plumbing Faucets & Fixtures Installation, Repair and Replacement • Rough-In Plumbing Work • Sewer Pipe Inspections • Sewer Drain Cleaning • Water Line Installations • Back-Flow Testing, Installation, Repair and Replacement • Tank and Tankless Hot Water Heater Installation, Repair and Replacement • Toilet, Sink, Vanity and Bath Tub/Shower Installation, Repair and Replacement • Garbage Disposal Installation, Repair and Replacement • Appliance (Dishwasher, Instant-Hot, Gas Range, Gas Grill, Gas Fireplace, Gas Dryer, etc.) Installation and Replacement • Whole-House Water Filtration Systems • Sump Pump Installation, Repair and Replacement • Ejector Pit/Grinder Pump Installation, Repair and Replacement • Ice Maker Connections