Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Academy Remodeling

Founded 2005 • With Angi since November 2010

4.9

(53) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8208 Wahly Dr

Bethesda, MD 20817

Description

I have nearly a 100% Angie's List rating. I have received multiple Angies List Super Service Awards. I am a 1978 US Naval Academy graduate and 15 year Naval serviceman. My business processes reflect my military background. My specialties are kitchen, basement and bathroom remodeling but I also do handyman work when my schedule permits. My former customers will gladly provide multiple references. I am a licensed general contractor licensed in both MD and VA. I hire multi-skilled craftsmen that have been working with me continuously for 8 years. Whether you need a small repair or a full remodel, I am a reliable business. I bring my military professionalism to the home improvement business. I will provide a complete written estimate at no charge. I’m the owner and I take calls 7 days a week. All emails are immediately addressed....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/24/2016


Michael B.

Everything was first rate; work went on time and on budget, with a lot of innovative problem solving as the project progressed. This was a project with a lot of unknowns, and Mike stayed with it throughout, had sound solutions to each new situation, progressed without delays, and stayed with original estimates. I am very happy with the process and with the final product.

Description of Work
Mike and his team added a new bathroom and upgraded an existing one.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

08/08/2016


William S.

I was very pleased with the work. Mike made helpful suggestions throughout the process and was willing to accommodate changes as the work progressed. The work included installation of light fixtures, installation of new washer and dryer plus venting of dryer, installation of cabinets, countertop and utility sink, painting and removal of old materials. This is a very reliable company and I would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Basement remodel

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

05/19/2016


C R.

Michael McNish and his team were great. All details were clearly spelled out and expectations set. No serious surprises, which is surprising given the size of this job.

Description of Work
Academy Remodeling did an extensive remodel to my mother's home in Westmoreland Hills.

Category remodeling

5.0

11/17/2015


Frances V.

I used Academy Remodeling for home remodeling. They've been just great to work with.

Description of Work
They remodeled our bathroom. They sealed a leak in the lower level in the drywall.

Category drywall, home remodeling

5.0

11/09/2015


Frances V.

We could not have been more pleased with the work performed and the finished product. The project took quite a bit longer than expected but this was in no way the fault of Academy Remodeling. We ran into signifant delays with flooring. Mike and his crew are true professionals. He has had the same group of men working for him for several years. This is the second project that we engaged Academy remodeling. The first was the remodeling of 2 bathrooms approximately 2 years ago. We were extremely pleased with the work done and did not hesitate to contact Mike when we decided to remodel the kitchen. In both instances, the final cost matched the estimates. There were no hidden costs or surprises along the way. Our kitchen was completely sealed from the rest of the house and virtually no dust from the work could be found anywhere in the house. At the end of each work day the kitchen and deck were cleaned and the derbis removed. Any concens we had were immediately addressed. Mike returned our calls and responded to emails in a very timely fashion. Without reservation we would highly recommend Mike and Acacemy Remodeling.

Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, deck cleaning, home remodeling

5.0

08/06/2015


Deborah B.

Mike was very responsive to our needs and suggestions and very pleasant to work with. His crew was professional, neat, and did a terrific job. Absolutely no complaints - we would definitely use Mike again. Because of the nature of the job, we ordered all appliances and bathroom fixtures, which worked out fine.

Description of Work
We had an upstairs bathroom renovated to accommodate a washer and dryer. The bathroom was gutted (removed bathtub to make room for a shower and the washer/dryer). Room was completely retiled and new fixtures installed.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/01/2015


Alison M.

From my first email last year asking for a ballpark estimate, Mike responded promptly to my different questions, made great suggestions on my design, quickly came up with a very reasonable estimate, and we easily agreed on a date to do the work. He spent two days to build the bookcase, with one crew member. They were very professional, worked quickly and neatly in and outside despite freezing temperatures, their workmanship is great, they cleaned up completely and the bookcase is exactly what I had hoped. I am happy to recommend Acacemy Remodeling without hesitation and would use them again for any size job!.

Description of Work
Built built-in bookcase to my design (3' wide, floor to ceiling), with baseboard and crown, trim on front of shelves.

Category handyman service, remodeling, woodworking

5.0

01/29/2015


Harriet S.

Mike McNish, owner of Academy Remodeling responded immediately to our request for bid which was very reasonable. He started work promptly, he supervised an excellent crew and he was always available to handle any issues that arose. We are delighted with results-both aesthetics and reliability.

Description of Work
Remodeled powder room

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

10/09/2014


Laura S.

I contacted Academy through Angie's List for my kitchen remodel in Washington DC. Mike responded almost immediately which was great: many days have gone by since I heard from other providers that I contacted. He asked where I lived and I said DC and gave my address. He also came up in a search for my zip code, so I assumed he was able to work in my area. He said "okay. I am out of town. I will contact you when I get back on Wednesday." He emails Wednesday and says " I am not licensed in DC. I bet you have to be licensed to work in your building." I responded that I have several projects I am looking to do that don't require licensing. His response? "I am booked solid for three months." It was clear that he had no interest in my job, which he could have said up front instead of making me wait three days for this simple bit of info. I never appreciate the "I am SO BUSY" attitude from contractors-- not great customer service. I am happy if people have enough work, but it is a bad move and very short sighted to turn away business. I am very flexible and want to find the right fit so I don't care if I schedule next week or next month. But its clear that Academy won't be getting my business.

Description of Work
I asked to set up a time for an estimate,

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

My first email to the customer was immediate. I like the customer to know that I have received their response. It was a brief response since I did not have more time to give her request any thought. In that first response I said I was going to be out of town for 3 days and I would respond in detail when I got back. Which is exactly what I did 3 days later. After reviewing the customer's work list I did assess that much of the work would require a permit. And although I am licensed in MD and VA I am not licensed in DC. It is true that my schedule is full right now. I can squeeze in small jobs between my kitchen and bathroom remodels. But in order to give the customer a reasonable cost for a small project, the job needs to be close to my current larger projects in Bethesda. Or else the overhead costs, set up times, travel times would drive up the prices on my estimate for small jobs unacceptable high. Which would not be a good situation for either the customer and myself.

5.0

09/18/2014


Ari K.

Mike showed up wtih a crew, performed the work quickly and well, and left the house quite clean.

Description of Work
I had a long list of potential repairs. Mike walked me through what I did and didn't have to do, and we identified a number of handyman type tasks (caulking, changing faucets, sistering a joist, etc).

Category contractors, handyman service, plumbing

5.0

09/13/2014


Phyllis P.

Overall they did an excellent job. I was very pleased with the results and they also cleaned up after themselves each day they came.

Description of Work
They remodeled my front porch and the steps. They did some painting also.

Category remodeling

5.0

07/11/2014


tommy R.

We just got our kitchen completely redone. Mike was there the whole step of the way. He is very professional along with his guys and they work harder than anyone else. Mike has always answered phone calls, showed up on time, and knows what he is doing. He does amazing work and we can't be more pleased with our kitchen. Thanks again mike!

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel.

Category home remodeling

5.0

07/10/2014


Geoffrey W.

I have used Mike as my handyman for over 10 years when I first met him on craigslist. He is an honest, trustworthy, reliable and reasonable man. His companies work is always performed with the utmost respect and care. We have had kitchen and bath remodeling and intend to have more done in the near future. In the past, when asked Mike to just "go through my townhouse and repair those things he thought needed repair in anticipation of new tenants," he reliably emailed or called many times to talk me out of repairs by providing an honest appraisal of the situation(vs many unscrupulous individuals who might be included to run up a bill and charge for unnecessary repairs etc.) His repairs have always been done economically and with high quality. I do not hesitate to recommend Mike and his crew to anyone looking for handyman work.

Description of Work
He has done many electrical, plumbing, painting, carpentry and other mechanical repairs throughout my old home and now in my newer home within the past few weeks. He remodeled my old home's bathroom and part of the kitchen.

Category contractors, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/04/2013


JAMES H.

They were great. Very professional and courteous.

Description of Work
Rebuilt deck.

Category decks

5.0

10/04/2013


Andrea W.

Easy project. Academy Remodeling hires respectful, tidy, and talented workers. They arrive when they say they are going to and work as quickly or slowly as you need them to. As the customer I caused delays by ordering appliances late and purchasing the wrong cabinets, whenever I had the correct items, Academy was available to proceed. I asked them to redo the wall finishes around an outlet and they did it immediately, in agreement with why I wanted it redone.

Description of Work
Demoed a galley kitchen and installed new kitchen in slightly different configuration, but kept basic layout. Repaired walls. Ran water to new refrigerator location. Installed Ikea cabinets, installed appliances (refrigerator, dishwasher, stove and microwave above stove), installed under cabinet lighting, and organized counter top fabricator and installer for me. It's the second kitchen they have done for me and am in the process of starting on some bathrooms with them.

Category home remodeling

5.0

10/04/2013


Chris B.

Mike and his guys did a great job. The project was for deck stairs that were a little wider than typical deck stairs and included a landing midway down, angled lower section and flare out for the bottom steps. Mike was very professional and did a great job.

Description of Work
Added a set of stairs to an existing deck

Category decks, handyman service

5.0

10/03/2013


Ravi M.

We asked Michael to come over to give us an estimate on remodeling 3 bathrooms and a kitchen. I found him to be very honest, prompt, and respectful. He also had several very good suggestions and was very thoughtful about the possibilities for our home. He gave a very reasonable quote for expanding one of our bathrooms. We decided to hold off on renovations, which is why services are not yet performed.

Description of Work
Estimate

Category home remodeling

4.0

09/30/2013


Mark L.

They work turned out fine for the most part. It was a difficult time since we were in the middle of a storm during the remodeling. They showed up and did get a fair amount of work done and on the time frame we agreed. The storm kind of delayed some things and they seemed to rush towards the end of the work. The person that I contracted with was largely not on the job and had other people to do the work. He came around every once in a while. They seemed to get a little sloppy on a few things and was unable to finish. I had to hire someone else to finish the work. However, for the price, I thought the work was pretty good and I understood the conditions of the job due to the storm.

Description of Work
They remodeling our master bathroom.

Category home remodeling

4.0

09/11/2013


Michele K.

The process for getting the estimate was smooth. It took a bit to schedule it because of staff's summer vacations. During the estimate, Mike was very plain about what he could and couldn't do. We appreciated his honesty but would have appreciated a bit more "can-do" spirit -- i.e., we can try x or y rather than just telling us he couldn't help. The actual repairs took place in a timely manner a few days after the estimate. The workers were punctual and polite and Mike came to inspect their work, which made us feel good about the quality. So far, everything seems to be working fine.

Description of Work
General repairs throughout the house -- for example, repairing crack in ceiling, connecting exhaust fans to external vent, repairing kitchen cabinet hinge, anchoring bannister to wall, etc.

Category handyman service

4.0

09/09/2013


Cristina M.

I was very impressed with Mike. He was incredibly responsive and very professional. When I contacted him about my kitchen remodel he responded promptly and after coming to see my kitchen turned an estimate around very quickly. While I didn't end up choosing his service, I would consider being in touch with him again for another project.

Description of Work
Mike provided an estimate for me for my kitchen remodel.

Category home remodeling

5.0

07/24/2013


Jillian C.

Mike was incredibly responsive; he emailed me back after my initial inquiry in less than 10 minutes. When he came over to give me an estimate on the work, he was very thorough and talked me through all of the options. I really appreciate when someone takes the time to explain the work that needs to be done, the costs and time involved, and Mike did a great job explaining all of that. I asked that all of the work be completed within two weeks, they got it done in a week. All of the work done looks great; it turned out better than I imagined it could. They did such a great job, I just called him again with a second job. I would highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Mike and his crew did a lot of work on my condo rental property. The previous tenant had left several holes in the wall that they filled in, they also removed all of the wallpaper from several rooms, prepared them for paint, painted the entire property including a few ceilings, built a wine chiller into the existing kitchen cabinet space, and repaired two doors.

Category drywall, handyman service, remodeling, wallpaper removal, interior painters, doors

5.0

07/10/2013


Kathy V.

Mike and his entire team were terrific. Mike is extremely fair and the work that they perform is top shelf. I will not hesitate to use Mike and his team again in the future, in fact, I just got another estimate from him for some more work the other day. I would recommend Mike and his team to anyone that asks, it was a pleasure having them do work at my home.

Description of Work
Remodeled a baby nursery and basement, installed custom cabinets in baby's playroom.

Category custom cabinets, woodworking, sunrooms, basement remodeling

5.0

03/03/2013


Matthew S.

My husband and I decided to use Ikea cabinets to remodel our outdated kitchen. While I was a bit skeptical at first about going with Ikea, the savings were just too much to pass up. With 120+ boxes showing up in typical Ikea-style, I wanted to make sure that we went with a contractor who had experience in putting together and installing Ikea cabinetry. I found that Mike and his team have done Ikea projects before, and after meeting with Mike a couple times, we felt very comfortable working with him. It proved to be one of the best decisions we could have made with regard to this remodel. Mike's team is absolutely fantastic. They started our project earlier than expected and wrapped up in two weeks, under the original project schedule. If we hadn't had to wait for the granite installation, they would have finished even earlier. Carlos and the team were highly skilled, incredibly hard working, and put some great custom touches to our out of the box kitchen. Even our two year old liked Mike, Carlos and the team - he talks about them all the time! We truly couldn't be happier with their professionalism, their work ethic, and the end product - a beautiful new kitchen that we think rivals any in the Ikea showroom!

Description of Work
-- Soffit removal -- Removal of old cabinetry -- Recessed lighting installation -- Putting together Ikea cabinets -- Installing cabinets -- Electrical work -- Painting and other finish work

Category custom cabinets, electrician, lighting, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

12/23/2012


Phil Q.

I have hired Academy for other small jobs over the past 2-3 years. They are very responsive, professional and competitive in terms of pricing. Their attention to detail is excellent. They are flexible and will work within your budget and goals for a project, suggesting options that will work for you. I will continue to hire them when I need quality work done. For this latest project, we needed to stage it according to usage of the bathrooms and availability of the materials. They were very accommodating and we got the work done on schedule. The finished bathrooms exceeded our expectations and we are very pleased with our new bathrooms.

Description of Work
We hired Academy Remodeling to help us with refurbishing 3 bathrooms. We purchased all materials used and provided them to Academy. I did NOT include the cost of materials in the above figure for how much we spent. -For a 1/2 bath they tiled the floor, installed a new vanity cabinet, sink and faucet and painted. We purchased the materials ourselves. -For a basement full bath, they tiled the floor, installed a new vanity cabinet, sink and faucet, painted and hung new towel hangers. -In an upstairs full bath, the removed an existing toilet (and installed it in the basement bath) and installed a new 10 inch rough-in toilet we purchased. The installed missing tile on the rear wall behind the toilet.

Category handyman service, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

12/19/2012


Margaret E.

Mike McNish was very helpful and thorough throughout the estimating process.

Description of Work
We found Academy Remodeling through Angie's List in November 2012. Mike McNish of Academy Remodeling was very responsive to our request for estimates on 4 remodeling projects in our home. He come to our home on a timely basis and spent the time needed to make a thorough estimate for each of the four projects (laundry room remodeling, finishing two previously unfinished basement closet areas and an insurance related repair in the ceiling of an upstairs closet). Mike provided very competitive estimates for all 4 projects on a timely basis and we were very impressed with his knowledge, suggestions, professionalism and timeliness. We were very fortunate to have 3 well-qualified Angie's List firms make estimates for the work we planned. We believe that each of the 3 firms, including Adcamey Remodeling, could handle the work we sought and decided to go with another well-qualified firm primarily due to the fact that the chosen firm was able to start and complete the work on a schedule that fit our preferences most closely. We would definitely consider use of Academy Remodeling when planning additional projects in the future.

Category ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, picture framing, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jamb contractor

     

    Closet America

    Closet America is a privately owned and locally operated manufacturer and installer of custom home organization systems for closets, home offices, pantries, media centers, and garages. By raising the standards for quality and customer service, Closet America has steadily grown into one of the premier names in the professional organizing systems industry. We have been consistently awarded the prestigious GuildMaster Award for exceptional customer service and satisfaction.  

    Closet Pioneers

    Closet Pioneers is a family-owned and operated business with over 30 years of combined industry experience, and we have established our place as the PREMIER choice for custom closets in the DMV! We are committed to providing our clients with the highest quality products at the BEST value in the market. At Closet Pioneers, we create beautiful, one-of-a-kind custom closets and home organization systems, and we treat every client as if you are a family member. Client satisfaction is non-negotiable as amazing customer experiences are what differentiates Closet Pioneers from other design companies. We also understand your time is valuable and when you want your project done, you want it done quickly and professionally. We're able to offer some of the industry's fastest lead-times because we are family-owned (not a franchise), and we custom manufacture each project at our state-of-the-art factory in Lorton, VA. Your design options are endless! We create gorgeous custom closets, book shelves, laundry rooms, dressing rooms, vanities, entertainment centers, mudrooms, office and library spaces, garage spaces, residential and commercial properties, and so much more! Were only limited by your imagination and we will work within your budget. At Closet Pioneers, our sole mission is to provide you with solutions that save time, space and allow you to focus on what matters most to your family! We’re excited to help you design the space of your dreams. Contact us for a free estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodeling and additions: bathroom, kitchen & basement. Plumbing. Carpentry. Electrical. Decks. Custom built-in bookcases. And when business is slow - general handyman services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Academy Remodeling

    How is Academy Remodeling overall rated?

    Academy Remodeling is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Academy Remodeling open?

    Academy Remodeling is open:

    Sunday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Academy Remodeling provide

    Academy Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does Academy Remodeling offer free estimates?

    Yes, Academy Remodeling offers free project estimates.

    Does Academy Remodeling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Academy Remodeling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Academy Remodeling offer a senior discount?

    No, Academy Remodeling does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Academy Remodeling offer emergency services?

    Yes, Academy Remodeling offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Academy Remodeling?

    Yes, Academy Remodeling offers warranties.

    What services does Academy Remodeling offer?

    Academy Remodeling offers the following services: Remodeling and additions: bathroom, kitchen & basement. Plumbing. Carpentry. Electrical. Decks. Custom built-in bookcases. And when business is slow - general handyman services