Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Sila Heating, Cooling and Plumbing

4.7

(2061) Verified Reviews

Founded 1989 • With Angi since March 2008

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
85592
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
7:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Company Contact

7000 Virginia Manor Rd

Beltsville, MD 20705

Description

We’re Open and Committed to You: Since 1989, Sila has been proud to serve you and our community. As the situation around COVID-19 continues to evolve, we wanted to respectfully reach out to you. We are here if you need us. We are monitoring the situation on a daily basis and taking guidance from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and local authorities. Your health, our employees’ health and the health of our community is of utmost concern. * We are conducting daily briefings and ensuring enhanced operating protocols are followed in every home we have the pleasure to serve. * All technicians and comfort advisors are equipped with hand sanitizer and disinfecting wipes, along with protective equipment (gloves, booties, etc.) for increased precaution before entering your home. * We are asking our customers to notify us if they’re feeling ill or have been in contact with anyone exposed so we can take precautions. * We have taken measures in all Sila offices such as flexible work from home and paid time off policies. Your comfort is our priority. We’re committed to safely assisting our customers with the prompt and dependable service you’ve come to expect for over 30 years. Our hearts are with those who have been affected by this extraordinary situation. It is truly our pleasure to serve you and we’re ready when you need us. Stay safe and healthy, Lou Pellegrini CEO...

Verified Reviews

4.7

(2061) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

1714

4

154

3

62

2

70

1

61

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (1911)water heaters (165)plumbers (92)water softeners (15)drain cleaning (7)gas leak repair (1)well & water pump repair (1)carpet cleaning (18)electrician (10)
Showing 1-10 of 2061 reviews
5.0

01/11/2022


Rod R.

I have been struggling with subtle leak for nearly a year. I hired Sila and Roger Amaker recommended a company that quickly identified the leak using American Leak Detector. Once the leak was identified, Roger returned to replace the faulty mechanical joint press with a much better joint connector and also replaced PRV from the main water feed. HE DOES EXCELLENT WORK!! He is professional and extremely competent. I would definitely hire him again!!!

Description of Work
Plumbing repairs

Category plumbing

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2022

5.0

08/15/2021


David E.

I called Silva with an emergency. Not only did I lose cooling during an intense heatwave but my wife was at the hospital having surgery the same day. The staff of Silva understood ( Ramsay) and altered staffing to send Tony within two hours. A wonderfully pleasant young man he explained my options and we quickly agreed on a new system. The very next morning a large crew arrived and fully installed two new systems in one day The on-site staff was pleasant courteous and highly skilled. This was the best experience I have ever had with a HVAC contractor

Description of Work
Replacement of HVAC system

Category carpet cleaners,heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for this rating! Sila's main goal is to ensure your home is comfortable and safe. We can't meet that goal without the best of the best on our team. Tony is key to keeping our goal and we are happy to him recognized. We look forward to serving you again. Best, Team Sila
1.0

07/15/2021


Robert C.

I recently had my A/c repaired and I’m deeply upset by how Sila treated me, with dishonesty and simple greed, especially since I’m a longtime customer. Sila actually installed my mini split system in 2012 and I hired them for maintenance checkups in the past. I hired them again for maintenance in May. The tech came out and diagnosed a faulty control board. Sila’s rep quoted me a price of 592 for parts and labor, against which the $98 fee I’d already been charged would be applied. Their rep, Ramsey, also told me on multiple occasions that the part, which cost $292, was covered by the 10 year warranty that applies when a certified installer installed the system. All of the phone calls are recorded so these commitments can easily be verified. So I would only be responsible for labor, which was to be charged at $300! per the estimate. Amazingly, the tech took less than an hour to install the control board and do all the subsequent testing. To add insult to injury, Sila then proceeded to charge me for everything — $300 labor plus the part! When I reminded them of the multiple times I’d been assured the part was covered by warranty, Ramsey claimed ignorance. I would NEVER have had them do the repair if I’d known this. I mean, how dishonest and greedy can you get? Sad thing is, as a longtime customer of Sila, I know that my A/c system, now nearly 10 years old, will need to be replaced eventually. But seeing how they mistreat their loyal customers, I’ll be sure to go elsewhere when that time comes.

Description of Work
A/C maintenance and repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $592

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2021

5.0

07/07/2021


Kelly E.

We had another great experience with Sila today. We called because of a possible HVAC leak into our neighbor's apartment. Our call was answered quickly and we were immediately scheduled for the same day. Communication from the office was seamless and very professional. Our tech arrived right on time and was thorough, helpful, and kind. No issues were detected with our unit and yet the tech still took time to answer our questions and walk us through some basic maintenance tips. We were relieved to not need any work done today, but we will certainly call Sila the next time we do. Thanks to Ramsey in the office for handling our call!

Description of Work
We did not end up needing any work done.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $149

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your rating and review! Our main goal is to ensure that your home is comfortable and safe. We couldn't meet that goal without our awesome team providing the best possible customer experience before, during, and after every visit. We look forward to serving you again! Best, Team Sila MD
5.0

06/23/2021


Rayth M.

Roberto was sent out after our original technician was behind schedule. Roberto was great. He cleaned the system and provided helpful suggestions on how to keep our old 15 year system running (more than just swapping air filters every 3 months). He also did not try to upsell us

Description of Work
AC Maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $99

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your rating and review [Member Name Removed]! Roberto is a huge part of our team here in Maryland and we are happy to see him recognized. Our team is the reason we have the best customer service around and we strive to leave our customers 100% satisfied after every job. We look forward to serving you again! Best, Team Sila MD
5.0

06/08/2021


Jason L.

Bob was extremely detailed, polite and helpful in investigating a smell that had developed in our A/C.

Description of Work
Assessment of HVAC smell

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $149

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for this rating and review! Our success is dependent on our awesome team. Bob is no exception and we are happy to see him recognized. We are proud to provide the best customer experience possible to all of our customers. We look forward to serving you again! Best, Team Sila
5.0

05/24/2021


John V.

Tyler was an phenomenal maintenance man. He went above and beyond to make sure my ac was running top notch. This man deserves a raise for his professionalism, curtesy, and quality of service. Thank you again Tyler.

Description of Work
AC Tune up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $59

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for this rating and review! Sila's main goal is to ensure your home is comfortable and safe. We can't meet that goal without the best of the best on our team. Tyler is key in upholding our promise of having the best customer service around and we are happy to see him recognized. We look forward to serving you again! Best, Team Sila
2.0

05/11/2021


Justin B.

I chose Sila for an existing Unico system upgrade with some return rework for sound and new supply lines for a newly-remodeled room. From research, I gathered that they’re a high-volume Unico service vendor. Sila completed the job quoted in the initial proposal but it took 3 months, 5 visits, and I personally found and fixed the final issue myself. There were five objective mistakes. One issue was a misunderstanding between the salesman and me. I’ll take the blame for that. The other four issues were purely technical. The Unico system is fairly simple but the installers forgot to install the heater component, installed the wrong motor, ordered the wrong parts and figured it out at my house, then finally set up the motor with the wrong software settings forcing it to run at full throttle. I had to frequently call the office or email them directly to attain schedule status. I escalated my concerns to Evan. He was happy to continue offering help but didn’t seem to have empathy that the job was 3 months late. I felt that he saw the job as a success. As a consumer, schedule is one measurement of success and I accepted a high-priced estimate (30% over competitors) because I felt they would complete the work in one week. I trust these guys are great for servicing contracts and hot fixes when you’re in a jam but if you need a true project executed on time like a full system upgrade, I’d research other Unico installers. 1 star for execution, 1 star for teaching me a lesson

Description of Work
Unico System Upgrade

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $24,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/08/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for discussing your concerns with me on the phone, we value your feedback. I’m truly sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. We guarantee complete satisfaction with every installation, so if there is anything I can do please let me know. Sincerely, Evan General Manager
5.0

04/23/2021


Sam E.

Tony was prompt, polite, and and thorough in his diagnostic and repair of our HVAC system. He effectively fixed the recurring issue and offered a number of common sense options to address, including replacing a decades-old thermostat, which we did and have been very pleased with the results. Tony also took extra care to thoroughly clean his workspaces — something appreciated at all times but especially during the pandemic.

Description of Work
HVAC repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for this rating and review! Our success is dependent on our awesome team. Tony is no exception and we are happy to see him recognized. We are proud to provide the best experience possible to all of our customers. We're there for you before, during, and after your service to make sure you're happy and 100% satisfied. We look forward to serving you again! Best, Team Sila
5.0

04/01/2021


Sean S.

Excellent service by Bob, very thorough and professional and provided helpful insights and recommendations without trying to upcharge at all. Genuine good service by a professionals who are good at what they do and trained fittingly for the job at hand. Thanks!

Description of Work
AC check and system diagnosis

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $59

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2021

Services Offered

Heating, furnaces, boilers, heat pumps, air conditioning, central, high velocity, split-ductless, indoor air quality, air purifiers & humidifiers, UNICO heating and cooling systems, spacepak heating and cooling systems, high efficiency heating and cooling, hydronic systems, media filters.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
No