Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ABE-Remodeling Co

With Angi since December 2009

4.8

(6) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5006 Garrett Ave

Beltsville, MD 20705

Description

full service remodeling...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/20/2015


John M.

Their choice of materials and surfaces for the remodeling project was excellent. The remodeled bathroom looked much cleaner and more modern after their work was done, and their charge of $5000 for all of this work was very reasonable. I was also very satisfied with their painting, which was sharp and clean-looking. For all of their jobs, ABE Remodeling prepared clear bids, explained what the work would involve, and never went over budget. They arrived for work on time, as scheduled, and worked quickly. Finally, when they left they carefully cleaned up the work sites. I plan to keep using their services in the future for remodeling and home improvement and enthusiastically recommend them.

Description of Work
In April 2011 they made extensive improvements to a rental property that I’d bought. They installed a new electrical panel and new carpeting inside the house, installed a French drain in the yard near an external wall, and put in a new door and a sump pump in the crawl space. They also cleaned and painted the entire interior of the house and made numerous small repairs. In October 2014 they remodeled the bathroom in this property. This involved removing the old acrylic tub liner; installing a new floor, vanity, sink, medicine cabinet, and ceiling-high tile around the tub; and repainting the bathroom. They have also remodeled and repaired parts of my own home. In early 2015 they removed the front and back doors of my house and replaced them with beautiful, energy-efficient doors. In summer and fall of 2015 they repaired part of the roof, fixed cracks in the ceilings in the basement and the upstairs bedroom, and repainted the ceiling in the bedroom

Category drywall

5.0

02/01/2012


Victor O.

Great

Description of Work
Drywall in the basement

Category drywall, remodeling, basement waterproofing

4.0

09/08/2011


Gordon W.

The estimate and starting and majority of the project went great. He arrived when he said he would and left when he had agreed to leave. Issues all related to his subcontractors. The electrical folks worked late into the evening and did not arrive and depart at planned times, but they did good overall, but we now have a breaker that must of been linked into existing upstairs circuit that now trips from time to time and never did in the past. The drywall subcontractors where the worst part of the job. It seemed like the majority of the crew it was their first time to ever drywall, we have a number of screws that we can see thru the finished product and some very weird angles that an experienced crew would of done much differently. Towards the end of the project Abe got started on another job and he was in a hurry to finish us off, I have spent many hours on final touch up painting and details that I feel he should of done. If your looking for low price and can handle B grade work go for it, but if you want A+ results and finish I would look elsewhere, it will likely cost you much more. He was one of the few who actually talked about the permit process and got everything done to code. He only ended up charging me slightly more than estimated due to minor modifications to electrical plan and for installing wet bar - the extras were on the high end. I have called and emailed him about doing additional work and his estimates have been sky high, so not sure if his intent was to do a job on the low end in hopes we would use him again for the many other projects we have had done - but we are overall happy with the basement.

Description of Work
Abe finished about 3/4 of my basement, including installing a full bathroom, wet bar area and extending a window to make it an egress window. Tile flooring was used in the wet bar and bathroom areas.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, egress windows, flooring contractor, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

5.0

05/27/2011


William Y.

The work went very well. His bid was accurate and he did not go over his quoted price for the jobs that were initially contracted. When I decided that some extra work was needed (ex. pressure-washing the outside of the house) he charged extra, as I expected, but his charges were very reasonable. The work was also finished on schedule. Since I had a month or so to get the work done there was no great time pressure. But despite this Mr. Diaz worked on the house steadily and did not get distracted by other jobs. When he needed to bring a sub-contractor (the electrician) he asked for three bids and gave me the choice of which man to hire. He called me regularly to report on progress and also sent me e-mail messages whenever he could not reach me by phone. He was very dependable and conscientious, and I will certainly hire him again if I have any new jobs.

Description of Work
Mr. Diaz was the primary contractor for a set of projects on a house that I recently purchased. He did some of the work himself and found reliable and certified sub-contractors to do some jobs. For example, the electrical panel in the house was in the wrong location (next to a moist area in the crawl space) and had to be moved to the interior of the house to comply with local codes. Mr. Diaz hired a local certified electrician to do this. Mr. Diaz inspected the crawl space under my house and determined that I needed to have a French drain installed outside, along the eastern wall of the house. He waterproofed the eastern wall, installed the French drain, and also installed a second sump pump to make sure that the crawl space would stay dry. Everything is working well. He also installed new exterior doors to the crawl space and re-directed rain flows from the gutters and drainspouts to the French drain. After this he pressure washed the exterior of the house to clean it up. He then tore out a wobbly and unsafe railing for the exterior back stairs of the house and built a new, solid and safe railing. He also hired a crew to do some landscaping in the front yard and cut the grass in the back yard. The landscaping looked very nice. The final job on the exterior of the house involved widening the air vents at the peak of the house, to let more hot air escape from the attic and keep air circulating properly. He also completed a number of jobs inside the house. He installed a new fan in the attic first. Then he replaced three doors that were damaged. Then he re-painted the entire house (3 bedrooms, kitchen, laundry, 1.5 baths, living/dining room), first applying a primer and then two coats of paint on top of that, to cover the bright colors used by the previous owner. The paint job was excellent; very careful and clean. Then he removed old caulk in the kitchen and re-caulked all of the edges along the counters. After that he checked the dishwasher, cleaned it, and replaced old insulation. He also replaced a broken faucet in the bathtub. Finally, he hired a sub-contractor to replace the carpets in the bedrooms. When all the work was done he cleaned up after himself, so that only a little additional cleaning was needed.

Category remodeling, basement waterproofing, interior painters

5.0

08/25/2010


Eleanor H.

ABE Remodel completed my basement renovation in about 4 weeks at a reasonable price. After a bad experience with BMS Renovators, my 1st contractor, ABE Remodel completed the demolition after getting both the building and electrical permits within 3 days of contract signing. My project was very complex and entailed total gutting, major plumbing and electrical work, including installation of a new circuit box, new water heater, and working around the sump pump. The workers were experienced, professional, and diligent ? giving me the time of their arrival each day and working full days, sometimes 9 to 10 hours a day, including weekends when necessary. The company was particularly helpful in suggesting creative ways to optimize my space and enhance my original design. The work was so good that it passed inspection at both the interim and final stages. Even the inspector was impressed with the completed project as he had done both inspections. I?m extremely pleased with the final product and would recommend ABE Remodel, and have to 2 of my friends, for any project.

Description of Work
Complete basement renovation - electrical, plumbing, drywall, painting, closets.

Category drywall, electrician, remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

12/01/2009


Judith C.

After frustrating experiences with a couple of the more well-established remodeling businesses, I contacted Mr. Diaz, who owns a small, independent remodeling business. I was initially reluctant, because of the lack of a long-established track record, but a close friend who had employed him couldn't say enough good things about his business and convinced me it was worth a shot. He agreed to meet me on very short notice and was willing to meet after business hours, which was a big help, as I was having a tough time getting away from the office during working hours. He came on a Wednesday evening to look over the townhouse and discuss the scope of the project. He called back later that night to provide a rough estimate and by the next day e-mailed me a proposed scope of work and confirmed the price (with the caveat that the selection of materials could increase the price slightly). I knew, based on my dealings with other remodeling companies that the price he quoted me was reasonable. I contacted a few additional references -all of whom were glowing in their review -- and by Friday, we'd made the decision to hire Abe Remodeling. We signed the contract on Saturday and they started work on the following Monday. The project went extremely well. Mr. Diaz was extremely reliable, very forthcoming and very responsive. He has a great customer-friendly, business phillosophy. When he gives you his word on something he stands by it. I found that he didn't always read and respond to e-mails on a regular basis, but he was very responsive to phone calles. Whenever I had questions, if I called him and didn't reach him directly, he always called me back very quickly. He was very patient with all my questions and humored my ocassional angst. He has a good eye for design and is happy to make decisions about what materials to use, if you are willing to delegate those decisions to him, but he wants his customers to be pleased and will accomodate their preferences. If he ran into something that increased the cost, he was very good about alerting me and ensuring he had my approval before proceeding, and in the end, as he had promised, the cost was only slightly above the original estimate. We only ran into one hitch, which is that there was a miscommunication between him and the supplier on the cabinet specs, which meant that not all the cabinets were delivered on schedule. He notified me immediately and was very forthright about accepting his share of the responsibility. I was afraid that this problem would delay the projected completion date, but in the end, he managed to pull it off, finishing everything on schedule. We were extremely pleased with the way the work came out, and Mr. Diaz made the process as painless as humanly possible. Indeed it was a pleasure working with him and I would definitely use him again for future home repair/remodeling work.

Description of Work
My husband and I have a two bedroom, 2 1/2 bath townhouse in the District. We have done very minimal rehap work on it, since we purchased it about 22 years ago. As our jobs take us frequently overseas, we have had it rented out several times, and the last time the renters were relatively h****** it and the Property Managers made minimal attempt to hold them accountable. Before moving back in this fall, we decided it was time to bite the bullet and have some remodeling work done, in addition to necessary repairs and basic rehap such as painting. Mr. Diaz and his crew remodeled our kitchen, including installing new wood cabients, granite countertop and vinyl floor. They installed a new dishwasher and gas range (purchased seperately by us). They also remodeled the master bedroom bathroom -- replacing and retiling the entire shower, replacing the door, retiling the floor, and instaling a new toilet, vanity, lights,mirror and medicene cabinet. In the other two bathrooms they replaced leaking faucets and pipes, rebuildt (in one case) a toilet, replaced toilet seats, and towel racks. In the basement, they removed an old carpet and installed vinyl tile. They also repaired water-damaged drywall in serveral places in the basement and dining room ceilings and repainted the entire house.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Tayes painting

     

    C.S. Painting & Home Improvement

    C.S. Painting & home improvement , Providing Quality Service in Interior and Exterior Painting, Drywall, Carpentry and General Remodeling, We’re your Best Choice Contact us now  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    EAD Contractors LLC

    EAD CONTRACTORS LLC is a locally owned and operated company which values honesty, integrity, and treats your home or business as if it were our own. We are experts in all aspects of masonry and our services are customizable to each individual project. We specialize in both installations and replacements. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work, as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building lasting relationships, and guarantee your satisfaction!  

    Offers by EAD Contractors LLC on Angi
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No

    Services Offered

    full service remodeling

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ABE-Remodeling Co

    How is ABE-Remodeling Co overall rated?

    ABE-Remodeling Co is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    Does ABE-Remodeling Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ABE-Remodeling Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    What services does ABE-Remodeling Co offer?

    ABE-Remodeling Co offers the following services: full service remodeling