Basement Waterproofing Nationwide Inc

About

Founded 1987 • With Angi since July 2008

Basement Waterproofing Nationwide has been servicing the Baltimore area since 1987. BWN has been turning damp and wet basements into dry basements without costly excavation. BWN is a licensed and insured, locally and nationally recognized basement waterproofer. We are the first basement

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageTorch Award 2007Honor Role Ad May 2013

Verified Reviews

4.8

(168) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

141

4

14

3

2

2

2

1

9

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

basement waterproofing (161)well & water pump repair (34)drain pipe installation (24)foundation repair (17)water damage restoration (5)basement remodeling (2)plumbers (2)
Showing 1-25 of 168 reviews
5.0

10/21/2022


Ellen H.

Quick, efficient, super communication, great cleanup. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Basement Waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2022

5.0

07/22/2022


Morris G.

A superior company. They follow through on their commitments. They have long time employees with great experience. BWN waterproofed our leaky basement about 10 years ago. No problems for almost a decade. After a recent weekend downpour we had water along one of the basement western storm-facing walls. We called and opened a service ticket with Gary. They called back in a little over a day and scheduled a repair at our convenience. Joe, a long time employee, very courteous, professional, and respectful, arrived on the job. He had reviewed our prior project and knew the property well. And it was a window well drain that had clogged. Luckily, it was easily unclogged and the problem was completely solved. We have always been pleased with the work and response of this locally owned business.

Description of Work
Determine source of window well drain malfunction

Category water damage restoration, basement waterproofing, wells

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2022

5.0

10/28/2020


Brenda S.

It was great, very efficient and cleaned everything well. I don't have any problems.

Description of Work
They put in waterproofing system in my basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your review, we are happy we could be of service. Steve Taylor
5.0

10/28/2020


Ronald W.

They were great, everyone was courteous, they really really did a very good job, I will recommend them to anybody. They make everything clean before they leave.

Description of Work
Did a new pipe for the sump pump and put in a paper wall barrier

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your kind words. We are happy to be of service and appreciate your trust. Steve Taylor
5.0

10/23/2020


John E.

This company was quick to respond, friendly and efficient. They went far above what other companies had suggested and did an amazing job, even cleaning up after the repair. Mike was our technician and we couldn't have asked for better service. We highly recommend them to anyone with water issues.

Description of Work
crack repair

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2020

5.0

10/01/2019


Kimberly F.

We got 5 estimates from companies regarding a leak in our office and adjoining storage unit. This was the only company that accurately pinpointed the problem , which was a leak coming from gaps surrounding our electrical conduit pipe. Other companies had quoted us 6400$ to dig up the front yard and redo everything from the outside. Others wanted to dig up the inside. I’m so glad Mike explained everything to me clearly- and it all came down to common sense. These guys found the exact spot where the leak was coming from, and knew how to fix it. He also suggested replacing our sump pump because it was the original, and mud was starting to back up. He suggested we do this as it would be tragic to fix one problem and have another occur (and subsequent flooding) that could have been prevented. There was a minor connectivity issue with the sump pump a couple weeks later but I called at 9 am, the man who took the call put it in as an emergency because of some water splashing out and the problem was fixed by 11 the same day. Great responsiveness and customer service. I feel confident in my decision to choose this company, and would recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Fix leak from area surrounding pipe, install new sump pump

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your observations and kind words. Steve Taylor President
5.0

09/30/2019


Christopher G.

Estimator and worker were polite, punctual, and did good work.

Description of Work
Fixed crack In foundation basement wall.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you and much appreciated! Steve Taylor President
5.0

09/26/2019


Natalie B.

Excellent job. Cleaned up and landscaping put back after. Could hardly tell that they had just dug up part of the front yard. No problems since then. Now can use the porch as we don’t have anymore problems with flooding.

Description of Work
Crawl area waterproofed, drainage pipes installed/moved, sump pump installed

Category basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your kind words. Steve Taylor President
5.0

11/26/2018


Michael R.

Professional, informative and personable staff. Cleaned up at the end of the day. Most importantly, there was no leaking during a recent storm.

Description of Work
Foundation crack that leaked when raining needed repair.

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/19/2018

5.0

10/31/2018


Jonathan H.

Absolutely wonderful experience dealing with everyone from the company. As much as no one wants to deal with water leaking into their basement, these folks made the experience as easy and pleasurable as possible. Everyone was extremely pleasant and professional, and they completed the work ahead of schedule for me. They did an excellent job for us, and I would not hesitate in contacting them again (even though I hope I don't have to, as no one wants water leaking into their basement). I cannot say enough nice things about these folks, and would highly recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Sealed two cracks in the foundation wall

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2018

4.0

10/30/2018


Mellisa L.

This was a huge job. A complete basement waterproofing - new internal drains installed and two new sump pumps installed. The guys were great - came on time worked hard all day and cleaned up after themselves. The only negative was at the completion of work when it was time to pay the amount was less than what was originally quoted. I told the guy that and he insisted that it was what he had. I even showed him the quote on paper. I paid it - glad it was less, but a few days later got a call from the office telling me I needed to pay another $1600 (the difference between the original quoted price and at the time of service price) I told her what the guy told me and she got a little rude saying "well you knew what the quoted price was" - yeah I DID know and was prepared to pay but after install HER guy insisted it was the price he had. I wasn't trying to get out of paying but the confusion on how much it costs was with the people working there. I didn't appreciate her attitude as if I was trying to skimp out of paying. Nevertheless, I ended up with this additional payment. However, the work is supposed to be guaranteed for life. No complaints there.

Description of Work
Complete Basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2018

1.0

10/10/2018


Stephen C.

After contacting and setting up the appointment the company called us the day before the scheduled visit to push us back 6 weeks. When that date finally got close, nobody bothered to contact us. Finally I called the day before the new visit date to confirm the visit. I was transferred to a manager who then told me the company had decided that my location was too far away to provide service. That should have been stated before the first visit was scheduled. It should have been stated before pushing us back 6 weeks for NOTHING. Very unprofessional. That lack of communication has delayed my very necessary home repairs.

Description of Work
Fix cracks in basement wall and install French drain

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Work Completed On 10/10/2018

5.0

09/10/2018


Sherry B.

Salesman was very accommodating and arranged a quick installation as the house was on the market already. Installers arrived promptly and worked quickly and efficiently. Work foreman was very easy to work with and took the time to explain everything. Work was finished in a timely manner. Work area was left clean. Two calls to the service dept. a couple of weeks later have gone unanswered. My C rating on responsiveness is a combination of an A for the sales rep and an F for the service dept.

Description of Work
Installed french drains and moisture barrier walls.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2018

2.0

08/31/2018


Andrew I.

The initial meeting in July for a quote with Dave was very professional. Their price for the proposed repair was very competitive. Due to the impressions I had with BWN with this initial meeting, I went ahead and scheduled the repair for a date at the end of August. I received a call the day before my scheduled date that my repair will have to be rescheduled for 8AM the next day. Although this was an inconvenience since I already took off of work to be home during the repair, I agreed to it. The next morning, 9AM came and went, and BWN was not present. There were no phone calls made that BWN was going to be late. I had to call BWN at 9AM to find out when they would be present to start the work. They told me they were caught up at another worksite, and would be at my house at 11:30AM. 12:00 noon then came and went, and still neither a sign of BWN at my house nor a phone call to let me know they were going to be late once more. I called BWN again and they told me they would be at my house at 1:30PM. Finally BWN shows up at my house around 2:00PM, 6 hours after the scheduled time. They then notify me that the scope of work was greater than they anticipated and that an extra worker would be needed. Accordingly they concluded that they would need to reschedule my repair. However, the next available date for my repair will be in a little over 2 weeks! This entire scheduling process has been extremle unprofessional. BWN will keep pushing you back on their schedule at their convenience, not yours, failing to live up to their initial promises. In addition, there is a lack of communication and punctuality on days of scheduled work. If other companies I initially gathered quotes from were not already booked up farther in the calendar than BWN, I'd have elected to go with them to not deal with this unprofessionalism. Save yourself the stress. Go with another company.

Description of Work
Basement leak repair

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2018

5.0

08/24/2018


Linda S.

We found Basement Waterproofing Nationwide to be highly ethical and very knowledgeable. A little over a year ago we had BWN perform some basement waterproofing. We were delighted with the work and the options presented to us as well as the speed with which it was done. This summer during the very heavy rains, we had some water seep into the basement so we called for an evaluation. As it turned out, the rebuild contractors (which we had opted to contract with a lower price provider vs. using subs hired by BWN) never communicated to us that the newly installed sump pump required an electrician and that it was not hooked up. This house is inhabited by tenants and we are not in the same state, so it's hard to tell where the communication breakdown occurred. Basement Waterproofing Nationwide's service rep however was extremely professional and helpful in delivering this bad news. He also checked and was able to confirm that the waterproofing was still good. He made a few suggestions like letting us know that he noticed where the drywall had been replaced that the outlet plates were never reinstalled. I also had some questions about the contract and he was very helpful and had the office fax me the pertinent info that same day. Lesson learned for me was that it would probably have been better to let BWN hire the contractors for the rebuild esp when you are out of town and unable to oversee. When there are heavy rains in the area like Baltimore had in July, it might take a few days for them to process the volume of calls especially if the nature of your request is minor. But they do respond. They are extremely professional and they stand behind their work.

Description of Work
Find source of water seeping in basement

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2018

1.0

04/09/2018


Blaire J.

The gentleman he was suppose to be giving us an estimate gave me the run around for three days. Never ever again

Description of Work
They were suppose to come give me a estimate

Category basement waterproofing

Work Completed On 04/09/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], I'm sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience with an individual or company that came out to see you, but I can say with certainty that it wasn't us here at BWN. We keep extensive records of every inspection we give, and we don't have any records of any of our inspectors coming out to see you at the address, date, and name you provided in this review. I would certainly love to speak with you regarding the matter and see how we can help you resolve your basement issue. Please give me a call at 410-679-2000. Thanks [Member Name Removed]! Matt Taylor Basement Waterproofing Nationwide
5.0

03/20/2018


Mike T.

The folks at bwn.com were genuine and down to earth From the salesman to the engineers. I had a leak in two places at the front of my basement. BWN came out and worked on March 2, 2018. I remember the day because we had 60-70 MPH WINDS and it poured. They arrived promptly and completed the job close to 1 pm. The final price was a blessing. I'm glad that I took the time to research the waterproofing companies in my area. I STILL HAVE THE BWN.COM sign up in my front yard

Description of Work
Seal My Front Wall Below Ground Level

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Cost $2,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your words. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the work that was completed! Enjoy your dry basement! Matt Taylor Client Relationship Administrator Basement Waterproofing Nationwide
5.0

01/04/2018


Brian G.

Very well. I am extremely pleased with the entire experience with BWN.

Description of Work
Crawl space encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $3,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thanks so much for your great review and for taking the time to meet with me. We certainly do appreciate and value you as a customer. If you ever need anything in the future, I hope you will keep us in mind! Enjoy your warm crawlspace! Matt Taylor Client Relationship Administrator Basement Waterproofing Nationwide
5.0

10/25/2017


Alison O.

It went very well and was completed on time as quoted.

Description of Work
Three rooms were excavated to a depth of 18 inches to place plastic tubing then concrete poured, sump pump installed. Dry wall removed prior to the waterproofing.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thanks so much for your great review. We are so happy that you are satisfied with the work that was completed and enjoyed working with you. Enjoy your dry basement! Matt Taylor Client Relationship Administrator Basement Waterproofing Nationwide
5.0

10/13/2017


Leslie W.

Went great; the crew was here for about 3-4 hours; very professional; very neat! I would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Basement of our 100+ year old house was originally waterproofed in 1994. We bought the house in '96 and the lifetime warranty conveyed. After some heavy recent rains the cellar did take in some water. I called, not even sure if they were still in business, and they sent someone out, he said they could do some tweaks and install some additional barriers on the walls (technically not under the warranty but did not charge us for this service!)

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased that you are pleased with our company and your experience. I appreciate your patience and understanding while we made the necessary adjustments. Steve Taylor President Basement Waterproofing Nationwide
1.0

10/13/2017


Judy S.

Not going great since 2 months later and several attempts to get my credit card refunded, they have yet to do it. This refund should have been taken care of on August 25th when I called and cancelled. I don't know how their service would have been for the work.

Description of Work
I signed a contract to have a basement waterproofed in August 23 2017. Within the contract terms, I had 3 days to to cancel this transaction. I exercised that option and cancelled the contract and selected another contractor. They charged my credit card for the deposit and as of today, September 13, I have yet to receive that credit back on my credit card. I have emailed them several times and still no credit. Why this can only be done by one employee, is beyond me. How difficult can it be to issue a refund? They were fast to make my money.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] You are right to be disappointed with us and you are accurate in that we failed to promptly return your deposit. I assure you there was no intent to keep your money but it was simply an accounting mistake and the mistake was mine personally. I deeply regret it. I, in error, marked your deposit as having been returned when, obviously, it was not. We have spoken by phone about this and I refunded your deposit October 13th offering no defense just an apology for this unwitting error. [Member Name Removed] I offered in that call to take more steps in an effort to set this right with you and I repeat that offer. Please feel free to call me or my staff and let us know what, if anything there is we might do to make my apology more effective. I remain yours truly Steve Taylor President and Founder Basement Waterproofing Nationwide
4.0

10/05/2017


Crystal G.

Leak is now fixed. They charge a 3% fee if you use a credit card which was not discussed up front.

Description of Work
Fixing leak in basement window.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for hiring BWN for the work done at your home. We enjoyed providing a permanent solution to the problem. Mike Tilton - BWN
5.0

09/26/2017


Amanda J.

BWN did the most thorough evaluation of our property of the three companies who quoted us for the job, and they offered the best price for the work they recommended. The crew that came was punctual, courteous, thorough and very tidy. It was a great experience all around. It hasn't rained enough to put their work truly to the test yet, but I have every confidence that it is quality work.

Description of Work
Had drainage and a sump pump installed in our basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2017