Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820

Founded 1978 • With Angi since March 2005

3.6

(126) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8800 Kelso Dr

Baltimore, MD 21221

Description

TruGreen is the nation's largest provider of lawn and landscape services. We make it easy for you by delivering customized care solutions that are effective, innovative and responsible. TruGreen® provides a full suite of tailored lawn and landscape services. From fertilization and aeration to tree

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Mary R.
1.0
03/08/2022
Would not recommend at all ... To summarize, the service was inconsistent and the cancellation process was absolute trash. Details provided below: 1) Of the approximate 9 treatments scheduled, 3-4 of them were questionable. In one case my doorbell camera recorded a service person fertilizing my lawn in under 60 seconds. No exaggeration - this includes time spent pulling the hose from the truck and replacing it. I suspected some visits had been too short, but this was confirmation. I submitted a few complaints but saw no significant change in service. 2) For the record, my lawn was still brown at the end of the summer, despite my constant watering. (It's my belief that the inconsistent service played a significant part in this result.) 3) During one visit, the service person placed the lawn marker on my neighbor's yard, leading me to conclude that he'd serviced my neighbor's lawn instead of mine. 4) When someone came to aerate the lawn (one of the services I was most interested in), there were clumps of dirt left in my front and back lawns. I'd researched the aeration process previously, so I had been aware that digging was involved, but I wasn't prepared to have to remove the dirt covering the entire area. It might not have been such a big deal if I was warned or if there hadn't already been ongoing issues with the service. 5) Finally, the cancellation process is absolutely horrible. I originally called to cancel in November 2021 when the services for which I'd prepaid were complete. The agent I spoke with asked if I wanted someone to come out for a complimentary service and I told her they could do that, but I was still interested in cancelling. I asked her several times if I needed to do anything else to cancel and she said "no." Fast forward to March 2022 and I received a text that I had a service appointment coming up. Apparently, if you agree to have the free service even after cancelling, you essentially give them permission to keep your account open. Also, when you call to cancel, they don't do it right away. They make you wait to be contacted by a different agent. I had to do this process twice as I somehow lost connection with the first agent before she could confirm my cancellation. This meant I had to call back and do the cancellation process again with another agent. I wouldn't have insisted except TrueGreen's fine print instructs customers to receive a confirmation number when cancelling.
Description of Work
Various lawn treatments and weed elimination
Category
lawn treatment
Andrea M.
1.0
01/03/2022
Absolute worst service ever. Destroyers our lawn and looks 1000 times worse than before we started. Machines put gouges in our hills and we have more weeds, never reduced the bugs in our yard at all and our flower beds and bushes have weeds growing everywhere. The customer service was despicable and never on time. Do not waste any money with them you will pay more to fix their damage and get no results at all. It is a dreadful company. And horribly run with terrible management
Description of Work
Lawn weeds, flower bed weeds, bug control
Category
pest control, landscaping, lawn treatment
John O.
5.0
07/28/2017
I've had good experience with TruGreen. They come about once a month. They provide the service as expected.
Description of Work
Mosquito service.
Category
pest control
John O.
5.0
07/28/2017
I started using them because they were highly rated.
Description of Work
Fertilization and bug needs.
Category
pest control, lawn treatment
Anthony C.
5.0
06/06/2017
I used them at my previous house and now at my current house. I love them. They are very good. They are on time, they are prompt. They let me know in advance when they are coming. They are a good company. They are excellent. Very responsive. They always come on the day they say they are going to.
Description of Work
They do a lot for us. They fertilize the lawn. They put the crabgrass stuff down, put pest control down in June and July. In the fall I usually have them aerate and over seed the lawn. They also spray the bushes for insects and fertilize the bushes. Basically, total lawn care.
Category
pest control, lawn treatment
John C.
5.0
06/05/2017
It was wonderful. We have had them for a number of years.
Description of Work
.
Category
lawn service
GEORGE N.
4.0
06/03/2017
They are fine. They try to push extra services that can run the cost up. If i have concerns they are here with in 24 hours to take care of them.
Description of Work
They do basic lawn service, fertilization and weed control. They also did grub control.
Category
lawn treatment
Dennis D.
3.0
05/11/2017
Used their service for a number of years. They were never able to get my lawn looking that much better than my neighbors', who never seeded, fertilized, etc.
Description of Work
Lawn seeding and fertilizing
Category
lawn treatment
Scott B R.
5.0
04/12/2017
It takes them 20 minutes to do the work. There is one person that comes to do the work. There basically isn't anyone else to use.
Description of Work
.
Category
landscaping
Kathleen A B.
3.0
02/01/2017
Came in Spring, and Summer, and in fall I cancelled them. I didn't dislike, and I did not see any difference in the trees. They were always nice and punctual. I just did not see any difference, and when you pay for an service, you expect to see an difference. My trees are on their own. I would use again, not for the tree service.
Description of Work
Tree service. They were suppose to spray for bugs, and fertilize for that.
Category
tree service
Frederick J.
5.0
01/03/2017
They come when they say they are going to come and they do all the treatments they say they are going to do. They told me I won’t see a difference in the lawn until the spring. I have a whole lot less weeds and that is excellent.
Description of Work
They got rid of the weeds. I can see right away that the weeds are gone and they reseeded the lawn. I have had any problems with them.
Category
lawn treatment
Kathy M.
4.0
10/31/2016
The yard looked pretty good but never got as plush as I wanted. Hopefully it will thicken up for year two.
Description of Work
New lawn required maintenance.
Category
lawn treatment
David N.
3.0
07/13/2016
The prices are not very competitive. My experience could be improved by providing quality services at competitive prices.
Description of Work
They provide lawn weed and feed services.
Category
lawn service
Rick S.
1.0
06/30/2016
Unbelievable. That's the word to describe the promises the TruGreen salesperson who comes to your door. What a sad state of affairs. I feel it is my civic responsiblity to warn fellow consumers. I'm not sure what the mix of chemicals that they applied to my lawn and separately to my trees but the results were negligable at best on the lawn and damaging to the the trees under separate contracts. When I reported these problems, I was promised that they would remedy the problem. All of the previously flourishing pachysandra under the trees treated died. They sent their "expert" out who commiserated on the damage and concurred on the diagnosis. Several of the trees needed to be removed and replaced. I was also assured that the invoice for two applications would be deleted from the account. I subsequently started receiving harrassing calls from their "collections" department. I told the story over and over to each, and none of the escalated "supervisors" were sympathetic. I had originally agreed to retain their services on the lawn application as there were no pernicious effects to the turf. The customer service abuse forced my hand and I cancelled that service. Since I prepaid, I asked for a refund, less what they believed I was owed. I am a college professor who is wasting valuable research time on these calls. If I had the time I would do the lawn care myself. I wish I had my time back from fighting with TruGreen. Do yourself a favor. Don't fall for their door-to-door sales pitch. I discovered too late that most the neighbors they claimed has signed up, we're also tricked into believing the pitch and soon cancelled as well.
Description of Work
Unbelievable. That's the word to describe the promises the TruGreen salesperson who comes to your door. What a sad state of affairs. I feel it is my civic responsiblity to warn fellow consumers. I'm not sure what the mix of chemicals that they applied to my lawn and separately to my trees but the results were negligable at best on the lawn and damaging to the the trees under separate contracts. When I reported these problems, I was promised that they would remedy the problem. All of the previously flourishing pachysandra under the trees treated died. They sent their "expert" out who commiserated on the damage and concurred on the diagnosis. Several of the trees needed to be removed and replaced. I was also assured that the invoice for two applications would be deleted from the account. I subsequently started receiving harrassing calls from their "collections" department. I told the story over and over to each, and none of the escalated "supervisors" were sympathetic. I had originally agreed to retain their services on the lawn application as there were no pernicious effects to the turf. The customer service abuse forced my hand and I cancelled that service. Since I prepaid, I asked for a refund, less what they believed I was owed. I am a college professor who is wasting valuable research time on these calls. If I had the time I would do the lawn care myself. I wish I had my time back from fighting with TruGreen. Do yourself a favor. Don't fall for their door-to-door sales pitch. I discovered too late that most the neighbors they claimed has signed up, we're also tricked into believing the pitch and soon cancelled as well.
Category
lawn treatment, tree service
Michael W.
2.0
04/21/2016
This is my second season using Trugreen. I picked this company over others because of the customer satisfaction guarantee. I've had to call twice last season to be re-serviced. This year I figured I would give Trugreen one last shot and I am extremely frustrated and unsatisfied. My lawn has thistle, dandelions, and some other type of weed, how is this possible when I followed all of the recommended services? Not to mention the amount of patches I have in my backyard is absurd, you can see I paid to get my lawn aerated in the fall and had to call back to get it done again because the previous technician barely pentrated the soil. I was also told that my grass would have a uniformed color; my grass has three different colors. My family spends a lot of time in my backyard hosting parties and my lawn looks like I neglect it. I think what bothers me the most is that your technicians come to my home to provide a mediocre service and don't leave personalized recommendations or provide feedback. If they are trained they should beable to identify there is an issue. I would like to hear something back as to what can be done to remedy this concern.
Description of Work
Aeration and over seeding. Pre emergent treatment.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Cheryl H.
3.0
04/01/2016
I was using TruGreen lawn service to treat my grass. They were here last September 2015. It was $86 per treatment. They said it was pet friendly but I believe it gave my pets allergies. They could have not lead me to believe that it was pet friendly. I wouldn't tell a friend about them. It depends on if the friends had pets or not.
Description of Work
They did lawn treatment service.
Category
lawn treatment
Ulysses K.
4.0
11/17/2015
I don't know how much the service costs, my husband pays all that.We have a long standing contract with them and they do everything. They do okay with the quality.
Description of Work
We use TruGreen
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Barbara H.
3.0
05/11/2015
That's a bad story. Tried to repair it and the bare spots are still there. I have actually rehired them and I am paying more attention this time.
Description of Work
Lawn fertilization and treatment. Dropped a load of chemicals and burned my grass.
Category
lawn treatment
Wendy B.
1.0
05/11/2015
Signed up for service at my home. Technician was supposed to arrive on a Wednesday. He never showed up. I called that evening after work and was informed my appointment was rescheduled for Saturday. I waited all day Saturday and the technician still never showed up. I have never received a phone call from them or any explanation. I am now trying to cancel their services so I can find someone more reliable but I am getting a run around on refund. I paid them in full with a credit card for a full years worth of services to take advantage of their discount. They charged my card immediately. But they are trying to make me wait 7 business days for a refund. NOT ACCEPTABLE!!! HORRIBLE customer service.
Description of Work
NOTHING. They NEVER showed up.
Category
lawn treatment
S H.
2.0
02/19/2015
Canceled service and owed a refund. Only paid me for a portion of the refund. Tried several times to resolve the issue with no luck. Probably will have to resolve this in small claims court.
Description of Work
Agressive sales and attempts to prevent discontinue. Paid in advance then cancelled a service. Still don't have refund. Did not respond to several requests for an account review. Parts of my lawn died after (over?) treatment.
Category
lawn service
James P.
5.0
12/27/2014
They come out once a month during lawn season. They do the whole entire yard in 15 minutes. I have no unexpected issues with them.
Description of Work
I use Tru Green.
Category
lawn treatment
LEI S.
5.0
11/17/2014
They did a pretty good job. This is the first time I used them. It looks pretty good. Every time before they come they just make a phone call and tell me when they will come.
Description of Work
Weed control stuff.
Category
lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing us to serve you and for you important feedback. We greatly appreciate you as a valued TruGreen customer! If you need our assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. Thank you again, and have a great day!!!
Janice B.
4.0
09/22/2014
They are nice, courteous, and dependable. They do a good job, and they are dependable. Our grass and trees usually looks pretty good.
Description of Work
We use TruGreen.
Category
lawn service
Sharyn S.
3.0
07/29/2014
I was EXTREMELY displeased after my lawn service on July 1, broadleaf weed control, which killed large patches of grass, several of my blueberry bushes, a raspberry bush, and perennials and annuals in one flower bed. I don't know whether fertilizer for the grass was also applied, possibly accounting for the grass browning. I called to complain and was told a manager would contact me within 3 days; Instead, 2 days later a young man came by to "reapply my service". I told him I did not want further chemicals, I wanted my damaged plants replaced. He took pictures on his cell phone and said he would file a report with his manager after his route, and someone would contact me. After no call for another week, I called to cancel my services and get a prorated refund of my prepaid yearly fee. Again, I was requested to not cancel until a manager would come out, within 3 days. This most recent call was the 2nd appearance in which I was expecting a manager coming to assess, adjust and advise. James, the young man sent, had only been working for TruGreen for only four (4) weeks. Immediately after his visit, I called Customer Service and was told that neither of the two employees who had spoken to me, the one who had taken my phone complaint and the one who had come out to reapply, had actually forwarded their contact information to my home branch management. Your internal communications and follow-up customer contact are severely lacking. While my trees and shrubs have responded well to your prior service applications, my lawn looks worse now than it did when I signed up with TruGreen a year and a half ago. And I have lost landscaping and berry bushes. You have fallen below my expectations in results, service and communications. I could have achieved better results personally at far lower cost.
Description of Work
Broadleaf weed control.
Category
lawn service
Robert C.
4.0
07/09/2014
It was not excellent but good. I had to call them to come around; they came on schedule.
Description of Work
Trugreen did gas control; fertilizing and everything.
Category
lawn service

    Other local Pros in your area

    American Lawn Specialists, Inc.

    American Lawn and Tree Specialists, Inc. is a locally owned & operated company committed to providing the very best lawn care and ornamental tree/shrub care service to its customers. With over 27 years of experience, we offer free estimates where we can come out and evaluate your lawn and landscape. This is our basis so that we may provide you the service your lawn and landscape needs. Our Organic Based Lawn Care Program is proven in getting your lawn to its potential. Contact us today so we can get started improving your lawn.  

    Angi Certified

    AZALEAS TO ZINNIAS

    Kyle Hodges, the owner and sole proprietor of Azaleas to Zinnias, has been affiliated with the company for nearly 15 years. Throughout those years he has developed a wide-based knowledge of everything from plants, plant and hardscape design, natural stonework, pavers and water features, just to name a few, through avenues not limited to hands-on and in-class training. He strives hard to incorporate our clients' wants and needs into designs, as well as educate and guide clients to choices best suited to their individual properties. His enthusiasm for developing long-term client relationships really shows. Richard Wike, the founder of Azlaeas to Zinnias, started the company in 1989 and now works as a consultant. We are experienced in all phases of garden design, installation, lighting, hardscapes, maintenance, and container plantings. No project is too small, and the attention to detail and customer wishes are evident in all our work. Succession of color of flowers, foliage and textures is an important feature that we incorporate to make our gardens unique. In addition, we like to form a collaborative relationship with a client that can last years through garden transitions and changes. We love what we do ...And it shows!  

    Angi Certified

    PestNow LLC

    The PestNow brand was originally founded in Virginia in 1995 as Superior Pest Management when four high school friends (Tony Bowers, Frank Bowers, Mark Tatum, and Joe Hamilton) came together to form their own company. With each of them bringing different work experience and education backgrounds to the company, they felt they could work together and use each other's strength to build a successful business. Since Virginia is one of the country's largest Real Estate markets in the country, they decided to start their business off with the WDI Report and approached realtors. With their goal of providing a high volume of inspections, they were able to offer their services at a low price. Low pricing, knowledgeable inspectors, and the ease of doing business with Superior led the owners to expand to other areas and open additional branches. With business exceeding expectations, Tony, Frank, Mark, and Joe decided they wanted to expand further and brought in Rusty Markland as their Operations Manager. With Rusty being long-time industry specialist, they are able to provide additional support to all of their branches; as well as make use of his years of experience to further improve the business. Now, in 2010 with demand for services continuing to increase and an impressive support system in place, the long-time friends knew it was time to implement a plan to broaden PestNow's reach and identified franchising as the best method to do that. By enlisting the help of franchisees to expand on the company's success, PestNow continues to build upon its reputation. Through franchising, they will be able to offer individuals the same opportunity they've enjoyed throughout the years- the ability to operate a fun, fulfilling, and profitable business while at the same time expanding the PestNow family to locales throughout the nation.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Lawn, fertilization, broad leaf weed control, crabgrass & annual weed prevention, insect, grub control, tree, shrub care & pest control.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820

    How is TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820 overall rated?

    TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820 is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820 open?

    TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820 is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    Does TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820 offer free estimates?

    Yes, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820 offers free project estimates.

    Does TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820 offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820 does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820?

    Yes, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820 offers warranties.

    What services does TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820 offer?

    TruGreen Lawn Care - 5820 offers the following services: Lawn, fertilization, broad leaf weed control, crabgrass & annual weed prevention, insect, grub control, tree, shrub care & pest control.