Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

GreenTrax

Founded 1982 • With Angi since October 2006

4.8

(36) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6924 Fort Smallwood Rd

Baltimore, MD 21226

Description

We have been in business since 1982, we are a family owned & run business. We have been in the the fuel tank & environmental & heating oil tank business for 30 years. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/22/2019


Elizabeth M.

We had a lot of emails and calls to determine the best tank replacement and the exact dimensions. The old tank was inside and there were several sets of narrow doors that had to be navigated to bring in the new tank. The crew finished in a half day and did a neat job transferring the oil in the old tank to the new, and in replacing pipes and fittings.

Description of Work
Install a new home heating oil tank and removal of old one inside the hom.e

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/16/2019


Bonny S.

I am happy to respond that I am very satisfied with GreeTrax as they did a very good job extracting my 1000 gallon oil tank and installing an above ground tank. They were very efficient and highly coordinated with all the necessary equipment. The complex job was finished in about 2 hours with little disruption to landscaping. I was extremely impressed

Description of Work
Removing old underground oil tank and installing above ground tsnk

Category excavators, heating oil companies

5.0

09/12/2019


A T.

My parents who are in their 80's had a buried oil tank that was not sending oil to the burner, and we called GreenTrax. They did an amazing job - responsive, professional and great customer service. The crew arrived and diagnosed the issue as a leaking oil tank and immediately took action to resolve the issue, including notification and filing the necessary paperwork to conduct an environmental cleanup. They dug out the contaminated soil, hauled it away for proper disposal and backfilled the hole. They also installed a new above ground oil tank so that the oil burner could work again. They kept my parents and me informed throughout the process - true professionals and I recommend them highly!

Description of Work
Replace a buried leaking oil tank

Category excavators, pavers, gravel, heating oil companies

5.0

03/31/2019


Andrew D.

Experience was great. Tank was located in the garage and was easily accessible. Quote was done over the phone plus a price per gallon for fuel removed. Appointment was scheduled. A week prior to the appointment, Greentrax called an said they had an opening and would be willing to have the work done sooner. We agreed. They came in drained the oil (about 70 gallons), removed the tank, closed off the existing plumbing and cleaned up. Great experience

Description of Work
Remove above ground oil tank and recycle remaining fuel oil

Category heating oil companies

5.0

03/21/2019


Stephan O.

excellent... they were fast efficient and the initial price quoted was the final price. they cleaned up after themselves as promised... they are a 10 out of 10... highly recommend.

Description of Work
Oil tank removal

Category excavators

5.0

01/19/2018


Louise H.

It was a pleasure working with this company. The BEST part about Greentrax is their proposal. It is thorough and complete listing EXACTLY what work will be done and any extras the customer has requested. I contacted 6 contractors for this job and each of the other 5 contractors sent me a proposal with about 5 lines. Kelly, the Office Administrative Assistant, send emails confirming everything = so you know what is going on at all times. She will also research questions for you and get back to you with the answer -timely. First, on the initial call, I asked if the old oil tank could be removed and that I have time to insulate under the back porch and paint (I wanted to hand paint the new oil tank) the new oil tank. The tank is 300 pounds and the fellow who came that on the "remove old oil tank and bring new oil tank and place on patio" day showed me the best way to position the tank and how to rotate it so all sides could be painted (he also attached the legs so they could be painted at the same time. I hired a local young man with lots of muscles to actually drop and lift the tank. The "lentils" (the cement pieces that go under the tank to make sure the tank stays LEVEL were also dropped off on that day. I paid for part of the job. Old tank removal /new tank drop off was on Oct 16, 2017. Kelly explained the sludge charge and assured me that all sludge is being handled according to regulations and in a way that protects the environment. PS. One of the other people who came out for an estimate told me that he would "cut the tank open and burn off the remaining oil". Since I am interested in environmental issues, I wanted to MAKE SURE that my job was handled in an environmentally sensitive way. I had a personal problem that tied up my schedule for 6 weeks, then the weather changed so I could not finish the under the porch work timely. When I called in late December 2017, the office was off for a week between Christmas and New Years and I got an early January installation appointment. The installation went smoothly. The job looks great. Greentrax honored the $2.00 / gallon price given to me in August or Sept 2017 - even though the price of oil has risen since then. The new oil filter for the new oil tank was suggested by the first guy that came to remove the old oil tank. It slipped both his mind and my mind that I wanted the new oil filter too. I called ON THE DAY OF THE INSTALLATION, told Kelly about the oversight. I agreed to the price and the new oil filter was installed = NO PROBLEM = the oil filter was picked up on the way to my job. In the picture, an orange covering is over the copper wire. As you can tell I am a very fussy woman. All Greentrax employees understood that I wanted to understand the process and make my own decision about what is best for my situation. At ALL junctures when a problem could have arose, none did. I whole heartedly recommend Greentrax. I also suggest that you paint the oil tank yourself. THE BEST PAINT is with Rust Scat, Polyurethane Enamel OIL BASE Black GLOSS. Purchase this paint (about $50.00/ gallon) at Budeke's Paint, 418 S Broadway, Baltimore, MD 21231 . It is a COMMERICAL level painted used on bridges, has UV protection, and is HIGHLY Rated = brush application is better than roller. = 2 coats recommended and scuff first coat so second coat will adhere to the first coat. Read can instructions for the grade of sand paper to use. USE A RESPIRATOR WHEN USING THIS PAINT OUTDOORS. I did not and got sick for a couple of days; no problem after I put the respirator on (I do not like the way they feel on my face, so I only use a face mask or a respirator when absolutely necessary = it is necessary with this paint). The other hint from Husky Oil company = FILL YOUR OIL TANK AT THE END OF THE HEATING SEASON (APRIL OR MAY) to prevent condensation on the inside of your oil tank. Oil tanks rust from the inside out. Painting with good paint AND fill oil tank each year in April or May will protect your oil tank for years to come. I know that the additional research I did and the paint I used to protect the outside of the tank is going to extend the life of my oil tank for more than the 10 years warranty. The job looks great and I could not be more pleased.

Description of Work
Remove old oil tank, properly dispose of sludge, install new oil tank and filter

Category excavators, heating oil companies

5.0

07/07/2017


Diane S.

They were on time, they explained everything and they were very respectful and took care of anything that was disturbed. I would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
I had a buried oil tank that needed to be abandoned and a new one installed.

Category excavators, heating oil companies

5.0

06/16/2017


Jackie P.

Greentrax handled everything! The process was made so easy and they executed everything seamlessly! Really great service.

Description of Work
Removal of underground oil tank

Category excavators

5.0

06/14/2017


KC P.

They are honest and very professional. Since the oil tank was leaking, it ended up costing more than estimated -- which they had told me would be a possibility. They also told me that State of MD Dept of Environment would cover most of the cost for the clean up. They filled out and State of MD paperwork for my refund and processed it. I needed to fill out my portion of it and they followed through to ensure I had completed it and sent it back to them.

Description of Work
GreenTrax Inc. was very professional from beginning to end. I needed to have an Underground Oil Tank removed and the hole filled in with dirt. It turned out that the Oil Tank was leaking.

Category excavators, heating oil companies

5.0

05/31/2017


Don F.

The project went extremely well considering the amount of soil that had to be removed and disposed of. There was minimal disruption to the surrounding areas, and the work was done quickly and efficiently. GreenTrax handled all the regulatory, inspection, and testing work with MDE and subsequent paperwork, and as the work progressed, we were kept fully informed of progress, state testing requirements, etc.

Description of Work
We had to have a buried oil tank removed, and as it turned out, there was a lot of contaminated soil because the tank had been leaking for years. That soil, more than 50 tons, had to be removed and disposed of off-site. Afterward, clean fill had to be brought in to fill the hole, and the surface area restored to pre-dig levels.

Category excavators

5.0

05/30/2017


Dan G.

Given the tough situation of having a leaking oil tank that caused the initial estimated costs to skyrocket, Greentrax was great. They explained everything to me and walked me through timing/process and the required regulations. They also gave me the info on a refund program that the state sponsors that is going to allow me to recoup nearly all of my out of pocket expenses.

Description of Work
Greentrax removed a 1,000 Gallon tank that was buried on my property. They found a leak in the tank and handled the entire remediation/reporting/coordination with the County and also filed for my MDE refund on my behalf.

Category excavators, heating oil companies

5.0

05/28/2017


J R.

The job went well. Greentrax was professional in their work and took care of all the necessary paperwork and agency notifications.

Description of Work
Removal of an underground fuel oil tank and the surrounding soil to capture contaminated soil.

Category excavators

5.0

05/27/2017


James H.

Excellent! The team arrived promptly as scheduled and performed the work efficiently and professionally. They satisfactorily answered all the home owners many concerns both during the tank removal and the installations of the new equipment. After the work was completed the job site was neatly returned to its original state. Also, the billing and administrative work was performed in a very friendly and expeditious manner by the office personnel.

Description of Work
Removal of underground oil tank and indoor installation of new oil tank

Category heating oil companies

5.0

05/26/2017


John P.

GreenTrax provided us with a detailed proposal outlining the scope of their work with quantities and materials so we knew they understood the job well. We had a narrow window to complete the job and GreenTrax delivered on time with the right equipment, personnel and communication. I look forward to using them again.

Description of Work
We hired GreenTrax to help make improvements to a historic reflecting pool on our campus at St. John's College in Annapolis. Over the years the refelcting pool, designed by a prominent architect of the day, had fallen into disrepair and no longer held water. Our design was to fill in the pool with topsoil and new sod to enhance the appearance. GreenTrax's work included concrete demolition, drainage, topsoil installation and new exposed aggregate concrete.

Category concrete repair, excavators, mulch

4.0

05/26/2017


Becki W.

Very well. They were extremely helpful throughout the process.

Description of Work
Contaminated soil removed

Category excavators

5.0

05/25/2017


Kristen R.

We were very impressed by their service and professionalism. Their staff showed up in a timely manner, and they completed the job very quickly. We would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Greentrax replaced several old heating oil tanks with newer tanks.

Category excavators

5.0

05/25/2017


Shannon M.

The situation could not of been worse as the tank was under our A/C unit and beside our house. They handled it with such a professional nature and were the only positive aspect of our difficult situation.

Description of Work
We needed to have a buried oil tank that was leaking removed and 20 tons of contaminated dirt removed and disposed of. They took care of all of it and were extremely professional and made a difficult situation as seamless as possible.

Category excavators

5.0

05/25/2017


Valerie C.

The company was knowledgeable and professional from start to finish. The price they quoted was not necessarily the least expensive, but after comparing quotes it was obvious their price included options that the competitors did not. The work was completed in less than a day. The paperwork provided was thorough and easy to understand. I would absolutely recommend them to my friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
Heating Oil Storage Tank Removal

Category excavators, heating oil companies

5.0

05/25/2017


Valerie C.

The company was knowledgeable and professional from start to finish. The price they quoted was not necessarily the least expensive, but after comparing quotes it was obvious their price included options that the competitors did not. The work was completed in less than a day. The paperwork provided was thorough and easy to understand. I would absolutely recommend them to my friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
Heating oil storage tank removal.

Category excavators, heating oil companies

5.0

05/25/2017


Kimberly V.

Professional and responsive the process. Tank removed, disposed of and area cleaned, leveled and seeded. Great company!

Description of Work
Removal of oil heating oil tank. Professional and responsive throughout the process. Tank removed, disposed of and area cleaned, leveled and seeded. Great company!

Category excavators

1.0

05/19/2017


Jenny C.

I could never recommend this company in good conscious to anyone for any reason whatsoever. A $3,500 job ballooned to $9,850 when they found out I needed to go to settlement on my house. They threaten to make me miss my settlement if I didn't agree. Signed under duress.

Description of Work
Abandoned an underground oil tank. $3,500 estimates. Job turned out to be less involved and should have cost less about $2,500.

Category excavators

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately this is just not true. We did the very best we could for this customer and the realtor and the home buyer involved in this transaction were very happy. The customer was not happy from the beginning because she was selling the house and a condition of the sale was to remove the underground tank (if one existed) and she did not want to spend any money. Customer could not give us any details of the job (and nothing was visible or able to be found onsite) before we had to give her an estimate. She could not tell us where the buried oil tank was, the size of the tank, how old it was, if it still had oil in it or not or if there was even a tank there below ground. She expected us to give her an exact firm price with absolutely no details of what we were going to be doing. That was not very realistic. She was very unreasonable the entire time because her expectations of the cost and for how difficult her job was were very unrealistic. Customer also requested our company to perform several things that were not legal and that were against the inspectors requirements. (Such as she wanted us to dump 600 gallons of oil and contaminated water out onto the ground to run in the bay storm drain instead of hauling it away and disposing of it properly.) After a buried tank was found under her house, customer was free to hire someone else if she didn't like our price. We treated her fairly and gave her a fair price. We never take advantage of customers and have a great reputation in the industry. This customer thought she knew what the job should cost but had no idea of actual costs involved. Customer thinks job should have cost less than $2500 however just the cost of all of the Maryland Dept. of the Environment REQUIRED materials needed to complete the job were more that what she thought the entire job should cost. On a scale of 1 to 10 of how difficult this job was to complete, this was a 15. We had to obtain 3 permits for the job including closing the [Member Information Removed] where the property was located to perform the work. Two city inspectors and 1 state inspector said we were doing a good job and all other parties involved with this deal thought we did a good job including customer's fiance who actually was outside onsite during the work. The customer said she thinks job turned out be less involved? But it was actually way more involved. The other estimates she obtained were from UNLICENSED people or from someone who never came out to the job to see what we were up against, it was a phone estimate.The truth is that we bent over backwards and went above and beyond to help this client and she was never even outside during the three days of work onsite to see how difficult the job was and what we were doing. But we completed it on time for settlement and did a very good job. It was a fair price for how difficult the job was. Customer lists total job cost in review which is not correct. And we even gave her a discount in the end. Customer's review did not complain at all about our work, our workers or office staff or the job we did onsite because all of that was high quality. Customer was not happy about price, and she just has no experience in removing or abandoning underground oil tanks and was not realistic about the actual cost of the project. We are very sorry she is not happy and we tried and tried to make her happy and she was free to hire someone else. But inspector told her the other company was not licensed and the home buyer and realtor were adamant about using our company because they know we perform quality work the proper way per code. If any potential customers read this review, we ask you give no weight to this customers review and are welcome to call us for details and ask about this job.
5.0

12/08/2015


Damon N.

The crew that came out were extremely professional and courteous, each one introduced themselves before work started. The crew leader went over every detail of what was going to happen before the work started to verify their was no miscommunications. I watched them through out the day, and they meticulously checked to ensure the grading was correct after every step. After the job was complete, they swept and picked up everything, and if it wasnt for the freshly installed sand, you would have never known they were here. Very pleased with the work, and will definitely be contacting them in the future for additional work.

Description of Work
Dug out a 24 x 20 parking pad at the end of my driveway, and installed 6 inches of cr6 base and installed an inch of sand for upcoming paver installation.

Category excavators

5.0

08/25/2015


Oliver H.

Within one week of settlement on our home, GreenTrax was contacted to perform the work described. We were fearful that the work could not be completed in time for settlement to occur. GreenTrax not only did an outstanding job in performing the required work in a very short time window, they were able to quickly align the necessary subcontractors (decking, electrician) to complete the job quickly without creating any additional problems. The expense was largely attributed to the short turn around time and the amount of soil that had to be removed and replaced. This company was exceptional!

Description of Work
Partial removal of deck, removal of underground oil tank and contaminated soil, rush soil and well samples, disconnect and reconnect outside generator, restoration of grounds, restoration of deck to original specifications.

Category excavators

5.0

09/25/2014


Sylvia M.

These guys are amazing. Crew showed up promptly on time and immediately got to work. Had tank out of ground, on truck and hole filled in less tHan 2 and a half hours. Amazing to watch, true professionals. They knew exactly what they were doing. Very diligent in final clean up including planting grass seed and straw. Official closure report, complete with analytical test results, was received within 10 days. Perfect document to keep for any questions or proof that tank was remediated according to local requirements. Will keep as reference document for when we ultimately sell the house in future. I would HIGHLY recommend Green Trax to anyone considering tank removal.

Description of Work
Removed 1000 gallon underground fuel tank and detailed closure report.

Category excavators

5.0

05/14/2014


Kelly S.

The project went smoothly from start to finish. The estimator showed up for the estimate when he said he would. They were able to get my job scheduled quickly and showed up on time the day of the job. They were all very friendly and did an awesome job. I will definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
The provider supplied, delivered, and spread CR6 for the installation of a new driveway.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, excavators, driveway pavers

    Other local Pros in your area

    Brother's Waterproofing, LLC

    Here at Brothers Waterproofing, we provide foundation services such as waterproofing, structural repair, crawlspace encapsulation, piers, sump pump replacement, sub floor drain system, concrete work, and air ventilation systems. Founder John Enciu, has been in the industry for over 15 years. He has put together a team with over 50+ years of combined experience, that can strategically and effectively protect your BIGGEST investment, YOUR HOME. We offer FREE ESTIMATES, FHA/VA Certifications, and a NO PRESSURE approach! A TRANSFERABLE OWNERSHIP WARRANTY and a NO QUESTIONS ASKED service policy. We are committed to EXCELLENCE and HONESTY! CALL US NOW and see how we can help you. (888)362-4884  

    A A Action Waterproofing Inc

    AA Action offers permanent solutions to fix your leaky, moldy or flooded basement or crawlspace. Call AA Action Waterproofing, Inc to schedule your Professional Foundation Inspection 888-922-5517. What our inspection will involve is a very thorough examination of the foundation inside and out. We will explain why your foundation is leaking and what we can do to fix it permanently and provide a written estimate. This service is FREE of charge as long as we are meeting with the homeowner. We have over 30 years of experience helping homeowners in Maryland, Washington DC and Northern Virginia. We offer lifetime warranty's that are recognized and accepted as proof of a dry basement by FHA, VA, conventional lenders, and real estate professionals. Our warranty is also transferable should you sell your home. Interest Free Financing available with approved credit. We look forward to working with you.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by A A Action Waterproofing Inc on Angi
    Budget Waterproofing Inc

    Budget Waterproofing has more than 55 years of experience in servicing commercial and residential customers throughout Maryland. Our Maryland waterproofing services range from foundation crack repair to sump pump installation and crawlspace encapsulation. If you have moisture, humidity or mold problems in your basement, Budget Waterproofing is your solution. We have proven over the years that our waterproofing methods not only look good and do the job, but also last. Our technicians are well-trained and instructed to respect your home and make sure you are happy with their job. As one of the leading basement waterproofing companies in Maryland, we are confident that you will will be satisfied with our level of quality. Enjoy competitive pricing and state-of-the-art waterproofing – hundreds of satisfied homeowners already are!  

    Offers by Budget Waterproofing Inc on Angi
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating Oil Tank Removal, Abandonment & Installation. Diesel Fuel, Contaminated Soil Removal. Site-Work Grading, Fill In Pools, Excavation, Bio-Retention Ponds, Infiltration Pits, Leveling & Digging Out For Footings, Install Retaining Walls, Yard Leveling, Drain Pipes, Spreading Topsoil & Stone, Delivery Of Mulch, Stone, Sand, Topsoil

    Services Not Offered

    Heating Oil & Propane Deliveries

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about GreenTrax

    How is GreenTrax overall rated?

    GreenTrax is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are GreenTrax open?

    GreenTrax is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does GreenTrax provide

    GreenTrax accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does GreenTrax offer free estimates?

    Yes, GreenTrax offers free project estimates.

    Does GreenTrax offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, GreenTrax does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by GreenTrax?

    Yes, GreenTrax offers warranties.

    What services does GreenTrax offer?

    GreenTrax offers the following services: Heating Oil Tank Removal, Abandonment & Installation. Diesel Fuel, Contaminated Soil Removal. Site-Work Grading, Fill In Pools, Excavation, Bio-Retention Ponds, Infiltration Pits, Leveling & Digging Out For Footings, Install Retaining Walls, Yard Leveling, Drain Pipes, Spreading Topsoil & Stone, Delivery Of Mulch, Stone, Sand, Topsoil

    Are there any services GreenTrax does not offer?

    Heating Oil & Propane Deliveries