Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Elite Pools

Founded 1959 • With Angi since June 2009

4.3

(32) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

400 East Pratt Street, Suite 800

Baltimore, MD 21202

Description

Elite Pools is headquartered at 300 East Lombard Street in the historic downtown section of the inner harbor of Baltimore, Maryland. Elite Pools is a family owned and operated company that has been in business since 1959. We build both residential and commercial inground pools and spas. Currently

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/25/2020


Christina S.

The idea of putting a pool in our yard was an overwhelming proposition to say the least. Mike, the owner, and his team from Elite Pools put us at ease and made it a positive, enjoyable, and even exciting experience. Their vision for the project was spot on. Their partnership, responsiveness, and proactive approach to informing us of the path forward made us feel at ease throughout the length of the project. Mike was at our house often throughout the process to ensure everything ran smoothly. We would highly recommend Elite Pools to anyone considering a new pool, or even maintenance on an existing pool. Thank you Elite Pools for a job well done!

Description of Work
We had a pool with stunning waterfall & slide built in our yard

Category swimming pools

5.0

10/10/2019


Julie H.

Elite pools was an excellent pool contractor. The scope of the project was well defined prior to start and the company even provided feedback on where they envisioned us wanting to expand the project after beginning (which we eventually did expand to include most of their suggestions).

Description of Work
New pool and pool deck construction

Category pool cleaners, hardscaping, swimming pools

5.0

04/15/2019


k N.

Elite installed our in-ground salt water pool about 9 years ago and they did an amazing job. We worked directly with Mark and he stepped us through the entire process and helped us create the best free-form design for our space and our budget. Unfortunately, over the years, we didn't maintain the seals around the coping and water made its way under the coping stones and behind the tile causing accent tiles to pop and stones to loosen. We needed to have the coping stones reset and decided to change our accent tiles. Dustin provided a ton of tile options and did a great job managing the effort. It looks like a brand new pool.

Description of Work
Pool Tile Repair

Category ceramic tile, pool cleaners, swimming pools

5.0

03/15/2019


John B.

Elite pools were fantastic in building our in ground pool in Elkton MD. The owner took a personal interest in the pool, found a spouting crab fountain for us, and the pool is of the highest caliber and gorgeous. We are in year 3 now and the quality of construction and parts has held up admirably. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Build an in ground pool

Category ceramic tile, landscaping, pool cleaners, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, stamped concrete, swimming pools

5.0

09/21/2017


Eric G.

Amazing. Building a pool is a significant and scary endeavor, reading online and BBB reviews for pool companies seems to be an endless list of sketchy companies that miss deadlines, race to milestone payment points and then don't come back for weeks or just have horrible quality. Mike and his team at Heritage Elite exceeded our expectations at every step of our project. From the extensive work to design our pool, having our pool properly zoned with our spetic system, gaining all necessary building permits to meeting the construction schedule at every point in the project Heritage Elite was a pleasure to work with. If you are considering a pool or hardscape project I would highly recommend calling the team at Heritage Elite. We are finishing our 3rd season with the pool and transforming our backyard was the best decision we ever made and I thank Mike for making it a reality.

Description of Work
Heritage Elite pools built in in-ground pool, deck, hardscape and fire pit for my family. The pool is a 33,000 gunite, saltwater, dark bottom pool with diving rock and lounge area. They installed an extensive paver deck, walls and a firepit. All pool hardware including pump, filter, salt generator and heat pump all operating off a wireless remote / smartphone platform.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, swimming pools

3.0

06/19/2017


Greg W.

In fairness to Elite, they were picking up in the middle of a project. But they were paid accordingly. It required very detailed management on my part to stay on top of them to get the job done. My primary contact left the company during the build but oddly continued on as my POC. Once he left I had to go to the owners to get anything done. While they did eventually come through it was not without significant effort. I do believe they can do a good job, and my build was somewhat complex with the odd variables, but I struggle to give them an A or a B. A score like that would imply that I would use them again, and I'm not certain that I would.

Description of Work
Completing a pool that was started by a previous contractor that went bankrupt

Category swimming pools

Service Provider Response

Do you have a contact number? We never contracted with you and we don't have any record of receiving any payments from you. You can also call my cell phone at 410-808-6988 to discuss
5.0

07/26/2016


Peggy D.

This has been an absolutely wonderful experience. The salesman Jay Schreider was careful not to over-promise and made sure we met with the owner to clarify the details of our project. The owner, Mike Shaffrey, spent many hours with us discussing and planning the intricacies of the build before we were even under contract. We negotiated a very fair contract and have no regrets. Mike has been involved in the oversight through the entire job and always available by phone or email whenever we had questions. Mike's years of experience was invaluable when he was able to help us design a way to put 10 lbs pf stuff in a 5 lb bag. However, the one who Mike has relied upon to really pull it together on a daily basis has been Dustin. Dustin couldn't be more agreeable and attentive! He has never failed to address an issue or question in a timely manner. The professionalism and patience displayed by all has been almost shocking. A+

Description of Work
Design/Build swimming pool and landscaping

Category swimming pools

5.0

04/25/2016


Kurt B.

Initial meeting was very pleasant and the gentleman was prompt and knowledgeable. We received our quote in the time specified. It was very detailed and in accordance with what we had discussed. I appreciated some of the features that Elite offered and their general philosophy on building a pool. In the end our final selection was between Elite and one other pool builder. We chose the other builder only because of their in-house expertise on the hardscape side as our site is on a steep hill. I'm sure that Elite could have done a fine job too. I would certainly consider them for a future pool build.

Description of Work
Received estimate to build an in-ground gunite pool, decking and retaining wall.

Category pool cleaners, hardscaping, swimming pools

5.0

04/03/2016


Michele M.

It was a joy to work with Elite for the install of a custom in ground pool. They were clear on the steps of the process and allowed us to tailor the design throughout the process. They assigned a project manager and he was our primary POC for the duration. Occasionally Mike the owner would check in. They complete the entire pool within expectations.

Description of Work
Design and install a custom in ground pool

Category pool cleaners

1.0

01/19/2016


Laney H.

called in fall of 2015 and never received a call back. figured i'd try again and never received a call, again.

Description of Work
never returned calls.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Just noticed this review. Sorry we didn’t connect. You should have received a call back. Wish you the best and safety.
1.0

10/06/2015


Kevin D.

Contacted them about an estimate to build an in ground pool and never heard from them.

Description of Work
Wanted an estimate.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], We reached out to you last week and also on Friday. Please let me know the best way to reach you and I will call you immediately- Thanks- Mike
5.0

02/08/2014


Chastin F.

When we initially began working with Elite, John was our salesman. We met with him and signed the contract in February. We agreed that we wanted the work to be done in March or early April as we would be having a party for my daughter in mid May. After signing the contract, we needed to pick the coping and tile. I met him at a showroom but didn't like the selection that was there. It took about a month or so before I got to meet him at the showroom and that was only after multiple phone calls. After not finding something I liked at the showroom, it was nearly impossible to get any additional samples or options. March came and went and so did half of April. I finally was able to get some additional options and chose the tile and coping. John said the work was going to begin the third week of April. The day came and no one showed. John called and said that it would be pushed off a few days. The next scheduled start date came and went without any work beginning. Coincidentally, I had been looking for an used automatic pool cleaner. The person who I bought the pool cleaner from just happened to be having very similar work done (tile and coping) by Elite Pools, except he was dealing with Mike, the owner. He gave me Mike's number. I called Mike, who was at a work site but stopped what he was doing to listen to my concerns and hear my story. I can't begin to explain how different of an experience it was from that moment forward. Mike came to my home that Saturday to meet with my husband and I. The work began the following Tuesday (just 4 days before my daughter's party). His crews worked for 15 straight hours replacing the tile and coping and acid washing the pool. The next day he paid to have a tanker of water put in the pool. Mike takes accountability and responsibility, regardless of who "signed the job". He is professional, responsive and exacting in every detail. You can tell he cares more about doing things right by the customer than making as much money as he can. He is the original owner of the company and has seen the business grow but he still sees the importance of every customer. I have had experience with the pool business for several years before owning my own pool. I can honestly say it is really difficult to find good people who are reliable to service or repair pools because typically the demand for work is greater than those who can supply the work. Hands down, I would call Mike and Elite Pools before anyone else. I would recommend him without reservation, even considering our initial experience with one of his employees (John) was not positive.

Description of Work
Replaced tile and coping, refinished pool and converted from chlorine to saltwater.

Category ceramic tile, pool cleaners, swimming pools

5.0

01/13/2014


Duncan W.

Elite Pools is one of the few pool contractors with a license in the District of Columbia. Elite Pools installed an in-ground concrete pool, rectangular, 36'x18', with diving board. They also installed concrete decking. It was a good experience, particularly from the point of view of costs, some of which were presented a la carte. I would recommend them to others.

Description of Work
.

Category swimming pools

3.0

10/01/2013


Travis R.

Price B: All four quotes we got before committing to a pool company were approximately the same when accounting for different features they promised. Based on the quality of the end product we felt the price was worth a B. Quality C: Construction seems pretty sturdy. The pool itself looks fantastic and complements our back yard. We like the free form we created and the benches in the pool. Our complaints in this category are: and middot; The side skimmer doesn’t actually do any skimming. It’s a return pipe and the skimmer doesn’t catch anything, not sure why it was designed like this but it doesn’t suck anything in the basket. and middot; Our pool lights are flakey, they don’t stay in sync with each other all the time and we have to sometimes “trick” the system to get it to sync with it. (We have two lights and if we select “red” one side will turn red the other will be green.) and middot; There are some “stains” in the plaster that won’t come out even though the pool company stated on several occasions that once the chlorine production was stable the stains would clear up. and middot; For the entire 2012 swimming season the pool would turn green weekly because their chlorine salt water system wasn’t working properly. Complained to them several times during the season but the problem wasn’t resolved until September when they replaced a defective part. Responsiveness F: Terrible, terrible, terrible! Often they would not respond for several days. Punctuality F: Was promised the pool would be finished around Memorial Day but water wasn’t in the pool until late June. Phases weren’t completed on time and most were pushed back at least once. The salesman/workers were often late for appointments. Professionalism D: Didn’t feel like an appreciated customer, felt like just another pool to them. The Elite salesman had a great pitch in the beginning and we really felt like he was in it to make the customer happy. He described things we weren't thinking of in a pool like and quot;flow of peopleand quot; and and quot;destinationsand quot; and water features for ambient noise. We were given time to make selections for the coping and tile and were promised things like visiting other sites and a 3D drawing of our pool. Neither of which were delivered. Over the course of the construction it felt like there was one problem after another. The topography of our backyard was challenging due to a large slope and we felt we were rushed at several points to make decisions that later had to be reversed. As a result, the pool turned out to be deeper in the shallow end than originally intended and took significantly longer to complete. Overall C- / C: Timeline: and middot; 2 Mar – Sign Contract and middot; 27 Mar – Pool layout and middot; 13 Apr – Excavation and middot; 2 May – Steel Rebar and middot; 16 May – Shoot Shell and middot; 29 May – Electrician and middot; 24 Jun – Plaster / Fill pool and middot; July – Sept Pool turns green almost weekly while pouring in algaecide and attempting to stabilize chlorine production and middot; Sept – Repair the chlorine system and middot; 18 Oct 12 – closed pool and middot; 8 May 13- opened pool 2013 Season update: We haven’t had a problem with chemicals since they fixed the system. We have a few stains in our pool that we haven’t gotten removed yet but we were told balancing the chemicals would fix it. It doesn’t look like it’s going away on it’s own so we have to figure out how to fix it. The pool robot gets stuck in the stairs for 85% of its scheduled cleaning time so it’s pretty worthless. When it gets stuck the tail sprays salt / chlorine water on our outdoor furniture and plants damaging them. Overall, the pool stayed clean and didn’t develop any new mechanical difficulties in 2013. We were able to enjoy it this season but it didn’t make up for a lost 2012 season.

Description of Work
Installed a freeform, inground, concrete, salt water pool. Measured the pool for a cover and installed it.

Category swimming pools

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your feedback. This is Mike Shaffery and I own Elite Pools. I was unaware that you had these issues and I would appreciate the opportunity to have a discussion. Although there isn't anything I can do about the past build experience, I am committed to follow on service. Please feel free to call my cell at 410-808-6988 anytime to discuss or if you need any service.
5.0

09/06/2013


Mark W.

Elite Pools installed an in-ground, gunite pool with an auto cover, a gas heater, and retaining walls included in the stamped stained decking.

Description of Work
Elite Pools installed an in-ground, gunite pool with an auto cover, a gas heater, and a retaining walls included in the stamped stained decking.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

02/26/2013


ANTHONY W.

The installers arrived as scheduled and all work was performed as detailed in the written contract. The contact person, Mike Shaffery, was great in leading this project to completion. I am very pleased with the end result. Everyone who saw the pool before renovation compliments me on the final product.

Description of Work
The old tile and coping was removed and new tile and coping was installed. In addition a new energy efficient pool pump was installed.

Category pool cleaners

1.0

12/28/2012


George H.

No work performed / never contacted

Description of Work
Company never contacted me, after calling them twice I moved on. Guess they were not very interested in contacting me.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

08/01/2012


ANITA P.

In terms of price actually they haven't billed me as of yet I think they might have just done it for free but I'm not sure and I'm a good customer of theirs but that wasn't major. I did write a good review for them they built my pool and they are very responsive so they are very customer oriented, they always call me back when I call them quickly and they come out really fast for service like the same day usually. I would recommend them to a friend or family.

Description of Work
I use Elite Pools for service regularly for the pool heater repair and stuff like that.

Category pool cleaners

4.0

07/14/2012


lisa C.

We liked their proposal but it was high. We decided to look at some of the others who had a better proposal. We got a proposal right away from them but trying to get a response back was a different story.

Description of Work
We got a quote from Elite Pools. They gave us a quote about six weeks ago for a pool.

Category swimming pools

1.0

05/02/2012


Brent S.

negatively impact his business and that he believed I was being unfair. I didn't reply to that, because I felt like we were starting to text argue and I didn't want to have anything to do with that. He never called me back and I waited almost 30 days to see if he would reschedule with me or make some other to get in contact with me. I'm sure I'll hear from him after this. I have been a property / facilities manager in DC for 9 years and from my experience it is customary to call to try to get in contact with a client when you reach a location or if you decide you are canceling an appointment. I would never use his services again!

Description of Work
I called Mike Tuesday, April 3, 2012 and asked if he could give me a price to replace a Baptismal Pool at a Church that I manage in Washington, DC. He told me it was out of the way and he was busy, but he was willing to give me a proposal to replace the Baptismal Pool. Since the next day was the only time he had available I rearranged two meetings I had to accommodate his schedule. Our appointment was scheduled for 7:30 am. I got there at 7:20 am. Walked around the building to see if he was there didn't see him, so I waited in my car. Directly in front of the side entrance door to the Church. I waited for 20 min 7:40am giving him what I thought would be a reasonable 10min buffer zone. I called and got no response...I called again a got no response. So he decided to text him at exactly 7:43am asking he had made it yet. At 7:46am he texted me back saying he didn't see anyone so he left. I called again, but received no answer so I texted him asking if I had someone missed his call letting me know he was at the Church or letting me know he was about to leave the Church. No reply to that text. Then I texted letting him know that I felt he was being unprofessional and that I was going to put my comments on Angie's List. He replied within 2 minutes asking me if I were threatening him. "I have no idea how that could be interpreted as a threat, but oh well!" I told him it wasn't a threat and he replied again within 2 minutes stating how early he left his house to make it to the appointment and that a negative rating on Angie's List would

Category pool cleaners

1.0

04/12/2012


Samantha W.

I contacted several other pool company's and settled one to and quot;resetand quot; the pool. As soon as the new company started deconstructing the pool they realized that the entire pool installation was wrong. You figure the law of averages, they would have gotten one thing right, but literally EVERY part of the installation was wrong. Elite even voided my manufacturer's warranty by using all the wrong materials under the pool.I am currently in litigation to get the 47,000.00 back that I spent to reset my brand new pool. STAY AWAY FROM THESE CHARLATANS if you are building a fiberglass pool, they do not know what they are doing and they will rip you off!!!!

Description of Work
I contracted with them to have an in ground fiberglass pool and spa built. Everything looked amazing until the first winter when the entire pool failed and lifted out of the ground. I contacted them to find out what happened and why and, at first, they said they would fix it. However, a week later they came back and said they would only pay for a portion and the rest would be up to me to fix my less than one year old pool.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

You must have the wrong company. We only build with integrity.
5.0

03/30/2012


ANTHONY W.

It was a good experience and I invited the estimator back in order to draw up a contract for the project. The renovation will commence in May 2012, when the pool can be opened for the summer. I will file another report or update this report after the project has been completed.

Description of Work
I called Elite Pools along with two other contractors in order to get estimates on renovations to my in ground pool. Mike Shaffery, the estimator, was professional and punctual for both appointments. The job entailed replacing some coping and tiles.

Category pool cleaners

1.0

02/09/2012


En B.

No calls returned equal no service performed. Evidently they don't need/want my business!

Description of Work
I called them twice and never received a call back. Don't know how helpful this is as far as your survey but I won't be calling or referring any business their way!

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

I am not sure how you were missed as my cell phone is the listed number on the Angie's list profile but I would be happy to help you in any way possible. Our response times are within a day. I am responding to your complaint within a day of receiving this. Please let me know how I can help and I apologize if we missed the opportunity to work with you.
4.0

09/20/2011


Kathleen E.

They build beautiful pools. We will use their services again in the future.

Description of Work
We used Elite Pools for our pool and spa service. We are still using their services right now. They finished doing our pool but they're still doing our pool egress. They visited us last week and they cleaned and serviced our pool.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

09/04/2011


Robert P.

Very easy to work with, creative and we never got that up-sell feeling. They provided several upgrades to us at their cost (which I confirmed with my own research). At our request, they did the shell and rough grading in the Fall, 2009, then completed the build in Spring 2010. We had a separate hardscaper in to build an extensive retaining wall over the winter, and Elite worked very well with them. The result is beautiful and we have had no material issues with the build. When the computer board in our Pentair controller died, Elite was able to provide a replacement board to us that actually included and upgrade. No extra charge.

Description of Work
After numerous quotes, we selected Elite Pools to build our in-ground gunite freeform pool, 25' x 37', 21,000 gallons, 1200 sq ft deck. Equipment includes: Pentair VS3050, Pentair C&C Plus 420Pentair EasyTouch Controller, IntelliChlor SWG, IntelliBrite Color Changing LEDs, Pentair/Letro Legend Cleaner, Bluestone coping, Jandy DeckJets

Category pool cleaners

    Other local Pros in your area

    It's the Brick Guys

     

    Angi Certified

    E & F Masonry LLC

    Affordable Hardscapes that will turn your yard into a Masterpiece.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Horizon Outdoor Design

    Horizon Outdoor Design serves residential and commercial clients throughout Maryland and Southern Pennsylvania. We excel at creating landscape designs that compliment your home and/or property's natural beauty and environment. Horizon Outdoor Design only utilizes the highest quality products and installation standards. Horizon Outdoor Design uses locally grown and cultivated plants that are acclimated to our region which helps reduces overall loss and plant replacement. In addition to our dazzling landscape designs, Horizon Outdoor Design can also create custom patio designs, ponds and water features, sidewalks, retaining walls and a host of other dynamic outdoor design services.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    New pool building, remodeling of existing pools, pool opening and closings, replacement vinyl liners, coping and tile, replastering, filter service, pool acid wash, pool equipment, caulking, salt chlorine generators, pool safety covers, pool inspections, automatic controls, new pool plumbing & leak detection. We also do landscaping and outdoor kitchens.

    Services Not Offered

    N/A

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Elite Pools

    How is Elite Pools overall rated?

    Elite Pools is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Elite Pools open?

    Elite Pools is open:

    Sunday: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does Elite Pools provide

    Elite Pools accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available, Discover, PayPal

    Does Elite Pools offer free estimates?

    Yes, Elite Pools offers free project estimates.

    Does Elite Pools offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Elite Pools offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Elite Pools offer a senior discount?

    No, Elite Pools does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Elite Pools?

    Yes, Elite Pools offers warranties.

    What services does Elite Pools offer?

    Elite Pools offers the following services: New pool building, remodeling of existing pools, pool opening and closings, replacement vinyl liners, coping and tile, replastering, filter service, pool acid wash, pool equipment, caulking, salt chlorine generators, pool safety covers, pool inspections, automatic controls, new pool plumbing & leak detection. We also do landscaping and outdoor kitchens.

    Are there any services Elite Pools does not offer?

    N/A