Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE

Founded 1978 • With Angi since January 2006

4.9

(55) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO BOX 41310

Baltimore, MD 21203

Description

We are a locally owned and operated business. We offer 24 hour emergency service. We pride ourselves on prompt reliable service. We are on the preferred contractor lists for both the Bolton Hill and Oakenshawe neighborhoods. We service Baltimore City/County, Howard, Harford, and Anne Arundle

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Hildegard F.
5.0
03/15/2022
they were great and have an excellent service.
Description of Work
They fix my chimney.
Category
chimney repair
Anna C.
5.0
02/10/2019
Mike and Donald did an Awesome job. They were friendly and courteous. They went up on the roof and replaced all of the screws and fixed the chimney. It was hanging on by one rusty screw. My parents are senior citizens and on a fixed income. I researched companies on Angie’s list and this company was the only one that came to fix the chimney. Thank You Mike and Donald. You’re Awesome! From the Cluster’s
Description of Work
The chimney on my Mom and Dad’s roof was loose. It was windy and it was banging on the roof. Please note this is not a fireplace chimney. It is a chimney on the roof for the furnace.
Category
roofing, chimney repair
Louis R.
5.0
09/08/2018
Excellent work. They clearly worked hard to do a good quality job. Very courteous. Would highly recommend to friends and family.
Description of Work
Replaced chimney crown and repaired hot water heater access to chimney flue
Category
chimney repair
Cindy C.
5.0
08/13/2018
The technicians did a thorough inspection and determined the chimney didn't need cleaning. They explained a repair that was needed and provided an estimate for the repair. I have not done the repair yet as I don't plan to use the fireplace soon. The price is high for an inspection but it was explained ahead of time that if a cleaning is not required you still pay the minimum fee of $150. A detailed inspection certificate was provided. The technicians were friendly and professional.
Description of Work
Chimney inspection and cleaning
Category
chimney sweep
Joan R.
5.0
12/06/2017
Cullen scheduled me for an estimate and then when I was ready, he quickly gave me an appointment. The project was completed in a few hours, but some issues needed to be resolved. When I spoke to Cullen, he was very attentive and polite in addressing my concerns. He could not have been nicer. He and his team went the extra mile to ensure the quality of the work. Two of his pros were here today to do some final tasks. Their attention to detail in completing the projectwas excellent. I am a very satisfied and pleased customer. Thank you, Clean Sweep Chimney Service!
Description of Work
Reline the oil flue and repair the crown.
Category
chimney repair
Wayne B.
5.0
06/27/2017
On Monday, 6/26/17, I called Clean Sweep Chimney and Gutter Service and spoke to "Cullen," one of the owners, to set up an estimate for the next day, June 27th. "Bill," their technician, arrived right on time at 10 A.M., June 27th, for the estimate. Having been quoted a price, I asked to have the work begun the same day, and he did. "Bill" began the job by using an electric grinder to remove the worn out mortar from the entire chimney, and he repointed with new mortar. He then installed the stainless steel rain cap, with animal guard, and built a mortar crown to anchor. Thereafter, using a garden house, he washed all the old mortar from the top of my roof and cleaned up after himself. "Bill" was friendly, methodical and quick to get the job done. WHAT STRUCK ME THE MOST ABOUT CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY AND GUTTER SERVICE WAS THEIR HONESTY AND THEIR REASONABLE PRICING. Whereas 2 other companies, that I had contacted, informed me that I needed a new chimney liner; I learned from "Bill," my technician, that was NOT the case at all. WITH OVER 30 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE, CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY AND GUTTER SERVICE, IS BY FAR, THE BEST COMPANY OUT THERE. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND STAY WITH A WINNER!
Description of Work
Grind and point entire chimney, install an 8" x 8" stainless steel rain cap (with animal guard) and build mortar crown to anchor. (My house was built in 1935 and is 82 years old; and the chimney was in disrepair, having been neglected for a number of years.)
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
Rhonda G.
5.0
03/29/2017
Clean Sweep arrived on time and upon looking at my fireplace, told me that cleaning wasn't necessary. They inspected the chimney and recommended I fix a few bricks when the weather breaks. They also took the time to explain how to use the fireplace. All this and there was no charge!! They are the best! I will never use anyone else.
Description of Work
I purchased a home with a fireplace. The home inspector told me it needed to be cleaned.
Category
chimney sweep
Corinne A.
5.0
01/16/2017
Great. They answered all my questions about fireplaces and my blower that is having a problem. Way beyond the call of duty.
Description of Work
Bought a new house needed chimney swept for safety.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces
Corey C.
5.0
12/18/2016
It went well and they taught me how to use the fireplace.
Description of Work
Chimney cleaning.
Category
chimney sweep
glynn O.
1.0
11/06/2016
Hung up the phone while we were trying to schedule an appointment. He did not try to call us back.
Description of Work
Chimney cleaning.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Our sincere apologies for dropping the ball with you. Sometimes (Especially in the Fall) we are extremely busy..........receiving 100's of calls a day. Although myself and Cullen do our absolute best to answer the phone personally , there are times when a call has to go to voicemail or a call is dropped due to cellphone coverage if we are out in the field. When this happens we do our best to return the call when "caller ID " etc allows. Again..............our apologies for leaving you unattended. If you would desire to contact us in the future we would be happy to hear from you! James Green
Janet F.
5.0
10/14/2016
Clean Sweep was able to schedule the service within a few days of our call. The technician (Adrian) showed up on time and did an excellent job. Everything was done very professionally and he left things much better than he found them. We will definitely use this company again.
Description of Work
Clean Sweep Chimney Service cleaned out the furnace flue in the basement and a fireplace chimney from a 1st floor fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep
Nicole K.
5.0
08/06/2016
Excellent. Cullen, Mike and team were very professional and polite. They were reasonable with their approach to our dilemma, which was a leaning chimney that was leaning after the blizzard in January 2016 and leaning toward our neighbor's house. They were considerate of the historic quality of our home, and they came up with a solution that was a great fit for us. The price was reasonable for this big project. They did the work very quickly for us, and it only took them a few days. My neighbor was particularly concerned about debris and damage to her property, and they assured her that they'd leave the area as clean as possible. I think they left it cleaner than it was and even put down some grass seed and mulch where their tarps were. I was shocked at how they reworked the foliage I had on that side to help the hostas there come back and look like they were never disturbed. I was really pleased with the work, and I will certainly hire them again for slate and gutter needs.
Description of Work
We had a chimney removed and the roof and slate redone to look like the chimney was never there. Pointing work also done to stone facade.
Category
masonry, roofing, chimney caps, chimney repair
Sarah M.
5.0
11/24/2015
This was our first time using this company. We wanted to try out an alternative provider then the one we usually use. They were a little more then the company we have used in the past. They were very accommodating to working on a time frame with us for the day of our scheduled job. They were professional, courteous and cleaned everything up upon departure.
Description of Work
Standard chimney cleaning for the season.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Kevin S.
3.0
09/02/2015
Provider stated on phone they knew how to do service gas fireplaces. They just did a quick cleaning that I could have done myself, and had no idea how to service or repair the fireplace. I knew as much about gas fireplaces as them. Although I do have to say, they were polite and professional, which is more than most contractor types I have dealt with. For me, I wasted my money and need a qualified gas fireplace professional out there, I won't use a chimney sweep next time. However, they might be ok for just a chimney cleaning.
Description of Work
Provider was to service/ repair and clean gas fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Good morning [removed name], I am sorry to hear about your disappointment in our service. Please call the office so we may issue you a refund immediately. The proposal we submitted for the gas log replacement is still valid w/a $200.00 discount on the completed work. Please contact me anytime to discuss this or the service we preformed for you. Regards. Cullen
L R.
5.0
06/30/2015
Totally thorough; explained the work. Professional. Very pleasant.
Description of Work
Chimney repair & cleaning for oil furnace;. Repaired broken and cracked bricks, repointed, and cleared pine tree branches from roof and chimney.
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, roofing, chimney repair
Carol Z.
5.0
03/23/2015
It was excellent service. They responded quickly. The weather was bad another company came out and said they could not do the work because of the weather. The company went to work right away.
Description of Work
Clean chimney, install lining & install new cap on chimney.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair
Monica E.
5.0
02/24/2015
They completed the job on time and made sure all the ducts were cleaned properly. They were friendly, professional and authentic, I was very comfortable with the employees. They did a good job cleaning up after themselves.
Description of Work
They cleaned all the ducts in my home as well as the dryer.
Category
air duct cleaning
Karen G.
4.0
12/02/2014
Contractor arrived alone. Was surprised that my pipe was not removed from the stove as it was the previous year (on the inside) and the cleaning was done ffrom the roof only. Was barely there one hour but said that the stove was ready for use. We don't burn a whole lot, so I knew it wasn't real dirty so we only have it done every 2 years. Put down a cloth for the soot and vaccumed the stove, made sure not to mess up carpeting by the unit. Professional and clean contractor with a median price. We only called them again because we had used them before.
Description of Work
Cleaned chimney and inspected wood stove
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces
Sarah L.
5.0
11/19/2014
Our chimney was unlined, and vented a large boiler and five hot water tanks. Clearly a health and safety issue. We got numerous estimates and many companies wanted to use down-hole cameras and two even wanted to bust through the walls to install the lining! Cullen and his team gave us a very straight-forward estimate and took care of the job in just one day. They did an AMAZING job. It was very hard work - our chimney was about 50 ft tall and wasn't just a straight shot down - it was a bit of a zig-zag maze. But they did it! They installed new duct work in our boiler room to ensure that all the equipment exhaust was drawn into the new chimney, and they installed a nice new cap on our chimney (which was previously just open to the elements). Just a great job and Cullen REALLY knew his stuff from his experience working on Baltimore CIty row homes.
Description of Work
Installed a new lining in our Baltimore City row house chimney, installed new duct work in our boiler room, closed off our chimney with a new cap.
Category
air duct cleaning, chimney caps, chimney repair
Rachel G.
5.0
11/03/2014
He was on time and responsive. We were very satisfied. Sellers ended up using someone else to do the actual work but as far as we were involved, we would recommend Clean Sweep.
Description of Work
Inspected a chimney as part of a home inspection, so we could get buyers to fix the broken crown.
Category
chimney repair
Frances M.
5.0
06/23/2014
They were very reasonably priced and they came out a couple of times. They were great. He was very nice, they were very professional and very helpful. I think they were rated A on their service and they definitely deserve that. I thought they provided great service and were very pleasant to deal with.
Description of Work
The first time they came out, they put on a new tap on that chimney. They fixed the grates that open and close.
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
Jennifer J.
5.0
05/02/2014
It went great. We have a contract with them, they come more than quarterly. We like them a lot. They worked out nice.
Description of Work
I used the gutter repair & replacement service of Clean Sweep Chimney & Gutter Service. They put a ladder in front and then they climb over to the other side. I was home and then they send me the bill.
Category
gutter repair
Amanda H.
5.0
01/13/2014
Very reasonable and professional. A true gem to Angie's list! I have a 90 yr old slate roof...
Description of Work
I used Clean Sweep Chimney & Gutter Service.
Category
roofing
Joe P.
5.0
01/13/2014
They arrived as scheduled, inspected all 3 chimneys, and cleaned the one that needed to be cleaned. Also provided an estimate for replacing the damper on one of the chimneys. Since I've never had a fireplace before, they took time to answer all my questions about it.
Description of Work
Inspected 3 chimneys, cleaned one of them.
Category
chimney sweep
Karen C.
5.0
01/11/2014
I called the company to have my wood stove cleaned and to find out why it was smoking. I was given an appointment immediately, which fit my schedule. Two work men came within the designated time frame. They were courteous, friendly and professional. After the work was completed, I was told what the problem was and given advice on how what to do to fix the issue. I was very pleased with the work and will definitely use them again.
Description of Work
The provider cleaned my woodstove and stove pipe
Category
chimney repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    GLR Home Improvement

    We have over 30 years experience! Our company is based on the belief that our customers' needs are of the utmost importance. Our entire team is committed to meeting those needs. As a result, a high percentage of our business is from repeat customers and referrals. We would welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service in the industry.  

    Angi Certified

    Fire Free Chimney Sweeps

    Fire-Free Chimney Sweeps started in the summer of 1978. In March 1979 FFCS incorporated in the state of Maryland and start providing service to Delaware. To provide chimney service to home owners. Helping make their home worm and safe for the winter and help maintain their system. Plus to install wood, coal and pellet stove the safest way possible.  

    Angi Certified

    Capitol Chimney Service LLC

    Operating in Montgomery County, Maryland since 2001, Capitol Chimney Service LLC believes in old fashioned values, like getting a quality job for a fair price. As a member of the esteemed National Chimney Sweep Guild, we are a family owned chimney company and we take pride in our work. From chimney cleaning to chimney repair and chimney rebuild, we are your one stop chimney service. Give yourself peace of mind by hiring a licensed and insured professional chimney company. We do it right the first time! You can feel confident that we have the knowledge and experience to resolve the toughest problems and that we understand the basic fundamentals of chimney cleaning, construction, and design. To ensure a professional relationship with us, we are licensed and insured and we pride ourselves on our affiliation with The Better Business Bureau. With Capitol Chimney Service LLC, you can be assured that our primary objective is to make your home heating and venting systems cleaner, safer, and more energy-efficient. Additional phone number: (443)687-8422 (Baltimore).  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, MasterCard, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Chimney inspection, chimney cleaning, chimney repair, chimney relinings, brick restoration, gutter cleaning, gutter repair, gutter installation, slate repair, duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE

    How is CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE overall rated?

    CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE open?

    CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE provide

    CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, MasterCard, Visa

    Does CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE offer free estimates?

    Yes, CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE offers free project estimates.

    Does CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE offer a senior discount?

    No, CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE does not offer a senior discount.

    Does CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE offer emergency services?

    Yes, CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE?

    Yes, CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE offers warranties.

    What services does CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE offer?

    CLEAN SWEEP CHIMNEY & GUTTER SERVICE offers the following services: Chimney inspection, chimney cleaning, chimney repair, chimney relinings, brick restoration, gutter cleaning, gutter repair, gutter installation, slate repair, duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning