Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY

Founded 1984 • With Angi since June 2010

4.9

(31) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

One Randall Ave

Baltimore, MD 21208

Description

Interior & Exterior Painting

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/09/2017


Susan H.

We have used Michaels company in our previous house - my daughter also used this company to have the entire exterior of her house painted. Also several neighbors have used.

Description of Work
Interior painting for whole house - ceilings - trim doors - walls - exterior painting - front - door - shutters - railing.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

07/06/2017


Seely F.

Excellent work by all staff members.

Description of Work
painted wood exterior windows and repaired glazing

Category interior painters

5.0

03/20/2017


Linda B.

Excellent job. Second time we've used them. Georgie and his crew worked tirelessly. They were punctual and very clean. They meticulously prepared the walls -- holes, sanding, etc. Will definitely hire them for my next job!

Description of Work
paint 4 rooms including a stairwell and ceilings.

Category interior painters

5.0

03/20/2017


Susan W.

wonderful job

Description of Work
Painted townhouse

Category interior painters

5.0

08/09/2016


Rich L.

Michael and his crew did a great job on our house. The not only painted but had to re-side a large area on the second floor as well as repaint the siding. They are a solid professional organization. I would hire them again in an instant. Its great to have some one work for you that can be trusted and cares about craftsmanship!

Description of Work
They painted second story soffits as well as window trim and fascia. The also replaced and painted the sideing on the west face of the the second floor.

Category siding, house painters, interior painters

5.0

06/27/2016


Eva W.

flawless paint job and left everything super clean after

Description of Work
paint a stair railing and a living room

Category interior painters

4.0

05/18/2016


Sam S.

It was okay, well I think it would have been better if the supervisor would come back at the end of the job to make sure that everything was done right. He should have come back to make sure everything was done.

Description of Work
I used Baltimore Paint Authority for interior painting.

Category interior painters

5.0

04/04/2016


Karen M.

The crews were excellent, worked hard, cleaned up fairly well at the end of jobs. There was a little dust left after the painting jobs, but considering the large amount of sanding done, I don't think it was avoidable. The cost was very reasonable considering we usually had at least 4 to 5 men working each day, and the crews were determined to do quality work on each project. The first two bedrooms and closets alone took over a week to complete. Michael stopped by frequently to check on work and was helpful throughout. Cost above is approximate.

Description of Work
over a period of months, with breaks, had outside painting of trim, back porch, some shutters and front siding done in preparation for selling our home., repaired and painted interior walls, closets and radiators. Interior included 2 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms, library and stairwells. They repaired and painted 2 front porches, outside doors and porch floor. Indoors our plaster walls were in very poor shape in places, especially from roof leaks, radiator leaks, old house shifting and chimney heat over 30 years, (leaks repaired when they occurred, but not all the plaster work). Michael Vardi's crews did amazing repair work both outside and inside, making our house look much better than when we bought it 30 years ago. They also removed wallpaper in a closet and in one bathroom, cleaned up mold and repaired plaster under the wallpaper. Everywhere they worked it looks like new. I only expected them to be doing painting, but the men on the crews were able to do extra work like add grab and toilet paper bars and switch out a toilet in one bathroom. Michael was very patient with my last minute requests such as painting a whole wall of shelves, screwing down some loose shutters etc, extra payment was charged accordingly.

Category drywall, wallpaper removal, house painters, interior painters, mold removal

5.0

03/16/2016


Richard P.

GIVE BPA A CALL BEFORE YOU DO ANY PAINTING !!! We hired BPA back in 2007 and they did such a great job we decided to get a quote. Michael is very easy to work with and we felt the quote was within our budget. There was a team of 4 guys that came to the house everyday and they were always on time. They covered all the furniture and floors. Our walls had so many nail pops ... Not anymore! My wife realized she made a mistake with the color in the mud room and Michael and his crew understood (these things happen) and re-painted the mud room without question. We are so happy with the finished product. We took advantage of getting the rooms prepared for painting and threw away a lot of junk. Theses guys took my heavy trash bags and loaded them in their truck and disposed of the trash for me. Very nice of them to do that! We also had our bathrooms remodeled and had 2 Hunter Douglas shutters installed. The timing between taking the measurements for installation of the shutters, the removal of the trim around the bathroom windows, and the eventual installation left us in serious need of expert painting and drywall work. We were so fortunate that BPA was on the job. Instead of asking the bathroom contractor to repair around the window, we asked Michael if his crew could fix around the windows and the results simply blew us away! THESE GUYS ARE REALLY GOOD! Do yourself a favor and give Michael a call and have him give you a quote. You will not be disappointed. If you get Jorge as your team lead, I know you will be completely happy with the work. Jorge always asked if we were happy with the job his crew was doing. In the powder room we had towel and toilet paper holders that were coming loose. This particular brand didn't have a little screw where you can remove the holders and retighten. I could not figure out how to get those darn things off. Jorge took care of it for us. This is another example of how great these guys are and how they go above and beyond. These days companies do the minimum and they get in and get out and take your money. BPA is a breath of fresh air. It is great to know that there are companies out there that take pride in the work they provide. Best of all they were done in 6 days!

Description of Work
Painted 3 bedrooms, upstairs hallway, foyer, powder room, kitchen, mud room, family room (including ceilings and trim). Painted railing and spindles in hallway and foyer. They patched all nail pops and dings on all the walls they painted.

Category drywall, interior painters

5.0

02/28/2016


Terri A.

Mr. Vardi and his team did an outstanding job! I hired Paint Authority to do work in my mom's house. She had layers of wall paper in her room that needed to come down because it was very old and peeling alot in some areas, and not good for her breathing environment. I wasn't sure if anybody would want to do such a challenging job. I really liked the level of professionalism and detailed assessment that Mr. Vardi provided. He was very clear about what would be needed and how he would carry out the plan. He was able to provide an estimate up front and there were no surprises when the job was finished. His team came in and worked diligently all four days. I liked that Mr. Vardi came on site to inspect the work and communicated with his team consistently about progress. It was really a difficult job to remove the paper and repair the walls which were made of something other than your normal drywall since the house was built ages ago (1923) and no recent remodeling had been done. The job took a day longer than initially expected because of the level of difficulty but Mr. Vardi or his team members always communicated the status of progress and any anticipated concerns. When they were finished, the walls looked beautiful with its smoothness and fresh coat of paint. The paint job really brightened the room up! The team even painted the radiator which also had some serious peeling. They made the room look years "younger". My mom loved it. Afterwards, I was excited to go shopping for new bedding to coordinate with the new paint color. We are very pleased with the results. The team cleaned up really well too! And there were no strong odors afterwards. When Mr. Vardi came back to inspect the paint job one last time, he noticed an annoying chirping noise in my mom's living room. It was the smoke detector which needed a new battery. Mr. Vardi was nice enough to replace my mom's batteries free of charge. He went back outside in the cold to his truck and returned with some new batteries. How nice! He did not have to do that. I would definitely hire Paint Authority again! Not only are they thorough and professional, they are very good at what they do and very nice, respectful and courteous. Thanks so much Mike Vardi and your team!

Description of Work
Mr.Vardi and his team removed wallpaper from the bedroom and then repaired and painted the walls, ceiling and trim.

Category drywall, wallpaper removal, interior painters

5.0

11/21/2015


George V.

Paint Authority did a very good job on my house. They were very professional and they fixed also rotten wood. They were responsible for their work and very hard working group. Carlos and his team were very kind and very responsible. Also they help with the removal of branches and trees from the house which was a plus.

Description of Work
Painted exterior of the house (wooden part)

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/29/2015


Leighton W.

I have used this company for a number of years - prompt, professional and very good work for resonable pricesl Crews are always polite -highly recommend

Description of Work
outside painting and repairs

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

09/18/2015


Sima Michaels D.

Perfectly. They were on time, efficient, professional, friendly and did impeccable work. They finished the work when they said they would. They some extra handiwork we hadn't contracted for and didn't charge us for it. They truly exceeded our expectations. Since the work spanned 2 weeks and we wanted to be home on the weekend, they cleaned up and left the house very livable for us on the weekend between the two work weeks.

Description of Work
Painting several rooms in the house, plus the front door (outside) and the barn (shed) outside. Also some related handiwork-removed mold and old wallpaper in the bathroom, fixed the door we had hung poorly, removed excess product we had put to seal/insulate some windows last winter.

Category wallpaper removal, house painters, interior painters, mold removal

5.0

07/15/2015


Stephen S.

This was a large job that they did very well at a reasonable (not cheap, but reasonable for the job) price. They were terrific, professional and responsive from beginning to end. They helped me pick out the right materials, scheduled the job at my convenience and did a truly professional job. All of the staining (two coats) was done by hand, not with sprayers. They cleaned up every day and at the end of the job, the house looked better than new. I was exceptionally pleased with their work and would hire them again without hesitation.

Description of Work
Cleaned and stained the exterior of a large, wood shingled house.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

07/03/2015


Lamont N.

From start to finish it was a pleasure to deal with the owner (Michael), the original quote was substantially lower than other quotes that I had received for the same work. The house was purchased as a foreclosure and really needed a lot of cosmetic work (paint). His crew did an outstanding job in a very short time frame. All in all, I was extremely pleased with the work that was performed by the Baltimore Paint Authority, and I have already recommended them to friends for future jobs.

Description of Work
The Baltimore Paint Authority removed a large amount of wallpaper and practically painted the entire 3000 square foot home.

Category wallpaper removal, interior painters

5.0

06/30/2015


Dorothy D. M.

The owner arrived early.The painters went to the wrong address, but were only a little late. They were pleasant, clean and friendly. They worked quickly to fill and paint the moldings quite well. I was impressed by the thank you note sent by the owner. The painters were great but I found Angies list frustrating in wanting a conformation password and an email that never arrived.

Description of Work
Painting crown moldingin 2 bedrooms and kitchen.

Category house painters, interior painters

1.0

06/05/2015


Kay B.

On the day they were to arrive - within an hour of when we expected them, we received a text stating they were not able to make it and they "may" be able to come tomorrow afternoon. We responded saying tomorrow was fine, but let us know what time. We never heard from them. We then texted them on day 3, saying we hadn't heard and asked whether or not they were going to be able to provide an estimate. They texted back saying maybe next week "if it can wait" and that things were really crazy right now. Clearly they are not interested in the job - not sure why they agreed to come out and provide an estimate to begin with. It is a relatively small job - only repainting the hallways, moldings and doors on the top floor, but our issue is that you don't say you are going to do something and then cancel at the last minute - never to rebook. I think their customer service is horrible (texting is apparently their preferred communication method). We will never ask this company to do work for us and certainly spread the word to our friends of our less than adequate experience.

Description of Work
We asked for an estimate using Angies List scheduler - letting the company know when a good time to come out to see the work/ provide an estimate. Company called back asking for different times/days. We accommodated them.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

You right. I dropped the ball on this job and I'm sorry for that. It's totally my fault and I should have communicated with you in a better way. It was one of those weeks that nothing went right and I should have not committed to meeting you. It is also atypical of me to do so, as you may be able to tell by previous reviews. I'd like to offer you a 10% discount on all future paint projects and I hope that you accept my apology. Sincerely, Michael Vardi Baltimore Paint Authority
5.0

05/27/2015


Charles H.

Very well overall. One time, polite, cleaned and finished job quickly.

Description of Work
Inter: Repair plaster ceiling & wall damage-prime & painting walls, ceilings & trim. Exterior: Clean & repair paint exterior trim.

Category house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the positive review. Michael Vardi Baltimore Paint Authority
5.0

05/12/2015


Stacy S.

They did an amazing job. Did exactly what they said they would do.

Description of Work
2 painters for 8 hours.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the nice review.
5.0

03/28/2015


Linda B.

Very clean, punctual and professional. Excellent quality paint and workmanship

Description of Work
Painted LR and DR including ceilings and lots of trim

Category interior painters

5.0

03/28/2015


Anita B.

Mr.Vardi appeared on time to 'walk' the job and provided us a quote. His price was not lowest or the most high. He explained to us the work which would be performed and about his crew. They were a pleasure to work with. Neat, clean, Beautiful job!

Description of Work
Repainting interior rooms: Living room, family, laundry, bedrooms, bathrooms, garage.

Category interior painters

5.0

03/16/2015


Marlene H.

Everything was excellent. It was worth it. They did an excellent job. They did a very neat and clean job. They were punctual. They were professional. Their price was right.

Description of Work
I used Baltimore Paint Authority. They did exterior painting and they did a little bit of interior repair. I have used them more than once.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

11/15/2013


Beverly H.

They arrived every day on time. They were fast and very quiet. They cleaned up each day. The price was very low for what they did. The result is beautiful.

Description of Work
Painted interior walls and ceilings. External doors.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

06/27/2013


BARBARA P.

Rather than crush my plants, they climbed over them to wash the siding by hand.

Description of Work
They repainted our wood siding and our shutters. They also cleaned it with a solution.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

07/06/2011


Steven F.

We called Mr. Michael Vardi because of a strong recommendation from friends. Mr. Vardi estimated the job in a professional, knowledgable and friendly manner. He was flexible when we were slow about making up our minds and when we changed the scope of the work, and he did not try to inflate the job. His painting crew varied between three and five workers. He apparently called in painters from one of his other crews so that the work could be finished in six days just before the holiday weekend. His painters were most impressive: hard working, careful, skilled, courteous and helpful. They cleaned up well after themselves. I was mainly impressed with the thorough surface preparation. Defects that other painters in my experience would have painted over were carefully removed, plastered over and sanded. I did not get other price estimates for comparison, but Mr. Vardi's price seemed very reasonable to me considering the amount of labor, materials and overhead involved.

Description of Work
In a 90 year old townhouse, two bedrooms, upstairs and downstairs hallway and staircase, kitchen, bath, hall closet and ceiling of the dining room were painted with two coats. Extensive surface preparatiion was needed including much wallpaper removal and some plaster repair.

Category interior painters, metal restoration

    Other local Pros in your area

    Closet America

    Closet America is a privately owned and locally operated manufacturer and installer of custom home organization systems for closets, home offices, pantries, media centers, and garages. By raising the standards for quality and customer service, Closet America has steadily grown into one of the premier names in the professional organizing systems industry. We have been consistently awarded the prestigious GuildMaster Award for exceptional customer service and satisfaction.  

    Angi Certified

    CHESAPEAKE CLOSETS

    In 1987, Chesapeake Closets was launched with a vision of creating a new kind of storage-and-organization company. We are proud to say that Chesapeake Closets is locally owned and operated and are a family business. Please call our local office today to schedule your free estimate: 410-823-7342  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by CHESAPEAKE CLOSETS on Angi
    UNDER PRESSURE INC

    We offer 15% off complete house wash. 10% off roof cleaning. FREE ESTIMATES! We Believe In Making Good, Lasting Impressions! Our goal at Under Pressure Inc. is to provide quality pressure washing and cleaning services to maintain and enhance your building and property. We believe that good first impressions are important, but maintaining a standard of quality and excellence is just as essential. Our company uses a low pressure cleaning system and determines the appropriate solution for each detergent used as well as the best PSI for each surface. We help to safely and effectively remove dirty buildup, graffiti, rust stains, oil, mold, algae and much more that may be taking over walls or concrete spaces of your property. We’ve been in business for over ten years providing quality services at reasonable prices. Look no further for a company that knows how to meet all your cleaning and pressure washing needs! We hold certifications in wood restoration, roof restoration, and house washing We are certified by the Maryland Home Improvement Commission We are licensed, bonded and insured We take care of your vegetation We offer charity work We believe in promoting a standard of excellence and cleanliness in our communities  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Interior & Exterior Painting, Wallpaper Hanging & Removal, Drywall Work & Plaster Repair, Pressure Washing, Whole House Exterior Cleaning, Deck Staining, Rotted Wood Replacement

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY

    How is BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY overall rated?

    BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY open?

    BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY provide

    BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY offer free estimates?

    Yes, BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY offers free project estimates.

    Does BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY offer a senior discount?

    No, BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY?

    Yes, BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY offers warranties.

    What services does BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY offer?

    BALTIMORE PAINT AUTHORITY offers the following services: Interior & Exterior Painting, Wallpaper Hanging & Removal, Drywall Work & Plaster Repair, Pressure Washing, Whole House Exterior Cleaning, Deck Staining, Rotted Wood Replacement