Clarksville Construction Services, Inc.

About

Founded 1999 • With Angi since July 2010

With over 20 years of turn-key home remodeling experience, Clarksville Construction specializing in major additions, kitchen remodeling, bathroom remodeling, basement remodeling, roofing, storm damage, decks, patios, windows, doors, carpentry, flooring, and painting for the interior or exterior of your home. Measuring performance by the long-term happiness of their clients. Clarksville Construction fosters a culture of transparency, partnership, passion, and hard work. Since 1999, they have continued to grow while staying true to their original mission: To Provide Outstanding Work Above And Beyond Your Expectations And To Make Every Customer A Customer For Life. Serving Ellicott City, Columbia, Howard County, and Central Maryland – there is no job too big or too small!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

Kitchen Example

+40 more images

Deck & Patio

Deck & Patio

decks & porches201520777
This spectacular project included many elements, including three (3) outdoor entertaining areas: an upper back deck that was reinforced, a lower stone patio, and a custom firepit. The upper deck allowed for stairs to go to the main drive entrance, where we could install landscape options and the firepit area. Lanterns were installed as an added feature of the project.
Deck & Patio project
Deck & Patio

decks & porches

201520777
Siding & Roofing project
Siding & Roofing

roofing

201920794
August Kitchen project
August Kitchen

home remodeling

201921029

Verified Reviews

4.8

(253) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

207

4

18

3

10

2

5

1

13

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

interior painting (152)home remodeling (62)handyman (36)door installation (35)decks & porches (32)basement remodeling (26)house painting (19)water damage restoration (16)window replacement (14)siding companies (12)patio enclosures (7)deck cleaning (7)
Showing 1-25 of 253 reviews
5.0

03/04/2022


L C.

We hired Clarksville to renovate two bathrooms in our 100-year-old house last year. Proposal: Clarksville’s salesperson happened to be the founder and owner (August). He is very knowledgeable and followed up with us regularly while we waited on quotes from other companies. Their proposal was by far the most thorough. While they have a reputation for being expensive, due to their size and overhead, their price was surprisingly close to estimates from Blackstone Kitchen & Bath, BST Design & Build, and Valor Home. In the end, we selected them because none of the other contractors provided as much detail in their proposal. Process: Clarksville has a streamlined process and an exemplary management structure. We had a program manager, Mike Z., who directed and communicated with the team, sub-contractors, sorted out design issues, coordinated with County inspectors, made sure we had all the suitable materials before work commenced. His assistant, Kandace, worked with vendors to help us get the best deals and procured all the tiles, vanities, countertops, glass doors, shower trims, steam generator (we had a steam sauna installed in one bathroom), and accessories. Kandace made sure all the materials got delivered on time. She was the person who managed and updated our project schedule in buildertrend, which allowed us to manage our project from abroad. She was extremely helpful in getting the best price for the materials. Clarksville brings enough volume in business that they can negotiate with preferred vendors to match what was estimated in the proposal, so you’re never paying retail prices. Clarksville used buildertrend for project management. We can see all the parts and materials ordered, specifications, quantity, photos, budgeted and actual costs plus labor, and a project calendar that shows all the tasks performed each day. I can always count on her to respond to my questions and concerns and relay them to Mike and the rest of the team and sub-contractors as needed. Both Mike and Kandace were wonderful to work with, and I appreciated their expertise and always asked for their opinion when I needed o make a decision. While we knew what we wanted and pretty much stayed the course in terms of design for the two bathrooms, they helped make sure we understood each decision point’s potential pros and cons, including cost, quality, installation, and possible maintenance issues. We were also lucky to be assigned to a project team led by Marco, the nicest guy we had come across in the 20 years we’ve dealt with home contractors. He and his crew were respectful, down-to-earth, and worked hard - bracing the cold while cutting and sanding tiles and wood out in the middle of winter. Some of his guys worked through holidays, including Thanksgiving. Each team member has expertise in demolition, carpentry, tile installation, or painting, making them very efficient. Sub-contractors: Clarksville only uses master electricians and master plumbers. We had plumbers from John Bounds Plumbing work on our project. The project included one steam sauna and one regular shower. These guys were very meticulous and precise and took pride in their craftsmanship. The pipework behind the wall is simply beautiful. One of them spent hours in the crawlspace putting a drain line to the steam generator that now sits in our hallway closet. They showed up on time, every time, and always did a walk-through with our project manager before doing their work. Our master electrician was from Maryland Electric. They were very professional, friendly, and helpful, even offering to put in a few dimmer switches for us, which worked out great for our all-white bathrooms. Throughout our renovation, everyone from Clarksville and their sub-contractors was professional helpful, doing more than they needed to help realize our dream bathrooms. We highly recommend them to anyone who wishes to have a worry-free experience while renovating their bathroom.

Description of Work
Renovate two bathrooms

Category ceramic tile, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, epoxy flooring

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your positive words. We are happy to hear you were thrilled with the work done for you and we look forward to working with you again. Thank you!

5.0

02/26/2022


Ralph B.

We are so glad we chose Clarksville Construction! All of the staff were friendly, considerate, and professional. Workers went out of their way to keep construction mess to a minimum and to contain it while working. We would definitely consider hiring the company for future jobs and highly recommend them. The company uses a convenient software program where customers can get an idea of the schedule, send messages, and pay bills.

Description of Work
replace indoor staircase, balusters, railing and indoor doors. Some electrical

Category drywall, electrician, fireplaces, woodworking, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to working with you again in the future.

5.0

02/22/2022


Jamie F.

THe Clarksville team was amazing. We were doing a basement renovation, but not a complete new build. We moved some walls, installed a new 1/2 bath, replaced a popcorn ceiling, installed a new stair bannister, painted and a few other things. Our salesperson did a great job ensuring we had a clear and complete contract that both I and Clarksville fully understood. Our project manager kept us informed and took care of every minor detail. All the work crews were great. I particularly liked that Clarksville was very good about cleaning up daily and did a great cleanup at the end of the job. I look forward to using Clarksville again for future home renovation needs such as bathroom and kitchen remodeling.

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category basement remodeling

Cost $500,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you SO much for the glowing review Customer satisfaction is our #1 priority and we are thrilled that you are happy with the end product. We look forward to working with you again!

5.0

09/07/2021


Harry A.

It went great. All work was completed as scheduled and we are very satisfied with the results and highly recommend Clarksville Construction Services for all your handyman projects

Description of Work
Replaced roof singles on 20x12 shed. Patched and replaced drywall damaged by water leak. Replaced rotting railing on porch with maintenance free railing. Replaced dryer vent. Repaired and replaced ceiling tile in basement. Replaced worn screen in screened in porch Adjusted a door lock that was not locking the door and replaced the torn weather seal on another door

Category drywall, handyman service, roofing, screen repair, doors

Cost $3,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! We are glad you are happy with the work Clarksville Construction did for you. We definitely look forward to working with you again in the future

5.0

09/06/2021


Christina M.

This is the third time I hired Clarksville Construction. For this job, I contacted Clarksville Construction on July 19, 2021, via email with a list of work I wanted done. The Services Manager visited the site on July 30 and emailed a quote on August 4. I signed the proposal and paid the deposit online. A crew of three did the work on August 25 from about 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. Everything went smoothly, with no surprises.

Description of Work
At a rental property, I needed: replace and paint 3 doors, install bathroom ceiling fan, secure popped deck board, fix damaged platform for stair railing.

Category handyman service

Cost $1,680

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to working with you again in the future.

5.0

09/01/2021


Sharon C.

This is the second time we've used Clarksville Construction for home repairs. Both times we worked directly with Quelvin Gonzalez who is knowledgeable, efficient, and dependable. You never have to wonder if Quelvin is going to return your phone call or respond to your email. Both projects came off without a hitch. He just takes any worry and anxiety off your shoulders from the initial call all the way through to project completion. The first time we used Clarksville Construction was the spring of this year (2021) to replace deck posts that were showing rot at ground level. It's a large deck with a heavy roof, and all five posts were replaced by a skilled crew who exceeded our expectations. Clarksville Construction just completed a second job for us. A huge piece of drywall fell off the ceiling of the garage on a 25-year-old home! Quelvin came out and noticed the builder (Patriot Homes) used nails (not screws) to "secure" the drywall to the ceiling. Quelvin orchestrated a team of two to replace the drywall that fell off and secured the rest of the ceiling drywall with screws and such. I would also like to give kudos to the team that handles phone calls. They are kind and very responsive. Don't stress. Just call Clarksville Construction.

Description of Work
Drywall Repair and Reinforcement / Deck Maintenance

Category drywall, deck cleaning, fireplaces

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you SO much for the glowing review Customer satisfaction is our #1 priority and we are thrilled that you are happy with the end product. We look forward to working with you again!!

5.0

08/05/2021


Cathy D.

Arrived on time, completed the work. Outstanding employees, attention to details impressive. Laundry room is so beautiful! So glad we used Clarksville Construction and will be using again.

Description of Work
Laundry room: updated removal of old cabinets, added new shelves, replaced one wall of sheetrock, insulation replaced, electrician cutouts were spackled, painted.

Category drywall, handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! We are glad you are happy with the work Clarksville Construction did for you. We definitely look forward to working with you again in the future. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

5.0

05/26/2021


Joel D.

Great. Consistent communication throughout project, attention to detail through to completion. Use Buildertrend for project documentation, invoicing, and communication, which made everything easy .

Description of Work
Demo and fresh concrete for stoop and replacement of rotted wood in several door jams

Category concrete repair, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! So glad you are happy with the work Clarksville Construction did for you. Let us know if you need anything else in the future. Take care. Enjoy your summer!

5.0

12/03/2020


Ruy G.

Everything looks beautiful!! It was a very big job.

Description of Work
Wrap around posts needed to be replaced after removing connecting upper and lower rails. Then everything had to be re-assembled and painted.

Category awnings, home builders, woodworking, house painters

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to working with you again in the future. Happy Holidays!

5.0

11/29/2020


Lesley R.

I was truly impressed with the professionalism and quality of the work. As thing turned up through the process, there was always a solution. It was such a wonderful experience, I’m already planning new projects.

Description of Work
Minor remodel of kitchen, new tile in bathroom, whole house painting, all mew carpeting

Category awnings, carpet installation, ceramic tile, countertops, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, ceiling fans, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! So glad you are happy with the work Clarksville Construction did for you. Let us know if you need anything else in the future. Take care. Enjoy the holidays!

5.0

11/03/2020


Frederick J.

Using them for years, They were very responsive.

Description of Work
repair ceiling, redid a shower, rebuilt a back porch. rebuilt front balcony electrical wire and lighting.

Category electrician, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! So glad you are happy with the work Clarksville Construction did for you. Let us know if you need anything else in the future.

5.0

11/02/2020


Matthew C.

Excellent finished product. Highly skilled carpenter !

Description of Work
Custom ceilings and wall trim.

Category awnings, contractors, closet systems, remodeling, home builders, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $54,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to working with you again in the future.

5.0

10/09/2020


Martin O.

Clarksville Construction Services did an excellent job repairing the cosmetic parging around the foundation of my home, common of 1970's architecture. I had gotten some fairly expensive quotes from foundation repair companies to completely overhaul the parging, but instead gave this team a call. Their team quickly assessed that a large repair job was possible. They were able to go all the way around the house, fix all the broken spots, and blend the coloring in with the original. The team was responsive, very communicative along the way, and did a great job. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Foundation Parging (Stucco) Repair

Category concrete repair, handyman service, basement waterproofing, stucco, foundation repair, stamped concrete

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to working with you again in the future.

5.0

10/07/2020


Louise R.

Solid work, good attention to detail, and you can't beat a 5-year warranty!

Description of Work
brick & concrete repair

Category concrete repair, masonry

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! We’re glad you are happy with the work Clarksville Construction did for you. We definitely look forward to working with you again in the future.

5.0

09/04/2020


Paige W.

Matt went above and beyond! I had new counters going in and needed a cabinet moved - unexpectedly - Matt took a look and made it happen. Also installed some lighting even though I hadn’t requested initially. Installed right then at a very reasonable price. Have other projects in mind and will definitely be calling Clarksville Construction!

Description of Work
Handyman

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, lighting, interior painters

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you SO much for the glowing review Customer satisfaction is our #1 priority and we're thrilled that you are happy with the end product. We look forward to working with you again

5.0

08/05/2020


Julie B.

Clarksville continues to be among our top "go to" contractors for home repairs. They are reliable and consistently do great work. The crews are polite and hard working. Most recently they replaced our roofing, soffit, and fascia. We would hire again.

Description of Work
Replaced roofing, soffit, and fascia

Category roofing, doors

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We look forward to working with you again as well.

5.0

06/02/2020


Dawn R.

Exellent service, workmanship, and professionalism. Work done on time even with 'iffy' weather. They were so good that I had them put on a new roof a year later. Fantastic.

Description of Work
Deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2019

1.0

05/26/2020


Renae M.

They did not wAnt to assess. They want me to tell hem what to do. I have a problem with my gutter and need their recommendations.

Description of Work
Gutter Problem

Category gutter repair

Cost $2,000

Work Completed On 05/25/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue

5.0

07/11/2019


Jim P.

Great 👍 Matt Thompson reconfigured the slope and angle so when it rains the water would run away from the door frame.

Description of Work
Remove rotten wood underneath both sets of sliding glass doors

Category decks, woodworking, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! So glad you are happy with the work Clarksville Construction did for you. Let us know if you need anything else in the future.

5.0

05/17/2019


David B.

Communications were timely. Workers were prompt. Contract was detailed and clear regarding work to be done.

Description of Work
Drywall repair, window installation

Category drywall, remodeling, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your positive words. We are happy to hear you were pleased with the work done for you and we look forward to working with you again. Thank you!

5.0

05/13/2019


Tracy W.

It went extremely well. Outstanding teamwork from all involved. Excellent coordination from beginning to end of project.

Description of Work
Kitchen counters, gas cooktop, new sink, backsplash tile, mud room doors, paint.

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/26/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! So glad you are happy with the work Clarksville Construction did for you. Let us know if you need anything else in the future. Take care. Enjoy your summer!

5.0

02/15/2019


Stanley L.

Looked at three different companies, who all gave me different quotes; Clarksville Construction Services was the highest quote, but they were also the only ones who came to look at the damage in person, and the price included everything. More importantly, they (correctly) estimated that the job would take two days, unlike the other companies, who said it was a one-man/one-day job. I decided to hire them, and I'm glad I did. Their 2-man team was 100% professional; protected the floors as they walked over them, and when they left the drywall to dry overnight before they painted it the next day, they sealed off everything, keeping the area safe from my toddler. When they finished, the work was flawless. My wife and I were really happy. Doug (sales guy/estimator) was friendly and responsive, Quelvin the project manager also friendly and professional. Final price was exactly as quoted, and it was worth every penny. Only hang-up I had with them was that payment and scheduling was really awkward. They seem much more used to receiving personal checks and don't really seem to have a handle on their e-check system. The online contract I received linked to an e-check payment system, and the system had to verify my bank account with microdeposits, which took an extra day. What I didn't like was that they couldn't schedule my service until they received the down payment, and my wife was leaving the country in a few days, so I really wanted it to be done while we were both there with my toddler. They were understanding and scheduled the service, but I had to call them to explain what was going on. Had a similar delay paying the balance after the job was done (the system had to verify my bank account again!); minor but unnecessary hassle for me, probably an annoying delay in payment for them. This is otherwise an outstanding company, and I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Ceiling drywall replacement and painting due to a leak from upstairs causing water damage and holes.

Category drywall, interior painters