Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

All types of Construction & Restoration / Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling / 911 Emergency 24/7 Water damage Mitigation / Fire restoration / Mold remediation / EPA certified to Disinfect & Sanitize with EPA Certified Botanical Products

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

America's Best Home Improvement

Founded 2000 • With Angi since July 2011

4.7

(104) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

15808 Livingston Rd

Accokeek, MD 20607

Description

America's Best Home Improvement serving the DC , Maryland , Virginia (DMV) area offering a pleasant and professional experience for your home improvement or remodeling project. We offer a full range of services including Kitchen & Bathroom remodeling, roofing, siding and all remodeling projects.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/06/2021


Christopher R.

I called to get an estimate for restoration to my mothers house which was damaged from a tree that fell. I was informed that they are not doing estimates or any work at the moment. If you need estimates or work done I advise you to look elsewhere.

Description of Work
Needed an estimate for restoration

Category remodeling, water damage restoration, home remodeling

5.0

12/14/2020


Sinan P.

Working with Javier helps to understand how the insurance coverage works. This was not something I could have done on my own. Javier acted almost like an insurance attorney providing invaluable advice. So, the moral of the story is that you need Javier to guide you through your coverage. However, this does not mean that you leave everything to Javier and sit in the corner. You have to understand what is covered and what is not and be ready to supplement your extras out of your pocket to realize your own expectations. The paintwork is a good example; the insurance won't pay the Benjamin Moore paint, and what they pay for doesn’t do much beauty. Then you have to follow up and make sure you pay the extra for what you really want. This works with everything; if you work with Javier on your budget, you will need to take his lead with the third-party contractors. The other deceptive element of insurance is the timing; if you depend on the money coming from the insurance, the process takes forever. The insurance reinstallation is a business model, a system, and there is no logic to it. When supplemental requests are involved, the insurance pays $1000 to accommodation instead of instantly approving a $500 supplemental. The process is very frustrating, and people get frustrated; however, Javier NEVER says NO. Whatever you want, he finds a way to deliver. He did the re-paint job for free with the paint of my choice. I was unhappy with some installations. He immediately got them fixed. One other thing is that Javier never bothered me with payment timing. He was pretty flexible. He did not even call for follow-up. I read the negative reviews on the website, and I realized I had most of them myself, BUT the point is Javier is not the reason. Construction work is an expensive open-ended process; the products we usually get are not top-notch Armani Case; they are what insurance covers and the process is frustratingly time-consuming unless you pay up-front and ready to pay for extras. So the frustration-cause is not Javier; it is the difference between what it is and what we want to be. Javier worked on my place for several months; his team is reliable, honest, and trustable.

Description of Work
Reinstallation due to water damage.

Category carpet installation, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, handyman service, hardwood floor, water damage restoration, marble & granite, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

5.0

09/09/2020


Joi J.

America's Best did an AWESOME job on my basement. They were fast, on time, worked hard every day to finish the project, and their attention to detail has my basement looking better than it did before!

Description of Work
Basement refinished after water damage

Category contractors, flooring contractor, basement waterproofing, woodworking, basement remodeling

5.0

07/29/2020


Katharine P.

My home flooded last week and ABHI was there the same day. Working with them made a very stressful time bearable. Javier and his team are experts with dealing with insurance and keeping me informed. I will certainly be using them for the reconstruction as well. Highly recommend!!

Description of Work
Water Mitigation

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, insulation, basement waterproofing, woodworking, interior painters, mold removal

5.0

07/28/2020


Pam H.

The professionals with America's Best brought with them years of experience, outstanding contractors and quality products. They came in on schedule, provided exceptional quality, and stayed within budget. Their staff members are all very polite and well-informed, communicating in a timely manner. Our basement flooded due to a faulty hot water tank. Javier handled the mitigation and restoration projects with absolute confidence. The entire management team continued to provide welcome reassurance as we worked through the recovery during challenging COVID-19 times. Everyone who entered our home wore protective masks! We are very happy with the clean up and water extraction, the drywall work, the painting and carpeting and the fact that they consistently maintained clean work areas. Javier does an excellent job of explaining each step in the process and he works well with insurance companies. The finished product is beautiful. They are the best!

Description of Work
A total basement mitigation and restoration after a hot water tank flooded our finished basement.

Category carpet installation, drywall, flooring contractor, water damage restoration, basement waterproofing, woodworking, interior painters, mold removal, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank You for the kind review Mrs. [Member Name Removed]. You were a pleasure to work with as well and we are beyond happy to have your home back in working order with some beautiful new carpet to boot!
5.0

07/17/2020


Marc C.

Javier is an exceptional and rare find! His determination to exceed client expectations are unique and his attention to detail and quality is highly commendable. He provides a team of talent that can complete all projects to the highest of standards at a sensible price.

Description of Work
Extensive carpentry, painting, deck renovation, home maintenance projects

Category decks, basement waterproofing, woodworking, house painters

Service Provider Response

Hi and thank you for your support. America's Best is honored to know we made changes that will keep you happy always. Be safe
5.0

06/09/2020


jermaine B.

Was a pleasure utilizing America's Best. Down from the owner Mr. Javier to his assistants Ms. Leah Dargan, Alex and and also the people that completed the work. America's Best was on time and completed the tiling in one day. The next few days they were able to fix all of the dry wall damage within the house. The following day after that Mr. Javier sent over a cleaning lady that clean my entire first floor including the kitchen and bathroom. Superb work on her part. I like to thank again Ms. Leah Dargan for making this entire process flawless. Very professional and a people person just a awesome person. Also another shout out to Mr. Javier thank you for being very responsive.

Description of Work
Install of new roofing

Category roofing, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Thumbtack / Houzz / Google. We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

01/10/2020


Yanis V.

EXCELLENT, OUTSTANDING, TRULY EXCEPTIONAL. This is not the military but all of these words can be applies to America's Best for their work in refurbishing my house after a sewer back up. This company assistant in dealing with my insurance company . All satisfactory. The staff was quick reacting when needed they were professional I can surely give them a WELL DONE! JANIS VIKSNE

Description of Work
Sewage back up Water Restoration

Category contractors, drywall, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Thumbtack / Houzz / Google. We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

01/03/2020


Jeremy S.

America's Best Home Improvement was absolutely amazing. Our kitchen faucet broke just before Christmas, causing water to spill over the island and damage the wood floor. Javier and his team came in immediately and were incredibly knowledgeable and courteous. They were available for any and all questions while their drying equipment was in our house, including once at 1 o'clock in the morning! It's never convenient to have your kitchen enclosed and noisy machines in the house, but they really helped us make the best of the situation, including by being incredibly sweet with our toddler daughter. They repaired our drywall and painting immediately and even vacuumed the entire basement on the way out -- even the areas they hadn't accessed. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Water Mitigation, drywall repair, painting

Category drywall, flooring contractor, water damage restoration, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Thumbtack / Houzz / Google. We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

10/31/2019


Gary C.

America's Best provided great service at a reasonable price. They make sure that you are satisfied with their work or they will make it right. They built an addition to our home that included a large bedroom, tiled bathroom, panty, and utility room. Quality work and good craftsmanship. We also had them replace our front porch, add porch extension with pavers, and a stamped concrete patio. I would not hesitate to hire them again. Because of their excellent service and the quality of their work we contracted with ABHI n October 2019 to remodel our bathroom. It turned out better I could have imagined. Javier provided excellent ideas and suggestions. If you want a great contractor and highly experienced workers ABHI would not disappoint you, Javier will go the extra mile to make thing right and provide an excellent end product. I have other projects for future work,

Description of Work
Remodel Upstairs Bathroom and some minor other work

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Thumbtack / Houzz / Google. We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
2.0

05/08/2018


John B.

In one word, horrendous. I gave two stars, not one, because 99% of work was completed. The work completed left much to be desired for an over $50k project. Unless you want to manage your own project, you have unlimited amounts of patience, you have unlimited time, or you do not care about communication/quality, run screaming away from this company. They were selected as a contractor by a big-box store I purchased work from and paid everything upfront (BIG mistake #1). I was forced to use them (BIG mistake #2). The experience was worse than major surgery. A couple of months project turned into an almost one year long nightmare. To be 100% fair, some issues occurred of no fault of the company, such as found mold. This review focuses on the items 100% within the company's control. For everything mentioned, there are text messages and emails to back up facts. 1) Poor/No Communication - I was passed around between many different people at the company. There was never a project manager or that I could regularly communicate with. I ended up having to serve as my own project manager. Essentially, I paid to manage my own project. When they communicated (if at all), it was on their own time. They rarely followed through on their words, without additional double checking and follow-up. The number of times I asked for a project schedule was maddening. I never received one. At one point I talked to the owner, Javier, on the phone. He asked me (paraphrasing), "what work still needs to be done?". My aggravated response was that I had no idea since I wasn't the one completing the project. I still never received a schedule. Workers worked on their own time rather than a provided schedule, with large gaps of time in between without explanation. One stated reason for the gaps was because not all materials had reached the job site. I can understand this as it's a reasonable way to do a job. Unfortunately, once all materials reached the job site they still failed to show up and continued to delay work on the project. 2) Extremely poor punctuality - Workers came and went as they pleased. The start time was supposed to be 9am each day. Sometimes the workers showed up late (several hours late....12pm, 1pm, 2pm) and other times they did not show up at all for the day without any contact as to why. If and when they did show up, it was a crapshoot how long they would stay. On a number of occasions, they stayed for 2-3 hours and then left for the day, despite work that could have been continued. The most common excuse for late arrival was they had to go pick up materials. Once or twice is reasonable. This happening repeatedly means they either failed to plan, decided not to go to the store before the 9am start time as they should have, or were dishonest. In the amount of time they said they needed to go to the store, any person could have done it multiple times since it seems unfathomable it would take 3-4 hours to pick up some items at the store, even with area traffic. The lack of working full days combined with frequently skipping days/weeks led to unnecessary project delays. 3) Shoddy quality of work - Much of the work required re-work, often multiple times. Example 1: While installing cabinets that needed to go in a corner, cabinets on one side should have made a 90 degree angle with the adjacent side. It took repeated attempts to make this happen. Example 2: The blueprints showed an island edge matching up with a counter top edge. Workers didn't pay attention to the blueprint measurements. It took several attempts of cabinet moving to get them to align. Even with these adjustments, cabinet installation did not match the blueprints. At that point it was too late to adjust more, so I had to either let it go, or ask them to move the cabinets yet again. I let it go since it ended up being "good enough", but not accurate by several inches. In the experience I had, unless you watched over everything they did, researched if what they were doing was good to make sure it was correct or not, and questioned repeatedly on what they were doing and why they were doing it, you ended up with them having to do re-work because they didn't check their work. Aside from adding to frustration, this led to unnecessary delays. In fairness, because of some hassles I experienced, the company offered some free work. The amount of free work provided was by no means comparable to the aggravation caused on the project. It was a nice gesture of them, but neither expected nor requested. I would have rather paid a fair rate for completed work, provided it was of sufficient quality and completed in a reasonably appropriate manner. It wasn't. In summary, I do not feel I received sufficient value for the amount of money spent on this project. I would strongly recommend you find a company that better demonstrates care and concern for you as a customer and completes work in a timely manner, with quality, and with regular communication.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel + Flooring

Category ceramic tile, electrician, hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

ABHI was not the contracted company to do direct business with Mr. [Member Name Removed]. We were only the middle man so this review need to go to the appropriate company not us. All of the issues and delays that occurred were because of either product and Design errors on this other companies impact, which has nothing to do with us. Counter-top company was a different vendor, Customer is upset on somethings we did not have any control over. The building itself was the most tough building to work out of because of the restricted hours that could be worked, elevators were never available and we were not allowed to use steps . We tried to expedite his project as fast as we could but in doing so incurred a $2,000 fine for using the steps. Mr. [Member Name Removed] also hired another contractor which he fired before this project started there were many existing issues prior before going into the job.
5.0

05/07/2018


Jay S.

Javier and team were amazing from start to finish. We needed a large load-bearing wall removed to have a more open concept. The work was beyond professional and the final product is stunning. People cannot believe the difference it has made in our home. I'd hire them again in a heartbeat for just about anything. We could not be happier.

Description of Work
Wall removal/opening

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Thumbtack / Houzz / Google. We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

05/03/2017


bradley Z.

Very well. I was price conscious and looking for good value with a limited budget and they were easy and pleasant to deal with.

Description of Work
Remodeling part of a bathroom

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Thumbtack / Houzz / Google. We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

03/28/2017


Kenly T.

I don't know how you would grade someone who is not the cheapest, but probably not the most expensive. Its expensive to have this kind of work done. They weren't the cheapest, but I have had somebody come out and give a much higher prices. Every situation is different. Things are more involved. Completely gutted bathroom. Took the drywall down, and re-drywall. They are beautiful, they look amazing.

Description of Work
Bathroom renovations. Two large bathrooms. Hardwood flooring. Banding of the hardwood floors, a half bath, installment of hardwood floors, two large bathrooms. Painted our curio. Painted some rooms inside. Painting the wall, tile work, plumbing, he is a contractor, so they do everything. They did tiling as well. The bathrooms were completely gutted.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Thumbtack / Houzz / Google. We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

09/24/2016


John M.

Javier and his team--led on our project by Elmer--did a fantastic job. They were incredibly responsive to our requests, easy to work with, and did flawless work. The refrigerator we purchased did not fit through the kitchen doorway, so the ABHI team temporarily removed the framing so they could move the fridge through, before replacing it--better than before. When the electrical work caused the circuit for our A/C unit to short out, Javier sent one of his associates to our house at 10:30 at night to repair it. Javier was also great at pointing out other areas of concern that he found as he was doing work--for example, we needed to install new water line shutoffs because some of the existing ones were corroded and non-functional. We felt a tremendous amount of confidence in his skill as a contractor and in his honesty. We would highly recommend Javier and ABHI to anyone looking to do a remodel.

Description of Work
We did a total kitchen remodel in our 1939 row house. It's a small galley kitchen that had been updated roughly 10 years ago (well before we purchased the house). We retained the existing cabinets and layout, but changed virtually everything else. The work that was done included installing a new tile backsplash, new countertops, refinishing floors, installing new appliances, new plumbing fixtures, new lighting, additional electrical outlets, painting existing cabinets/adding new hardware, and repainting walls. Given the small size of our kitchen, a lot of these tasks were reasonably difficult.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Thumbtack / Houzz / Google. We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

09/19/2016


Kenly T.

Javier from America's best is thoughtful and works to please his customers. The work went very well the bathrooms are beautiful! Now I am having he and his team renovate our master bath and master bedroom as well and look forward to the finished product. I know it is going to be perfection!

Description of Work
America's Best gutted a half bath and large Jack and Jill bath

Category ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Thumbtack / Houzz / Google. We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

09/09/2016


Marsha B.

I’ve used them for years. They are fast, professional, and thorough. However, what is most important is they have a high level of attention to detail, which is important to someone like myself. I don’t even look for anyone else these days for this type of work. I think their prices are fair and they also go above and beyond every time.

Description of Work
New guttering and gutter guards. Also other miscellaneous exterior work.

Category gutter repair, handyman service

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Google/ / Houzz /Thumbtack . We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
2.0

08/04/2016


Dionne H.

Basement (approximately 1200 sq ft) was completed last year (2015). Finished basement comprised of 3 rooms and bathroom. We continue to have plumbing problems to date. Initially a whistling noise in pipes throughout the house after basement plumbing was completed was said to be air in the pipes. After being told that the problem was air in the pipes and how to fix it, we tried to no avail to clear the problem. ABHI's plumber came out to observe and he informed us that a piece needed to be installed. Javier, the owner, told us that to repair the problem, we would have to pay more money but that he would split the cost with us. We contacted WSSC. They came out and adjusted something on the piping which fixed that problem. We contacted ABHI again with another plumbing issue at the installed commode which bubbles and makes noises and gives off nauseous gassy fumes at the commode and bath tub when the washing machine is running. When speaking with Javier, we were told that the plumbing was inspected and passed and therefore the additional problems that we are experiencing would be an additional charge to repair. This hardly sounds like it should be the case when none of these problems existed prior to ABHI's plumber finishing the bathroom. Additionally, communication was a continuous problem throughout the project which lasted approximately 5-6 months. The electrical, framing, drywall, and flooring were completed satisfactorily. Also, when we purchased items for the project (eg. bathroom vanity), Javier was willing to reduce our price by the budgeted allotment for the item since he did not have to make the purchases. All prospective clients: Be very cautious because all fees may not be included in your given price if you experience similar problems after you have made final payment.

Description of Work
Finish Basement

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Contract was written to be very specific and we had nothing to do with her existing plumbing issues prior. This is an issue when house was built with ventilation, we still fixed it at our cost when it wasn't our problem.
5.0

04/06/2016


DR TANEK J.

The were the best. I have delt with several disappointing contractors. I will always use them. They were fast and very detailed like me.

Description of Work
Full bathroom renovation, staircase, painting,

Category masonry, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Google/ / Houzz /Thumbtack . We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

01/14/2016


Gary A.

We signed the contract with ABHI in December 2014 and the project started in February meeting with the Architect. Their costs on expansion per sq foot cost are slightly higher than I estimated, but acceptable. The Architect provided several designs and after several changes the final plans were accepted early March. The design outside matched the house (the house is a old 1909, 2 story farm house in an Historical District) so that it looks like it was part of the original home and not a typical box add-on. Those homeowners who have older homes may want to make sure you have a site-plan if you are expanding or adding an addition to your home. When time came for the Architect to work on the drawings for the County permits we did not have a site plan. Normally site plans are included when you buy a home. The older homes in our area do not. Our site plan the county had was just a layout of the lot and did not include all buildings on the lot, driveway, etc. The Architect needs to include it on the site plan to show the new work. In a panic mode we had to rush and find a company to provide a site plan. This delayed the project about a week and additional cost of about $300.00. This is something not provided by ABHI. Maybe if they had asked before sigining the contract we could have included a site-plan with the contract. After some issues with the permitting system with the County with structural and later the City loosing the plans the project began in April. Initially, there were problems with the foundation. Most of it had to be redone since it was not plum. We thought we were in for a bad/rough time. We had a few other problems early on with the site foreman. After talking with Javier Hernandez we were told that ABHI had hired some new help and they were not up to ABHI standards. In addition, their project manager had been ill. Other than the initial issues the contractor needs to keep homeowner advised of their work schedules and work hours as the project progresses. We had sub-contractors and permit inspectors show up asking questions; as a homeowner I could not answer and no company foreman on-site. They work late hours which some may not like. ABHI got better keeping us advised of the project schedules as the project progressed when Javier took the "bull by the horns" and when Travis was back managing the project. Also, I would recommend that if you do not want commercial grade products (such as doors, tile, flooring, lighting, etc) specify up front (in the contract) exactly what you want. This is typical to most all contractors. During the construction we made a number of changes during which required requested special order items (doors, bathroom cabinet. Toilet, sink, pedestal, wall panels, washer/dryer, hardware, etc) and ABHI accommodated all requests and included and passed on any special discounts. Some Items we purchased and provided to ABHI. ABHI was more than willing to work with us and listened to what we wanted. ABHI gave us a credit on the items we purchased that they were to provide in the contract. Overall ABHI stands by their word to make everything right and they did. The workmanship and quality of work using their regular staff is excellent and stayed within budget. We were able to do a few other project with some of the savings ABHI got us on special order items. It was a pleasure working with Javier Hernandez and Travis Hudsonpillar. They were always accessible and returned calls promptly. We could not be happier. During the project we asked them for cost estimates for additional work not included in the original contract. The cost estimates were very reasonable and were accepted. The additional work included: install a new exhaust fan in the kitchen; add siding to original house where the stucco that was failing, new gutters on the front porch, and a stamped concrete patio (14 feet by 24 feet) and walkway, and re-ran the electrical service from our service box in the house to the shed. My dad had them replace his front concrete walkway (32?wide by 28 feet long) and one step. We will use ABHI again!

Description of Work
Work included: Demolition of an old enclosed back porch (12 feet by 22 feet) and build a 377 sq foot one level addition. The addition included: a bedroom, bathroom, pantry, walk-in-closet, and utility room (washer/dryer). They also did additional work which is explained below. Note: ABHI did not provide any interior or exterior painting. We had our own painter we have been using for the past 10 years.

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, gutter repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, ceiling fans, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, patios

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Google/ / Houzz /Thumbtack . We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

12/31/2015


Elizabeth M.

We couldn't be happier with the results. The workmanship is excellent, and we have more usable space than we thought possible when we started the process. From the beginning, Javier and Travis were responsive and direct with us. Of the contractors we met with, Travis was the one who seemed to pay the most attention to the details of our specific situation. In particular, he noticed some areas where water was seeping in near our HVAC unit and suggested some ways to mitigate the problem, and he also proposed that we could move the washer and dryer from their original location to free up a lot of extra space. They were honest with us about the cost, and while they were not the cheapest option, they took the time to explain why that was. They also really worked to come up with a plan that fit within our budget, and they did little things (like tiling the floor of the laundry room), that were not in the original contract but which really made a difference. Through the whole process, Javier maintained excellent communication with us, keeping us posted on a weekly and sometimes daily basis on what was going on and what the next steps were. We had a few problems here and there - most notably the removal of some of the original asbestos floor tiles, which we had requested simply be covered over with the new floor - but Javier was extremely responsive and covered the entire cost of an asbestos abatement to remove any residue. Even after we delivered our final payment, I was able to call him when I discovered a couple of minor issues, and he sent someone out to fix them. They also came out to fix some areas - which I didn't even notice - where the initial work was not up to their standards. In short, they seem to be a company with a lot of integrity, and we would certainly use them again.

Description of Work
Finished our basement (roughly 650 square feet). Installed new floor (mix of tile and carpet), insulation, walls, and ceiling. Upgraded aging electrical service and added recessed lighting. Built closet under the stairs. Moved washer and dryer into a separate laundry room and rerouted plumbing. Replaced aging cast-iron sewage pipes and rerouted AC ducts to create additional space.

Category ceramic tile, closet systems, electrician, flooring contractor, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Google/ / Houzz /Thumbtack . We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

12/01/2015


Tonja B.

Fantastic workmanship! We are very, very pleased! The owner is wonderful to work with and his employees are non-stop and constantly working. We are having them come back and remodel the kitchen; stucco the garage which is now block; add new roof and gutters on the garage; new patio off the french doors with iron handrails; new outside basement door; buff out the hardwood floors.

Description of Work
Tore out old stamped concrete walkway; created new paver walkway; repaired and added pavers to 2 sets of stairs; tiled sunroom; new french door; 2 new bedroom closet doors; added small patio to back outdoor stairwell, new gutters and vinyl siding; new concrete ramp leading to garage door; replaced garage door and garage side door.

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, flooring contractor, gutter repair, hardwood floor, masonry, remodeling, roofing, siding, home remodeling, doors, hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Google/ / Houzz /Thumbtack . We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
5.0

08/13/2015


Glenda M.

I signed the contract on 7/28/2014. They were ready to get started the next week. I was not ready that soon and delayed the work for another two weeks. They started around the middle of August. There were two delays after that (1 - my week vacation and (2 I had not gotten all of my appliances delivered. The kitchen actually only took two weeks for them to complete. I saw my dull. old kitchen transform into a bright, modern master piece before my eyes. Each day it looked better and better. Any complaint was immediately addressed and they honestly continued attending to my complaint until I was satisfied. It was customer service at its best. It was some of the best service I have come across in all my 50 plus years. I was satisfied with the service and the price. To the friendly, professional, punctual crew of Clifton and Javier - GREAT JOB!!! After one year I continue to come into my kitchen and smile - I love it.

Description of Work
Remodeled what is considered a small kitchen to include new cabinets, flooring, sink, painting and replaced old pantry with new pantry.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Google/ / Houzz /Thumbtack . We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS
2.0

08/07/2015


kenya M.

I contacted them through Angie's list email and they responded and asked me to call. I did and got no response. I waited about a week and called again and spoke with Javier who asked me to text him my availability. I did and did not hear back. About 3-4 days later I got a call from a woman who took my details and stated Travis would call me to set up a time to have someone come and estimate. That was on Tuesday. Its's Friday and no one has call. So this has been going on about 2.5 weeks just to get a call back about booking someone to come and evaluate the work.

Description of Work
No work done yet. This review is about responsiveness.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hello we have contacted you multiple times. With no responce back. Please contact me and i will come back out personaly and give you estimate and offer you a discount for the confusion and misunderstanding. Thanks javier 571-218-8960
5.0

07/31/2015


Marsha B.

I have worked with Javier Hernandez and his company on 3 previous projects. Things went smoothly. His employees showed up on time and did not take a lot of breaks. I actually had to remind them that they should take a lunch break. His company does first rate work and I have always felt that I got a fair price for the work done. As I mentioned in my last revive when they redid my kitchen, I consider their work to exceptional and see no reason to check other companies out. I am very comfortable with his employees to the extent that I can leave my house to run errands and do whatever I have to. I have complete confidence in a job well done and would recommend them to anyone. I have always been impressed with their attention to detail and their eagerness to please.

Description of Work
ABHI (Javiar Hernandez) completed gutted my two remaining bathrooms right down to the studs. Put in new tile floor, Tile going all the way to the ceiling in the shower area, new toilet, two wall cabinets (one mirrored and one wooden) , sink and vanity cabinet, assorted fixtures that I requested.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi America's Best wants to thank all of our great and loyal customers for being with us through out the years. Our Appreciation goes well above and beyond. We are very well honored to have been able to work with you and appreciate that you chose us to do the job. We are dedicated to continue to serve you & the DMV area. You can count on our services whenever there is a need for us to help. We are simply asking if all our customers can visit the below links to extend their reviews that were placed on Angie's List to also reflect on Google/ / Houzz /Thumbtack . We appreciate your time for this effort and wish that everyone in the world can be safe in these difficult times. Thank you Always, be blessed. America's Best Specialist Team. PS. You can simply copy paste the links on any browser which will direct you to our platforms , there you can insert your reviews Thank you once again. Google: https://cutt.ly/OuqyVid Houzz: https://www.houzz.com/pro/abhiinstallations/america-s-best-home-improvement Thumbtack: https://cutt.ly/4uqu2LS

    Other local Pros in your area

    EAD Contractors LLC

    EAD CONTRACTORS LLC is a locally owned and operated company which values honesty, integrity, and treats your home or business as if it were our own. We are experts in all aspects of masonry and our services are customizable to each individual project. We specialize in both installations and replacements. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work, as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building lasting relationships, and guarantee your satisfaction!  

    Offers by EAD Contractors LLC on Angi
    Closet America

    Closet America is a privately owned and locally operated manufacturer and installer of custom home organization systems for closets, home offices, pantries, media centers, and garages. By raising the standards for quality and customer service, Closet America has steadily grown into one of the premier names in the professional organizing systems industry. We have been consistently awarded the prestigious GuildMaster Award for exceptional customer service and satisfaction.  

    A A Action Waterproofing Inc

    AA Action offers permanent solutions to fix your leaky, moldy or flooded basement or crawlspace. Call AA Action Waterproofing, Inc to schedule your Professional Foundation Inspection 888-922-5517. What our inspection will involve is a very thorough examination of the foundation inside and out. We will explain why your foundation is leaking and what we can do to fix it permanently and provide a written estimate. This service is FREE of charge as long as we are meeting with the homeowner. We have over 30 years of experience helping homeowners in Maryland, Washington DC and Northern Virginia. We offer lifetime warranty's that are recognized and accepted as proof of a dry basement by FHA, VA, conventional lenders, and real estate professionals. Our warranty is also transferable should you sell your home. Interest Free Financing available with approved credit. We look forward to working with you.  

    Offers by A A Action Waterproofing Inc on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    MHIC #97897 / DC #410515000361 / VA #2705132942
    Trade License Locale
    DC , Maryland , Virginia
    Trade License Authority
    Home Improvement Contractor for the DMV
    Trade License Expiration
    08/01/2020
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Services For Maryland , DC & Virginia : 911 - Emergency Water removal- Anytime Any day 7 Days A Week / 24 Hours Full Construction & Restoration Services / Roofing Specialist Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling Lead & Mold Testing / Remediation Trauma Scene & Body Fluid Cleanup Fire, Mold, Trauma , Lead & Asbestos Viruses and Bacteria Prevention / Disinfection WHY CHOOSE US? Free No-Obligation Estimates 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed Energy Conservation Experts Financing Available No-pressure sales process Licensed, Insured & Bonded in MD , VA and DC Support-24/7

    Services Not Offered

    small handyman work

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about America's Best Home Improvement

    How is America's Best Home Improvement overall rated?

    America's Best Home Improvement is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are America's Best Home Improvement open?

    America's Best Home Improvement is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does America's Best Home Improvement provide

    America's Best Home Improvement accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check, PayPal

    Does America's Best Home Improvement offer free estimates?

    Yes, America's Best Home Improvement offers free project estimates.

    Does America's Best Home Improvement offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, America's Best Home Improvement offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does America's Best Home Improvement offer a senior discount?

    No, America's Best Home Improvement does not offer a senior discount.

    Does America's Best Home Improvement offer emergency services?

    Yes, America's Best Home Improvement offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by America's Best Home Improvement?

    No, America's Best Home Improvement does not offer warranties.

    What services does America's Best Home Improvement offer?

    America's Best Home Improvement offers the following services: Services For Maryland , DC & Virginia : 911 - Emergency Water removal- Anytime Any day 7 Days A Week / 24 Hours Full Construction & Restoration Services / Roofing Specialist Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling Lead & Mold Testing / Remediation Trauma Scene & Body Fluid Cleanup Fire, Mold, Trauma , Lead & Asbestos Viruses and Bacteria Prevention / Disinfection WHY CHOOSE US? Free No-Obligation Estimates 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed Energy Conservation Experts Financing Available No-pressure sales process Licensed, Insured & Bonded in MD , VA and DC Support-24/7

    Are there any services America's Best Home Improvement does not offer?

    small handyman work