Core Remodeling Services Inc

About

Founded 2012 • With Angi since July 2012

CORE Remodeling Services, Inc. is a full service remodeling design and build firm. We specialize in remodeling kitchens, bathrooms, basements, attics, additions, whole house renovations, deck building, siding, window and door replacements in the Worcester County MA and Metro West MA area. Please read our project minimum requirements at the end as we do not complete installs or repairs . We are committed to developing long-term relationships with our customers. We will exceed expectations and gain your trust through superior performance by every member of our team. We pride ourselves on bringing professionalism to a trade that has a well-earned, poor reputation. CORE is a full service remodeling company and we know your time is important. In an effort to try to make sure CORE is the right contractor for you, listed below are a few minimum project requirements we have in place. General Carpentry & Remodeling is a $5,000 minimum estimated project size for all carpentry or exterior siding related projects. Unless you are a returning customer or it is part of a larger project, we do not do small repair work. Windows & Doors 2 each, minimum entrance type doors 5 each, minimum replacement windows We only do installations for windows and doors that are ordered through our company. We do not install customer purchased products. We do not do window and door repairs that are not part of replacements....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+128 more images

VA Approved Project - Framingham MA

VA Approved Project - Framingham MA

home remodeling202001702
We had the chance to work with Debra and Joy who are an amazing couple! They shared their home with us for a short time and also shared part of their lives! We provided a link on our website that tells Debra’s story of how she served all of us and our Country. Thank you, Debra, for all you did and continue to do. We converted existing bedroom to a bathroom with 48 x 60" roll in ADA shower with glass enclosure, wall mount sink and comfort height toilet with grab bars. Converted existing bedroom closet into new toilet area. Widen part of existing hallway to 36 inches. Widen bedroom, new bathroom and office doorways to 36" inches. Created a second egress, from master bedroom, which also included removal of existing bay window, framing and installing a new Provia 60" out-swing, double French door with ADA threshold with brushed nickel, levered lock set. We also built a new 12 x 20' deck with ADA EZ Access, Pathway modular aluminum ramp to ground and poured a concrete sidewalk from ramp to driveway. We Installed Bruno Vertical Platform Lift in garage to provide access from driveway/garage to house.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(109) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

93

4

9

3

2

2

0

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (37)woodworking (23)decks & porches (18)interior painting (15)window replacement (15)drywall (15)basement remodeling (11)lighting (11)tile installation (9)countertop installation (8)water damage restoration (5)general contractors (4)
Showing 1-25 of 109 reviews
5.0

04/12/2021


Brian S.

We hired CORE for a kitchen remodel and couldn’t be happier with the results. Throughout the entire process (which we delayed multiple times during the design phase due to Covid), Corey and his team team were extremely courteous, prompt, and professional. Communication was never an issue, and I always felt that our concerns were taken seriously and our questions were thoroughly answered. When we were having problems dealing with a vendor, Corey stepped in immediately to smooth things over and followed up to make sure that we were satisfied with the outcome. We will certainly look to CORE for any future remodeling needs. If you’re planning a big project, you absolutely want to work with a company you can trust every step of the way – CORE is that company!

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2020

Images

Review for Core Remodeling Services Inc - 41 Boylston St, Worcester, MA - 39291688

+1 More

5.0

04/02/2021


Ted C.

It was a very professional experience from start to finish. It was a relatively big project. The team members were great: Corey on sales and drawings, Al as project supervisor, Joey and Gary as the main team builders throughout the project. All a great group. We were very pleased with the outcome. They were really flexible and picked up some no cost adds (matching and locating siding that ended up needing to be replaced due the old deck install, adding a swing set to the demo, etc.). Project photos are in the deck gallery on their website. This work was done from September-December 2017. Right as it ended we had a major family medical issue to respond to, so that's why our review was delayed posting. Would definitely have them back for a future project.

Description of Work
We needed an old deck replaced with a new larger one, a new center door for our garage and our lanscape retaining wall and stairs redone.

Category decks, doors, floor cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/22/2017

5.0

01/20/2021


Debra A F.

It was a long process in part because we could not go anywhere due to Covid and we have four cats. That being as it was, the process was very well laid out, any questions, and/or issues were all addressed in a timely manner. The various contractors - electrical, plumbing, construction, painters, etc., were all very good. They did their jobs well! They offered advice and suggestions when asked. And all were always polite and easy to get along with.

Description of Work
Accessible renovations for wheelchair use

Category ceramic tile, decks, drywall, lighting, remodeling, deck cleaning, interior painters, doors, floor cleaning

Cost $150,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/01/2020

5.0

05/08/2020


Ryan L.

We can't speak highly enough about CORE Remodeling! We had a great experience from the initial quoting and design work with Corey, the owner, to the day-to-day trade work with the carpenters and project manager. The entire process was smooth, on budget, and on-time. It was even an expedited time frame from what was initially estimated which I can't thank them enough for as we were expecting a second child. This company is extremely easy to work with and communicative, which I can't say is the norm int he industry. The work was done at a very high quality and they even put in some custom asks such as venting for an existing dehumidifier that I had purchased. I would recommend CORE and their team to anyone and everyone!

Description of Work
Finishing an unfinished basement

Category remodeling, architect, basement remodeling

Cost $38,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed] very much for the raving review! It was a pleasure working with both of you, We look forward to working with you again. Corey Plourde Owner
5.0

04/22/2020


Pamela G.

CORE Remodeling did a fantastic job finishing our basement. From start to finish the process was smooth and professional. Corey listened carefully to our needs and delivered a finished basement which met our needs perfectly and stayed within our desired budget. Throughout the project, communication was clear and easy. Their website had a calendar which had the project timeline spelled out which was helpful to follow along and know what to expect. All of the workers were timely, diligent, respectful, and skilled. The project manager was easy to reach, communicated clearly, and overall great to work with. We love our finished basement and how it came out and we would absolutely use CORE Remodeling for future home renovation needs.

Description of Work
Finished our basement

Category architect, basement remodeling

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review! We truly appreciate the business and you were fantastic to work with! Call us whenever you need us, we will be here. Thank you again. Corey Plourde Owner
5.0

04/20/2020


Sean Q.

They did a great job! We decided to go with Core Remodeling because they were local and we felt very confident in working with Al. Al was very attentive during the planning phase and the whole Core team responded promptly to any questions we had through their web portal, and phone calls. When we were trying to decide between the flooring for the front porch, Al dropped off samples for us to consider. As the project went on we realized that there were things we had forgotten about, or thought of, and changes to our plan couldn’t have been easier. We were concerned that because we got such a late start with scheduling, that the porch wouldn’t be started or finished before spring, the team worked through the worst of the winter months to complete the porch (luckily this year was more mild than some, but it was still bitter cold out). We couldn’t appreciate the professionalism, work ethic, and attention to detail by everyone at Core Remodeling more. We will definitely be considering them for future projects we have, and we have a lot!

Description of Work
We hired Core Remodeling to design and build our front porch

Category architect

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2020

Images

Review for Core Remodeling Services Inc - 41 Boylston St, Worcester, MA - 38508852

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review. Call us whenever you need us. Thank you again. Corey Plourde Owner
5.0

02/24/2020


Tim M.

Excellent work. We chose CORE even though it was higher priced because of two reasons: our ability to trust Corey, the owner, because of his very straightforward and honest manner; and our sense that this was a job that we wanted to be professional from start to finish and thereby to add value to our home. The communication system is excellent. Everyone involved in the process got all the updates through their electronic system, so there was never any guesswork about what was being done when. The schedule was good. The start date was later than we'd hoped, but that was for us a testament to their being busy because they are good. Once the work started, it progressed according to plan and we were very excited at the progress. The workers, including the contract workers, were excellent. Overall we are very happy with the results and will hire them again should we want future work done in other parts of the house.

Description of Work
refinishing an unfinished basement

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you both very much for the great review. You were great customers to work with and we look forward to being there any time you need us. Thank you again for the opportunity. Corey Plourde Owner
5.0

02/19/2020


John H.

We were very pleased with Corey and his team. Both Core employees and sub-contractors were professional, friendly, and kept us well informed of the schedule every step of the way through the project. We had our young grandson staying with us during the project and the carpenter team, electricians, and plumbers kept the dust to a minimum and went out of their way to let us know when it would be particularly noisy so that we could take the young one on outings. Core’s carpenters, Ralph and Bill, were particularly creative in resolving our “old house” quirks giving us more ceiling height and a cleaner finished look to the rooms. Overall the quality of the work and the final result were better than we had envisioned. We would recommend Core Remodeling to friends and would not hesitate hiring Core for future projects.

Description of Work
Remodel three basement rooms and add a bathroom

Category countertops, drywall, lighting, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

Cost $65,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you both for this great review. Thank you both for being great customers and giving our company the opportunity to do your project. We are here when ever you need us. Corey Owner
5.0

01/23/2020


Jeff B.

I bought a new to me house in the summer of 2019 and needed to redo a bathroom (including moving a doorway) and also wanted to add a garage. Found CORE via Google and sent them an email (along with numerous other companies most of which never responded). The president of the company, Corey, came out himself and sat down to talk about what I was looking to do and timeline, he took measurements and pictures, explained their process, etc. I ended up using them and they began the bathroom work almost immediately due to a lucky break in scheduling. There was a lot of communication, especially via their app, and their carpenter Kim did a great job on all the work and was meticulous to protect the house interior from any damage and also he kept the area very clean as he did the work. We hit a few snags as you usually do on things being on backorder or whatever and they quickly worked with me to figure out substitutes so we didn't lose time. The end result on the bathroom is fantastic and everything I could have wanted. When it came to the garage I knew it would be more involved given the scope but I hadn't fully anticipated the obstacles we would have to overcome with the town. I was looking to hand over duties to someone and have them deal with everything and boy did they ever have things to deal with. The town put them through so much to get approval but they kept at it, were great at keeping me updated on things, and took care of it all. It ended up taking a lot longer than we could have imagined but none of it was due to them, as soon as we got approvals they were there starting to work. I really appreciated that everyone from CORE (and between the projects I think I dealt with almost all of them) was nice, professional, wanted to help solve any problems, etc. There was never someone I had any issue with or could complain about in the least. Even the sub-contractors they used for things like the concrete were fantastic. I kept commenting on how nice they were and Corey was always appreciative that I felt that way and everyone was very nice to my 9 year old daughter as she checked out what they were working on. They never pushed anything I didn't need, but would always make suggestions that made sense or would be better and less expensive. If you aren't interested in doing the work yourself to pick things they even will help with suggesting based on your criteria! The bathroom ended up slightly under-budget and the garage was right on. Though I'm ready to be done with big projects for now I would absolutely use CORE again in the future and would have no hesitation recommending them to family or friends.

Description of Work
Bathroom reno and garage addition

Category remodeling, siding, replacement windows, garage builders, woodworking, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/23/2020

Service Provider Response

I just wanted to say we really enjoyed your project and getting to know you. Thank you for giving us this great review, we really appreciate it. Corey Owner
5.0

05/06/2019


John P.

CORE Remodeling Services was fantastic to work with. We has several concepts to work through and their design team was there every step of the way. The work site was always clean the the project timeline was spot on even with some weather constraints. This was one of our last big projects to complete on our house and we could be happier with the results.

Description of Work
Demolish existing deck and rebuild using Trex Decking and Aluminum Rails

Category decks, remodeling, woodworking

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/17/2019

Service Provider Response

I know we did not get a chance to meet, but we truly appreciate your review. Al let me know how much of a pleasure it was to work with you. Thank you again. We are here whenever you need us in the future. Corey Plourde Owner
1.0

03/26/2019


Peter G.

I contacted this company which represents that it covers Worcester County and Metro West. I live in Worcester County and in reality they cover a very limited area of Worcester County. They declined to even discuss the project with me. I am literally 26 miles from their office in Worcester, which obviously is too far for them to bother.

Description of Work
New kitchen

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Work Completed On 03/26/2019

Service Provider Response

First, thank you for contacting us originally. Sorry you felt the need to give us a poor review for being honest and letting you know we don't service your town. On the bottom of every page of our website, we list the towns that we mainly service. We also have a specific page labeled "Area of Service", which also lists all towns we service. We try to be as upfront as possible so we don't waste anyone'[Member Information Removed] time. We wish you the best of luck with your project. Corey Plourde Owner
5.0

03/03/2019


Walfre F.

Corey and his team were professional from beginning to end. They kept us informed every step of the way. They were productive and responsive throughout the whole process. All the crew members were knowledgeable and respectful. It was helpful to have a project manager guiding us and keeping the project on time.

Description of Work
Full remodeling of two bathrooms

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you both very much for the great review. We really do appreciate it!
5.0

01/12/2019


Christine Y.

Corey and his team did an outstanding job finishing our basement. Mike, the project manager, answered all of our questions and concerns promptly via the “co-construct” app. They also reached out to us to make sure we were happy with the progress. The job was finished on time and with no issues. It’s been a year, and everything still looks great. We wouldn’t hesitate to use CORE Remodeling Services again. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Basement finishing

Category drywall, lighting, remodeling, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/31/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you both for the great review! We really do appreciate it.
5.0

11/01/2018


Sandy C.

After a very bad experience with a contractor on our kitchen remodel we were very skeptical about hiring another contractor to do our bathroom remodel. I went out got several quotes and decided to go with Core Remodeling with no regrets. You could not ask for a more professional team from Stacey to Corey to Mike to even the painter. Corey was attentive and listened to my needs and wants. He made suggestions but was never pushy. Communication was top notch. Being able to go on line and communicate was very convenient especially since I was traveling through most of the remodel. We did not have a full demolition but expected to have dust everywhere in my house and to my surprise there was not. Actually, each stage of the remodel was like no one was there but the work just got done. At the completion the clean-up was impeccable. I would not hesitate to use Core Remodeling again and recommend to anyone looking for a contractor for any job to call Core Remodeling.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review! You both were great to work for. Call us any time and we are there for you! Corey Plourde Owner
5.0

10/05/2018


Dennis D.

Core Remodeling was awesome to work with. Al and Joe were such professionals. Everything was smooth and done when it was suppose to be done. Will definitely be hiring them again!!!!

Description of Work
Porch and interior doors

Category decks, remodeling, replacement windows, house painters, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], I know we did not get a chance to meet, but Al let me know how great you were to work with. We really appreciate you choosing us for your project. We are here in the future when you need us. Corey Plourde Owner
5.0

08/15/2018


catherine G.

it went great. I couldn't have asked for more. The Core team was very professional, friendly, accommodating, and communicative.

Description of Work
bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $29,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2018

Images

Review for Core Remodeling Services Inc - 41 Boylston St, Worcester, MA - 37324046

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review! We really appreciate it. We are here when you need us again. Corey Plourde Owner
5.0

05/09/2018


GEORGE L.

We got very high pressure quotes from 3 other window companies but CoreRemodeling is absolutely wonderful. From the no pressure quote through the installation, Al and his crew were amazing. Al keeps in great communication throughout. We had to special order the windows and he kept us updated as to the order status. He is so knowledgeable yet easygoing and really personable. Then his super friendly and considerate crew installed the windows, and they cleaned up after themselves (we'd have never known they had been there except for our gorgeous windows). They did a wonderful job and we love our new windows and we would recommend them over and over again.

Description of Work
replace windows

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2018

5.0

04/17/2018


Phyllis K.

very well. Delivered what was promised - courteous, professional work.

Description of Work
new windows

Category replacement windows

Cost $3,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2018

5.0

04/14/2018


Peter K.

When I decided to remodel my bathroom, that had not been renovated or touched basically since the house was built in 1967, I did a lot of research on what the costs might be, and met with and received estimates from several potential contractors. Some that would do only the bath/shower area in one day, and some that would do a complete remodel. I decided a complete remodel was best for me. By the time the CORE Remodeling owner, Corey, came to my house to review the written estimate with me in person, I had already made up my mind that CORE Remodeling was the contractor I wanted to hire as long as the estimate was close to my budget, which it was, and I hired them on the spot. CORE was the most professional contractor that I talked to by far, and I felt very comfortable with them based on my research and reviews, and I was not disappointed. The bathroom came out great, and I was very happy with the finished product. CORE has a great process and online project management system that kept me informed with the schedule the entire time, and it was very easy to make changes/adds as it progressed. I would highly recommend CORE to anyone that has a home improvement project, and in fact, I have already had them back to provide estimates on some more projects on my homes exterior. A big thank you to the owner Corey, Project Manager Mike, Little Mike, and all the crew at CORE remodeling on a job well done.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you both for the great review! We all enjoyed working for you and look forward to our next project. Thanks again for trusting us for your project. Corey
5.0

03/07/2018


Laura W.

CORE renovated my entire house, including the kitchen, three bathrooms, basement and bedrooms. They are extremely professional and do high quality work. They are punctual and this big job was finished on time. It has been one year since our renovation, and we already hired them back for another small follow-up job. I will only use CORE myself, and highly recommend this company to my family and friends.

Description of Work
Renovation of entire house

Category ceramic tile, countertops, decks, drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, lighting, remodeling, wallpaper removal, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, sunrooms, basement remodeling

Cost $135,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review! We really enjoyed working with you both. When ever you need us, we are here.
5.0

01/31/2018


Keith C.

Corey and his team at CORE Remodeling Services are very professional in every aspect of their business. In meeting with clients, listening to their wants and offering suggestions. Their completed work gains very positive reviews and garners recommendations. They should be at the top of your list as a company to contact for any project you have. They are punctual, explain the process and will work with you, not only for you.

Description of Work
I have drawn the plans for many of CORE's projects

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review! We really appreciate it.
5.0

01/29/2018


Dennis H.

Flawless! Perfection in all areas. Contact by Site Manager was the best by far. On the spot, satisfaction guaranteed and follow up was very important to their mission. The carpenter was meticulous and cleaned up every day and took great lengths not to create a mess during his day. His workmanship was top notch.

Description of Work
Rebuilt old shower and tiled, tiled kitchen backsplash, tiled tub in 2nd bathroom. Moved and replaced bathroom door

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/29/2018