Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Central Mass Landscapes

Founded 2006 • With Angi since August 2012

4.7

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 60423

Worcester, MA 01606

Description

We are a full service landscape company serving central and eastern Massachusetts. We can provide complete grounds maintenance, landscape design and build services including patios and walkways, irrigation system installation and maintenance and much more. We are also a Massachusetts State licensed fertilizer & pesticide applicator. Please visit our website at www.centralmasslandscapes.com for more information....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/26/2018


Jeffery M.

Required landscaping architect expertise to assist in developing a plan to update our front and rear yards where we moved into a new development and our lot was a bare postage stamp. Interacted with and interviewed three or four landscaping companies and decided to contract with C.M.L. The project included different phases and are included/discussed for reference. The rear yard was sloped and required a curved 100-foot long by 4-foot concrete block retaining wall to provide a leveled area. C.M.L. provided the most technical approach on the wall design, installation specifics and final outcome goal above and beyond the other companies. In addition, we required new trees, plants and associated beds in both the front and back yards. We worked with C.M.L. and discussed numerous well thought out designs pertaining to the landscape intended goals and solutions to provide a well-developed outcome. As a byproduct of this large landscaping project the existing lawn would be a casualty however it was explained up front prior to the project start. We added in the required remediation effort (new soil/hydroseed) at the end of the project where our soil was substandard from the builder anyway. The landscaping included new soil, numerous Abortive Thuja family trees, Hinoki Cypress trees, Blue Spruce trees, Rhododendrons, a double-border paver walkway, a granite lamp post and a granite step. Needless to say, this level of effort spanned a few months however the final outcome was just what we envisioned. The project execution was steady without interruption. I've dealt with a few contract companies over time and I was most impressed with the professionalism and courteous nature of the C.M.L. team. If you are considering having work performed I would include C.M.L. within your candidate choices. In fact we do have a few more projects to complete and will contract with C.M.L. without hesitation. Hope this review helps with your future landscaping decisions. Thanks for the read.

Description of Work
Required front and rear yard landscaping to be performed

Category landscaping

5.0

03/26/2018


Jeffery M.

Required landscaping architect expertise to assist in developing a plan to update our front and rear yards where we moved into a new development and our lot was a bare postage stamp. Interacted with and interviewed three or four landscaping companies and decided to contract with C.M.L. The project included different phases and are included/discussed for reference. The rear yard was sloped and required a curved 4-foot high by 100-foot long concrete block retaining wall to provide a leveled area. C.M.L. provided the most technical approach on the wall design, installation specifics and final outcome goal above and beyond the other companies. In addition, we required new trees, plants and associated beds in both the front and back yards. We worked with C.M.L. and discussed numerous well thought out designs pertaining to the landscape intended goals and solutions to provide a well-developed outcome. As a byproduct of this large landscaping project the existing lawn would be a casualty however it was explained up front prior to the project start. We added in the required remediation effort (new soil/hydroseed) at the end of the project where our soil was substandard from the builder anyway. The landscaping included new soil, numerous Abortive Thuja family trees, Hinoki Cypress trees, Blue Spruce trees, Rhododendrons, a double-border paver walkway, a granite lamp post and a granite step. Needless to say, this level of effort spanned a few months however the final outcome was just what we envisioned. The project execution was steady without interruption. I've dealt with a few contract companies over time and I was most impressed with the professionalism and courteous nature of the C.M.L. team. If you are considering having work performed I would include C.M.L. within your candidate choices. In fact we do have a few more projects to complete and will contract with C.M.L. without hesitation. Hope this review helps with your future landscaping decisions. Thanks for the read.

Description of Work
Required front and rear yard landscaping

Category landscaping, mulch, hardscaping

5.0

09/21/2017


Angela C.

Great!!! I would definitely hire this company again!

Description of Work
Sprinkler System

Category landscaping

5.0

09/13/2017


Terence E.

Timely, friendly and stayed on budget

Description of Work
Took care of overgrown areas and hydroseeded lawns areas.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your business!
5.0

09/06/2017


Karen M.

Great! I was contacted right away and the service was taken care of in a timely manner. I would definitely work with them again in the future

Description of Work
I had out of control hedges on two sides of my property

Category landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and the great review!
5.0

09/06/2017


Karen M.

They came right away to give me an estimate and as soon as I agreed the work was done before I got home from work.

Description of Work
My shrubs were out of control!

Category lawn service

5.0

06/12/2017


Ellen B.

The work went well. It was bitterly cold out and the crew did a very good job. We had a miscommunication (mostly on my part) about cleaning up one area and they came back and took care of it.

Description of Work
Yard cleanup in a few areas that had not been attended to in several years - so very messy. Also, trim some shrubs and put down some dirt in an area that needed to be built up.

Category lawn service, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business, and for writing such a nice review. Let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future!
1.0

05/31/2017


Ellis J.

FAILED REPAIR. We hired Chris Duncan, the owner of Central Mass Landscapes, to repair a segment of our retaining wall last summer. The wall was bulging, and after identifying what he thought was the problem, Chris and his team dismantled and rebuilt the problematic segment. It was an expensive job – we paid Central Mass Landscapes $3,624 for their work – and less than a year later, after the season’s first thaw, the segment gave way. It has been difficult to get to the bottom of what happened, but it appears that Chris misdiagnosed the problem and unintentionally rendered the wall LESS stable with his repair. We tried to work with Chris – and he tried to work with us – but in the course of trying to repair the wall a second time, we learned that Chris was never licensed to repair the wall, and he had not pulled the appropriate permit to do so. He gave us a partial refund, less than a third of the job’s cost, and basically left us in the lurch. I hate to leave a negative review, but it’s our only recourse. My sense is that Central Mass Landscaping might be reliable for small jobs, but if you’re looking for someone who really knows their stuff when it comes to hardscaping or masonry, look elsewhere. If you do go with Central Mass Landscaping, make sure Chris pulls any necessary permits and is willing to guarantee his work for a full calendar year (I’ve learned that some contractors consider this standard practice, and I'm still so surprised he was unwilling to refund us for a repair that failed so completely).

Description of Work
Retaining wall, repair

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

I had originally met with [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed]back in 2015 to discuss repair options for a bulging section [Member Information Removed] a fairly long retaining wall [Member Information Removed] varying heights located on the side [Member Information Removed] their property. My initial assessment established that the wall as a whole was poorly/incorrectly constructed, lacked a drainage system and was most likely partially back filled with some type [Member Information Removed] soil not the correct crushed gravel which would facilitate good drainage [Member Information Removed] any water from behind the wall. This was evident because only the top 2-3 courses in certain sections [Member Information Removed] the wall were bulging, while the lower courses were inline and in decent shape. Given the overall condition, and lack [Member Information Removed] a drainage system, the wall should ideally have been completely torn down and rebuilt or replaced. Ara and [Member Name Removed] were more interested in a repair at that time since a full rebuild would obviously be very expensive and a much more intensive project. I wrote them a proposal for the repair, which outlined in great detail the findings [Member Information Removed] my assessment, and a plan to correct the bulging section by removing the topsoil, resetting the blocks and back filling with several lifts [Member Information Removed] compacted crushed stone. [Member Name Removed] & [Member Name Removed] received the quote and were satisfied, but wanted to hold off until 2016 to begin the work. In August [Member Information Removed] 2016, one [Member Information Removed] our crews completed the job as outlined in the quote and found exactly what I had suspected. The Upper 2-3 courses [Member Information Removed] the wall had been back filled with soil, not gravel. Soil will retain water and when frozen, and can then expand and push the block out [Member Information Removed] place creating a bulge or even worse, knocking it down. The job was completed and we were paid in full for our services. In March [Member Information Removed] 2017, [Member Name Removed] and[Member Name Removed] had contacted me to say that the wall had moved suddenly during a rapid thaw and heavy rain. I came out the next day and was honestly quite surprised to see that the wall had in fact shifted. a week later, after more bad weather and changing temperatures, the wall shifted again and partially fell apart. In the interest [Member Information Removed] correcting the situation, I spent considerable time researching the specific wall block, manufacturer's specifications and even hand digging holes behind different sections [Member Information Removed] the wall to check for more possible defects. I discovered that whoever had built the wall originally did not follow the specifications set forth by the manufacturer [Member Information Removed] the block and had used about half [Member Information Removed] the geo-grid that was required for the specific height and block configuration [Member Information Removed] the wall. This, when combined with the lack [Member Information Removed] a drainage system really sums up why the wall is failing as a whole. We have been in business for 10 years. We have not stayed in business by performing substandard work or working illegally without permits and licenses. Our initial repair would have been considered an ordinary repair according to the building code. Ordinary repairs do not require a permit. We were performing our work on a relatively small section [Member Information Removed] the wall and were only going down approximately 2 feet. The wall itself was not even dismantled, we were able to pull back small sections at a time with our mini excavator and only had to re-adhere some [Member Information Removed] the wall caps after back filling. [Member Name Removed] and[Member Name Removed]knew that in order to fix the wall this spring, that I would need to pull a permit since the new repair was more intense after the failure. I very openly informed them that as a landscape company, we do not hold a Construction Supervisors License and could not pull the permits ourselves to repair the wall at this stage. It is a common and legal practice for other contractors with CSLs to pull the permits and still have us perform the work, Since this was going to be another repair attempt and not a rebuild, I was not interested in dragging another contractor into this mess to share responsibility down the road. My proposal gave no guarantees and no warranty because it would be virtually impossible to guarantee that there would be no future issues unless this wall was completely rebuilt. We cannot now assume any and all liability for future wall failures because we performed a repair. We are not the original wall builders and the Town [Member Information Removed] Auburn cannot even verify that there was ever a permit pulled for the wall in the first place. I did however, genuinely feel bad that our repair did not ultimately work. So much so, that I calculated my cost to perform the job and mailed [Member Name Removed] a check ($1000.00), which was my gross profit after paying for labor, fuel, equipment and material costs since I could not help them. I did not feel it was appropriate to return the entire balance [Member Information Removed] the project since I inccured costs to perform the job, the repair was completed exactly according to the quote, and it is blatantly evident now that more underlying issues must be corrected for a successful, longstanding wall. In closing, this review not only contains several fallacies, but is a complete assault on my character as an individual, as well as the competency and integrity [Member Information Removed] my business. To my knowledge, a carbon copy [Member Information Removed] this same review has been posted on several other similar review websites. I would like to mention that [Member Name Removed] was kind enough to give me the opportunity (in writing) to have these negative reviews revised and turned into positive reviews that praised my company in light [Member Information Removed] the situation in exchange for a refund [Member Information Removed] the total job cost, less the $1000 they had already received. Sounds like blackmail to me!
5.0

03/14/2017


Mark T.

Everything great all set

Description of Work
Winterize law irrigation system

Category landscaping

2.0

12/12/2016


Gift S.

Not well. Didn't show up after I made an appointment. Did not call or apologize.

Description of Work
Didn't show up after I made an appointment. Didn't bother to call me either.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

We are sorry to see such a poor review from someone that we did not even have the opportunity to perform services for. If we remember correctly, you had booked a late season fall cleanup. A time frame for the cleanup was scheduled, but we received a few small winter storm events in the very beginning of December which abruptly brought our season to a close. Going forward, I would recommend to do your hiring and scheduling as early as possible. Landscape companies are very much at the mercy of the weather during that time of year and this scenario is not uncommon.
5.0

10/14/2016


Benjamin P.

We quoted 4-5 different firms - Andy went much deeper and incorporated our feedback into an extremely specific proposal/quote. He probably spent 8+ hours all in before we even committed to anything, and his expertise clearly showed which gave us great confidence in the final result. The job itself took a good deal longer than originally estimated, but we closely supervised and definitely believe that it took longer because they were extremely attentive to detail and did not cut a single corner, which we appreciated. Price-wise his quote was on the higher end but we went ahead with him because we knew exactly what we'd be getting, and we were thrilled with the final result.

Description of Work
We were planning a substantial redesign of an existing patio - demo of existing concrete slab and ~700 sq ft expansion for a new pavers patio/sitting wall

Category excavators, masonry, hardscaping, patios

3.0

08/10/2016


Jennifer R S.

After my initial meeting with Central Mass Landscapes I was very excited to hire them to work on our property. Andrew was on time, professional, and listened attentively as I described what needed to be done. I received the quote quickly and they scheduled a date with us within a week. Unfortunately, we did not feel that Andrew's professionalism and expertise showed in the final product. Upon arriving home, the mulching was completed and new plants were in, but we were surprised that many of our plants had been torn out in addition to weeds, leaving large bare spots in our gardens. In addition, dead blossoms and leaves had not been removed and several plants looked trampled/torn up. As there was no invoice or other confirmation the work was completed, we assumed the crew would be back the next day. Upon arriving home again, we were shocked to see everything in the same state. In addition, large amounts of several vines that had been pruned showed an abundance of dead/dying material. I called Chris (owner) immediately and sent an email with photos documenting my concerns. He stated he could not speak to the job as it was handled by Andrew, who called me the next day. He promised to send a crew back out to clean up the vines, clean up trampled plants and dead head the plants (which he claimed was not technically included in the service but as our contract specifically stated it included the removal of all dead plant material, he promised to honor the letter of our agreement). He also stated plants were removed because they "weren't in a great state" - however we are now down a geranium, an astilbe, some fireworks flowers, a mint plant, and many others. He thought full removal would be best as we are trying to sell our home. As of today, though, those were still our plants and I would have appreciated a call before his team proceeded. While I will admit several were past their prime, some had not even flowered yet. The crew was sent over a second time yesterday with no advance notice - we actually didn't know they had been at our home until after they had already been and gone and I received an email from Andrew asking how the job went. I'm sorry to say that their attempts to correct issues were very poor indeed. Dead material was removed from our vines and left all over the ground. The vines are now in very poor shape. Some dead material was removed from plants, but most were not dead headed as promised and torn up leaves and trampled plants still remain. For almost $1,400 I expected I would not have to lift a finger to clean up my gardens. I am now left with a substantial amount of work to clean up our gardens to put our house on the market plus the unexpected cost of filling the bare spots. In addition, many of our plants are gone or a mere shadow of what they once were. When I hired professionals, my expectation was that our gardens would be in even better shape than if my husband and I tackled the job as they would know best how to treat the various plant life around our home. I not only do not feel that way, I also feel as though I substantially overpaid for sub-par work which, from communication, was not overseen by either Andrew or Chris.

Description of Work
Our contract with Central Mass Landscapes included pruning of the shrubs and vines around our property, Bed cleanup and weeding including the removal of all dead plant material, planting 1 shrub and 2 ornamental grasses, and mulching all the garden beds.

Category landscaping, mulch

5.0

11/27/2015


Thomas F.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/18/2015


Gerard F.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

08/17/2015


Heena S.

The owner Chris (I believe) was prompt and professional. The install was done while we were away but everything looked great when we got back.

Description of Work
Central Mass Landscaping re-mulched our front and back yards and re did one of our front beds that needed a new look.

Category landscaping, mulch

5.0

08/12/2015


Paula J.

Description of Work
They landscaped front yard. Looks great. |Haven't received final bill yet.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

08/10/2015


Joshua B.

Chris was very quick to respond to my request and made an appointment for a few days later. He showed up when he said he was going to, and was very friendly and knowledgeable. He sent a quote over earlier than he said he would. We chose not to go with them because the price was outside of our price range but everything else was great.

Description of Work
Gave a quote for trimming/pruning/weeding.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

08/10/2015


Danielle L.

.

Description of Work
.

Category lawn service

5.0

07/31/2015


Raymond S.

They provided full service by purchasing the shrubs and planting them within our existing landscape. They positioned them well and did it without any oversight. They're able to work well without any supervision.

Description of Work
Planted shrubs in front of the house

Category landscaping

5.0

07/29/2015


MARY ALICE H.

The large, landscaped lots that surround my rental property have become very overgrown in the last year. Various tenants have, over the years, piled yard waste in the back of the lot to the point of us losing several hundred square feet of previously landscaped space. Chris spent nearly an hour walking the lots with me as we discussed what could stay and what needed to go, which trees to remove, and the aesthetic rejuvenation of the small front yard which had been torn up in the fall by NStar workers and then decimated again by falling ice dams. He was personable and easygoing. He was able to fit the walk-through into his schedule on very short notice. He provided a detailed estimate in a very timely manner. And I would love to be able to work with him. Unfortunately, my business partner wanted to provide work for one of her neighbors and I deferred to her desires. I would have definitely hired Chris for the job. I have the utmost confidence in his ability to complete the necessary work in a reasonable amount of time.

Description of Work
Chris came out to give me an estimate on cleanup, tree removal, trimming, landscaping and general beautification of a double lot at my rental property in Worcester.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

5.0

06/22/2015


Diane C.

.

Description of Work
I had a spring cleanup and some damaged shrubs removed. I requested mulch all around my backyard fence to make it easier to mow. Everything I requested was done and done well. The guys did a great job. I am very happy with the results.

Category landscaping, mulch

Service Provider Response

Hi (removed member name), Thank you for your business and for taking the time to give us a review on Angie's List. We really appreciate it!
5.0

06/22/2015


Jennifer B.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member name removed], Thank you for your business and the great review. It really means a lot to us!
5.0

06/16/2015


Donald N.

CML did a great job. There was a large amount of brush (including trees, tree stumps, etc.) to be dug out and removed from my back yard. They did the job in a day and left the property looking much better.

Description of Work
Brush removal.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

5.0

10/22/2014


Larry G.

Description of Work
CML was hired to prune very overgrown privot hedge surrounding property on 3 sides. Chris was friendly and professional during contact and estimate process. Crew worked efficiently and did more than expected to make the property look great. They also did a thorough clean-up of pruned branches. I will hire them for other work.

Category landscaping

5.0

11/21/2013


Lizabeth F.

We started to use central mass landscapes for weekly mowing services after we parted ways with another awful landscaping company who has pretty bad reviews on Angie's list (I wish I had listened!). Central Mass Landscapes didn't miss a beat, they were so responsive and reasonably priced. They just added us right into their rotation and were nice enough to drive by every week in the late summer and if the lawn looked like it didn't need a mow, they would let us know. I really appreciated the fact that they didn't try to take our money when it wasn't necessary. They also did a FANTASTIC job. I hadn't used a landscaping company before the before mentioned awful company so I didn't know what I was missing. CML pays so much attention to detail, they do a great job edging and weed whacking and cleaning off all the hard surfaces. The weeds on my patio and walkway hardly grew and my yard looked the best it has looked since we moved into our house four years ago. On top of all that, we just had them do a fall clean up for us and I can't get over what a great job they did. There isn't a leaf left on my lawn or in my gardens and they cleared out all of the dead growth in my gardens and cleaned the gutters. The crew was so nice and friendly and I couldn't be happier.

Description of Work
Weekly mowing services and fall clean up.

Category gutter cleaning, landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jack Stone Co.

    We are a small stone mason company out of Millis Massachusetts. I have been doing stonework for a little over 10 years. It is owned and operated by me, I am licensed and insured. We do everything from walkways to patios, retaining walls, fire pits, we also do any and all landscape design. Nothing is too big or too small.  

    DO ALL CONSTRUCTION

    We have over 30 years of experience in asphalt paving, seal coating, hardscaping, patios, walkways and landscaping. Specializing in pavers, spring and fall clean-ups, weekly, bi-weekly, monthly maintenance packages. Do All Construction is an insured, 3rd generation, family owned and operated business. We Make sure to Develop a lasting relationship, so the next time service is needed there is no question who you call. **SATISFACTION GUARANTEED!**  

    Offers by DO ALL CONSTRUCTION on Angi
    Adelino Soares Construction

    30 years experience in the construction industry, with many satisfied customers. I guarantee you will be pleased with my work. We return our calls as soon as possible. We accept cash and checks. Feel free to call for a free estimate, we will be glad to help you! Award winning.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    We Offer: Complete grounds maintenance, mowing, pruning, mulch, edging, weeding, hydro-seeding, aerating, new lawns, landscape design and installation, walls, walkways and patios etc. We also install and maintain irrigation systems. We are State Licensed pesticide & fertilizer applicators.

    Services Not Offered

    We are currently not equiped to handle large tree removal.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Central Mass Landscapes

    How is Central Mass Landscapes overall rated?

    Central Mass Landscapes is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Central Mass Landscapes open?

    Central Mass Landscapes is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Central Mass Landscapes provide

    Central Mass Landscapes accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Central Mass Landscapes offer free estimates?

    Yes, Central Mass Landscapes offers free project estimates.

    Does Central Mass Landscapes offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Central Mass Landscapes offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Central Mass Landscapes offer a senior discount?

    No, Central Mass Landscapes does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Central Mass Landscapes offer emergency services?

    Yes, Central Mass Landscapes offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Central Mass Landscapes?

    No, Central Mass Landscapes does not offer warranties.

    What services does Central Mass Landscapes offer?

    Central Mass Landscapes offers the following services: We Offer: Complete grounds maintenance, mowing, pruning, mulch, edging, weeding, hydro-seeding, aerating, new lawns, landscape design and installation, walls, walkways and patios etc. We also install and maintain irrigation systems. We are State Licensed pesticide & fertilizer applicators.

    Are there any services Central Mass Landscapes does not offer?

    We are currently not equiped to handle large tree removal.