Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

SunBug Solar

4.9

(121) Verified Reviews

Founded 2009 • With Angi since September 2011

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Locale
Massachusetts
Trade License Authority
NABCEP
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

2A Draper St

Woburn, MA 01801

http://www.sunbugsolar.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Founded in Somerville, Massachusetts in 2009 and a Certified B Corporation since 2018, SunBug Solar has designed and installed over 2400 solar systems from Great Barrington to Cape Cod.  We build all types of systems, ranging in size from 1kW to over 1MW, including residential, commercial, carports, and ground-mounts.  Our integrated approach - from initial education through consultative design to quality installation and ongoing support - has earned SunBug the highest reputation for customer service and a host of satisfied residential and commercial customers....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(121) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

117

4

1

3

0

2

1

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

solar companies (121)electrician (8)water heaters (2)
Showing 1-10 of 121 reviews
5.0

06/14/2022


daniel L.

it went Excellent. the survice was great. the process was smooth, everything was top knotch quality at a good price

Description of Work
Solar panels installed

Category electrician,solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/13/2022

5.0

03/30/2022


Elena C.

We had our solar panels installed by SunBug. We have contacted multiple companies to compare products, prices and overall responsiveness. SunBug had best panels, great price and absolutely best service. They gave us very clear explanation of the process, their prices were fully transparent and reasonable, and they patiently answered every question we had. After we signed with SunBug, we’ve got project timelines - and they actually delivered on time! The entire installation took two days in the middle of New England February (!), the crew was very professional and accommodating, everything was left clean and neat. My favorite part was having my emails replied to within an hour, even at 11pm! SunBug is A great company, I highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Solar system installed

Category electrician,solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/16/2022

Images

Review for SunBug Solar - 2A Draper St, Woburn, MA - 39678808
5.0

10/28/2021


Steven M.

Solar panel installation on roof of home went very well. Scheduled in May, install occurred in mid-August. SunBug was not the cheapest option, but very professional & prompt in communicating the details and coordinating the necessary paperwork with the electrical company. The installers worked quickly and did a fantastic job. I was nervous about having them work with the electrical system in a new home, but they were able to integrate with the circuit breaker with no issues and worked with me to make the necessary installed equipment (switch, meter, conduit down to roof, inverter, etc...) as unobtrusive as possible. We had a small wrinkle with their ability to install on a low-pitch dormer, but it was resolved after about a day, and I couldn't be happier with the quality of the work. Solar panels are generating about as much power as advertised, and though it has only been a few months there have been no hardware issues so far.

Description of Work
Home solar panel installation

Category electrician,solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2021

Images

Review for SunBug Solar - 2A Draper St, Woburn, MA - 39528116
5.0

10/28/2021


Tim M.

Had a great experience with Sunbug. The salesperson was very low-stress/not pushy, etc. We have a peculiar old house and they bent over backward to design a system that would work for us. Install was done quickly and the team onsite were knowledgeable and did a clean job of it. Hit a snag with Eversource and Sunbug helped me get through it. System has been working great now for 8 months. Would recommend them.

Description of Work
Solar panel installation

Category solar panels

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2021

Images

Review for SunBug Solar - 2A Draper St, Woburn, MA - 39524954
5.0

10/28/2021


Adam W.

Sun Bug is a 5/5 star company. I inquired with 4 solar companies and these guys stood out from the pack from day one with a responsive fast estimate, scheduling that was easy, and an installation crew who arrived on time, were neat and cleaned up every day. They did what they said they would do when they said they would do it and now my new solar panels produce enough energy to cover the average daily use, just as they planned. You must call them before you buy.

Description of Work
New 19 Panel solar on Victorian Home

Category electrician,solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2021

Images

Review for SunBug Solar - 2A Draper St, Woburn, MA - 39524982

+2 More

5.0

11/01/2020


Joshua G.

Our experience with SunBug has been fantastic. Everything has gone smoothly, and the system is generating more power than initial estimates indicated. We pay zero electric bill now and have energy left over to run an electric car. Plus, we get monthly cash refunds from the SMART program. When problems arose, the technicians were on it and fixed things as quickly as possible. Overall, a great experience. Given the financial benefits, I don't understand why there are sun-facing roofs that still don't have solar panels installed. And SunBug does a great job. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Home solar design, installation, and maintenance

Category solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2020

5.0

10/22/2020


Robert K.

What a tremendous experience from beginning to end. These folks are truly professional from beginning to end!

Description of Work
Solar panel installation.

Category electrician,solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2020

5.0

10/22/2020


Diane S.

Sunbug was was a pleasure to work with. The installation was a big financial commitment for us and I had many questions before installation that were answered thoroughly and patiently. Their workmen were efficient and electricians were very knowledgeable. After installation, problems with inadequate voltage from the street arose which were the responsibility of the utility company. Sunbug gave us extensive support by explaining the problem and what needed to be done and advising on how to work with the utility company. This follow-up was invaluable.

Description of Work
a large solar array was installed

Category electrician,solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2020

Images

Review for SunBug Solar - 2A Draper St, Woburn, MA - 38970632
5.0

07/28/2020


Brendon S.

SunBug was very responsive, had competitive prices, and performed great work. Their customer service is amazing as well as they are always quick to respond and resolve any inquiries I may have.

Description of Work
New Solar Installation

Category solar panels

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2020

5.0

06/15/2020


Lindsay L.

Everything about it was professional, respectful, on time, and responsive to my questions. They have also been attentive to the installation since.

Description of Work
Solar panels purchased and installed

Category solar panels

Cost $26,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2019

Services Offered

Solar electric and battery storage systems for residential, commercial and non-profit customers

Services Not Offered

Wind and geothermal

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check, Financing Available
Senior Discount
No
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SunBug Solar

How is SunBug Solar overall rated?

SunBug Solar is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

What days are SunBug Solar open?

SunBug Solar is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

What payment options does SunBug Solar provide

SunBug Solar accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

Does SunBug Solar offer free estimates?

Yes, SunBug Solar offers free project estimates.

Does SunBug Solar offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, SunBug Solar does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does SunBug Solar offer a senior discount?

No, SunBug Solar does not offer a senior discount.

Are warranties offered by SunBug Solar?

Yes, SunBug Solar offers warranties.

What services does SunBug Solar offer?

SunBug Solar offers the following services: Solar electric and battery storage systems for residential, commercial and non-profit customers

Are there any services SunBug Solar does not offer?

Wind and geothermal