Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Cassidy Corp.

Founded 1999 • With Angi since July 2010

4.1

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

54 Cummings Park Ste 304

Woburn, MA 01801

Description

Here at Cassidy we are a family owned and operated Company. We specialize in all aspects of residential, commercial and industrial asphalt paving. Additional email-kcassidy@cassidycorp.com...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/09/2017


Kay L.

We were very pleased with the result and with the professionalism of the work. They responded immediately to our request for estimate. Came on time each day, gave detailed estimate complete with drawing, and completed the job according to their time plan. They cleaned up completely when finished

Description of Work
Extension and replacing of driveway.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

11/17/2015


Maureen F.

The whole experience was very positive. Right from the beginning, getting the quote from Dan was very quick and professional. The office staff was also friendly. I learned I needed to have a drain fixed before the paving. It was helpful Cassidy Corp recommended a great company who did install a drain. The driveway is now paved and I am extremely happy with the end result. I highly recommend Cassidy Corp to others.

Description of Work
They repaved my driveway.

Category driveway pavers

2.0

11/17/2014


oliver W.

paid 30% overage on the balance for the first phase in the assumption they would take care of the second phase but they have refused. So I guess this is a matter of underbidding and not honoring the contractual commitment despite customer willingness to pay more. Unprofessional.

Description of Work
Cassidy bid our driveway project in two phases with fixed prices. I

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] is a developer and owner of Estia Properties. We were contacted by [member name removed] after the first paving contractor he originally hired for this personal home project decided not to work with [member name removed] any further. We originally submitted a two phase proposal to [member name removed] in October 2012. We provided a detailed proposal complete with a sketch of the layout, a clear written description of the scope of work and a detailed explanation of the paving process (with a timeline for completion). The original scope of work called for 378 square yards to be excavated, gravel base prepared and binder asphalt course installed (phase 1 - was completed by Cassidy Corp in October 2012). Phase 2 was to have the top course of asphalt installed in the spring 2013. [member name removed] did not reach back out to us for phase 2 work until October 28, 2014, almost 17 months after the contract stipulated phase two was to be completed. During the planning process of phase 1 (October 2012), [member name removed] added area he wanted to have paved (after the contract was already signed and the scope of work agreed upon). Per [member name removed] request, the scope of work jumped from 378 square yards of paving up to 576 square yards of paving. [member name removed] decided he wanted to have a larger circular driveway and a wider roadway width. We were more than happy to accommodate [member name removed] requested. We informed [member name removed] the additional scope of work would incur additional project costs. Consequently, the phase 1 project cost increased $2,150.00. We did not underbid on the project. We bid the project based on the original scope of work discussed during an onsite meeting with the customer. The cost of the project increased to cover the scope of work changes requested by the customer. After completing the requested change orders during phase 1 work (a 53% increase in the total project area), we provided an updated phase 2 contract to reflect the additional 198 square yards of work that would be required. Phase 2 contract stipulated a timeline for completion of spring 2013. We had a very difficult time collecting payment for the phase 1 work we completed for [member name removed]. Ultimately, [member name removed] did end up paying us for the phase 1 of the project and for ONLY phase 1 of the project. We did not accept any deposit or advanced payment for phase 2. Our decision not to work with [member name removed] for phase 2 of the project was based on a number of factors. First, [member name removed] hired a business partner of ours to complete masonry work for him. [member name removed] owes the masonry company over $2,000.00 and (as of today) has refused to pay them for the work they completed for him. Second, [member name removed] waited over 17 months to contact us to complete phase 2 of the project. The contract (adjusted for the change orders) stipulated the work be completed in the spring 2013. [member name removed] didn't contact us until October 2014 requesting we schedule phase 2 of his project. Finally, given the contentious relationship we experienced working with [member name removed] during phase 1 construction; we politely declined to provide an updated bid for phase 2. Below is a transcript of our email correspondence from October 28, 2014: Cassidy Corp: Hi [member name removed], Unfortunately, we will not be submitting a bid for the second phase of the project. Best regards, Dan [member name removed]: Dan The contract we had was for phase 1 and phase 2, and I paid for overages on phase 1 (due to the fact that you underestimated the total area of the driveway) as goodwill and with the understanding that phase 2 also had an adjustment as you laid out in the revised agreement enclosed You will understand I would rather not involve another company on a project that you started. Would you or Kevin please give me a call xxx-xxx-xxxx so we can discuss Thanks so much [member name removed] Cassidy Corp: Hi [member name removed], We provided a quote and estimated the scope of work based on our original onsite discussion. You requested changes to the original scope, thus incurring additional change order costs on the project. We completed phase 1 of the project (plus the change orders you requested) and you paid for the project plus the additional costs of the change orders that you owed to us. The contentious working relationship in phase 1 (highlighted by comments in your email response) indicates it would be best for all parties to go our separate ways. Additional, we cannot be sure you will have the "goodwill" to compensate our company for any more work we complete for you. Consequently, we will not be submitting a bid for phase 2 of the project. Best regards, Dan While we can appreciate [member name removed]'s frustration having to find a THIRD paving contractor to finally complete his driveway project, we cannot justify pursing this business relationship any further. We appreciate the opportunity to fully explain the situation surrounding this negative review. If you have questions for Cassidy Corp, please send me an email: dan.dambro@cassidycorp.com. Thank you!
5.0

03/16/2014


Mildred M.

I am very pleased with the quality of the work performed by Cassidy. We have a long circular driveway in Andover that had an existing (but deteriorating) asphalt surface. Dan gave us two prices for doing the work. Remove the existing material and redo the driveway or remove loose asphalt, score and resurface guaranteed for five years. We chose the later and based upon the results - depth of surface, finishing work required for forming asphalt around numerous curves that edge out gardens and lawn - the work was excellent. A call to Dan this winter noting spots where water was pooling and some difficulty with a sliding barn door was responded to with a promise to correct the same in the spring. I would use them again without hesitation.

Description of Work
Driveway was repaved over existing asphalt.

Category driveway pavers

2.0

01/11/2014


John G.

.

Description of Work
Never showed up for estimate.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

We cannot find any record of this customer calling into our company to request an estimate. Nor does any website forms exist for this customer (requesting a quote through our website link). Consequently, our records indicate that no estimate was ever scheduled with this customer. We use a twenty four hour answering service to help us manage our leads and respond to customers as soon as possible (within 24-48 hours). The answering service has no record of this call.
5.0

03/12/2013


Jessica M.

Dan returned my call within the hour; plus. He answered a few of my questions and setup an appointment to review my project. He arrived on time, was very professional. We have a small yet complex driveway; pitched up from the street, down on one side and away from the garage/house. I shared my concerns concerning proper drainage to Dan and he suggested a few options yet recommending a less expensive solution that would actually last longer. Dan, took the time to confirm the plan and drafted the entire project on site. Within a few weeks the jobs was completed perfectly and I'm just thrilled with the way it looks! Thanks you! thank you!

Description of Work
Cassidy Corp removed an old failed driveway and replaced with new asphalt. Although it was a smaller project it was complex given the pitch to the garage, street and house.

Category driveway pavers

2.0

01/09/2013


Gerald L.

Everything completed as per contract, but on June 9, 2012 by email I informed company rep the driveway was deteriorating. Several places had loose asphalt and were soft. Turning the steering wheel of cars caused a depression in the asphalt. The company representative responded by email attaching an information sheet titled and quot;Care and Considerations.and quot; This information had not been provided at the time of the installation. The company representative scheduled an appointment to see the problem in person and did so in a few days. He told me the company would schedule a repair in the next few days. When I didn't not hear further, after a second email to him, I received an email response indicating he would schedule a repair in the next 3-5 weeks. His email was dated September 5, 2012. I heard nothing further until I once again made contact again by email on October 18. He responded the same day saying he had not forgotten me and the repair would take place and quot;before the season ends.and quot; I heard nothing more, so on November 30, in response to my email of that date, the company representative informed me it was too late to seal coat the driveway with the low temperatures now present. In that email he proposed the repairs be made in Spring 2013 when the conditions are more favorable. Clearly the communication from the company ONLY occurred when I initiated contact. There was never pro-active communication from the company at any time following the completion of the work in November 2011. I now have to wait until Spring 2013 for repairs to the driveway along with the seal coating, but it will be with a different company of my choosing and added expense. This has been a frustrating and disappointing experience with a company that appeared to be responsible.

Description of Work
As per contract, the work performed included: removal of all concrete and unsuitable base; re-grading of the drive to create proper drainage; place 3/4 pack to enhance paved areas base and compact; pave 1.5" top coat and compact: apply liquid asphalt for better bonding to existing surfaces; pave leveling coat(machine installed) to smooth out major depressions and compact; cut keyway at edge of sidewalk to ensure smooth transitions; pave 1.5" top coat (Machine installed) and compact; apply liquid asphalt for better bonding to existing asphalt surfaces.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Letter sent to customer (Spring 2012), Thank you for your thoughtful, articulate, and constructive review on Angie’s List. Customer reviews are not only important and helpful to potential customers, but the feedback is also essential in helping Cassidy Corp become an even better company. As a consumer, I can appreciate your feelings with how your post installation customer concerns were handled. We would like the opportunity to explain some points you address in the review. While this does not change the experience you had with us, we hope our willingness to address your concerns is a reminder of why you choose to work with Cassidy Corp as your paving contractor.  We are sorry you did not receive the asphalt “Care and Considerations” upon completion of the installation. It is our goal to provide every customer with a written set of directions related to the driveway, based on feedback from commonly asked questions and concerns. Your review helped us implement steps to improve the process.  While you express concern with the condition of the tire marks on the surface, this is very common over the first couple years of the installation. The tire marks will wear away over time and the marks do not compromise the structural integrity of the driveway. The quality and craftsmanship have not been compromised, despite falling short on communicating with you.  We stand behind the repair process explained in the guarantee. Based on our experience, we find it best to wait at least a year before repairing any tire marks on the surface. This ensures the asphalt becomes more firm and less susceptible to marking. After this initial year, we recommend the driveway be sealcoated.  Your sentiment with the lack of communication from Cassidy Corp is understandable. Similarly to our thorough and detailed driveway consultation, we have implemented a system to provide a better customer understanding of the “Asphalt Care and Considerations” and what to expect when the installation is complete.  Please note the additional labor and concrete materials we used – to fortify the area near the garage and walkway – at no additional cost to you. Our willingness to keep our price constant, despite additional unforeseen work arising during the project that was outside the originally quoted scope of work, was not mentioned in your review. Your frustration and disappointment with the lack of communication throughout the process is entirely justified and we are sorry for your experience. At Cassidy Corp, we consistently strive to provide an excellent experience for every customer. When we fall short of our goal to exceed customer expectations the responsible course of action is to make amends and learn from the experience. We appreciate your feedback and wish to ensure the repairs will be completed in spring 2013. If you would give Cassidy Corp the opportunity to uphold the promises outlined in our guarantee. You will not be responsible for any costs related to the driveway repair. We do not provide sealcoating services, but we would like to offer you reimbursement for the sealcoating project you complete in the spring (valued up to $300.00). UPDATE: We have been by the property since the installation was complete. The tire marks the customer was concerned about (his reference to driveway “deteriorating”) have worn away and are no longer visible (as we had explained would be the case). The customer has not taken advantage of our offer to sealcoat the driveway (again, at no cost to the customer). While the timeline of the complimentary repairs and the communication did not meet the expectations of our customer, the overall review does not accurately reflect our company. We completed additional work at no additional charge, we return to complete the repair (as promised - albeit later than the customer had desired) and we offered additional services (sealcoating) at no charge to the customer. Please contact us with any questions or concerns related to this review.
5.0

12/20/2012


Christine S.

The job was done very well and very quickly (w/in 2 days). So far, we've been through a full year and we're very pleased. Cassidy did a great job of levelling and regrading an area where there are 2 drains in the lower driveway, which was a bit problematic. Everything is now well-surfaced and drains well.

Description of Work
Two areas of the driveway were levelled and covered with asphalt overlay (about half the surface involved). The remaining half required full excavation of at least 2 layers of old, buckled asphalt pavement, regrading, spread of base layer, and then paving with base coat and top coat. All surfaces were covered and leveled in such a way that each surface was nicely continuous with the adjacent one(s). All in all, one horseshoe section, one linear section, and an under-carport service were done.

Category driveway pavers

    Other local Pros in your area

    Cooper Bros Paving

    Cooper Brothers Paving Inc. Josh Cooper is a family-owned-and-operated paving company that has been serving Saugus and surrounding areas for more than 50 years and four generations. Paving is our only business so we make sure that all customers are completely satisfied and warranties are fully honored. Fully bonded and insured for your protection, our company specializes in residential and commercial paving services. All projects, whether large or small, are watched over by our owner, and we only use the latest and greatest paving equipment and technology. View our gallery to see the excellent work we do.  

    Honeydo4you Contractor

    Painting Interior and Exterior, Tile, Kitchen and bathroom remodels and more. I am a general contractor striving to provide quality work at a fair price. I have great references and will give you a free quote. Call me for more info 5082944541  

    Offers by Honeydo4you Contractor on Angi
    JML Construction

    JML Construction Specialist in constrution, masonry, carpentry, demolition, remolding, full services. We have over 18 years of quality experience and we will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential & Commercial Asphalt Paving

    Services Not Offered

    Seal coating

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Cassidy Corp.

    How is Cassidy Corp. overall rated?

    Cassidy Corp. is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Cassidy Corp. open?

    Cassidy Corp. is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Monday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
    Friday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Cassidy Corp. provide

    Cassidy Corp. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Cassidy Corp. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Cassidy Corp. offers free project estimates.

    Does Cassidy Corp. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Cassidy Corp. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Cassidy Corp. offer a senior discount?

    No, Cassidy Corp. does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Cassidy Corp. offer emergency services?

    Yes, Cassidy Corp. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Cassidy Corp.?

    No, Cassidy Corp. does not offer warranties.

    What services does Cassidy Corp. offer?

    Cassidy Corp. offers the following services: Residential & Commercial Asphalt Paving

    Are there any services Cassidy Corp. does not offer?

    Seal coating