Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JJ Loftus Co Inc

Founded 1932 • With Angi since October 2008

5.0

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6 R Glenwood Ave

Winchester, MA 01890

Description

J.J. Loftus Co, Inc Plumbing & Heating was established in 1932 by James J. Loftus Sr. The principals, with the foreman, employ the finest Licensed Masters, Journeymen, and Apprenticed Mechanics. We provide continuous instruction and training to insure superior workmanship and new product knowledge. J.J. Loftus Co, Inc Plumbing & Heating is a member of the Plumbing Heating and Cooling Contractors Association. Employs 7: employees are 5 licensed technicians and 2 clerical. Someone answers the phone 24 hours a day 7 days a week. We have 24 hour emergency service. Uses subs for skilled trades such as electricians, general contractors, tile and floor company, etc. Cost is determined by the job. Travel charges apply. Service work is done at time and material with minimum of 1 hour (service call). We accept MC, Visa, Amex & Discover, personal checks and cash license numbers: ma 9550. May contact through email. Another contact name is Jim Loftus....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/16/2016


Arline H.

Description of Work
.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/05/2015


Elizabeth C.

Description of Work
Disassembled old basement sink and replaced it with a new one. On time, no surprisees

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing

5.0

12/03/2014


THURMAN S.

FINE

Description of Work
REPAIR FAWCETTS

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/30/2014


Mark F.

Description of Work
They came right away, just before a weekend, for emergency replacement of a water heater. They had the right model in stock, and this time opted for the higher cost heater with the longer warranty (which includes an additional anode). Highly professional work, both from the plumber and the dispatcher who chased down the plumber and got him in before evening/weekend rates kicked in. Loftus is not the low cost provider, but we've always been impressed with their top rate service and quality products.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/02/2013


Sam K.

He arrived on time, quickly identified the problem, fixed it, and checked a couple of other items to make sure everything was ok. I was very pleased since I was worried that it might turn into a major job with major repair costs. The price was what I expected in the best case scenario and everything a week later works fine.

Description of Work
A pressure valve on our boiler was leaking. The valve was replaced and expansion tank repressurized.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing

5.0

02/27/2013


Reece E.

We have not had any major work done, but they are always very responsive and do good work.

Description of Work
Plumbing

Category plumbing

5.0

01/17/2013


David W.

They show up promptly and don't leave until all work is completed successfully.

Description of Work
They drained a radiator and rebalanced my heating system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing

5.0

06/02/2011


Steven B.

Loftus replaced a leaking radiator for us. Great service. Had to come back twice because of heavy snow and our very steep driveway but no complaints. Would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Loftus replaced a leaking radiator for us. Great service. Had to come back twice because of heavy snow and our very steep driveway but no complaints. Would definitely use them again.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/05/2011


Dennis W.

I was on a business trip in Atlanta, so my wife was left to deal with it alone. I did get a blow-by-blow description of the goings on. The plumber's name was Dave. An outstanding job to first calm my wife that everything would be fine. Started on the job and it took two days of cutting through ceilings and loacting and replacing the 3 leaks. Recommended and added antifreeze to the circulating heating water. Never heard of that but it makes sense. Later he informed my wife whop had already paid that our furnace didn't have a code required backflow valve. He cam back two days later to add the valve charging us only for the valve and no labor. He felt bad that he had't caught that and wouldn't charge us for the labor. $1,100 isn't bad considering the valve costs $250.

Description of Work
We had bursting heating pipes (forced hot water) from the deep freeze in January. Our heating contractor recommended and called JJ Loftus on our behalf to repair/replace the broken pipes.

Category plumbing

5.0

10/28/2008


donna C.

They did a great job for me with the plumbing they installed for our sprinkler system. They were very helpful and got the job done quick and right away, and the technicians that came out were very knowledgeable and used high quality parts - and even though they are not cheap they are very worth it.

Description of Work
We had this company come out and do the plumbing work on our sprinkler system.

Category plumbing

5.0

10/28/2008


donna C.

Job 1: They did a great job for me with the furnace that they installed. They were very helpful and got the job done quickly and right away and the technicians that came out were very knowledgeable and used high-quality parts, and even though they are not cheap they are very worth it. Job 2: They did a great job for me with the thermostat they put in, and they came out right away. They were very helpful and got the job done quick and right away, and the technicians that came out were very knowledgeable and used high quality parts. Even though they are not cheap they are very worth it.

Description of Work
Job 1: We had this company come out and install a new furnace for me. Job 2: We had our thermostat break and we called them to come out and put in a new one.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Drains by James Inc.

    Professional Sewer and Drain Cleaning. Check our website for services and pricing.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    All Drain Service Inc

    All Drain Services has been in the drain service business for over 18 years, and is owned by Manny and Gloria Vega. Our commitment to customer service is unmatched. Our years of experience have taught us that in our line of business that is what counts. Our dedication to getting a quality job done has been the backbone of our success, and this quality is instilled in all employees from our President to our Service Techs. All Drain Service, Inc. is open all day, every day including holidays! We offer emergency and regular maintenance services.  

    Offers by All Drain Service Inc on Angi
    John's Sewer & Pipe Cleaning Inc

    Award winning. See BBB for additional phone numbers.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Plumbing & Heating - Forced Hot Water, Steam, Radiant, Water Heaters – Service & Installation, Boilers – Service & Installation, Bath & Kitchen Remodels, New Work, Fixture Replacement & Repair, & Water Filtration System Installation & Repair.

    Services Not Offered

    A/C, Warm Air Furnace Service, Repair & Installation, Fire Prevention Sprinkler Systems, & Outside Irrigation Systems.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about JJ Loftus Co Inc

    How is JJ Loftus Co Inc overall rated?

    JJ Loftus Co Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are JJ Loftus Co Inc open?

    JJ Loftus Co Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    What payment options does JJ Loftus Co Inc provide

    JJ Loftus Co Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does JJ Loftus Co Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, JJ Loftus Co Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does JJ Loftus Co Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, JJ Loftus Co Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does JJ Loftus Co Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, JJ Loftus Co Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does JJ Loftus Co Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, JJ Loftus Co Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by JJ Loftus Co Inc?

    Yes, JJ Loftus Co Inc offers warranties.

    What services does JJ Loftus Co Inc offer?

    JJ Loftus Co Inc offers the following services: Plumbing & Heating - Forced Hot Water, Steam, Radiant, Water Heaters – Service & Installation, Boilers – Service & Installation, Bath & Kitchen Remodels, New Work, Fixture Replacement & Repair, & Water Filtration System Installation & Repair.

    Are there any services JJ Loftus Co Inc does not offer?

    A/C, Warm Air Furnace Service, Repair & Installation, Fire Prevention Sprinkler Systems, & Outside Irrigation Systems.