Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Weston Electric

Founded 1968 • With Angi since November 2002

Since 1968 Weston Electric has been providing electrical contracting services to the greater Boston Metrowest community. We value the long-standing relationships we have developed with many customers, and we strive to build on our past successes by consistently exceeding customer expectations. No subs. Award winning. Additional address - 169 Pine St, Natick, MA 01760.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(87) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 87 reviews
Jesse T.
5.0
07/21/2020
Norman was outstanding - professional, courteous, and knowledgeable. I called after 3:40 pm for a repair on an AC unit. He asked me about the issue, rushed to a parts store, which closed at 4:00, bought a switch, and the installation was complete by 4:30. Also, I appreciated Norman's wearing a mask prior to entering our home, extremely important, unfortunately, during the coronavirus pandemic. The price was fair, and plan on using Weston Electric again (I has used them in 2010, and was glad I could use them at this time). Highly recommended.
Description of Work
Switch replaced on an eternal HVAC unit
Category
electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac
Joe M.
5.0
01/17/2018
Methodical investigation and timely repairs.
Description of Work
Repair of failed circuit
Category
electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting
Kevin D.
5.0
01/18/2016
A prior owner of our house had a generator panel installed in the main electrical panel. I had Weston Electric come an inspect the installation and operation prior to using it myself. Norman was prompt in scheduling an appointment, showed up on time, and did the job i requested. He explained how to use it, and walked me through the use with our generator running and all the lines hooked up.
Description of Work
Inspected installation of a generator panel by the previous owner.
Category
electrician
patricia K.
5.0
12/07/2015
I called Weston Electric Friday afternoon December 4, 2015 because I discovered that our upstairs office area had no power. The ceiling light had no power and all of the outlets were dead. Norman called me back at about 4:30 PM and I explained what I had found. He talked me through some troubleshooting steps to take since he was trying to have me avoid a service call. This was appreciated, but the problem still persisted. Norman asked if we would be available the next day, Saturday, and he would try to squeeze us in. If not, he would see us early the following week. He called Saturday morning and arrived soon after his call. "He troubleshot the problem and traced it to a bad outlet plug in the adjacent room that was on the same circuit. He replaced the plug and this solved the problem and everything is back up and running. I appreciate Norm responding as quickly as he did and then meticulously tracking down the source of the issue. This bad plug appeared fine to me since a lamp plugged into it worked with no problem. The power "in was fine, but the power "out" was the problem. This was our second time using Weston Electric and we will not hesitate using Norman in the future. We highly recommend his professionalism and quality of work.
Description of Work
Troubleshot and repaired a bad circuit
Category
electrician, lighting
Robert B.
5.0
08/14/2015
Excellent. Great work and very responsive. Norm came over within a couple of days to provide and estimate and did all the work in a week. Perfect job and was even meticulous in cleaning everything up. To top it off, his price came I. At the quote and was lower than another highly graded electrician.
Description of Work
Installed ceiling fans, updated sockets, installed new switches, fixed jacuzzi tub and other projects in new (old) house
Category
electrician, ceiling fans
Holly T.
5.0
07/30/2015
Norman was terrific from first contact through the completion of the job. He's professional, pleasant, thorough and leaves a clean work site. A true pleasure to have him do the work. I will definitely use him, again, in the future.
Description of Work
Added whole house surge protectors. Removed two switches from bedroom and rewired existing. Rewired double taps on circuit board. Added and electrical outlet in closet for a cordless vacuum. Added cable, phone and electrical outlets to a built in cabinet below a TV. Disconnected electrical supply to an awning that is being removed. Fixed a broken ballast in a kitchen light bay. Replaced some outdoor lighting.
Category
electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting
Charles G.
5.0
04/10/2015
He is a gentleman AND a professional. Courteous and considerate of the homeowner's needs. Always there when he says he will be there, which is great when you work and can't be home waiting all day! He stands by his work, and his prices are fair and reasonable
Description of Work
1992 wired a new kitchen addition at my home in Weston: installed and wired a new breaker system, from old fuses. Over the years, has performed many upgrades and wiring in our home. 2013 installed a generator outside, and carefully analyzed the capacity for the power we would need to live for an extended period of time.
Category
electrician
Carol M.
5.0
08/04/2014
He showed up on time, and was just the nicest gentleman. His price was fine, but I simply went with someone else because my contractor just brought someone in before I knew what was happening. But I would definitely call Weston electric again.
Description of Work
I called to get an estimate on an outdoor job.
Category
electrician
NORBERT A.
5.0
06/16/2014
Very Well . I have used Norman before , the work is high quality and professional. He is very dedicated and stands behind the work .
Description of Work
Identified damaged wiring and fixed .
Category
electrician
Louise K.
5.0
02/02/2014
I have not graded the price because I didn't do much comparison shopping.
Description of Work
Norm put a new outlet in our living room, with the necessary upgrade.
Category
electrician
Bill B.
5.0
03/31/2013
Everything went very well. Norman from Weston Electric was very resposive from start to finish. The quote was exactly what I paid and he even took the time to look at an outlet that was giving us problems.
Description of Work
I removed my tankless hot water from the oil fired boiler and replaced it with a 40 gallon electric tank.
Category
electrician
Ken P.
4.0
03/16/2013
While shoveling out from the snowstorm, I noticed that the electrical service to our house was different. The anchor (don't know the proper term) under the eaves which held the tension in the line came away from the exterior wall. The service was uninterrupted, however the steel cable that is (usually) under tension was not holding up the service wires anymore. The lines were sagging, and the electrical wires were under tension themselves, between the pole at the end of my driveway and the top of the conduit under the eaves. I called and left a message. Got a return call later that day. I described the situation, and my address, and he thought he recognized my house from the description; he possibly did work here before I owned it. He said would come by the next day and take a look, and that he would likely not have time to do the work that day. Sure enough I got a phone call the next day; he saw it, gave me an estimate, and a timeline. By the end of the week, he'd stopped by when no one was home (exactly within the timeline he offered), did the work, and left an invoice in my mail slot. The only hitch, which I couldn't blame him for, was that he could only mount a new anchor, and he pulled up the service wires as best he could from the top of a ladder. He used a short length of rope as an extension to tie the service wires to the new anchor, and told me to call N-Star, which I did, to complete the (re-)attachment. To finish the story, N-Star was responsive, considered this urgent, and someone was onsite the next day. This guy had a bucket truck, and even then he was skeptical about being able to pull the wires tight enough to reach the house. He ended up cutting power to the house for about 30 minutes in order to move the attachment *at the pole* from the far side of the pole to the near side in order to have another (I'm guessing) couple of feet of cable to make the attachment to the house. All this makes me A) wonder how the previous electrician first attached the wires to my house in the first place, and B) think that this anchor, under such tension, was destined to pop out of the side of my house. I can't accurately speak to his punctuality, as I wasn't here when he came to do the work. I only know that it was done in the timeframe we agreed upon. I can't speak too knowledgeably about the price, as I don' t know how it compares to other electricians doing the same work. I can say that the final cost was very close to the verbal estimate I got over the phone, and I was happy enough to pay it, as the work was a safety issue and needed to be done. The B for Quality is for 1) the new anchor looks to be larger and more capable than the previous, so I appreciate his choice of product, but 2) he was unable (strictly speaking) to complete the reattachment - again, I'm not sure that any other electricians could have done much better, except the one that attached it in the first place...
Description of Work
Attached new anchor point to exterior of house for reattachment of service wires.
Category
electrician
Edward L.
5.0
11/08/2012
Had several estimates with another company stating that they could only accomplish the work by putting several holes in the ceilings and walls. Norman spent a great deal of time exploring the house and came up with several different plans to accomplish the work, with placing holes in the walls as the last option. He spent approximately 4 hours working at the job and ultimately was able to run the internet cable in a very creative and non-destructive fashion. The fees charged were well worth the services considering I didn't need to finish and pain holes in my walls and ceilings. It did take a couple of phone calls to coordinate the work, but this was well within the norm of my experiences with various home improvement services.
Description of Work
Needed to run Cat 6 cable to 2nd floor room of a 1900 Victorian from the cellar to allow internet access in an office.
Category
electrician
Jennifer L.
5.0
05/05/2012
Very professional, prompt, fair price, easy to work with, great work... Scheduling was a little far out due to the fact that they are busy, but I believe their good service is the reason they are so busy. We would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
New outdoor light fixtures installed (one where there previous had not been one), track lighting installed in living room,chandelier installed and several light fixtures changed WE had Norman come back and install a significant amount of interior lights, switches, etc while we executed a remodeling project. He worked well with the team doing the remodeling. Norm does a fantastic job
Category
electrician
SUSAN T.
5.0
04/20/2012
They are a little pricey but they are very responsive. I would use them in the future and also recommend them to someone else.
Description of Work
I used Weston Electric to repair an outlet that wasn’t working.
Category
electrician
Jennifer L.
4.0
03/28/2012
Good service. Getting follow up to complete the additional work has been a challenge. Weston Electric Answering service seems to be spotty
Description of Work
Norm installed various lights & fixtures; He needed more time to get the work done
Category
electrician
AMY F.
5.0
03/07/2012
Weston Electric did a great job. The project was painless, and came in at exactly the quoted price. There was some delay in getting some of the parts (there was a run on transfer switches, because so many people were doing this type of job), but Norman kept us posted about progress. As soon as he obtained the switch, he was here the next day doing the installation.
Description of Work
After loosing power for several days each after both major storms last year, we decided to install a back up generator for emergencies. We made several calls for quotes, but Weston Electric was the only contractor we found who was willing and able to supply the entire system, including the generator. (Most were willing to do the wiring part of the job, but wanted to leave procuring the generator to us). Norman (the owner) went through in detail exactly what we wanted the system to be able to do. From that, he was able to recommend the proper size generator for the job. The installation went off without a hitch- neat, clean, and professional. Weston took care of everything- supplying the generator, installing the transfer switch, and clearly labeling all of the circuits on the box. After the job was done, he showed my how to use the system and tested the whole installation with me.
Category
electrician
Joy R.
5.0
11/21/2011
Perfect service. I was able to coordinate the work via messages that were always promptly returned. Norman arrived on time for the appointment as scheduled. He took the time to install the outlet carefully which allowed him to avoid drilling a hole through our floor. I highly recommend Weston Electric and will always use them in the future.
Description of Work
Electrical outlet installed and other minor electrical work.
Category
electrician
DAVID K.
5.0
11/03/2011
There was a 5 week time lag between the agreement and the actual work. Aside from that, everything was very professional, reasonable and well done.
Description of Work
Installed heating cables in gutters, to prevent ice dams.
Category
electrician
LOUIS W.
5.0
07/03/2011
Norman dropped by to check on the condition the first day and let us know the estimate. He also spent time to deal with the urgent issues that might be fire hazard before he left on the first day. He came by the day after and performed the work on time. He explained in depth the condition and the list of jobs that needed to be done. He asked me whether I want to put a box when replacing the bad wires or tracking down the bad wires and changing the wires entirely. I felt like we were well-informed throughout the process because he was asking for my opinion and gave me choices to choose from.
Description of Work
We had a heating pipe leak and a short circuit caused by the burnt wires. Norman replaced the affected wires, installed new boxes for lights and outlets.
Category
electrician
LISA C.
5.0
11/30/2010
This is the second time that Norman has performed work for us. As in the past, the experience was fantastic. I called to schedule an appointment, received a return call from Norman that same day, and was able to schedule an appointment for the following week. Norman showed up exactly on time. He efficiently installed all of the fixtures we had purchased and was patient while we decided what the height of the chandelier should be. I had also requested that he replace an unattractive recessed light. Since we had not purchased a replacement for the recessed light Norman stopped at the electrical supply store to pick up a couple of options for us - one of which fit perfectly. The house was left spotless and he hauled away all of our old fixtures. Once again, we are very happy and plan to have Norman come back for our next project!
Description of Work
Installed a number of light fixtures that we had purchased (a chandelier and 5 flush mounted light fixtures), replaced a recessed light, and installed a dimmer switch for the chandelier.
Category
electrician, lighting
LENA F.
5.0
10/16/2010
I received an estimate for the work in June 2010. It was mid-way between two other estimates and included installation of a sump pump outlet not mentioned in other proposals. I contacted him in September and, although his schedule was full, he came over on a Saturday to start the job with the understanding that he would finish up the following Saturday, which he did. The work easily passed inspection. The final cost increased by several hundred dollars due to the unanticipated work on the external wiring and the cost of a few electrical repairs. The work was done very professionally and the total cost was acceptable. I would not hesitate to recommend this company to others.
Description of Work
Ugraded electricity from 60 amp to 200 amp, a prerequisite for installation of a sump pump. Weston Electric replaced external wiring that was practially stripped, moved circuit box to a location that conformed with the code, clearly labeled rooms and items for each circuit breaker, and cleaned up the work area.
Category
electrician
Adam H.
5.0
10/11/2010
Norman always arrives on time prepared with the necessary tools to do every job we've asked him to perform. He is courteous, professional, and friendly. He has seen it all and knows what he is doing, even in a hundred year old home like ours that presents strange challenges, which he tackles confidently. After he does what he needs to do, he cleans up so you can never tell that any work was done. If he is available, I look forward to using Norman from Weston Electric for my future needs.
Description of Work
Norman has done a couple jobs at our home. He installed a doorbell and chime, pulled a new circuit to a room in our home that had no proper outlet, updated an old light switch box and pulled a new cable to it, and he checked the attic, basement, and exterior walls for presence of Knob and Tube wiring so we could get insulation.
Category
electrician
ELIZABETH N.
5.0
09/10/2010
Very prompt estimate, and despite busy summer season and difficulties encountered which made job take longer than anticipated, very helpful in fitting in completion despite other projects. I provided access to house and some of the work was completed in my absence. Very pleased with the work and with the experience. Mr. Gassett was thoroughly professional, unobtrusive despite the need to "work around" pets and routine activity in a very small, older home. During the project, unanticipated "hidden" problems encountered in the job (wiring done by prior owner and not conforming with accepted practices) required adapting approaches to planned work; Mr. Gassett was unfailingly resourceful and ruefully good humored as each new phase of the work brought new challenges and forced new adaptations. Especially during the busy summer season, I appreciated Mr. Gassett's perseverance in seeing the work through and in doing the entire job himself. I would definitely recommend Weston Electric to others.
Description of Work
Replaced main and garage panels, replaced old interior outlets throughout home with grounded outlets, installed GFI on all outdoor outlets, installed garage, front, and security lights, rewired one room to new circuit on main panel, refed kitchen circuit with grounded cable,rewired all outlets in one room through cable in wall, and relocated and rewired improperly spliced cable to garage. Work was done in old home in which former owner had done much electrical work himself, and in which little met conventional or expected standards.
Category
electrician
Evan M.
1.0
08/03/2010
I had to call them 3 times to get a price, and the last time I called he said that he didn't even have time to do the job. Why didn't he just say that from the beginning. He wasted my time!
Description of Work
They came out and looked at the job.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

We regret this member's dissatisfaction and that we were not able to accommodate them.

Phone

Address

11 Henshaw St

West Newton, MA 02465

Other Information

Services offered

Code compliance updates, power out troubleshooting, landscape lighting design & installation, interior & recessed lighting, home & office networking, generator sales & installation, fuse & circuit breaker upgrades, new construction & remodeling wiring.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard

FAQ

Weston Electric is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Weston Electric accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

Yes, Weston Electric offers free project estimates.

No, Weston Electric does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Weston Electric does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Weston Electric offers emergency services.

No, Weston Electric does not offer warranties.

Weston Electric offers the following services: Code compliance updates, power out troubleshooting, landscape lighting design & installation, interior & recessed lighting, home & office networking, generator sales & installation, fuse & circuit breaker upgrades, new construction & remodeling wiring.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

PW DiMasi Electric

5.0

(32)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

PW DiMasi Electric

We have been a Waltham based local electrical company since 1993. I Peter W DiMasi Master Electrician (15273A) owner of PW DiMasi Electric am committed to serving our customers with the best service and quality of work. We have courteous and qualified electricians that will complete any electrical job, small or large. We pride ourselves in quality, service and when the job is done, cleanliness! You will not need to clean after us. We are here for all your electrical needs from lighting design, installing an extra receptacle to wiring a new building. We install phone, cable TV, lighting, recessed lights, electric heat, service upgrades, circuit breakers, power generators, computer networking and much more. We are fully licensed and insured and have been vote best of the best since 2000.  

J&E Home Design

Angi Certified

J&E Home Design

2016 Super Service Award Winner with 10% OFF for All Angie's List Members! J&E Landscape provides the following services: Landscaping, Hardscaping-Paver Patios-Walkways-Driveways, Retaining Walls, Lawn Maintenance, Landscape Maintenance, Lawn Mowing, Leaf Removal, Bed Clean Up, Edging, Mulching, Seasonal Flower Installation, Weeding, Bush/Shrub Maintenance, Seasonal Snow Removal.  

We provide personal service we will treat your home or business better than our own. I Bob Tedeschi will perform all of the work along with one of my sons. We will pay attention to detail We offer a 100 percent satisfaction guarantee We wear shoe covers in your home and use drop cloths as needed. We have a $99 service fee.