Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

TAOZEN FLOORING - Taozen Services

About

Founded 2000 • With Angi since October 2008

Taozen Floors Services has served homes and businesses throughout the New England region for over a decade. Our emphasis on excellence and commitment to providing flooring services of the highest quality has made us one of the most sought after flooring companies. Our team of flooring specialists carry out every project with meticulous detail to ensure that you get the best-looking floors possible. We offer a wide range of services including professional floors installation, floors sanding, staining, and refinishing of all types of hardwood floors. As a member of the Better Business Bureau and National Wood Flooring Association, Taozen Floors Services is committed to maintaining the highest standards of excellence in the wood floor products we sell and the flooring services we provide. The satisfaction of our customers is our paramount goal. Our mission is to provide our customers with an experience that will last a lifetime through the highest standards of hardwood floor products, unbeatable pricing, and unmatched service....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

Prefinished Brazilian Cherry Plank

+58 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(332) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

302

4

10

3

5

2

4

1

11

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

hardwood floors (318)flooring (199)carpet installation (16)floor cleaning (13)woodworking (13)tile installation (2)interior painting (1)
Showing 1-25 of 332 reviews
5.0

02/03/2021


Carlos V.

Taozen Floors Service was AMAZING to work with. Very prompt and responsive, and worked around a very tight schedule. They were very accommodating around a late closing date and movers coming in. I Highly Recommend!!

Description of Work
Install Engineered Hardwood Floors

Category carpet installation

Cost $8,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/22/2021

5.0

12/23/2020


De S.

Tao’s team was very professional, efficient, and courteous. With the questions they asked, they showed me they wanted to do the best job possible. Very easy to work with Tao and his team.

Description of Work
Installed prefinished flooring

Category carpet installation, hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2020

5.0

12/23/2020


Benjamin V.

Everything went smoothly. Old carpet was removed and new floors installed in a timely manner. The crew worked hard throughout the 4 or 5 days they were here. Pricing was fair and the job was done nicely. They also cleaned up really well after the projects were done. Overall I am satisfied with the work done.

Description of Work
Removal of carpet and installation of hardwood floors on top level, and engineered wood on bottom level

Category hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/23/2020

Images

Review for TAOZEN FLOORING - Taozen Services - 303 Wyman St, Waltham, MA - 39102345

+2 More

5.0

12/23/2020


Lou C.

Tao did an excellent job of re-finishing our floors. We had a move-in deadline, which he was able to meet. Tao was very detailed in explaining what his crew would do, the sequencing of the coats of poly and how long before the floors could be walked on. He also gave us advice on ongoing care of the floors, which was helpful. His crew was friendly and worked hard to help us meet our deadline. They also did a good job cleaning up after themselves. Highly recommend Tao and his firm.

Description of Work
Complete hardwood re-finishing for 2nd floor, stairs and main floor

Category hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/23/2020

5.0

12/23/2020


Susan H.

Tao is unbelievably great! He is professional, efficient, and fastidious, exactly what you want in a project of this scale. His workers were also fantastic. He does everything he says he'll do and more. Tao helped us coordinate movers to move our furniture into another section of our loft prior to the installation, and then back out when our beautiful floor had been completed. We had bought tiles for installation in the area just inside the front door, and his guys did that installation as well, also a fantastic job. They're as fastidious as he. We did not move out during the installation, and because of the pandemic we were inside almost all of the time. The crew did everything possible to make our lives comfortable during the work. I was amazed that it only took them 2.5 days to complete the job. They really have this process down. I would give Tao and his crew six stars if that were possible. I selected Taozen flooring on the basis of its excellent reviews on this site, but I was blown away by their exceeding my expectations. I'm recommending him to everyone!

Description of Work
Replace with a while oak floor the bamboo floor in our loft that was flood damaged.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2020

Images

Review for TAOZEN FLOORING - Taozen Services - 303 Wyman St, Waltham, MA - 39101605
5.0

12/23/2020


Adam F.

Tao and Taozen flooring exceeded our expectations. Our work was completed on time and on budget. Tao and his entire crew are extremely easy to work with. They are neat, respectful and responsive. Tao and his crew removed over 2000 square feet of carpet in multiple rooms and installed new white oak flooring. Tao also replaced two carpeted staircases with the same oak. Tao and his crew were meticulous on our floors and stairs, even spending an additional day to make sure our stair frame and plywood was level and secure before adding the treads and kick boards. Tao refinished the few rooms of existing hardwood we had at no additional cost and all of our new floors match our existing floors perfectly. Tao and Taozen flooring are the only company I will use on future projects. I cannot recommend them enough.

Description of Work
Remove 2000sqft of carpet and replace with new hardwood floors. Refinish 3 rooms of existing hardwood.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, woodworking, floor cleaning

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2020

Images

Review for TAOZEN FLOORING - Taozen Services - 303 Wyman St, Waltham, MA - 39109763

+1 More

1.0

12/22/2020


Brian M.

I originally contact taozen flooring to quote on my project. Tao contacted me and told me that he would send the details to another person/company to quote this - that person never contacted me. I provide an initial review detailing that taozen wasn't very good. Based on the review Tao Hoang contacted me and asked if he could look at the floor and quote the project, and asked if he did all the right things if I'd change my review. He came and looked at the floors and told me he'd get a quote to me within hours. The quote never showed up and I've tried to contact Tao through the methods listed on his business card. He called me back and told me that the email on the business card didn't work. I told him I sent him a text to the cell number listed on the card and was told that didn't work as well. Based on everything that has gone on over the past two weeks with this company I could never recommend them to do a project. Tao talks a good game but that all that it seems to be. If your going to talk the talk a business needs to walk the walk!

Description of Work
Hardwood flooring repair

Category carpet installation, hardwood floor

Work Completed On 12/22/2020

Service Provider Response

After driving over 1 hour to the house to provide a free assessment of the damaged floors caused by the appliance delivery company. We sent over the quote right after; we made 6 attempts. We reached out to request a different email address so that we can send the quote over and out again (we seem to be experiencing trouble emailing out to the provided email address). The person refused to provide another email address and stated that the provided email address should work. We had called multiple times to inform the email address issue. We are ready to assist all customers at all times. We apologize for the inconvenience. Best, -Taozen Status update: the person called to notify that he has received the emailed quote. There was an email system delay.
5.0

09/03/2020


Christina U.

I've hired these guys for two projects, one for installing hardwood floors in a tricky one-bedroom apartment and the other for sanding/sealing the hardwood floors of a three-bedroom house. Both times, I was impressed with the quality, efficiency, work ethic, and price of the service. These are my go-to flooring guys.

Description of Work
Hardwood floor installation and refinishing

Category hardwood floor

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2017

5.0

06/20/2020


Nicholas R.

Taozen Flooring did an excellent job installing wood flooring in my condo. They helped me choose the flooring from the different brands that they have. The installation went very well. They said that it would take 4 days and they would start on Tuesday. That's exactly what happened. It's their attention to detail that is so remarkable. The floor in the back of the closets received the same care as the living room. Each corner is perfect. I am very happy with the job they did and would highly recommend Taozen Flooring.

Description of Work
Install new wood flooring

Category hardwood floor, woodworking

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2020

Images

Review for TAOZEN FLOORING - Taozen Services - 303 Wyman St, Waltham, MA - 38667809
5.0

06/04/2020


Ben B.

Toazen Flooring had installed engineered hardwoods in my basement 2 years ago. Couldn't be happier. I had them back to complete hardwood refinishing on the rest of the house. They provided a thorough inspection and recommendation on the floors since they were pretty bad. They insisted I be involved in every step to ensure the floors came out perfect to my liking. I was impressed by their flexibility with my schedule and with their ability to fix severely damaged areas that others said I would need to replace. Saved me significant money. They also went above and beyond when I accidently scratched the new floors to repair them quickly. Top notch company, communication was key and appreciate all the time they spent to get us floors! Thank you!

Description of Work
Taozen flooring refinished 2 floor levels of hardwoods & installed engineered hardwoods in basement

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2020

Images

Review for TAOZEN FLOORING - Taozen Services - 303 Wyman St, Waltham, MA - 38617194
3.0

06/04/2020


Michael R.

punctual with first appointment for quote but did not deliver the quote as promised and when called the next day mentioned how he had so much work and was so busy and also didn't like working with designer. If that's the case don't waste my time spending 45 min in my home taking measurements. Makes no sense.

Description of Work
Sand/Refinish 1800sf

Category hardwood floor

Work Completed On 06/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear Customer, Taozen Floor Services apologizes for unable to provide our floor service at the specified time. After the free consultation and assessment, we feel the work was not the right fit due to multiple factors. However, we did offer to refer our network affiliate companies that can meet the timeline. As a member of the Better Business Bureau and National Wood Flooring Association, Taozen Floors Services is committed to maintaining the highest standards of excellence in wood floor products and the flooring services we provide. The satisfaction of our customers is our paramount goal. Our mission is to provide our customers with an experience that will last a lifetime through the highest standards of hardwood floor products, unbeatable pricing, and unmatched service.
5.0

02/21/2020


Charley G.

Tao and his team did a beautiful job refinishing the floors in two rooms in my older home. He made sure the colors matched adjacent flooring, and was able to refinish a slightly damaged part without replacing the old wood, saving me money. He was efficient and very responsive, and his team was very professional and respectful of the space. I would definitely hire them again!

Description of Work
Hardwood floor refinishing for hundred-year-old house

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Cost $1,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2020

Images

Review for TAOZEN FLOORING - Taozen Services - 303 Wyman St, Waltham, MA - 38415314
5.0

01/23/2020


Carrie F.

Tao was a pleasure to work with. He was so knowledgeable, explained everything clearly, was super responsive to all of my questions, and the floors turned out absolutely beautiful. The job was completed on time and the job site was neat and clean at all times. I would definitely work with Tao again and wholeheartedly recommend his services.

Description of Work
Tao and his crew refinished the floors in my 100+ year old home.

Category hardwood floor

Cost $2,625

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/06/2020

5.0

10/29/2019


Randi R.

THE BEST. Tao and his team are professional to work with, and do an INCREDIBLE job. The team worked hard, and the job was completed on-time and on-budget. On top of it all, Tao is the nicest person to work with - a guy with a big heart (he accelerated our job to accommodate the move of our piano). I cannot say enough good things. I normally wouldn't wax lyrical about a floor installation / refinishing company, but Taozen deserves the glowing review. 10 stars. Phenomenal.

Description of Work
We had them refinish the floors in our new home (literally every sq ft!), and the floors are gleaming and gorgeous. They had to patch a few sections, and the patch is totally seamless. We also had them install new hardwood (as a replacement for carpet). Of these three jobs, all of them were spectacularly done.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2019

5.0

06/29/2019


Max S.

Working with Taozen flooring was a great experience. Tao, the owner, worked with us to understand our options, budget and timing. Following the initial assessment and plan, Tao’s team went straight to work, getting the work done on time and within budget. As often happens, unexpected issues came up due to corners cut by builders decades ago. Tao explained the issues, how to fix them and remedied the problems. Tao went out of his way to make sure we were happy across the board. We plan to use his company again for future projects and would recommend Taozen flooring to family and friends.

Description of Work
After recently purchasing a new townhouse, my partner and I decided to update the floors prior to moving in. After a decent amount of research online, we decided to go with Taozen based on the numerous positive reviews we found online.

Category hardwood floor

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

06/28/2019


Jennifer C.

We hired Tao about 6 years ago to replace the carpet in two rooms (study/large family room) and 2nd floor with pre-finished hardwood. We were pleased with the entire process from the quick turnaround on the proposal--got it before he left our house-- to the installation process and complete cleanup. Because of our earlier experience we reached out to Tao again when it was time to sand/refinish our entire first floor. We also had very worn areas by the kitchen sink and by our dog food/water dished that needed replacement. Application of the polyurethane during refinishing can be impacted by wet/rainy weather so it's important to work with someone who takes that into account. We used movers that Tao recommended --including moving our upright piano-- and were very pleased with them. I definitely will recommend Tao to anyone who is loving for expert and practical advice on installation/refinishing of hardwood floors.

Description of Work
Refinishing

Category hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2019

5.0

06/17/2019


Jason W.

Tao is punctual and highly responsive for the hardwood floor refinishing/repairing work he did for my house. The work quality is great. I won't hesitate to hire him when I have future project.

Description of Work
hardwood floor refinishing/repairing

Category hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2019

5.0

06/17/2019


Saurabh A.

We had used Taozen earlier this year after we bought a house that required the floors to be refinished. I was really pleased with the quality of the work and responsiveness. I am writing another review as I found myself in a pickle after realizing that we had unfinished hardwood floor that had been installed as part of remodeling one of the closets in the master bedroom. I called Tao because the work needed to be done urgently since we moving into the house in two days. Tao promptly went to the house to take a look and had this crew come the next day to sand and stain the floor! In addition, they also installed a piece of hardwood to fill a gap that had been created between the master bath and the bedroom because of the remodeling. I was charged fairly for the work and was extremely pleased with it. If you are looking for a professional and reliable business for your hardwood floor needs, look no further than Taozen!

Description of Work
Sanding and Staining of hardwood floors

Category hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2019

2.0

06/14/2019


Michelle K.

i should have written this a while ago, but due to recent issues with our flooring, that aren’t even a year old I’m glad I came back to this. My husband and I hired Taozen to install laminate flooring in our newly acquired home in October 2018. We figured it would be easier to do so, before all our furniture came in. There was a number of bumps, including poor communication, hard to reach and awkwardly telling us about other clients. But you know, they did the job and they did it in the time frame promised! Fantastic! However, on our last day, our floor had a panel and we asked him to make it look a bit better, which they promised to come back and fix. They never came back. It’s now been eight months and the molding has totally come off. The flooring is lifting already and have mentioned they did not fix what they promised they would. Anyways, 7k and not even a full year and This started in October 2018 when I hired Taozen to do our flooring, including carpet removal in our newly purchased 1,500 sqft home. The initial quote was competitive. We had decided to use laminate and Taozen assured us the material was high quality and would last. While the owner himself was consistently late and the process started late, his employees worked hard and finished barely on the time schedule he had promised us. The flooring for the most part, looked fantastic. Except the molding between rooms which was not properly secured and already loose. We had pointed this out to him as he came to collect the rest of our payment. He made a date to come fix it. The date came and went with no response from him. We called couple times, no response. Which brings us to now, June 2019, eight months later. The molding came completely off, creating a tripping hazard. Some of the floorboards have become raised at the edges, deteriorating not even a year post installation. We called again, no response. We decided to post a review, we included pictures of the current state of our floors. Not even a day later, I get a call from the owner late in the evening. He claims to have not received any of our calls, except for the last one. He blames this on his business number not working. He was very stuck on the fact that we had not tried all the ways to reach him and was upset about the negative review. He kept on swearing it’s not his fault, it’s the phones. Never mind that he never showed up previously. He asked for a date to come and examine the floor. We moved our schedule to have him come the next day. When he did come, he spent most of the time complaining about his phones and demanding we take the review down. Claiming that in the one day it was up, it was hurting his business. It took significant amount of effort to refocus him on the issue of the work at hand. He didn’t ask any questions about the appearance and color of the molding, which was at the time well colored matched. I finally got him to make a date to fix what he had promised to do. In the week between his visits, he contacted us repeatedly, often at night to ask us to take the review down. We had already spoken to Angie’s List. The day of the repair that he promised us, I had to be out of the house and left my husband in charge. The owner was two hours late, he, himself only spent less than an hour in the house. He left an employee to finish the job, which took several hours, rather than the two hours he said. The time he spent in our home was making more excuses and bringing up how this review is effecting his employees and their families. This is manipulative and unprofessional. When my husband asked him about the floorboards coming up, he claimed this was just what happens with laminate, despite that he originally assured us the materials would last. When I came home, it was clear that the molding does not match the rest of the flooring. Some adhesive had leaked from underneath it. It looks poorly done. The next day, I received a text from the owner. It was not asking whether we were pleased with the work, he was again demanding that we take the review down. We asked about the mismatched colors, he only then said that he had given us what was supposedly nicer molding, but did not have the same coloring available. Had he asked us about this beforehand, we would have kept the original material and properly secure it, as we discussed back in October. Had he actually spent his time discussing how to fix his own work, we would all be pleased. This owner does not seem to concern himself with the quality of his work but more about outward appearances and good reviews. His people skills are atrocious. The way speaks to people in their own homes, while they are paying him is inexcusable. If he put even half the effort into his work as he does making excuse and bullying his customers, he would be far more successful.

Description of Work
New flooring in a new home.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2018

Images

Review for TAOZEN FLOORING - Taozen Services - 303 Wyman St, Waltham, MA - 37930850

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Taozen Floors Services have reached out to the customer today. We had received a voice message on June 3rd at 4:00 pm regarding laminate floors trim-molding coming loose and we immediately called the customer back. This is the first and only message we've gotten from the customer, there are no others that we are aware of. We will remedy the laminate trim issue to the customer's satisfaction. We stand behind our service. We are proud to serve Angie’s List community and have won 11 consecutive years of coveted Angie's List Super Service Award, including 2018 with over 300 positive reviews. We are a proud industry the affiliate of the Great Boston Association of Realtors. This issue arose due laminate thresholds coming loose due to wheelchair rolling on them. They will need to be changed out to a studier wood T-molding trim (not laminate) with stronger adhesive to accommodate the wheelchair. We've replaced the laminate threshold with the solid wood piece T-molding trim to accommodate the wheelchair. Please see the attached images. The new wood trims have a similar color tone to the laminate floors' range of shades. Please see the attached photos. My business partner, who is in charge of installation, and I both show up at the house to work on the molding (it was a very rainy day and we got delay, customers were updated). We spent a total of 4 hours working on the replacement. We feel that the above review is quite harsh and tried very professionally explain our side to the customers. We sincerely did not receive the phone messages through the toll-free number, 877-4-Taozen. No phone calls were attempt via our other two additional phone numbers (781.622.4020 & cell-617.459.1973) and no text messages were received. There were no email communications to our info@taozenflooring.com or taozenflooring@gmail.com. No messages were received from taozenflooring.com's website contact form and chat support function. We work very hard to service and to please all our customers.
5.0

06/08/2019


Saurabh A.

We had used Taozen earlier this year after we bought a house that required the floors to be refinished. I was really pleased with the quality of the work and responsiveness. I am writing another review as I found myself in a pickle after realizing that we had unfinished hardwood floor that had been installed as part of remodeling one of the closets in the master bedroom. I called Tao because the work needed to be done urgently since we moving into the house in two days. Tao promptly went to the house to take a look and had this crew come the next day to sand and stain the floor! In addition, they also installed a piece of hardwood to fill a gap that had been created between the master bath and the bedroom because of the remodeling. I was charged fairly for the work and was extremely pleased with it. If you are looking for a professional and reliable business for your hardwood floor needs, look no further than Taozen!

Description of Work
We need to refinish a patch of our hardwood floor in the master bedroom where unfinished floor was installed after renovation

Category hardwood floor

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2019

5.0

06/06/2019


Rustem K.

Taozen removed carpet and installed hardwood floors in my house. They gave a good deal compared to competition and were very eager to start right away. About 1000 sf were done in 3 full days. Everything went smooth, no damage to walls or baseboards. Floors look great. They cleaned all the dust during and after.

Description of Work
remove carpet and install hardwood floors

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2019

5.0

04/27/2019


William S.

Very responsive and very quick to get a top quality job done. This is my second job with Tauzen, and I will definitely hire again.

Description of Work
refinish oak floor and install new oak floor

Category hardwood floor

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2019