Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc

Founded 1907 • With Angi since July 2004

4.9

(124) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

417 Moody St

Waltham, MA 02453

Description

10+ employees. Pricing per job or units of material. No service fees. Ask about Angie's List discount. Financing available. Award winning. Additional DBAs - Elfman's of Waltham Inc, Mal Elfmans of Waltham Inc. Award winning.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Ed P.
5.0
04/29/2019
They did a great job. Quick, efficient, pleasant and, more importantly, the rugs look great
Description of Work
They re stretched some carpet that had become lumpy
Category
carpet installation
Liz B.
5.0
04/29/2019
Wonderful! Paul was extremely helpful and got us the flooring we needed quickly.
Description of Work
Flooring order
Category
flooring contractor
ADAM P.
5.0
04/25/2019
I have used Mal Elfmans several times over the years for various projects. They always deliver the best pricing and service. Their sales team is knowledgeable on all types of flooring. The install team is courteous, efficient, and respectful of the property. I will be using them for all future flooring needs.
Description of Work
Carpeting in the master bedroom.
Category
carpet installation
Jen G.
5.0
01/12/2019
We had carpet installed in 2016 and again this week. Paul is wonderful to work with, listens to your needs and takes the time to show you samples of what he understand is what you are looking for. The samples he showed me was exactly what I described to him I was interested in. He had samples ship to my house so I could look at the carpet in the natural light in my home. Installers where excellent and did amazing work.
Description of Work
Carpet on stairs
Category
carpet installation
Ilana S.
5.0
12/07/2018
Paul was very helpful in the store. We were in a rush because we had a newborn who needed to be fed, and he helped guide us through all of our options efficiently and helpfully. The installers were on-time, professional, and did an excellent job. The carpet looks fantastic and more importantly it will allow our kids to go up and down the stairs safely, I would definitely recommend Mal Elfman's and I would use them again.
Description of Work
Carpet runner
Category
carpet installation
Marvel K.
5.0
09/11/2018
We got connected to Mal Elfman's through the Costco Flooring program and are so happy that we found them. John Dillon was amazing to work with. He came out to measure and provided us several quotes per our request. We decided to just replace the floors on our first floor as a start. John is super responsive and provides a high degree of customer service. The install crew was also great. It was a two-man crew, Jhonathan and his brother. They did an excellent job and were also very responsive to our needs. They worked non-stop to get the work done in a quick timeframe. When we found one thing unfinished, they came the next day (a Sunday of Labor Day weekend no less) to remedy the work. Everything was taken care of promptly and to satisfaction. We have some other replacements to make in our home and would definitely use these guys again. Highly recommend!
Description of Work
Install Flooring
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Kerri L.
5.0
08/19/2018
Fantastic! This was the 2nd time I used Mal Elfman's and they were wonderful, as they always are. The last project was flooring for a 4 unit building. I cannot reccomend them enough! They are a pleasure to do business with.
Description of Work
Replace Carpet in 1 bedroom Apt
Category
carpet installation
Robert T.
5.0
06/27/2018
It went extremely well. We had a tight timeline and John Dillon of Mal Elfman was quick to measure our space and send out an estimate. When we increased the amount of work and wanted another color, the people in the store were very helpful. Two men did excellent work on the installation and another man came out to trim the doors. Despite some of our last-minute changes I found the people involved to be professional, courteous and reliable. I would absolutely recommend Mal Elfman and crew for any jobs.
Description of Work
We needed carpeting done for staging purposes. Carpeting plus padding also meant that we needed our doors trimmed so that the carpeting would fit underneath. Mal Elfman organized these services for us.
Category
contractors, carpet installation
J F.
5.0
11/17/2017
Everyone we dealt with at Mal Elfman's was knowledgeable, friendly and professional. Paul, our salesman, was very responsive to our questions and needs. Mark, our installer, was great and informative on our next steps. It was a positive experience from start to finish.
Description of Work
We had vinyl composite tiles installed in our kitchen.
Category
flooring contractor
Keri B.
5.0
07/31/2017
Outstanding service. The first time we called, Paul immediately ordered a sample of the rug I was interested in to our home. When I decided to order it, he literally came over that same day to measure (within an hour!). His installation team was early (!), and extraordinarily professional. They did not put a single ding in our walls - something our own cleaning ladies can't seem to manage. They were eager to do the job, never balked at the work and in the end our stairs are a "wow factor!" now. They even brought the custom rug we ordered after we placed the order for the stairs. We liked them so much, we had them do 2 additional sets of stairs. For this, we bought remnants and Paul gave us a great price. Once again, the delivery and installation was as excellent as the first time. After doing a home renovation and literally having nearly everything have something go wrong, it was so refreshing to work with Elfmans and Paul and have such a fantastic experience. I wouldn't hesitate to call them again!
Description of Work
We had runners installed on 3 staircases and had a custom rug made for one of our rooms.
Category
carpet installation
Ed D.
5.0
07/16/2017
Mal Elfman's in Waltham is the "go to" business for carpet selection and installation. No pressure, just great help with carpet selection, reasonable price, and an absolutely superb installation crew for our wall to wall purchase. Contact Peter Richard at Mal Elfman's.
Description of Work
We replaced wall to wall carpeting on our landing, stairway, and upstairs hallway.
Category
carpet installation
Jennifer U.
5.0
05/23/2017
The installers were true craftsmen and would not leave the job site until I fully approved the carpet installation was 100% perfect, which it was. They were very attentive to detail and used excellent judgement about rug placement and how much of the hardwood should be shown. Would highly recommend Mal Elfman's for any of your carpet needs!
Description of Work
I had carpet runners put on my front and back stairways with throw rugs for the entryways. The salesperson focused on my needs and addressed them. I chose a commercial grade carpet and bought a remnant, which saved some money, at the salesperson's recommendation.
Category
carpet installation
Mike D.
5.0
05/16/2017
Everything went very well. They arranged a large crew so the installation would be completed in a day. The entire process from dealing with the sales rep to the installation crew was extremely positive.
Description of Work
Carpeting for 4 bedrooms
Category
carpet installation
Geoffery A.
5.0
02/14/2017
Very good price, product and installer were very professional. Tile options were limited and they had problems with the supplier.
Description of Work
Took up kitchen floor and laid back splash, laid in stone. Removed ole tiles from all area.
Category
flooring contractor
Thomas F.
5.0
01/29/2017
very well ,,, selection with Paul was easy and installation crew was excellent.
Description of Work
carpet replacement
Category
carpet installation
Daleanna D.
5.0
12/05/2016
Quite well. They showed up when scheduled and did the work.
Description of Work
Replace carpeting on 2 foyer steps.
Category
carpet installation
Claire S.
5.0
11/29/2016
Perfectly - from guidance on selecting the right carpet and pad through a flawless installation. We couldn't be happier with the results.
Description of Work
Replace a carpet in a large room
Category
carpet installation
Joel F.
5.0
09/26/2016
Arrived on time. Delivered product as specified. Cleaned up after installation. Worked until job was completed.
Description of Work
Provided everything as stated on the sales order.
Category
carpet installation
Julie T.
5.0
09/19/2016
We had excellent service throughout our experience -- from shopping to installation -- and will highly recommend them to others.
Description of Work
Installed new carpet in a playroom.
Category
carpet installation
George M.
5.0
08/19/2016
Ford was an exceptional salesperson. He worked very hard to have the carpet installed in a very short period of time before we moved in. He was extremely professional and responsive. I would recommend Ford without any hesitation.
Description of Work
Installed carpet on second floor of our new home
Category
carpet installation
Diane L.
1.0
03/28/2016
I am disappointed with their scheduling ability. I have tried many times to schedule to have someone look at my floor to measure with no luck. I tried scheduling and was told the installer would contact me. Never did. I then waited days then had an appointment for last Thursday. I had a cancelation five minutes before the appointment after waiting a week for that appointment. I had to take time off of work. I never heard back from them about rescheduling which they said they'd do. Awful.
Description of Work
Not schedule appropriately
Category
carpet installation
Jennifer P.
5.0
03/03/2016
I wish all projects went this smoothly. The day of the installation I received a call from our salesman to confirm installation. The installers gave me a 15 minute heads up that they were coming. They were very helpful when it came to making suggestions for positioning on the stairs etc. They cleaned up so nicely that it's hard to tell they were here except for the beautiful runner! Our salesman called to make sure everything was going well. I appreciated that very much.
Description of Work
I first went into Mal Elfman's in 2013 to select carpet for a stairway runner. We put the project on hold when my husband and I decided to do a house renovation. Two and a half years later we were ready for that runner! Our salesmen Paul and I picked up right where we left off. I selected a new rug, based on helpful advice, and three days later it was installed. The installation was smooth and the finished product exceeded my expectation. It's beautiful and I love it!
Category
carpet installation
Anne M.
5.0
02/23/2016
The fellows from Elfman's were on time, very professional and did an excellent job. I am very happy with the work.
Description of Work
Laid congoleum in my kitchen and back hall.
Category
carpet installation
Doug S.
5.0
12/25/2015
I was moving into a new house, and I wanted to get carpet installed in the finished basement before moving in. The schedule was extremely tight, and I had to get the work done within a week. I assume it was a challenge to get the work scheduled, but I was told that they would take care of it. They came when they said they would, and did a nice job.
Description of Work
Sold and installed carpet in basement.
Category
carpet installation
Sara S.
2.0
10/29/2015
I went to Mal Elfman?s after having difficulty with another provider. The Sales folks at the desk were SUPER helpful and even helped me FINALLY crack the tile makers code to find matching/complimentary tiles (I was doing 2 colors) They were very attentive, got me samples within days, and were prompt with phone calls and emails. Sadly, when I tried to pull the trigger and have the flooring installed, the installer wouldn?t give me the time of day. (despite the best efforts of the gentleman who had been helping me) We tried for a week or so to get this guy to call me, come to my house and get me a quote, but it was impossible. Ultimately I ended up going with another company.
Description of Work
Was looking to purchase and install LVT, Luxury Vinyl Tile in my renovated kitchen and bathroom
Category
carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi[Member name removed] I apologize for your experience with us. This is not how we typically treat potential clients. I don't know if there was miscommunication on our end or if the installer we too busy, etc. but there is no excuse for dropping the ball. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to make this right on any future projects you may have. Contact me directly & I will handle your project personally. Thank you, Peter Richard Mal Elfman's Of Waltham, Inc. 781-899-9400 peterrichard@elfmans.com

    Other local Pros in your area

    B & Contracting Inc.

     

    Angi Certified

    O'Connell Carpentry and Remodeling

    Remodeling Boston and Boston suburbs for 15 years. All work performed to the highest standards.  

    Angi Certified

    Franca Services Inc.

    Franca Services is a family-owned company with between 8 to 16 employees depending on the time of year. We only do full installations and replacements. We do not offer repair services. Our license in MA is HIC 150467 and we do have employee with Contractor Supervisor License as well. We travel up to 1 hour from our office and we accept cash, checks and credit card also. Check our website or our Social Media to get our promotions.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial sales and installation of flooring, carpet, hardwood, vinyl, linoleum, cork, tile and stone, laminate, remnant, area rug sales and fabrication & hardwood refinishing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc

    How is Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc overall rated?

    Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc open?

    Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc provide

    Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc?

    Yes, Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc offer?

    Mal Elfman's Of Waltham Inc offers the following services: Residential and commercial sales and installation of flooring, carpet, hardwood, vinyl, linoleum, cork, tile and stone, laminate, remnant, area rug sales and fabrication & hardwood refinishing.