Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative

Founded 1988 • With Angi since April 2003

4.6

(179) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

26 Thayer Rd

Waltham, MA 02453

Description

Our 100% worker-owned, 30-person firm provides landscape construction, organic maintenance, and design throughout Greater Boston and outlying areas. We offer a lifetime guarantee on all of our hardscape installations. Offering fixed-price contracts and annual maintenance contracts. $3,000 minimum contract....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

04/20/2021


Laura R.

This company was originally very prompt when I first reached out. An employee came to walk the property with me in a Wednesday in March. He was very pleasant and seemed knowledgeable. He promised me a proposal a d estimate by Friday. Nothing. I followed up by email see see when I would receive them. No response. I am annoyed that the wasted my time doing a visit to the property with no follow up. Will not use them or recommend them.

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping

1.0

03/27/2021


JONATHAN E.

For us, A Yard and a Half was a multi-year nightmare. In short, for a rate of $300/mo for 1/8th acre with nothing special, our yard looked like it was an abandoned lot. We signed up for regular service in addition to specific maintenance items, but in spite of pre-payment nearly ever time they had to be hounded or occasionally flattered in order to show up. Our grass was frequently over 6" long and shabby. We lived on a busy street and had shrubs installed which we want to grow to be a noise dampening hedge. We asked each time for the bushes only to be trimmed on the outside and inside faces so they would merge into a hedge; this request was almost never followed and it took over 3 years for the hedge to merge instead of the 1 year it should have. The front lawn was frequently burnt from improper weed, fertilizer, and insect treatment. They charged a huge amount for terrible work on a very small property. In spite of what they claim are the reasons for premium pricing, that their workers are more professional, in our experience this was not the case. The relationship ended after a few years, where they had been the ones paid to maintain the property, when their on-site lead worker sued us and got a settlement from our homeowners insurance, claiming they were injured due to our having a poorly maintained property. From the description of the circumstances, we interpreted that the worker was operating in an obviously unsafe manner with company equipment. For us, not only were they a threat to our landscaping, the magnitude of their irresponsibility made them a very real threat to our family's financial future. I would not recommend them under any circumstances.

Description of Work
General lawn and yard maintenance

Category concrete repair, landscaping

5.0

07/01/2019


Geraldine P.

I would give them a 5 star rating. Very professional and on time. Third time using them.

Description of Work
mowing, mulch. planet.

Category landscaping

3.0

04/06/2018


William R.

I contacted them and they politely responded a few days later. They said that they had a $3,000 minimum commitment for any job so we should look elsewhere for our job. Wow! Obviously, we looked elsewhere.

Description of Work
We needed two large pile of sticks/brush removed from our yard

Category landscaping, leaf removal, tree service

Service Provider Response

We wish we were able to meet all of the demand for the variety of landscaping services that exist. Since that's not realistic, we try to only provide estimates for work where we believe we can provide the best value. Over the years, we have learned that there are other providers with different business models who can offer low-skill labor at a more competitive cost. Our $3,000 minimum is an attempt to be transparent about a level of work at which we are realistically able to create value, while still giving our clients the level of service, professionalism and guarantee that are our hallmark.
5.0

11/15/2017


Amanda H.

We met with Steven who is the estimator/designer for the company. He was extremely thorough at explaining the work that the job would entail and he took very careful measurements of the various grades of our sloping driveway. We had a second meeting after he had worked up the cost and he gave us three options based on differing grades of materials. However, it simply ended up being a more expensive project than we wanted to take on. We would certainly consider using the company for a different project in the future since we were very impressed by Steve’s obvious expertise and integrity.

Description of Work
We were curious to find out about repaving our driveway with permeable pavers, but had no previous knowledge of whether it was the right solution for our driveway.

Category concrete driveways, excavators, landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, [Member Name Removed]. We're happy to hear that Steve, one of our designers, provided you with the information you needed. People are often surprised by the cost of permeable paving because of the extent of below-ground preparation necessary for 100% of rain water to get back into the soil. And yes, please do reach out in the future if there's another project you'd like done!
5.0

09/26/2017


CHET L.

I use them from May on to November yearly. I had them to put in a flower garden at the back of the yard and in working with the staff I am 100 percent pleased. I can buy my plants or they they will. Things can get busy at certain times of the Summer but I know they will always show up. Cost is determined by how much land one has and services one wishes All work is organic. They do seeding, soil analysis, weed control. The Workers are polite and do a good job. I have used them for 3 years and am very happy.

Description of Work
They do all landscaping, mowing, planting, leaf removal, tree trimming, garden design.

Category lawn service, leaf removal

Service Provider Response

We're happy to hear you're pleased with the flower garden! Thank you for your business for the past 3 years.
4.0

06/26/2017


Linda O.

No work was done as they are not available for several months.

Description of Work
An 80' tree collapsed on our home and although the tree service removed the tree, we needed to get the stump removed quickly as it tore up our neighbor's driveway. Unfortunately, A Yard and a Half informed me that they can't do the work until the fall, and I called on June 26. Sorry, but that won't work. Perhaps for other projects. Although it's only now a stump, the photo attached shows why we needed the work done sooner rather than later.

Category excavators, landscaping

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] - Thank you for your review. We try to provide the best value for our clients, and that means being as transparent a possible about a realistic time frame to do the work. No one wants to be told, "Yes, we'll do it!" only to be strung along for weeks before the work can be done -- we'd rather give prospective clients the chance to find someone who *can* do the work in the timeframe you need. Again, thanks for contacting us!
5.0

03/24/2017


Keith G.

First-class work, very high quality. It was a complex job, including a driveway of permeable pavers, stone walls, irrigation, lighting, etc. Yard-and-a-Half worked closely with our designer to discuss options, finalize design, and then carried out the construction and installation with care. The work was very well done, and the crew was a pleasure to work with. We have no regrets whatsoever.

Description of Work
Total landscaping construction and plant installation of the entire yard, including hardscape driveway, patio and walkway.

Category excavators, fencing, landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, masonry, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

So glad you were pleased with the quality of our work. We truly appreciate your business!
5.0

02/16/2017


THERESA H.

Great! Yard has never looked better. Work was performed professionally, promptly and within estimate.

Description of Work
Yard maintenance

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

Happy to have you as a customer! Always doing our best to be professional and prompt.
5.0

12/01/2016


Carol M.

very well - they will be back - see above

Description of Work
I have contracted with Yard and a Half for many, many years for landscape services ranging from landscape planning to regular maintenance. We are assigned a crew and everyone from the manager to the crew chief to the landscapers are professional, efficient and responsive. Yard and a Half works with us to initiate a yearly plan including deferred work, needed work and ongoing maintenance. We have used their design services as well as their arborists services. Most importantly, they are neat, complete the work in a a professional and timely manner and are a pleasure to have around. Our manager and crew chief take initiative when they see something concerning and are responsive to issues that we raise. Recently they have become employee owned! Special shout out to Eulalio and Milton!

Category landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, mulch, tree service

5.0

11/06/2016


Brenda W.

We absolutely love how everything came out and had a very positive experience working with Geovani and all of the crew. They were reliable and professional and went above and beyond. They took care of every detail, everything was high quality, and they cleaned up at the end of every work day. The crew was very skilled with the rock work and with the selection of the granite itself, as well as doing an excellent job with the planting and seeding. Our property looked beautiful for our son's outdoor wedding and we are so pleased with our beautiful yard, and know that we will enjoy it for years to come. We would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
We had a sloped side yard landscaped with a rustic look which includes rock terracing, a stepping stone pathway, granite hitching posts, and many shrubs and plantings. We also had the front of the house and the back alongside our deck landscaped, with new shrubs and flowering plants.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

10/23/2016


Penelope M.

We were thoroughly impressed with A Yard and A Half and have recommended them to others who have had equally positive experiences. We had a complex and large project complete with multiple hardscape features (new driveway with pavers, stone wall and paths, peastone vegetable area, brick porch repointing and the placing of boulders on the property, installation of a trellis) and planting of many trees, shrubs, and ground cover. Their work was impeccable, and they were thoroughly invested in ensuring that we were completely satisfied. The crew was incredibly hard working, reliable, friendly, and invested. Considering our sizable investment in materials and plants, we appreciated working with a crew who were so skilled at their craft and dedicated to our vision. We would recommend them without reservation!

Description of Work
Large and complicated landscaping project complete with multiple hardscape features, ground preparation, and planting.

Category excavators, fencing, landscaping, masonry, hardscaping

5.0

10/22/2016


Diane M.

We are very pleased with their work and their reliability. We have enjoyed getting to know Eulalio and Cristian and his crew. In addition to the work we contracted, they also helped us with pruning suggestions and planting fall bulbs. They also removed a large amount of branches after we did some major pruning. It always is a pleasure to come home and see a beautifully cleaned up, mowed yard! We recommend them highly.

Description of Work
We have contracted with A Yard and a Half for spring and fall cleanup, mulching and summer maintenance.

Category landscaping

2.0

07/17/2016


kerrie K.

didn't happen. we connected well in the beginning, and then after a mix up of meeting me at the property, he showed up and consequently told me he'd have the estimate by a particular date. Nothing. I reached out twice. nothing. How could I continue to work with him if he proved to be so irresponsible to begin with.

Description of Work
crushed stone for driveway and some yard

Category landscaping

2.0

05/15/2016


Rebecca C.

Its clear this company has zero interest in follow through even though we spent over $10,000 on their services. Trust me, you want to avoid this company. Currently our garden is a sad mess. At this point, we need to hire someone else who can salvage it. Though the "garden" was installed two years ago, I've had to replace or replant about half of the plants. When we first hired them in the fall of 2014, Carolyn was responsive and seemed to know what she was doing. The plants and lawn were installed in Fall of 2014. The plants suffered the first season, several died and then in the spring more plants started to die. As I'm watching my plants and lawn suffer, despite several emails and phone calls, Carolyn stopped responding and, again, after many a phone call, the office manager handed us off to Eulalio. He followed up, replaced the plants that had died or were dying and moved some of those that were put in the wrong locations. Unfortunately some of the plants they installed were extremely ugly but we were so sick of the fight to get them to get replaced, we just accepted them. The company did a fall clean up but ONLY after I really chased them down. As part of the clean up they burned the weeds on the sidewalk next to our fence, but also scorched the backs of about 3 of our new plants. Being a glutton for punishment, (and in hindsight a desperate idiot), despite this experience, I told Eulalio that we wanted them on a regular basis to come back, do pruning, plant and lawn fertilization. This Spring I called them to get them to do the spring maintenance, and spoke to both the office manager as well as Eulalio. Though he said that he would get back to me, I've heard nothing for three weeks. I've spent enough time at garden shops now trying to figure out how to take care of my own lawn and plants, that I realize MOST of the stuff that was planted was put in the wrong location for the type of plant it is. Truly astonishing. The lawn that we spent a small fortune to have replaced looks terrible and is now once again weed infested. I'm done with these folks.

Description of Work
Provided landscaping services including plantings and redoing the lawn as well as seasonal cleanup in 2014 and 2015.

Category landscaping

5.0

03/03/2016


Kathleen W.

Geovani, the CEO and Gonzolo, our project manager helped us scope out our dream landscaping, redesign our stairs, walk way and front door approach, built beautiful new gardens, removed the moss and weeds which passed as a lawn, releveled and filled in the yard with new soil and planted a new lawn. They placed and planted A LOT of new bushes, trees and flowers. They created new parking spots and a storage area for lawn equipment. This was a long project with many modifications throughout the effort. While there were the common problems one might encounter with a project of this size, the key was the professionalism and dedication to getting it right shown by the Yard and A Half team. They went above and beyond almost any service provider we have used and did so with a smile.

Description of Work
We chose A Yard and A Half to provide a complete overhaul of our landscaping. We had moved into a home with an acer of land that had not been maintained for 10 years. It was a mess and the forest was encroaching..

Category excavators, landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service

4.0

02/03/2016


Nathan J.

+Apologies, this is a long overdue review. Work was done back in May/June 2010.+ The work went really well. We had strong thoughts as to what we wanted installed brick patio in our backyard (using real bricks-not composite) and two trees put out front. After having two other vendors come in- one of whom was overpriced, the other tried to talk us into something completely different- Yard and a Half was excellent. They listened to us, asked good questions and were very responsive. The crew that did the work was nice and ran a bit behind schedule but overall, we were very pleased with the final product. Pricing was a bit high, but still reasonable based on what we were requesting. We're hoping to use them to install a matching walkway in our front in the near future.

Description of Work
The provider removed an old, ugly concrete patio in our backyard and installed a circular brick patio. They also planted two trees (Japanese maple and dogwood) in our front yard.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, masonry, tree service, patios

5.0

01/16/2016


Deborah E.

Terrific. No complaints. Would strongly recommend. They were able to provide quote and mobilize on site less than a month from initial contact - important due to the impending late fall/winter. Two very hard working guys completed everything in about a week. They worked out the details with me as they went along (bed layout, mulch type, and stone color) which made the install go very smoothly from my perspective. The seeded lawn came in nicely even after a significant rainstorm that lasted several days a few weeks after install. Steve kept in contact throughout the storm and stopped by to make sure the work held up. This showed a care for their customers and their work that you don't experience with every contractor. I am looking forward to planting the beds in the spring!

Description of Work
Complete lawn restoration, creation of plant beds, and pea stone path.

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel

5.0

10/19/2015


Jane A.

They did a wonderful job. I would use him again in a minute. They are expensive, but the quality of the work and professionalism is worth the cost. Simply...the best.

Description of Work
The provider did brick work for us in our yard.

Category landscaping, masonry

4.0

08/18/2015


susan C.

I'm not going forward with it. They're really high in price and I knew they would be.

Description of Work
Landscaping. They came out and gave me a plan and a quote.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/14/2015


CHET L.

They come early and work hard. Two men are working this project and they are very nice to have around.

Description of Work
Replaced our current patio and front walk. They are our current landscapers as well so they are not really new to us. They have finished our patio but are currently working on our front walk. I am extremely pleased with their work. It is guaranteed. High quality work. I also love the way they take care of our property.

Category landscaping, patios

5.0

07/27/2015


JUSTIN S.

Laurel, Eulalio, and the rest of the Y&aH crew were great communicators, handling two reschedulings (one theirs, one mine) with professionalism and promptness. They worked via phone or email, whichever was best at the time, and were always friendly & helpful. The quality of work surpassed my expectations. The yards went from ugly and unusable to excellent, and they took into account my requests to maximize for low upkeep since I am not around to do much yardwork myself. My kids and I played ball in the yard yesterday for the first time in over a year and they both said what I think: "this is awesome!"

Description of Work
My yards were badly overgrown, covered with weeds and small trees, and generally in disarray. I engaged Y&aH to get them in better shape.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

5.0

07/12/2015


Rebekah M.

We hired a Yard and a Half to landscape our backyard. It is a small space, but it was a big mess, with a huge rotting wood shed and old concrete pavers and blocks covering the yard. We asked them to remove the existing materials, regrade the yard to drain away from the house, and seed grass/install some flower beds. They quoted us a fair price and completed the work on time while we were out of town. Overall a great experience and we would call them again if needed.

Description of Work
Demo a shed, remove concrete pavers, regrade lawn, reseed, install flower beds and some treads and a step

Category concrete repair, landscaping, hardscaping

4.0

06/12/2015


LANE M.

This was second time I used them. They were very helpful with the design and layout. I especially appreciated how they re-used bricks from an older patio and incorporated into the new by alternating the old bricks with the newer bricks. They were on time and finished when they promised. They also were helpful in selecting the plants and shrubs. They were a little pricier than I wanted, but overall a very good job.

Description of Work
Rebuilt retaining wall and brick patio, reseeded lawn and provided some plants/shrubs.

Category landscaping, masonry, patios

5.0

05/25/2015


NANCY K.

Looks like a different place! Although the patio was enlarged, the design does not make the garden look smaller

Description of Work
Moved a pergola, pourned better footing for the pergola, extended patio, fixed walkway, installed a step to improve the grade, planted a variety of plants that flower spring to fall. This was done in a city yard that is approximately 20x20 feet.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

    Other local Pros in your area

    Driveway Specialists Inc

    Originally based in Ireland then emigrating to America in the late 1980's, our Grand father & founder created the company which carried out work in one of the most consumer focused countries in the world. Not only have we proved ourselves to be dedicated to customer satisfaction and quality workmanship in the USA, but we also developed all the latest materials and techniques to ensure the highest standards of asphalt paving and Tarmacing possible. Family owned and operated and will not be beaten in quality of our work. So dont delay Call The Driveway Specialists today for a free estimate. With over 23 years experience in the business we know that intricate detail and customer satisfaction is what gets a job done right the first time. That's Why since 1988 we are a family owned and operated business and always will be. So for the Best job at the Best price contact us for your free estimate today !  

    Yeff landscaping

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Capuano Construction

    Family owned and operated, Capuano Construction has specialized in masonry work since 1956.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape Construction, Stone Walls, Patios, Walkways, Paver, Cobblestone Driveways, Lawns, Planting, Green Roofs And Walls, Darksky Compliant, Low-Voltage Lighting, Outdoor Kitchens, Fire Pits, Custom Wood Planters, Furniture, Organic Landscape Maintenance, Hand-Pruning, Container Design, Holiday Lighting, Decor & Landscape Design.

    Services Not Offered

    Asphalt Paving, Fencing, Gravel and Mulch Installation Available Only As Part Of A Full Installation Contract. Spring and Fall Clean-Ups & Lawn Fertilizer Applications Offered as Part of an Annual Maintenance Contract Only, $3,000 Minimum Contract.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative

    How is A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative overall rated?

    A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative open?

    A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative provide

    A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative offer free estimates?

    Yes, A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative offers free project estimates.

    Does A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative offer emergency services?

    Yes, A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative?

    Yes, A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative offers warranties.

    What services does A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative offer?

    A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative offers the following services: Landscape Construction, Stone Walls, Patios, Walkways, Paver, Cobblestone Driveways, Lawns, Planting, Green Roofs And Walls, Darksky Compliant, Low-Voltage Lighting, Outdoor Kitchens, Fire Pits, Custom Wood Planters, Furniture, Organic Landscape Maintenance, Hand-Pruning, Container Design, Holiday Lighting, Decor & Landscape Design.

    Are there any services A Yard and a Half Landscaping Cooperative does not offer?

    Asphalt Paving, Fencing, Gravel and Mulch Installation Available Only As Part Of A Full Installation Contract. Spring and Fall Clean-Ups & Lawn Fertilizer Applications Offered as Part of an Annual Maintenance Contract Only, $3,000 Minimum Contract.