Your Garden Curator

About

Founded 2005 • With Angi since February 2010

Your Garden Curator is an organic garden care and landscape construction company. Our aim is to enhance and preserve the ‘green’ areas of the urban and suburban environment, through the use of ego-friendly design, organic products, sustainable resources and supporting the local economy. We have NOFA accredited organic land care professional and ISA certified arborists working with us....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Verified Reviews

4.8

(69) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

56

4

4

3

3

2

3

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (51)lawn care (29)mulch delivering (16)hardscaping (14)leaf removal (10)Patios (7)tree service (6)snow removal (5)masonry (5)marble & granite (2)hauling (2)stone & gravel (1)
Showing 1-25 of 69 reviews
5.0

06/17/2020


Marcia N.

The men arrived on time,were pleasant -started working right away -we had good contact thru out/very satisfied with price and outcome

Description of Work
major pruning,mulching and cutting hedges,lawn,weed /removal pruned

Category lawn service, leaf removal, mulch

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your valued feedback and taking the time to write this review. We are pleased you are happy with our work and service. We appreciate your business. Best, Robert and team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

06/04/2020


Beryl S.

Robert and his team miraculously transformed our backyard eyesore into a beautiful woodland retreat and to say we are happy is an understatement! The very reasonable price for this work made it all possible for us. Faced with a collapsing concrete wall in our backyard "patio" area, we wanted to kill 2 birds with one stone: remove the hazard and get some privacy screening to hide a very ugly view. Robert carefully listened to us and understood our ultimate goals for our space. The team arrived in face masks, practising safe social distancing. They first carefully removed the tumbling wall and debris (just in the nick of time before it fell down a hill onto our neighbor's house.) Robert then invited us to go to the nursery with him where we picked out 10 great trees for screening, guided by his expertise. The team brought in good loam, planted the trees, and then put down a new stone patio, carefully fitting together the bluestone with true artistry. If this were not enough, Robert brought us a large number of flowering shrubs and perenials, chosen based on our requests, and planted them in a composition that juxtaposes colors, textures and bloom times. When he couldn't get the tall rhodos we wanted, he brought us some even-more-beautiful hollies. The icing on the cake: without our even needing to ask and without extra charge, the team reassembled our wood rack, and even loaded the wood back in. They set up our soaker hose watering system for us. And they rototilled and reseeded my patchy lawn! We feel very lucky to have found Your Garden Curator, and whole-heartedly recommend them.

Description of Work
Garden makeover including removal of concrete wall, planting privacy screening, shade garden, and installation of stone patio

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2020

Images

Review for Your Garden Curator - 176 Albion Street, Somerville, MA - 38616352

+4 More

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It was a pleasure working with you. We are delighted you are happy with our work and service. We truly appreciate your business. Best, Robert and team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

01/15/2020


FRANK M.

Arrived on time. Accomplished objective. Work was very, very thorough. Would hire again.

Description of Work
Cut up Branches from a fallen tree, rake up leaves and cart away.

Category hauling services, lawn service, leaf removal, tree service

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your valued feedback and taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate your business and hope to work with you again. Best, Robert & Bronagh and the team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

07/01/2019


Olivia V.

Robert and his team do excellent work and very professional. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Clean up and landscaping of my backyard and garden

Category landscaping, lawn service, masonry, mulch, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your valued feedback. We truly appreciate your business. Best, Robert & Bronagh and the team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

06/20/2019


Sudha N.

We were really impressed with Robert. He cleared out a lot of old weeds and unkept greens in our garden area and had some really great ideas for a vibrant and environmentally thoughtful approach to redoing the area. He had great ideas and really responsive to our vision. The end product was really wonderful and his work provided us a garden even above our expectations. I strongly recommend him. he was very responsive by email and friendly and easy to work with as well.

Description of Work
redo our garden

Category landscaping

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. We are happy you are pleased with our service and standard of work. Your custom is very much appreciated. Look forward to working with you again. Best, Bronagh & Robert and the team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

05/24/2019


Laura L.

Fantastic. Robert drove by the house and determined what work needed to be done, provided a quote, and had the work scheduled and done within a week. We also use their services for snow removal every year; they're transparent about timing and great with communication. No complaints, which is rare with snow removal!

Description of Work
Spring cleanup. Cleared debris from front and back of premises. Required construction of a door under the back porch to obtain access to remove debris under the porch.

Category landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, snow removal

Cost $1,290

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your valued feedback. We truly appreciate your business. Best, Robert and the team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

05/14/2019


Michael F.

I've started to use Robert and his company since 2014 for two houses. He was the only reasonable price for new landscaping. I told him what I wanted and he told me what he recommended. For my 2nd house I already knew he was more than fair, which was why I didn't hesitate to hire him again. His employees are very cordial, polite, and professional. They made very nice landscaping patterns and did a very thorough job. The proof in their work is always deep into the summer, surviving the winter, and then blooming again in the spring. The work he has done for both properties have always come back. My only gripe is I wish they accepted credit card payments because it's difficult for me to get a physical check mailed out. There have been times when I would be late for my bill because I kept forgetting to mail it out.

Description of Work
New landscaping for multiple homes

Category landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, mulch

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your valued feedback. We truly appreciate your business. Our apologies for not accepting credit cards at this time. Hopefully we can remedy this in the future. Best, Robert and the team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

05/14/2019


Peter D.

My family and I were tremendously pleased with Robert and his entire crew. Without hesitation, we would ask them to handle additional work for our home. In fact, we have! Highlights include: - Responsiveness, availability and fully listened to our requests, feedback, changes along the way. - Robert had a great general vision for what we initially requested for the overall "feel" of the backyard. We quickly looked to fully trust his judgment and expertise. - Robert and his crew worked tremendously well with other, unrelated companies involved in backyard renovation (tree crew, fence company, etc.) - Robert and his crew were fully reliable, met the initially discussed timeline, were entirely fair with pricing and gave us a beautiful, exceeding-our-expectations finished project! We can't emphasize enough how much Robert and his crew stand out as a top-tier company. I would find it hard to believe that another company could provide a comparable process, and finished product, regardless of their price. We couldn't be happier!!

Description of Work
Full backyard renovation -- general landscape, brick work, plantings, design

Category landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, masonry, mulch, marble & granite, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2018

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your valued feedback. We are happy you are pleased with our service and standard of workmanship. We truly appreciate your custom. Best, Robert and the team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

05/09/2019


Tisha S.

Very well. Robert and his team are friendly and professional and we are very happy with the results. It's much more pleasant to be out in our yard after they've been here. I highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Yard clean up and landscaping

Category landscaping, lawn service

Cost $610

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your valued feedback. We truly appreciate your business. Best, Robert and the team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

05/08/2019


Don S.

These folks are the best! This is the 3rd year Your Garden Curator has handled Spring clean up and garden prep for me. They did the initial garden build out (fantastic job) and have maintained since. Bronagh, Robert and the entire crew are very responsive and their communication is outstanding. I highly recommend Your Garden Curator.

Description of Work
Spring clean up, lawn overseeding, and garden prep.

Category landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, mulch, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2019

Images

Review for Your Garden Curator - 176 Albion Street, Somerville, MA - 37864518

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. We are happy you are pleased with our service and standard of work. Your custom is very much appreciated. Look forward to helping you in the future. Best, Bronagh & Robert and the team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

05/07/2019


Catherine G.

I can't recommend Robert and Your Garden Curator enough. Robert is courteous, kind, and professional. His team is friendly, hard-working, and meticulous. They turned what could have been a ho-hum dry-well project into a beautiful addition to our home and garden. Everyone who sees the low rock wall they built to hide the sump-pump drainage trough remarks on the quality and artistry of the stonework. It's rare to find folks who put so much care and intention into their work. I'd hire them again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Dry-well installation in front garden

Category landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. We are happy you are pleased with our work and the overall experience. We look forward to working with you again in the future! Best, Robert & Bronagh and the team at Your Garden Curator
2.0

05/02/2019


David L.

The guys were very nice, but spread •way• too much mulch on the beds. Several plants got buried and the beds generally look like they are overflowing with mulch. There were a couple of other small things we wanted done, but we only had a couple of hours notice of the visit so didn't have chance to add them to the work order. It was probably for the better, given the quality of the work done. Robert's done great work for us in the past, but the overall quality of the service has declined precipitiously in the last couple of years. We will pay this invoice and never call them again.

Description of Work
spring clean-up of beds

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the review. Our apologies for using too much mulch when carrying out our spring clean-up. This was our oversight. Unfortunately we were not aware of your disappointment regarding our service over the last couple of years as this has only been communicated within this review. Unfortunately we have not been given the opportunity to rectify the mulching issue. We have reached out on several occasions but to no avail. We are sincerely sorry to loose your custom after all these years. Best, Robert Monahan Your Garden Curator
5.0

05/01/2019


Jonathan B.

Excellent communication before every storm, convenient billing. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Plow driveway, shovel sidewalks & steps, apply ice melt

Category snow removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2020

5.0

01/27/2019


Patricia M.

The recent snow storm, January 19/20 required the snow clearance services which was accomplished during the morning of the 20th perfectly according to the agreement we have with Your Garden Curator. This is the second year we have used the Curator services and do definitely recommend the professional manner in which they conduct business.

Description of Work
We have a long double car width driveway that was cleared of snow. We have two cars and the area around the cars was also cleared of snow. Three entrances to the house and sidewalk also cleared of snow. We have additionally required that the areas under drainpipes and the intake/exhaust furnace pipes be kept clear. All of the above is specified in our agreement and is performed for each snow storm.

Category snow removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/26/2019

5.0

12/08/2018


JOSHUA G.

Did the clean-up and maintenance. Have been very responsive and went out of their way when I asked for some extra help putting stuff under the porch.

Description of Work
Yard was an overgrown mess. Needed a major clearing and regular maintenance.

Category landscaping

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/07/2018

5.0

08/27/2018


JOSHUA G.

They understood what we wanted to have done, showed up on time, and got the job done quickly and well. We'll be using them for regular maintenance from now on.

Description of Work
Our small front and back yard was a mess. We had let it get out of control. It needed a significant cleanup.

Category landscaping

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2018

4.0

05/29/2018


karen G.

The initial vinca job went very poorly. They did a thorough job clearing a preparing the sites. I thought the vinca concept was good. However, almost all of the approximately 100 healthy vinca plants put in in the spring died because they were planted in peat pots that did not disintegrate quickly enough for the roots to find their way to the soil. I was left with a patch of dirt by fall. It was very discouraging to watch them all die. Robert promised that they would be replaced with enough time in the fall to become established before winter but despite my reminders, that never happened. I was very upset by this experience and the area needed special watering needs for the first two months so I had to repeat that process when it was ultimately rectified. I did, however, think Robert was a very nice guy. In the end, by the spring of 2018, the vinca was replanted without peat pots and so far, 5 wks into it, the vinca is flourishing. If the project had unfolded as it has this spring, I would have given Your Garden Curator an "A".

Description of Work
Planted the utility strip in front of house with vinca and cleared one area of large shrub.

Category landscaping

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/29/2018

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you are pleased with planting and continue to enjoy the growth of the vinca. It was a pleasure working with you. Best, Robert and the team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

05/03/2018


Leah K.

I'm very pleased with the services of Your Garden Curator. Shortly after I contacted them Robert came to give a quote and then his crew did the job within a couple of weeks. The work was a spring cleanup, trimming bushes, and new mulch. It looks great and the price was reasonable for the work and supplies involved. I look forward to using them again and highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Spring cleanup, trim bushes, new mulch

Category landscaping, leaf removal, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2018

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. We are happy you are pleased with our work and the overall experience. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Best, Robert and the team at Your Garden Curator
2.0

04/11/2018


M C.

It did not go well. Only one ONE of the original trees planted has survived. Multiple calls and requests to have them come take a look were not answered. It was a very poor job and very poor service. A complete waste of money.

Description of Work
Planting some new trees, bushes and some sod in preparation for a wedding in our yard

Category landscaping, lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/11/2018

Service Provider Response

Hello, Firstly we would like to say sorry for your disappointment with our service. After completing the project in July 2014, we received an email regarding an issue with a tree. We followed up and removed the original tree from your property and replaced it. We are sincerely sorry that your expectations were not met. Best, Robert Monahan Your Garden Curator
5.0

12/11/2017


Patricia M.

The driveway was plowed, all entrances were shoveled and the area around our autos was cleared. Splendid job.

Description of Work
Snow plowing

Category snow removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/11/2017

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your valued feedback. We truly appreciate your business. Best, Robert and the team at Your Garden Curator
5.0

11/01/2017


Elizabeth M.

We are thrilled with the outcome of this extensive job. Our yard started out completely overgrown with no landscaping to speak of. The crew did a thorough clearing of everything. Robert Monahan, the owner, provided great assistance in designing a new landscape including bluestone patio and cobblestone driveway, and planting of new shrubs and flowers. He is very knowledgeable and easy to deal with. The workers did a great job and were very pleasant folks. There was the rare temporary glitch along the way which Robert was more than happy to fix. Everything looks beautiful now, excellent quality materials and lovely design. Couldn't be happier!

Description of Work
Clear out yard, install new landscape design and patio, install driveway

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2017

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your valued feedback. We are delighted you are happy with the work. We truly appreciate your business. Best, Robert and the team at Your Garden Curator
1.0

05/15/2017


ALEXANDRA G.

I waited. No word back. I used their online form to ask what was up: "We spoke 10 days ago about mulching. You were going to get back with an estimate and said the job could be done pretty quickly. Could you please let me know? Thanks!" I received the following note four days later by email: "We had planned to help you with your garden but unfortunately our Spring schedule has reached its capacity. We do not have any availability until July. We start to schedule our Spring work in March. It is best to contact us then. If you need any help later in the year please contact us. Sorry we are unable to help you on this occasion." I find this treatment unacceptable. Someone had said, over the phone, that they would help me. It was a very small yard, a very small job. I wonder if it wasn't too small to warrant an estimate? In any case, I want to warn future clients because I was very unsatisfied and now must plan to mulch myself but have no time to do so since I'm leaving for two weeks.

Description of Work
I called to request mulching of my small yard. I spoke to a real person who said they would take a look, give an estimate, and could probably fit the yard into their coming schedule.

Category landscaping, mulch

Work Completed On 05/15/2017