Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

JDO Electric

4.9

(213) Verified Reviews

Founded 1995 • With Angi since April 2004

Angi certified badge

Licensing

No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Company Contact

jdoelectric@gmail.com

Somerville, MA 02145

Description

• 2016 Super Service Award Winner - 10th Consecutive Year! • With 20+ Years of Experience, JDO Electric is a Locally Owned & Family Operated Electrical Contracting Company Proudly Serving Metro Boston & the Surrounding Suburbs of Eastern MA! • A+ BBB Rating! • 24/7 Emergency Services • Residential & Commercial Electrical Service • Owner On-Site & Present at each Residence/Location ensuring the highest-quality service is being performed • Additional Service Area: All Eastern MA, Metro Boston • Suburban Service Areas: Cambridge, Somerville, Charlestown, Arlington, Lexington, Newton, Brookline, Waltham, Winchester, Wilmington, Burlington, Reading, & Andover • Additional Service Areas: Metro West, Lynn Beverly, Norwood & Brockton Counties. Portions of York Counties • Master Electrician License # A15472 •• Please Communicate by E-Mail - jdoelectric@gmail.com or by Phone -...

Verified Reviews

4.9

(213) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

191

4

11

3

7

2

2

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9
Read reviews by category
electrician (210)lighting (53)HVAC Companies (6)ceiling fan installation (5)well & water pump repair (4)home security systems (4)water heaters (3)landscape lighting (2)home automation (2)water damage restoration (2)home remodeling (1)home theater installation (1)
Showing 1-10 of 213 reviews
5.0

04/01/2021

They were very nice and nothing wrong to say about them. They were very good and very responsible. They were very friendly and had a reasonable pricing.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
They did all the electrical in our building.

CATEGORY electrician

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/11/2021

5.0

04/01/2021

They gave some honest feedback. They were on time and professional. They were very good.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
They redid the lights in my place and did some rewiring. They also replaced my circuit breaker.

CATEGORY electrician,lighting

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/11/2019

5.0

11/04/2020

A breaker in our kitchen tripped while cooking and couldn't be reset. Jimmy answered our call right away and came out the very next day- he even called to apologize for not making it out the same day. He got the breaker fixed in a few minutes and fixed a light switch that wasn't working properly for no extra charge. He also gave some advice about replacing lightbulbs to make our dimmers work corre...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Breaker replaced and switch reqired

CATEGORY electrician,lighting

COST $160

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/04/2020

5.0

11/04/2019

Jimmy installed our new system quickly, and he dealt with all of the permit pulling and communications with inspectional services. This was incredibly helpful, as none of us were familiar with the process. He constantly communicated with us, so we knew where he was with the project, and what work was pending. We'll definitely be using him for future electrical projects.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Our condo association needed to install a hardwired smoke detector/carbon monoxide system

CATEGORY electrician

COST $6,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/23/2019

5.0

05/25/2019

JDO and Jim have been my "go to" for electrical work for over 10 years. As always, everything went very well.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Install motion detector and replace emergency batteries.

CATEGORY electrician

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/15/2019

5.0

01/31/2019

Excellent. Jimmy came the same day even though he had to come after 6, and fixed it very quickly.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We needed a switch fixed after it blew and all the lights in two rooms went out.

CATEGORY electrician

COST $195

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/31/2019

5.0

02/21/2018

It went very well. I enjoyed working with the team from JDO Electric. They were quick and cleaned up very well. I would definitely use them again!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replacement of fire alarms

CATEGORY electrician,home security systems

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/21/2018

5.0

01/09/2018

I couldn't be happier. Needed an Ecobee4 thermostat installed and needed a C-wire added to support the new unit. Great work, incredibly responsive - impressive right before the holidays - and right on budget. Thanks again!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Installation of a smart thermostat - including adding a "C-wire."

CATEGORY electrician,heating & air conditioning/hvac,home automation

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/09/2018

5.0

12/08/2017

Very professional job by Jim the owner and his assistant Chico.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Kitchen range hood needed to be installed.

CATEGORY electrician

COST $325

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/06/2017

5.0

11/28/2017

Jim was responsive, professional and efficient and diagnosed a nagging problem. We are grateful to have a trustworthy electrician identified and will certainly use JDO Electric next time we need any electrical work done!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We called JDO Electric to troubleshoot a bathroom exhaust fan and fix a ceiling fan.

CATEGORY electrician

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/28/2017

Services Offered

Residential & Commercial Electrical Services: Service Upgrades • Outlets, Switches, & Dimmers • Knob & Tube Upgrades • Remodeling & Rewiring • Additions • Smoke Detectors • Lighting & Ceiling Fans • Circuit Breaker Panels • Power Outages • HVAC • Plugs • Switches & Fire Alarm Systems • Emergency Generators • Home Theaters • Security Systems & Security Lighting •

Services Not Offered

Call for Details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Check
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Ask for Details