Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

C Costello Masonry Inc

Founded 2000 • With Angi since October 2009

4.8

(39) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 263

Readville, MA 02137

Description

Additional e-mail: www.ccostellomasonry.net Unrestricted construction supervisor license # 98879. Home improvement contractor license # 156998. OSHA safety training certified.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/18/2016


Andrew R.

This is the second time I have used Colm and his work is consistent and incredible. Colm came out to look at the job while I was at work but called me from my property to talk through what I would like to do. His price was comparable and competitive with others. Before starting the job, he came over to walk through everything with me again to be sure he and I were on the same page. His crew showed up early and stayed on task throughout the week. Colm met the timeline that he estimated. The cobblestone border and walkway were done very well. He partners with another provider (Bannon Paving) to pour the asphalt. They showed up when Colm was ready and did a wonderful job to finish the project. Almost every person on my street has stopped to compliment his work. I am so glad I used Colm again, and will absolutely use him for any masonry project in the future.

Description of Work
Removed old driveway. Added cobblestone border around driveway, repaired concrete entrance to garage, installed walkway (driveway was poured by a partner provider and is included in overall cost).

Category concrete driveways, masonry, hardscaping

5.0

11/19/2015


Jan S.

The walls holding back earth on either side of our driveway were built in the 1930s and were beginning to bow inward from the pressure of the earth against them (the driveway is cut into a hill). Mortar had started to crack. Also, the driveway was very narrow and needed to be widened. Colm Costello gave us the lowest of three estimates and impressed us as someone with integrity who cared about the work. He and his crew showed up on the agreed-upon date, and the work proceeded according to the schedule he'd laid out. They brought in heavy equipment when needed to break up the old wall and move heavy stones around, but much of the work was done by hand, and the masons were skilled. They took care to put crushed stone behind the new wall, for drainage, and they conferred with us at key points on questions of design. Some minor additions we asked for were accommodated at reasonable cost. When it came time to repave the driveway they brought in a crew of driveway specialists who accomplished the whole job in a day. Colm came by personally to inspect the work and make sure we were satisfied. We were.

Description of Work
Broke down and rebuilt retaining walls on either side of the driveway. Repaved the driveway.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, masonry, hardscaping

4.0

10/28/2015


Jonathan B.

Scope of work discussed discussed in detail. Proposal was delivered as promised.

Description of Work
He came out to provide an estimate. Very prompt and professional.

Category masonry

1.0

10/10/2015


Mardi A.

He was slow in responses, but he said he was very busy. We set up an appointment a week and a half ago. Wednesday I reached out to confirm the appointment, and he did not respond. He did not show up to the appointment or call to cancel.

Description of Work
I contacted him regarding masonry work.

Category masonry

5.0

03/21/2015


Judith C.

Costello was extremely professional and timely. They replaced the entire front stairs with granite and rock, as well as a retaining wall with granite and rock. They also replaced three stairs with granite and rock leading up to a small area which they paved with interlocking pavers. The job has enhanced the value of my home as well as glistened the curb appeal of the property. The clean up after the job was concise and complete and Costello responded to all my queries in a timely and professional manner. I would highly recommend this company for any masonry work that needed to be done to improve your home. Very happy with their service.

Description of Work
Costello entirely replaced front stairs and retainer wall.

Category masonry, hardscaping

5.0

08/05/2014


David L.

Colm and his team were professional, punctual and great to work with. They did a high quality job on both our front steps and our garage floor. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Colm replaced our front steps and poured a new concrete floor in our garage

Category masonry

5.0

06/02/2014


john M.

The Costello crew were at our house when they said they would be and they worked long days - they did a magnificent job. Craftsmen level work in my opinion. I know that now because I used another provider (to save a bit of money / wont do that again) with a ton of great ratings and the work they did on my chimneys was horrifying - looked like a child's work. I would use Costello again without reservation.

Description of Work
Re-pointed the whole north wall of our home. Added new lintels to 5 windows.

Category masonry

5.0

05/22/2014


Andrew R.

They were incredible from start to finish and their quality of work was amazing. Colm was very helpful even when first looking at the job, making great suggestions, and helping me choose the best products for the job. He was slightly more expensive than another quote I received, but I could tell that his quality of qork would make up for that. He showed up when he said, and completed the job in the time he estimated. The finsihed product came out very well. Colm even followed up with me to make sure we were happy with the job. Many neighbors have commented on how great the job turned out and have asked for his contact information. We have work to do in the future, and I will be calling him again without any question.

Description of Work
Removed existing front walkway and steps. Rebuilt steps, installed paver walkway.

Category masonry, hardscaping

4.0

05/22/2014


Josephine P.

Work was excellent. They are very busy and the only downside was I had to wait several weeks to get into their schedule but it was worth it. Meticulous and great attention to detail. Stairs look great and I have asked for estimates for more work.

Description of Work
Repaired stairs and replaced treads with granite.

Category masonry

5.0

04/01/2014


Phoebe O.

It was wonderful. He did a very good job. I got several other quotes and his price was the lowest, if not the next one up. The price was fair for what he did.

Description of Work
I used C Costello Masonry Inc to rebuild a retaining wall. Part of the wall extends into a backyard and it goes through the back part of the house, so he re-pointed the wall and rebuilt some of the wall that had come apart in the back.

Category masonry, hardscaping

1.0

03/29/2014


Chandra W.

I contacted C Costello in regards to some walkway repair as well as some pointing. Whereas they are in a short radius of where I wanted the work done I was happy to contact. When I contacted C Costello I was asked to send a picture of the work so he could get a good idea (that was sign number one). I have not yet heard from C Costello. If a company wants my business or anyone else's business they should make time to come to see the property not ask for pictures (you won't get a full view). Take the time to meet the potential customer. For these reasons they are graded a F. There is no excuse.

Description of Work
Walkway Repair & Pointing

Category masonry

5.0

08/23/2013


Phoebe O.

They were very prompt, they came when they said they would. They were very clean, and picked up after themselves. They were very respecful. We do not haev any sidewalks, so they cleaned the street up after they were finished with the project. The price was very fair; I had two other bids and their price was the lowest. Their work was excellent and well done. The wall looked beautiful when it was finished.

Description of Work
They did a rebuild of a back retaining wall and they also fixed a small garden retention wall.

Category masonry

5.0

07/16/2013


margaret C.

I actually recommended him to a couple of other people and they loved him. My experience with him was great. He was doing my front landing and steps, and he ran into a problem with rotted wood underneath and he fixed all that as well, even though he is a mason. He sent out my wrought iron and had a different company come in and had that all done over and he did an excellent job.

Description of Work
C. Costello Masonry Inc. did the front landing and steps for me.

Category masonry

5.0

04/20/2013


Margaret S. Z.

I found Colm very professional and friendly. His workers were also very competent and friendly. They arrived on time and began their work. They were here about 1-1/2 days and when they finished the job they left the areas they worked in completely free of any debris and very clean. Colm even returned the next day to remove two additional bags of 'trash' that they were not able to take when the finished the job. I would highly recommend Colm and his company to anyone who is looking for masonry work that they need to have done. My co-owners also found them all very professional and friendly.

Description of Work
We hired C. Costello Masonry, Inc., (12 Alward Road, Boston, MA 02132) to repair the base of three chimneys (in our 100 year old 3-family condo) 3 feet up from the floorline. Demo and rebuild deteriorated brick on chimneys that vents furnaces and hot water heaters. Close up holes of deteriorated metal covers with brick. Install two new cleanout doors (one on each chimney where heating systems vent into) and repair hole on chimney where one single hot water heater vents into to stop any gases from leaking out.

Category masonry

5.0

01/02/2013


Catherine O.

Initially, it was very difficult to reach Colm and to set an appointment with him. However, he did terrific work once he arrived, and he was very professional. We would definitely use him again if necessary.

Description of Work
He removed our front steps, and he fixed the brick, mortar, and blue stone of one the steps.

Category masonry

5.0

12/17/2012


SUSAN D.

I was very pleased with the work performed. The walkway looks great. The owner was very involved in the process from start to finish. He was very knowledgeable and listened to my reqiurements. He even recommended a new configuration for the walkway which made a real differance in the finished product. When I drive up to my house and see the walkway I am very glad I found this company. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Replaced a walkway on my property.

Category masonry

5.0

10/29/2012


Michael B.

I purchased my circa 1875 small single family home in Jamaica Plain in 2007. Buttoning things up for my first winter, I mounted the roof to remove a satellite dish bolted to the cement-parged chimney. I found the only thing holding the chimney together was the parge on the outside. All the mortar inside had deteriorated. I got estimates from three masons to rebuild. It was recommended that the chimney be brought down to roof-line and rebuilt with new lead flashing as there was leaking inside the house. With several years having now passed, the leak was corrected by the work Colm performed. Colm's crew completed the job in a day, left the job site clean and debris free, the work is perfectly pointed with a simple corbel, properly flashed, and topped with a stainless steel cap. I was very pleased with the work, and the cost seemed reasonable. I would use Colm Costello Masonry again.

Description of Work
Deteriorating chimney was demolished and rebuilt with new brick and lead flash from roofline up. Clean-out access was added in basement. Finished with new stainless cap.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

2.0

09/13/2012


Kathleen K.

So unfortunately it didn't go well because in the end, no work was performed.

Description of Work
We contacted Mr. Costello after reading positive reviews on Angie's List. He was quick to come to the house for an estimate on our brick steps and followed through quickly with a cost estimate. I did my part by returning the signed contract -- not with any money, thankfully -- but didn't hear back for some time. I followed up with a phone call, then a few weeks later heard back. He apologized, said they were busy, the weather, etc. -- I figured that's ok, it happens. He assured me the work would be completed in the coming week & that he'd call back in a few days to schedule. I never heard back. I finally called back & left a message stating that we were going to use a different provider, and that was the last contact we had. Too bad, he seemed nice, but didn't come through in the end.

Category masonry

5.0

09/04/2012


Tom N.

This was a difficult project, technically and politcally, for any masonry/roofing contractor because the access to the work site was from the roof of a neighboring condo building whose owners had less at stake in the project than our building. Several contractors had declined to bid simply because the project involved a party wall. One major contractor who had performed many extensive restorations in this historical district almost started the job only to be dissuaded by the intransigence of the neighboring condominium building. Costello Masonry not only bid and completed the project in a reasonable amount of time but also successfully navigated the hornet's nest of conflicted neighbors to satisfy all parties. Costello Masonry also brought in skilled experts in roofing and sheet metal work to perform the non-masonry subtasks of the project. Thanks go to Angie's List for introducing this excellent (and perhaps only possible) contractor to our condominium association.

Description of Work
First task was to repoint and repair in spots an exterior brick wall of the top two floors of our condominium above the abutting condominium building. Second task was to replace and reseal the metal flashing at the base on this wall which sealed their roof to our wall.

Category masonry

5.0

05/16/2012


Robert G.

He was pretty great. I don't think there was anything I disliked. He was responsive, very professional and so were his guys. They cleaned up after themselves and everything. They gave a price three times and then he stuck with it. It seems like he really did a really great job. He looked at a couple of different options and helped me figure out which option I really needed which I really appreciated because it all turned out right. I wanted to get a lot done then I decided not to just because it was a little expensive which he did not mind to give me a price any where when I told him. He did the rest of it it all free for me.

Description of Work
I used C Costello Masonry Inc to remodel the entire basement foundation.

Category masonry, basement remodeling

5.0

04/22/2012


Beatrice C.

NO complaints. Scheduling was easy; the team appeared on the committed day and worked for 3 days until the job was done. There was no debris left for us to clean up and the job was a great success.

Description of Work
Foundation is granite block and the mortar was crumbling causing water issues and creature access. The past winter a burrowing animal scratched its way into the cellar to nest. C costello Masonry removed all of the old mortar in the cellar; involving about 600 sq ft of granite wall. They replaced the mortar with great care and removed all debris from the site. The entire team was very professional and worked continuously so the job was done in 3 days. We have hired C Costello for an additional job.

Category masonry, basement waterproofing

5.0

01/02/2012


Ross P.

Colm as his workers worked very cleanly throughout the project and finished the job quickly once they started. The project started a little later than expected but was completed quickly as soon as they started. It was definitely worth waiting the few extra weeks to have the work completed by Costello Masonry.

Description of Work
Repointed stairs and portions of foundation of our condo. Our condo measures 50' x 25' and the foundation is approximately 6' high.

Category masonry

5.0

12/19/2011


India K.

Colm did an absolutely beautiful job replacing our seven (now eight) front steps, using granite slabs on top of the steps and Arcadian granite stones artfully set in concrete for the risers and the sides of the steps. He was the only mason we talked to who had creative ideas as to what we might do aside from the usual bluestone and brick, and we've received many compliments since the completion of the project. Colm was professional and pleasant to work with, and always either picked up immediately when called on his cell or got back to us quickly. We recommend him highly and would definitely use him again..

Description of Work
Complete demolition and rebuild of front steps, with widening of top platform and addition of a step.

Category masonry

5.0

12/07/2011


Stephanie W.

I would hire them again. The chimney looks great. He came by afterwards to collect the check and wanted to make sure we were satisfied.

Description of Work
Our old chimney's mortar was crumbling, and we needed to replace it. We got a quote back in 2009, and hired him in 2010, and he held the estimate the same. The estimate was very professional. He explained what he was going to do, and he and his team arrived when they said they would. I would hire them again.

Category masonry, chimney repair

5.0

09/18/2011


john M.

It was a big job. The crew worked hard throughout the day and did a very good job. i thought they were very professional. The crew were polite and respectful which helped make this a positive outcome. There were a few additional charges on the final amount that I thought shouldn't have been there but this was a small percentage of the overall cost, which was lower than other quotes.

Description of Work
The company re-pointed most of one large wall, replaced lintels above 3 windows, and spot-pointed around the house.

Category masonry

    Other local Pros in your area

    E.A Masonry

    E.A Masonry 30 years experienced in any kind of masonry work.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Pave Tech LLC

    Pave tech does a host different services from asphalt paving to masonry, blue stone walks, patios,interlocking patio pavers, driveway pavers,tree work. Intricate & simple landscape designing of backyards. We are the recognized leader in value and pricing!!!!!!!  

    Healy Plastering and Masonry Restoration LLC

    We are a fully functional construction company who can fulfill all of your home improvement needs. We can tackle any task from large to small inside or outside your home. With over 10 years of making customers happy, you can have full confident in knowing that we will handle your job with the up most care.  

    Offers by Healy Plastering and Masonry Restoration LLC on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Masonry, brick, block, stone, concrete, & stucco work, chimneys ,steps, retaining walls, walkways, patios, fireplaces, repointing, head & sill replacement, caulking ,historical restoration, basement waterproofing, sump pumps ,French drains, concrete floors

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about C Costello Masonry Inc

    How is C Costello Masonry Inc overall rated?

    C Costello Masonry Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are C Costello Masonry Inc open?

    C Costello Masonry Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    What payment options does C Costello Masonry Inc provide

    C Costello Masonry Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does C Costello Masonry Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, C Costello Masonry Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does C Costello Masonry Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, C Costello Masonry Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does C Costello Masonry Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, C Costello Masonry Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does C Costello Masonry Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, C Costello Masonry Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by C Costello Masonry Inc?

    Yes, C Costello Masonry Inc offers warranties.

    What services does C Costello Masonry Inc offer?

    C Costello Masonry Inc offers the following services: Masonry, brick, block, stone, concrete, & stucco work, chimneys ,steps, retaining walls, walkways, patios, fireplaces, repointing, head & sill replacement, caulking ,historical restoration, basement waterproofing, sump pumps ,French drains, concrete floors