Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS

Founded 1976 • With Angi since February 2005

4.4

(39) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6 Riverside Drive

Pembroke, MA 02359

Description

Since 1975, The August West Chimney Co & Fireplace Concepts has proudly serviced the South Shore, Greater Boston area, Cape Cod & The Islands with its services.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/01/2016


Linda E.

If it were possible to give a rating lower than F, these people would get it. As I'm thinking of words to describe the company as a whole I'm coming up with disorganized, unprofessional, dim-witted, shady…I think you get it. Back in early September, I contacted these people for a very simple job - spray a sealant over the chimney box/liner. It started out bad with them so, really, I should have known better. I first called to schedule an estimate and when we finally agreed on a date/time that worked for them, I asked a friend to meet them at my home since I was going to be away on business. She cleared her schedule to accommodate them but they called just before the scheduled time to say they would be over an hour late. My friend couldn't stay so we rescheduled again at a time that fit them. My friend again agreed to meet them and tried to document what they said but according to her, they were disorganized and "kinda dopey". They quoted her two prices - $400 for the materials they currently use or $700 for a new material that they haven't used yet. I wanted to go with the less expensive option because I'm new to fireplaces and wasn't sure how often I'd use it. Also, I'm thinking of going with a gas insert next year so I didn't want to overspend on this. Most importantly, I wanted it ready for a housewarming party I'm having this weekend so $400 seemed right. Unfortunately, when I contacted the office, they told me they would not honor that verbal quote and would only give me a quote for the new product. Now, I hate to accuse people of being shady but I believe that's a good example of it. Here's my second mistake - I went with the higher quote and scheduled a time to have them come out. Today was that day...almost 2 months after I first called them. Again, I arranged to have someone meet them since this day worked for them, not me. And this morning, at 8:00am, they called to cancel! Apparently, they FORGOT to order the new sprayer for the new material (this is where I believe calling them dim-witted is justified). And before I hung up on him, the owner had the nerve to say, "Yeah, the girls in the office told me you'd be mad." Seriously? Listen, when I first came to Angie's List and saw their bad reviews I thought maybe it's a fluke. Trust me...it's not. They are not a good organization to do business with. Save yourself the aggravation of dealing with them and find another good chimney crew somewhere else, which is what I'll be doing today. Sadly, I won't be able to get someone in before my event this weekend but that's the price I pay for ignoring the advice of others.

Description of Work
Simple fireplace repair.

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

12/16/2014


Claire C.

They are excellent. They are cutting edge and have all the newest stuff. They can custom build fireplaces that look amazing.

Description of Work
I was renovating (2) condos and they put a fireplace in each one.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your your favorable review as it was a pleasure working with you. If you need us in the future or have friends that need a fireplace don't hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, August West
5.0

10/06/2014


Katrina P.

Scheduled an appointment in the showroom, where service was excellent and scheduling was easy. The appointment for the quote went well... the representative from August West was punctual, professional, and extremely knowledgeable. The quote I received is in good order, and the price seems fair.

Description of Work
Contacted for a fireplace insert quote, eventually to replace the chimney entirely.

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Hello [member name removed], Please know that I will follow up with you on Monday once our masonry manager is back to work as he's been out for most of the week due to an injury. While I see an estimate in our system for the wood insert you inquired about in mid September, I need to get his paperwork for any other work that is recommended. Look to hear from me tomorrow for sure and contact me with any questions once you have received all of the information. Many thanks Curt
5.0

06/14/2014


Erica R.

Great!!! Even though I didn't originally purchase my stove from August West, I wish I had. Their customer service was top notch, the entire team was knowledgable and helpful.

Description of Work
I purchased a pellet stove from another dealer last year,who did not fulfill the terms of the contract. Dan and team very willingly helped me get in touch with the stove maker, clarify the issue and resolve everything.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

(member name removed), Thank you for your favorable review of our company and its services as we certainly appreciate it very much. Its not often when a customer is satisfied that they tell anyone, but when someone isn't satisfied, they'd rather tell everyone and not inform the company there was an issue to begin with. If you have time, and wouldn't mind posting your review on YELP.com it would certainly help our standings on that site. While we take more weight with Angie's List, all review site are taken seriously. Any questions or issues in the future please don't hesitate to let us know and thank you for your business and time reading this. Best, Curt Ludlow
1.0

04/18/2014


Margaret W.

They had written down that one of my chimneys was blocked and said they would get back with me and never did. I saw one of the managers working across the street and he said he would get back with me and never did. I made three attempts with them to determine which one was blocked. I had to go with a different company to determine which chimney was blocked.

Description of Work
They cleaned the chimney. They provided a quote that was high; the quote included scaffolding.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

03/07/2014


James M.

lDid what they said they would, slight delay when ordered part was not delivered on time, supplier at fault. Required two trips to finish installation. Since it was still warm, I didn't need the un;it at the time. Overall I was satisfied and would use them again.

Description of Work
Installed gas fireplace

Category fireplaces

4.0

03/03/2014


Kathleen T.

The install took several visit as our sales person did not inform us that a part was not ready for the scheduled install date. He also did not inform us that there was more then one option to complete the install. Also, I felt the sale person was pushing one model over the others. ALL of the service techs that came to our home were very professional and knowledgeable about the product. They answered any questions we had and were neat and clean.

Description of Work
Installed a gas insert into our fireplace.

Category fireplaces, gas logs

5.0

03/03/2014


Deborah B.

They were outstanding in all respect. The craftsmanship and the communication, getting things done in a timely manner, and the care they took when working was outstanding. They were happy to go over the direction with us several times, and they made sure everything was working. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I used August West Chimney Co. We used them in March for our chimney. They came back to put a gas stove in our fireplace.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Hi (removed member name), Thank you for your positive review on this website as we certainly appreciate it very much. While 99.99% of our thousands of clients served every year have a similar experience as we strive for that each day. Unfortunately more satisfied clients don't take the time to post favorable reviews, while the very few dissatisfied customers are quick to tell many often without letting the company know there was an issue to begin with. If you have time, and wouldn't mind posting your favorable experience with August West on YELP.com, it would be sincerely appreciated. For any questions please don't hesitate to contact me at curludlow@augustwestfireplace.com Thank you for your business and your time reading this. Best, Curt
4.0

02/03/2014


Patricia R.

The work went as planned and was completed on time. It took a while to schedule the work. They seem pretty busy and it is their busy season. We need more work to repair an additional non-working fireplace and will use them again. The work is pretty pricey but the people seem very knowledgable.

Description of Work
Chimney repair and fireplace work.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Hi Member, Thank you for your positive review on this website as we certainly appreciate it very much. While 99.99% of our thousands of clients served every year have a similar experience as we strive for that each day. Unfortunately more satisfied clients don't take the time to post favorable reviews, while the very few dissatisfied customers are quick to tell many often without letting the company know there was an issue to begin with. If you have time, and wouldn't mind posting your favorable experience with August West on YELP.com, it would be sincerely appreciated. For any questions please don't hesitate to contact me at curludlow@augustwestfireplace.com Thank you for your business and your time reading this. Best, Curt
5.0

10/29/2013


Stephen C.

The two services technicians arrived within the expected window of time, when I arrived home the fireplace was removed, living room was protected, and the service had begun. They let us know a part was needed, had it with them and the fireplace was all set to go in a short while. Cost was what was expected and close to quote, with the addition of the required part. They did a fine job and the fireplace is keeping the house warm.

Description of Work
Services provided inspection and cleaning of a gas fireplace. In addition, the pilot would go out so parts replacement was needed.

Category fireplaces

5.0

10/15/2013


George U.

We wanted to buy a gas insert for our fireplace - but they wouldn't sell without inspecting the site. Found several defects that needed urgent repair and would have shortened the life of the insert. The crew was fast, professional and neat! They basically rebuilt the chimney and it is much improved. The insert was installed and August West trained us in its use. Right out of the box it has been a wonder! If anything was questionable, dealing with the office proved problematic at times. While courteous and willing, it seemed to lack cohesion; one part didn't always know what the other was doing. But compared to the overall result, this was a minor issue.

Description of Work
Inspected chimney, rebuilt it, (new brick, slate tile and cap) installed a gas-fired insert that he sold to us.

Category electrician, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you both for your business and feedback as we certainly welcome it. We're glad to know that you're thrilled with the quality of finished product and we will certainly work each day to ensure our office team is as fantastic as our finished product. Enjoy your newly renovated home and be sure to contact us with any questions in the future.
5.0

10/02/2013


Vincent Q.

I purchased a custom-built, custom-fit outdoor patio fire pit from August West in June 2013. August West was helpful, knowledgeable and flexible in designing the right size (height, length, depth etc.) fire pit for a very particular space. Delivery was made when promised and the fire pit (which operates on propane) worked smoothly from June until mid-September 2013. One evening in mid-September, the flame in the fire pit simply stopped and I could not get it to re-ignite. I tried changing propane tank, changing igniter batteries et., but no luck. I called August West and they sent a technician and quot;on-siteand quot; within a few business days. The technician diagnosed the issue (debris lodged somewhere in the ignition / starter space) and repaired it within an hour or so. I was not home at the time of the technician's visit and did not need to be, as it is an outdoor fire pit placed on a backyard patio. But August West e-mailed me during the day of the repair and alerted me as to what the problem had been and indicated that the repair was completed, that the fire pit was working properly and that the repair was and quot;no chargeand quot; under a warranty. I found the staff and owner at August West to be professional, expert and responsive. I would recommend August West.

Description of Work
August West technician diagnosed and repaired my outdoor patio fire pit. The fire pit operates on propane gas.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for the positive feedback as it has been a pleasure working with you and your wife on you fire pit project. For any needs in the future, don't hesitate to reach out to us again. Best, Curt Ludlow
5.0

07/11/2013


ann M.

Anthony arrived on time and was very cheerful. After the inspection and cleaning, he thoroughly explained the type of firebox I have and the way to maintain it long term (aka, what NOT to do). If he had not gone over everything so carefully, I most likely would have made some very expensive mistakes! This was a very valuable service.

Description of Work
Inspected and cleaned the firebox and chimney.

Category chimney repair

5.0

05/13/2013


Suzanne J.

The person who helped us was very knowledgeable and took the time to answer all our questions. Unfortunately, it was too expensive at the time for us to consider it but when we decide to do it, we will go back there.

Description of Work
We went in with questions as to how to put a blower into our gas fireplace insert. The person who helped us was very knowledgeable and took the time to answer all our questions. Unfortunately, it was too expensive at the time for us to consider it but when we decide to do it, we will go back there.

Category fireplaces

5.0

01/29/2013


Nancy L.

Went to the store for an estimate and information, sales rep was very helpful and knowledgeable. Checked other places for price comparision, went back to August West purchased the wood stove. They set up an installation date, came when they said they would and I love the results.

Description of Work
Gas wood stove installation

Category fireplaces

5.0

10/30/2012


Thomas S.

. The August West Co was there from start to finish to help me with my project

Description of Work
When I had aproblem with another co, augst West answered my call, and Patrick, the salesman I spoke with was very helpful. He spent a lot of time investigating the Gas insert that I had chosen from another co. that August West also sold, as to whether it could be used in my fireplace. It turned out that the unit that the other co was going to install was not rated for my alcove fireplace. Patrick found a few other units that were rated for my fireplace, and my wife picked one out. The installers were here on time, and they did a very professional job, although there was a manufacturer's faiulty motor on the fan assy. The service tech followed up with the new parts, and they even came down on my schedule (which is not common). From the sales person, to the scheduling person, to the installers to the service tech; I highly reccomend August West.

Category fireplaces

5.0

09/16/2012


Nadine F.

My reason for sending this review to you at this time is because I am using the fireplaces now and feel blessed in meeting Curt Ludlow and this company. Their efficiency is only out distanced by their excellence.

Description of Work
Installation of two firelaces and the purchase of 1. Please read my reviewgreater than I recently bought a fireplace directly from the manufacturer. It seemed like a great idea at the time. When it had to be installed I called several “reputable” installers of fireplaces. I had such a varying amount of estimates that I decided to go to a company that was local for a conference. That was the smartest thing I did. The place was AUGUST WEST FIREPLACE and they not only installed my fireplace for a reasonable fee, I bought another fireplace from them and they installed it as well. Here is a passage from a letter I wrote to them at the end of a visit from their technicians. Your men were wonderful. They are a credit to your company....yet, I am not surprised. They were clean, confident, patient and extremely efficient. Their kindness in their explanations of when to get the fireplaces serviced was just one example of the patience they gave me when faced with several questions. I have come to rely on a personal and professional response when dealing with anyone from your company. This is what I can expect from your company. It is something to be proud of. Please post this so that any potential customer will know what to expect from August West Fireplace. Thank you for your patience. It is a pleasure doing business with you. I have been a member of Angie’s list for over two years. I have a great respect for this site and will write reviews when warranted. This is the first I have written. The company deserves a 5 star rating.

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

09/16/2012


Nadine F.

Please note that I have worked with the store in Pembroke MA with Curt Ludow to be exact. I found his efficiency to only be out done by the excellence of his workers. I have sent family members and coworkers to this location as well. I give my experience a 5 star rating. My reason for writing this review so late is because i am just starting to use the fireplace now and realize i should be thankful for my blessings.

Description of Work
Please read this letter: I recently bought a fireplace directly from the manufacturer. It seemed like a great idea at the time. When it had to be installed I called several “reputable” installers of fireplaces. I had such a varying amount of estimates that I decided to go to a company that was local for a conference. That was the smartest thing I did. The place was AUGUST WEST FIREPLACE and they not only installed my fireplace for a reasonable fee, I bought another fireplace from them and they installed it as well. Here is a passage from a letter I wrote to them at the end of a visit from their technicians. Your men were wonderful. They are a credit to your company....yet, I am not surprised. They were clean, confident, patient and extremely efficient. Their kindness in their explanations of when to get the fireplaces serviced was just one example of the patience they gave me when faced with several questions. I have come to rely on a personal and professional response when dealing with anyone from your company. This is what I can expect from your company. It is something to be proud of. Please post this so that any potential customer will know what to expect from August West Fireplace. Thank you for your patience. It is a pleasure doing business with you. I have been a member of Angie’s list for over two years. I have a great respect for this site and will write reviews when warranted. This is the first I have written. The company deserves a 5 star rating.

Category fireplaces

5.0

02/21/2012


Jason A.

Chimney sweeps arrived on time and were finished inside of 30 minutes. They took the time to explain what they were going to do and provided before and after photos of the inside of my chimney. I would recommend August West Chimney.

Description of Work
Chimney Sweeping

Category chimney sweep

1.0

11/29/2011


benjamin N.

sales men were very pushy and did not want to sell me a quality product. Because of the price of the work I asked to do it in 2 sessions. When the price was split the cost went up about 600.00. The guy that came to my house leaned all over my freshly painted railings in my house and covered them in soot, and he started talking trash about other companies in the area. I would not recommend them to anybody.

Description of Work
estimate for chimney repair and install wood stove.

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

09/14/2011


Charles K.

They are great. They were excellent and I would highly recommend them to anybody. They did a lot of work and their price was very reasonable. They were very pleasant to deal with and very professional. They had to coordinate an electrician and plumber and Patrick, the person whom we worked with, coordinated everything. They stood by their work. They took care of any glitch that came along since it was difficult work. They did everything and were excellent to work with. They accommodated my work schedule. They called if they couldn't come in. They were a first-rate company and excellent in every aspect of the job. It was a wonderful experience and I would definitely use them again if necessary. They were recommended to us by a roofer whom we have known for a long time.

Description of Work
August West Chimney Company converted our fireplace from a wood burning unit to gas. They did the gas insert and all that and coordinated everything.

Category fireplaces, gas logs

5.0

08/23/2011


JEAN C.

They came out right away to clean everything, and I was very happy with them. They came out within an hour of my phone call. They were quick to respond, and were also very clean.

Description of Work
My furnace was blowing suit and dirt all over the place.

Category chimney sweep

1.0

07/17/2011


Zoe L.

Examined the chimney on the roof and in the attic and said they would need to tear back the chimney below the floor of the attic and rebuild it. When we called for a price for the work, they never returned our calls.

Description of Work
Came to provide an estimate on re-pointing our chimney.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Due to travel distance, it was determined this job would not be worth performing given the scope of work and travel distance required to complete the work. A letter or email ususally goes out to inform a customer or prospective customer of this circumstance and if an oversite was made our sincere aplogies.
4.0

02/03/2011


Donna T.

The individual who came out to provide the quote was very professional, arrived on time, and answered all of my questions. When it came time to install the damper however, the individual who performed the installation was VERY unproffessional. Suffice it to say, my husband was subject to an hour of the most inappropriate conversations and was overall very unhappy with the individual. The quality of the service was good, and we would reuse the company, as long as another installer performed the work.

Description of Work
About a year ago, I had August West install a top sealing damper for my fireplace (I am adding this review now as I only just joined Angies list).

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

The inappropriate language was most likely religous beliefs by this individual, and appropriate actions by our company were made to ensure this doesn't happen again. Thank you for your feedback as it appreciated.
5.0

09/30/2008


Theresa D.

I didn't realize that there were gaps between the house and the chimney until I heard bats in my attic. The wildlife removal company told me that the bats had gotten in because of those gaps and recommended August West because they had worked with them before. When I called, they were able to send someone to give a free estimate, and they were professional in assessing the situation and making sure all details were listed in the quote. Scheduling was a little difficult because their work is mostly weather-dependent and there was a big job ahead of me in line, and then we had a few rainy days. I gave a B for "Responsiveness" because they did not call me prior to my original appointment to tell me that my job was delayed, I had to call the office when no one showed up that morning. I was told that my job would start the following week, but the same thing happened. When I called the second time, I let them know that I was upset about the lack of communication, and it wasn't until then that communication improved (and customer service, too, but it was pretty good in the beginning anyway). I even met the owner, Jeff, who came to my house the day before to see the work site. Once the work started, August West did a great job. The guys were friendly and knowledgeable when answering my questions. They showed me the progress of the job and explained and described what they did at each stage of the process. The chimney looks great, and the new brick blends well with the older brick. The company had to come back a few days later to install the chimney cap and to close the damper (they needed measurements of the new chimney to get the new cap), but they were accommodating to my schedule and came first thing in the morning. Overall, I am pleased with the work that was done.

Description of Work
My chimney was demolished to the shoulder and rebuilt with new brick, flue tiles, and lead. The price included all material, labor, disposal of debris and clean-up, as well as a stainless steel chimney cap.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Falco Masonry

    For over 25 years, Falco Masonry has been adding beauty to finer homes and hard-scapes with brick, block and especially stone. From initial consultation through final clean up, great care is taken to make sure that your next masonry project exceeds your expectations.  

    Angi Certified

    ST. NICK'S CHIMNEY SERVICE

    We have 20+ years of experience in Chimney Service & Masonry. Call Nick (Owner) @ (857) 312-3065 for an immediate response to all your chimney needs.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by ST. NICK'S CHIMNEY SERVICE on Angi
    Adelino Soares Construction

    30 years experience in the construction industry, with many satisfied customers. I guarantee you will be pleased with my work. We return our calls as soon as possible. We accept cash and checks. Feel free to call for a free estimate, we will be glad to help you! Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    August West has two conveniently located retail locations which offer the highest quality hearth products, including: gas fireplaces, gas inserts, gas stoves, wood & pellet stoves and inserts, gas logs, mantles, outdoor kitchens, outdoor fire pits and much more.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS

    How is AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS overall rated?

    AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS open?

    AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS provide

    AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS offer free estimates?

    Ask AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS for details on free project estimates.

    Does AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS offer emergency services?

    Yes, AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS?

    Yes, AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS offers warranties.

    What services does AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS offer?

    AUGUST WEST CHIMNEY CO & FIREPLACE CONCEPTS offers the following services: August West has two conveniently located retail locations which offer the highest quality hearth products, including: gas fireplaces, gas inserts, gas stoves, wood & pellet stoves and inserts, gas logs, mantles, outdoor kitchens, outdoor fire pits and much more.