Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CUSTOM ASPHALT PAVING

With Angi since October 2001

4.8

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

19 JOHNSON ST

Peabody, MA 01960

Description

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/17/2017


Gloria S.

John did an excellent job. He did a great job, he responded and he did what he said he would do. I've had no problem with it. He did my neighbor as well and I would recommend him to anyone. I had a garage built so I needed a new driveway. His price was in line with everyone else. He was not anymore expensive than anyone else. I did have to call him a few times before he returned my phone calls, but he apologized, so that was fine.

Description of Work
He put in a whole new driveway.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

12/05/2016


Bob C.

Very well,and on time

Description of Work
Driveway and drain

Category driveway pavers

5.0

10/25/2016


Luc V.

Left a voice mail for John asking for an estimate. John called back promptly and arranged to meet a couple of days later. He looked in detail at the job, discussed all details, answered all questions and provided a quote on the spot, with a precise description of the job. The quote was very competitive compared to other companies, and John was way more responsive. I called him back a couple of weeks later to give the go ahead; he was available and came the next day to do the job. He showed up at 8:00am with his sons, trucks and all equipment and I had a beautiful driveway by noon. The project was not trivial as the old driveway severely buckled and heaved, as there were lots of rocks and clay under it. They were able to clean this thoroughly and provide a nice level base for the new driveway. They also use Lyn-Pac gravel for the sub-base, a more expensive material than unspecified gravel, which provides a consistent and very stable surface to lay the asphalt. I was impressed by the care and attention to detail during the work - that you would not expect for this kind of project - and the speed and precision of the whole team. They have all the equipment and a beautiful paving machine that ensures the best results. Real pros. Besides all this, John is super friendly and it was a pleasure dealing with him and his sons. We still have the yellow tape preventing to drive on the driveway for a few days, but get plenty of compliments from our neighbors.

Description of Work
Excavate old driveway, remove rocks and dirt; level / grade, refill sub-base and repave small driveway (40x20ft)

Category driveway pavers

5.0

09/28/2016


Waldemar K.

Price was less competitive than others, but it was close. Overall, I am very satisfied with the company and the service provided.

Description of Work
Remove old driveway, re-grade, add gravel where necessary, pave the new area.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

07/06/2016


Geraldine D.

Met with the Owner Mr. John Cooper. He gave me a detailed list of what needed to be done to make my old driveway look new. dig out old driveway & Walk, remove material , install Lynn-Pac Gravel, grade roll compact, install asphalt with paving machine and roll He dug out the old drive way , removed rocks , grass and loam to level my very uneven drive way. My drive way was very difficult to back out from without scraping the bottom of your car. Mr. Cooper leveled it correctly and created curbing around the sides of my driveway enabling anyone who backs out to not hit the bottom of their car. Mr. Cooper also extended my walk way allowing proper spacing around my lawn and the beds along the walk way. I would recommend Custom Paving to anyone looking for a professional paving contractor. Very happy with the price and happy with how beautiful my driveway looks. Great Job !!

Description of Work
Custom Paving created a BEAUTIFUL driveway and walkway for my home

Category driveway pavers

5.0

09/18/2015


Joseph S.

John and his sons were great from start to finish. John arrived onsite the same I called to walk the property and provide a written quote, which came in below three others. The team arrived at my house on the date and time we agreed upon. The work was amazing; they are very professional and do an incredible job. Instead of the old World War II battle field site I had for a driveway. I now have a nice clean professionally completed driveway. The house looks so much neater and cleaner. Thank you John and team

Description of Work
Complete Driveway expansion and replacement Replacement of front and side walkways Addition of rear paved walkway

Category driveway pavers

5.0

08/28/2014


LEONA T.

Description of Work
Took out old recycle asphalt which a previous company put down.. Custom Paving picked up from there. Cut straight edge that is joined with the next door neighbor's yard. Installed lynn-pac gravel, grade and rolled. Installed asphalt with roller. Very clean edges against cement curbings and edge of grass in front and back yard. Started on time and finished at time given. Very profesional and polite.

Category driveway pavers

4.0

07/27/2014


Jay A.

The work done was EXCELLENT and that's why I would use Custom Paving again. They have been in business a long time, know what they're doing, and are able to explain it well. Once the job began, they were professional, on time, and cleaned up well. I checked two references before authorizing the work and they were recent and solid! The problem I had was the communication. They have a website with an email address for further contact, but the owner admitted that he doesn't do email. His written contract was not easy to understand because it used some industry (not layman) terminology, but John did take the time to explain it to me and I really appreciated that. He's just the kind of guy who is more comfortable face to face than with a computer. I preferred to pay with a credit card, but again, the technology was an issue, so I paid by check. Again, not a deal breaker -- just an inconvenience. Again, his work is excellent and I would use him again, but I know not to contact him through his website. Like many good contractors, he is very busy and calls do not get returned until the evening, sometimes a day or two later.

Description of Work
Repaired cracking and setting of driveway and repaved. Even went above and beyond and repaired smaller cracks that were not part of the original agreement at no additional cost.

Category driveway pavers

3.0

07/17/2014


Sarah B.

Selected him as a prospect based on Angie's List reviews. Came same day to give me quote. Quote was verbal. I asked for references and never heard back from him. He proposed 3 inches of asphalt versus other contractor, who I hired, who would do 1.5 and 1.5 which seemed to make more sense. i asked about that and he said that was only necessary if it was a soft surface - it seemed like a good idea to me but I honestly don't have experience with asphalt so maybe he was right. Price was more than 10% higher than company I went with.

Description of Work
paving 30 year old two car long driveway

Category driveway pavers

5.0

05/31/2014


Robert G R.

Description of Work
Built an addition to present driveway and rebuilt present driveway, as well. Very professional, courteous and produced an excellent product.

Category driveway pavers

4.0

10/23/2013


Frank M.

arrived on tome crew was polite and professional.

Description of Work
replaced entire driveway

Category driveway pavers

5.0

06/12/2013


John M.

Good commnication. Arrived on time and on schedule. Hauled away crumbling asphalt. Dug out dirt and removed tree roots that damaged old driveway. Dug deep enough to ensure that this would not happen again. Replaced with linpac fill and rolled to grade level. Used profesional paving machines to install underlayment binder and top coat. Very impressed with speed and and completion of the job. Expected two days and completed in one. Crew - family run business did an excellent job. They even stopped by one year later to ask if we needed it sealed. I do, but haven't got arround to having it done. Would I recommed Custom Asphault paving? Absolutely! They weren't the lowest bid of the three I got. I picked them because they answered all my questions right. The materials they use cost slighly more but are worth it. The other only use mixed fill, not linpac and didn't have the professional paving equipment.

Description of Work
Removed badly deteriated 100 foot driveway and parking area.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

05/16/2013


Bryan D.

Perfect

Description of Work
my neighbor was getting his driveway done by custom paving. I asked tge gentleman who is in charge for a quick estimate. He explained what would be done . which was tear out my old two plus car driveway take out roots that heaved the driveway lay down four to six inches of linpack lay a binder coat finish coat .I couldn't be happy with the job the driveway looks wonderful

Category driveway pavers

5.0

05/30/2012


Robert G R.

Excellent project experience (see above report).

Description of Work
Contacted John Cooper, Owner of Custom Paving on 5/25/2012 for an inspection and estimate to extend my driveway area 18' X 22' and possibly second coat the existing driveway with a top coat of asphalt. He came to the house that afternoon, inspected the proposed work area and gave me an estimate to complete my request. He also stated he could do the projected within a week's time.He called on Tuesday, May 29 and told me he could do the project Wed., May 30. He and a crew of 4 other workers arrived at approximately 9 AM on Wed., started work on driveway expansion; dug expansion area out, filled with Lynnpac and compacted this area, which was completed in 2 hours. They then started final paving of total driveway area and completed this phase of the project at approximately 1 PM. The work area was completely cleaned up, all construction debris removed and paved area roped off. Attention to detail was outstanding. Paved area was tested for proper runoff using a garden hose - test was excellent - no puddle areas visible. All paved area was rolled and tamped properly with no seams visible. Crew was very courteous, friendly & very professional. All equipment used was in excellent working condition, fairly new and performed properly. I have worked with numerous paving crews, in my past work history, and Custom Paving is the best I have experienced. Their prices are very fair and I would recommend them to anyone.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

05/03/2012


Richard L.

On 7/5/2011 I left a voice mail message for John Cooper, owner of Custom Paving, to set up an appointment for an estimate for a new driveway. At 8:00 that evening John called to set up an appointment for the following morning at 8:30. John arrived on time. We had a very good discussion regarding how the project would be completed. First, all existing material ( asphalt, dirt, rocks) would be removed. Next a 4 to 6 inch Lynn-Pac gravel would be spread and compacted using his 3-5 ton roller. A binder coat 2 inches thick uncompressed using 3/4 inch stone would then be laid. This would be followed by the finished coat of 1 3/4 thick asphalt uncompressed using 1/2 inch stone. The finished product would be about 3 inches thick compressed. The asphalt to be used would be totally virgin material versus using a combination of virgin & recycled material. Because of the downward slope of the driveway towards the garage I was very concerned about how this would be addressed to prevent flooding in the garage. In addition, potential flooding at a low lying door in the house in the back also needed to be addressed. Thirdly, a drain in the backyard installed to carry away excess rain water would require proper sloping of the asphalt to ensure its effectiveness. John clearly advised me that all of my issues could be addressed. Before agreeing to hire John I advised him that I would like to visit an actual job site to see him and his crew in action. John welcomed the idea to showcase his workmanship. He had me visit a work site that morning. I spent the day observing a driveway being installed that would be similar to mine. During the day he interrupted his work to clearly show and discuss what he was doing. The entire work process that he had discussed with me earlier in the day was complety followed. It was very obvious that he was very proud of his workmanship. Once I received John's Certificate of Liability Insurance I hired him. On 7/21 John and crew arrived early on a day that would go to 97 degrees. They worked hard and efficiently. The old asphalt, dirt and rocks were removed. In addition, he removed an old pile of rocks from my yard at no additional cost. The Lynn-Pac was laid and compacted and the binder coat was also laid. Based on a prior agreement with John the finish coat was going to be done at a later date because of some additional yard work that needed to be done. John and his crew really earned their money on this brutality hot day. On 11/14 John and his crew returned and laid the finish coat. During this process he showed me how he was contouring the asphalt to ensure all of my concerns about flooding were addressed. All subsequent rainstorms confirmed what John told me -- I have not had any flooding and all the rainwater drains exactly as John said it would. John & his crew which is primarily his 2 sons are very good to work with. They are very professional, friendly and take care to respect your property. Based on the quality of his work he has already picked up a couple of additional jobs in the neighborhood. I would not hesitate to use them again or recommend them to someone else.

Description of Work
I had about 1,900 square feet of driveway that required new asphalt. About 75% of the driveway had existing asphalt that needed to be removed. The remaining 25% consisted of dirt and rocks that would also need to be totally removed.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

11/29/2011


wendy C.

Day one- removed all old asphalt. Grated the driveway, leveled and put down stone base and first coat of asphalt. Second day: Not sure of the details, but job was completed with lovely curbing and a slight hump at the end of the driveway to keep water flow going away from house. (We have an uphill driveway). John left us with instructions of do's and do nots for the longevity of the driveway. Just and FYI. He did require a check for the entire amount at the end of the job which was cashed the same day. Not sure if he takes CC's but would ask Custom if they take them.

Description of Work
Did a wonderful job on a difficult driveway. We not only had drainage issues, but also our cement garage floor was crumbling due to the driveway deterioration. Custom Paving not only came in with the best price but they were the only ones to arrange for a mason to come and work on the garage floor as well. Custom showed up early, went to work immediately. They did a complete and careful job and only had to ask me a question once during the time they were here. They completed the dig up, leveling, gravel and paving within two days. I'm sure they encounted more work than they had planned on but they made sure the job was well done. I was very happy with their work and their professionalism. The mason that Custom Paving hired was excellent as well and although he encounted a bit of a bumb, had no trouble completing his portion of the job and it looks excellent. The above cost also reflects the mason's charges which were included in the final bill.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

09/25/2011


John M.

Custom had all the vehicles and equipment to perfom the job. Work was completed in one day as promised John Cooper and the crew were very courteous and respectful to our property. They even worked through lunch. They did an excellent job!.

Description of Work
Remove and replace 100 feet of driveway with two additional parrking spaces. Dig out and remove roots, rocks and hauled away old fill and asphalt. Graded driveway to eliminate previous low spot near street that trapped warter and froze in the winter. Installed 4-6 inches Lynnpack underlayment. 3-4 inch binder course followed by 1-2 inch top course.

Category driveway pavers

1.0

10/03/2006


ROBIN O.

Called and left message about receiving an estimate on paving our driveway. No response.

Description of Work
Called and left message about receiving an estimate on paving our driveway. No response.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

05/28/2005


JOYCE Z.

MR. COOPER RESPONDED TO OUR REQUEST FOR AN ESTIMATE PROMPTLY ($3855). HIS DESCRIPTION OF THE WORK HE WOULD DO GAVE US THE FEELING THAT HE WOULD DO A FINE JOB, AND WE HAD THOUGHT THAT WE WOULD CHOOSE HIS COMPANY. HIS ESTIMATE WAS HIGHER THAN THE OTHER TWO ESTIMATES, THOUGH. HE CALLED BACK, ON IS OWN, TO SAY THAT HE HAD MADE AN ERROR IN HIS PRICE AND REDUCED IT SOME, BUT IT WAS STILL HIGHER. WE WENT WITH ANOTHER COMPANY, BUT WE FEEL THAT HE WOULD HAVE DONE A GOOD JOB, AND HE WAS PROMPT AND COURTEOUS.

Description of Work
CUSTOM PAVING DID NOT ACTUALLY DO THE JOB. THEIR PRICE WAS HIGH, SO WE WENT WITH ANOTHER CONTRACTOR.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

10/12/2001


CAROL C.

RELIABLE, FAST, EFFICIENT.

Description of Work
PUT IN NEW DRIVEWAY.

Category driveway pavers

    Other local Pros in your area

    Stewart Construction

    Since 2018, Stewart construction, we have been specialize in all kinds of masonry and landscaping work. There is no job too big or small we have completed a wide range of projects. Patios, stone walls, concrete, driveways, walkways, brick/block work, landscaping (routine maintenance or one time cleanups, etc.) and much more!! for whatever custom project that you have in mind, Check out all of our services offered below, click or call to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Next Level Masonry & Construction, Inc.

    Next Level Masonry & Construction, Inc. specializes in all concrete work including Stamped & Decorative Concrete, Concrete Driveway and Walkway Installation, Concrete Pouring & Repair. We also offer Patio construction as well as all types of Masonry work. Give us a call today! Your satisfaction is our goal!  

    Public Paving LLC

    Public Paving is your paving and asphalt specialist. From Residential Driveways and Side Walks to Commercial Parking Lots, Private Roads and New Construction - We provide exceptional paving, sealcoating and line striping work. Family owned and operated since 1961, Public Paving knows what it takes to get the job done right the first time around. We are in good standing with the Better Business Bureau, and we pride ourselves on the knowledge and experience we bring to each project Nothing brings down a great-looking house like a run-down driveway. Public Paving has all the answers and solutions to get your pavement looking new for years. Our advanced technology will save you money by giving you a surface that will look great for years without breaking the bank. * Driveways * Walkways * Private roads * Patching * Grading * Graveling * Grid work * Seal coating Get top-quality asphalt for a low-budget price You don t need to pay an executive price for executive quality. You can save 10% when you sign on the same day as your FREE estimate. Our warranty programs will ensure peace of mind in case of any unforeseen problems.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Public Paving LLC on Angi
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CUSTOM ASPHALT PAVING

    How is CUSTOM ASPHALT PAVING overall rated?

    CUSTOM ASPHALT PAVING is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    Does CUSTOM ASPHALT PAVING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, CUSTOM ASPHALT PAVING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.