SEGALOFF JEWELERS

Founded 1946 • With Angi since October 2007

5.0

(27) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

20 CHESTNUT ST # 5

Needham, MA 02492

Description

We accept cash, checks with proper ID (from customers we have a track record with), and charge cards (Mastercharge, Visa, and Discover)...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/22/2018


Hannah C.

They were friendly and very efficient. A very good service!

Description of Work
Appraisal of items

Category jewelry stores

5.0

06/22/2018


Mark M.

I could not have been happier with how everything went after going to Segaloff Jewelers. From the service, to the personal care, to the dedication and the thoroughness .... I find it hard to believe that anyone could find some other establishment matching. I could not recommend heading their for your needs enough!!

Description of Work
Engagement ring

Category jewelry stores

5.0

06/29/2017


Jim S.

as promised

Description of Work
watch repair

Category jewelry stores

5.0

05/11/2017


James L.

Extremely well. Segaloff has been a reliable resource of knowledge and for acquisition and design of elegant jewelry for our family for more than two decades.

Description of Work
Purchase of jewelry

Category jewelry stores

5.0

12/20/2016


DREW Z.

Bernie and Cheryl are wonderful. They know their jewelry and are always fair. They are also great people!

Description of Work
They've done everything from repairing my watches to advising me on the right chains for several pendants.

Category jewelry stores, watch repair

5.0

12/02/2016


Sharon W.

Everything went well. I wear my necklace all the time. My clock chimes correctly now and is on time. They also demonstrated to me how to rest the clock correctly.5

Description of Work
Necklace needed repair and my clock needed syncing.

Category clock repair, watch repair

5.0

10/11/2016


David D.

I have regularly gone to Segaloff's for little things like watch battery replacement. However where Bernie really shines (pardon the pun) is in going the extra mile for his customers. I brought him a wedding ring that had been damaged and needed a diamond. We considered the fix vs buy option and decided that a new ring that looked close enough would be the best option. Normally finding a ring a diamond of the right color and quality take a couple of weeks, but I wanted in a week because that was our anniversary (I know I should have gone sooner). In any case, Bernie said he'd try to get it ready in time. Perhaps I should say, of course, Bernie got me the ring and diamond the day before our anniversary. He worked on it during his days off, found a ring that looks identical to the original, and got a diamond to match the quality, clarity and color of the other diamonds. I can't say enough about our great Bernie is.

Description of Work
Repair/replace wedding ring and missing diamond

Category gift shops, jewelry stores, jewelry appraisal, watch repair

5.0

08/24/2015


Lee M.

I put off repairing my wife's wedding ring for over a year because I couldn't find a place I trusted. Then I finally checked Angie's List and this place was top rated and near my house. I can't say enough good things about them. The store is run by a husband and wife team who greeted me, took me right away, fixed the problem perfectly and didn't charge me a dime! I couldn't believe it. He said that it was just a small job and only took a few minutes. That said, he was the one who found the spur and knew what to do, then gave me an explanation for how it happened and how to handle it in the future. My Dad always said it cost $1 to turn the screw and $99 to know which way to turn it. I would've been happy to pay them for the expertise and knowledge, but they didn't even charge me the $1. Excellent service!

Description of Work
Repaired a spur on my wife's wedding band

Category jewelry stores

5.0

07/29/2015


Pauline A.

Since my watch was damaged by water and was sure to rust it was recommended that I have the works replaced. Many happy years of doing business with Bernie and Cheryl Segaloff have given me every reason to trust them completely. I would not consider using another jewelry store for either purchases or repairs. They have a good selection and are always friendly and helpful, but never high pressure.

Description of Work
Repaired my water damaged watch

Category jewelry stores, watch repair

5.0

11/23/2014


Alan L.

When the entire display on my digital watch disappeared, I had no idea whether the battery was dead or the watch was a goner. Mr. Segaloff removed the old battery, tested it and found it to be dead, replaced the battery, reassembled the watch, and reset the day, month, date, and time all in approximately two minutes. (It usually takes me a few minutes just to reset the time.) He?s incredible and friendly, too!

Description of Work
Replaced a watch battery

Category jewelry stores, watch repair

5.0

08/05/2014


Van L.

perfect! beautifully done, prompt, good price and such lovely people!

Description of Work
sent for and replaced crystal of watch; reconnected broken silver chain of necklace

Category jewelry stores

5.0

07/01/2014


Bridget W.

Last Friday I realized that one of the diamonds on my anniversary band was missing. The ring was modest in cost but of course priceless in personal value, and I had no idea where the diamond might be. On Saturday morning I checked Angie's List for jewelry repair in our area and settled on Segaloff Jewelers even though it's about 30 miles each way from our home. My husband and I drove over and talked with Bernie about the mishap. He spent quite a bit of time checking the ring, which contains 7 marquis-shaped diamonds (well, 6 diamonds now!) in various sizes. He asked us quite a few questions and then, very tactfully and politely, explained that the cost to replace the diamond and repair the ring (all the settings were loose after many years of wear) was probably not worth the value of the ring. We understood and very greatly appreciated his honesty - someone of lesser integrity might've been happy to take a good deal of money from us for a ring that wasn't worth the price. Yes, I was a bit disappointed, but I am also realistic and am not going to freak out over the loss of a material possession that is a symbol of a long-standing, mostly happy marriage. In the end I came home with the ring in a pouch, and it's tucked away in a drawer in hopes I find the missing stone at some point. If it turns up we will re-visit the issue and cost of repair. We then had Bernie look at our wedding bands and my engagement ring, all of which were a bit snug. The setting in my engagement ring was also quite worn, which was no surprise after 30 years, and Bernie asked if we do a lot of swimming or are otherwise exposed frequently to chlorine or similar chemicals. In fact we do swim year-round, and our rings have all taken a beating because of that - we had no idea. We decided to leave all 3 rings for cleaning and resizing, along with a new setting for the diamond. Bernie also promised to be careful to preserve the engraving inside the wedding bands. Bernie and Cheryl were getting ready for a vacation and very clearly stated they couldn't guarantee that the rings would be completed before they left and returned, which was just fine with us. After 30 years what's another couple weeks? Bernie estimated the total cost around $300 - $350 and promised to call when the work was completed. Imagine our surprise to get a call on Monday, just 2 days after our visit, to say the rings were ready! I picked the rings up Tuesday and they were all so shiny I almost had to put my sunglasses on. The sizing of each is perfect and the engraving is completely intact, and my diamond is safe and secure. They look brand-new again and we couldn't be more pleased. Both Bernie and Cheryl were there when I picked up the rings, and we had a very nice chat. We also had the pleasure of meeting Rodney, the resident pooch, who is about the most laid-back dog I've ever met (he should give our dogs lessons). We had a terrific experience. We could have gone to any number of jewelers much closer to our home but are so glad we went to Segaloff. We found them honest, well-priced, personable, professional and extremely efficient. We will definitely make the trip to Needham for future jewelry needs and would not hesitate to recommend Bernie and Cheryl to anyone. Thank you Angie's List reviewers for helping us choose wisely!

Description of Work
Resized and cleaned 2 wedding bands and engagement ring, also reset diamond in engagement ring

Category jewelry stores

5.0

02/28/2014


CHERYL F.

Received prompt, friendly and expert service as soon I walked in the door. Cheryl and Bernie advised that the broken rivet could be replaced, other rivets checked and bracelet cleaned. Cheryl quickly reshaped a silver ring that had become badly bent when worn while shoveling snow. She refused any payment for the quick repair I got a call at the end of the next business day that the bracelet was ready for pickup. While picking it up, I chatted with another customer who had bought some exquisite pearls during international travel and asked Bernie to design a necklace for them. She was delighted with the finished product, and I could understand why. Wish that I'd found about Segaloff Jewelers years ago! Have already recommend them to friends and plan to return for any future jewelry repairs.

Description of Work
Replaced broken rivet on gold/diamond bracelet. Also reshaped ben silver ring.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

12/17/2013


Van L.

Jeweler refused to accept any payment for an excellent and nearly instant service, even when I insisted. This level of service has also been my experience with Segaloff's before. They are GREAT and are my go-to jeweler for any jewelry or watch repair.

Description of Work
I brought my watch to be repaired. The stem was jammed so I couldn't adjust the time or day. In just a few moments the very helpful jeweler diagnosed and cured the problem while I stood there.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

10/31/2013


Elinor Y.

Two days later, I was able to pick up I searched Angie's List when my pearl necklace broke and I needed to have it repaired. I found good reviews from Angie's List for Segaloff Jewelers in Needham, MA. which is nearby. We were waited on by Mrs. Segaloff, who is very friendly and helpful and introduced us to her charming pug dog who is also friendly, but not intrusive! She noted that the pearls would have to be restrung and reknotted and that the cost would be $60.00. I was able to pick up my necklace two days later and it was clear that a fine job had been done. I was completely satisfied with both the work and the service and plan to return with some other items needing repair. So I am adding to the good reviews already posted on Angie's List. Thank you !

Description of Work
Restrung pearls.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

10/29/2013


Anne B.

The jeweler told me that the watch was working, but I should keep an eye on it for the next couple of days. When I asked him if it needed cleaning, he said that the cost of cleaning would be more than the cost of replacing the watch. My watch is still working. He was helpful, professional, and honest and did not charge me for the service.

Description of Work
My watch had a new battery but was not working. The jeweler examined the watch, tested the battery, worked on it for about five minutes, fixed it, and handed it back.

Category watch repair

5.0

07/01/2013


EDWARD B.

they were right on - advised me to go to the manufacturer

Description of Work
gave me excellent advise on where to get an older watch fixed

Category jewelry stores, watch repair

5.0

04/08/2013


Mairi B.

Mr. Segaloff looked at my watch and suggested we try replacing the battery as he knew his batteries are new. If the watch stopped again, then he'd suggest the watch mechanism would probably need cleaning. When I had purchased the two previous batteries in a local Mall, the person who replaced the batteries had immediately suggested after the watch stopped the first time, that the watch needed a complete overhaul. Instead, I got a replacement battery under that store's warranty, but the watch stopped again. Mr. Segaloff said it was possible that store was not using new (i.e. approaching end of shelf-life) batteries, so it made sense to test with one of his batteries first. I felt complete trust in Mr. Segaloff's advice, and he took a note of the date the battery was installed, and generously gave a discount too as I'd had these battery problems and we couldn't be 100% certain the problem was with the battery and not the watch mechanism. Mrs. Segaloff assessed my mis-shapen ring and said it could be easily re-shaped. Mr. Segaloff looked at the ring too, and said the repair wouldn't be a problem. The repair was done by Mr. Segaloff. I left my ring with the Segaloffs on 23 March and got a call at the start of the following week saying the ring was ready for collection. I picked up the ring on 6 April. It looked fantastic. The Segaloff's had not only re-shaped the ring, but cleaned it and tightened the stone settings. Total was $45 for the ring and watch battery. I highly recommend the Segaloffs for their excellent service, skill, friendliness and advice.

Description of Work
Watch battery replacement (previously purchased two batteries in a jewelers in a Mall, both of which stopped working after a few months) Re-shaping of eternity ring.

Category jewelry stores, watch repair

5.0

01/07/2013


Linda C.

I have been going to Segaloff's for years to do watch battery replacements. After getting to know Bernie and Cheryl very well and being treated like royalty in their store, I learned to trust them very much. It came time for me to sell some gold that had been sitting around in my jewelry box and I knew right away that I could only trust Segaloff's. Bernie is very experienced, loyal and fair. I trust him as a jeweler. I was also in the market to upgrade my wedding ban and he was very honest with me as to what it would take to give me the look I wanted. After not very long, he convinced me to buy two bands to 'flank' my engagement ring. I love it! It was the right decision and his price was fair. I also trusted him to do appraisals for me on my other jewelry. All in all, it was a wonderful experience and I know have my very own jeweler. I will go no where else! Thank you Bernie and Cheryl!

Description of Work
Selling of Gold Purchasing of two diamond bands Appraisals Watch battery replacements

Category jewelry stores, jewelry appraisal, watch repair

5.0

02/16/2012


Gail L.

Working with Bernie and Cheryl is a great experience! I hadn't had my jewelry appraised in almost 20 years. They are professional and very trustworthy. You know that your jewelry is safe when you leave it with them! Bernie restrung my pearls and did a great job. From the minute I walked in, I could feel that I would get an honest deal and quality work -- and I was correct!

Description of Work
Bernie provided appraisals for all of my fine jewelry, bought some gold pieces which we no longer wanted and restrung my pearls. Don't be fooled by the entrance and smallish shop. They are the best, quality jeweler around.

Category jewelry stores, jewelry appraisal

5.0

01/05/2011


Peter D.

Brought ring in for estimate for repair. Was given a range of cost and completion date. Repair completed on time and at low end of range. Based on two transactions I am very happy with Segaloff's and trust that they will do a fine job at a reasonable price.

Description of Work
Reset stone in ring.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

10/06/2010


Peter D.

Promptly and professionally. I called to get an estimate for the appraisal. I brought the jewelry in, was promised the appraisal would be complete within two days. The next day they called to say that appraisal was ready.

Description of Work
Five pieces of jewelry appraised for insurance policy.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

09/29/2008


BENJAMIN M.

My ring lost its central stone. When I brought it in I was told that the two side stones were loose as well and that the entire setting needed to be repaired. They did a wonderful job and the ring was ready in two days. Very knowledgeable, honest and professional.

Description of Work
Repair of a ring in which the central stone had fallen out and the side stones were loose.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

07/15/2008


Elaine S.

Their jewelry selection is wonderful for a smaller hometown business. They do small jewelry and they have been in business for decades. They are very courteous and worry about my needs as a customer.

Description of Work
They have sold us jewelry and repaired jewelry for me.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

10/02/2007


Barbara A.

Mr. Segaloff did the job promptly and well. He is a pleasant person to deal with and the overall experience was positive.

Description of Work
Re-sized a ring.

Category jewelry stores

    Other local Pros in your area

    Endeavor Enterprise LLC

    Your One-Stop-Shop for Repairs, Installations, & Everything in Between. Locally Owned & Operated. Call Now. Trustworthy. Experienced. The last handyman you will ever need!  

    Spotless & Handyman, LLC

    Spotless & Handyman, LLC specializes in interior and exterior services including painting, carpentry, flooring, and other repairs. Whether you need a major repair or a renovation, our handyman can deliver professional skills at a fair price. It is our highest priority to get the job done right the first time on every assignment. Our crew have over 20yrs of experience in the field and we operate as one stop shop to resolve our customers problems.  

    Jewelry Sales/Design/Repair
    Watch Repair
    Gifts
    Buying Services
    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    JEWELRY & WATCH SALES AND REPAIR SPECIALIZING IN JEWELRY & WATCH REPAIR, REPLACING WATCH BATTERIES, WATERPROOFING SERVICES, & PEARL RESTRINGING. MOST SERVICES ARE DONE ON THE PREMISES. WE BUY GOLD, SILVER, AND PLATINUM AS WELL.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for Details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SEGALOFF JEWELERS

    How is SEGALOFF JEWELERS overall rated?

    SEGALOFF JEWELERS is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are SEGALOFF JEWELERS open?

    SEGALOFF JEWELERS is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: Closed

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does SEGALOFF JEWELERS provide

    SEGALOFF JEWELERS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does SEGALOFF JEWELERS offer free estimates?

    Yes, SEGALOFF JEWELERS offers free project estimates.

    Does SEGALOFF JEWELERS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, SEGALOFF JEWELERS offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by SEGALOFF JEWELERS?

    No, SEGALOFF JEWELERS does not offer warranties.

    What services does SEGALOFF JEWELERS offer?

    SEGALOFF JEWELERS offers the following services: JEWELRY & WATCH SALES AND REPAIR SPECIALIZING IN JEWELRY & WATCH REPAIR, REPLACING WATCH BATTERIES, WATERPROOFING SERVICES, & PEARL RESTRINGING. MOST SERVICES ARE DONE ON THE PREMISES. WE BUY GOLD, SILVER, AND PLATINUM AS WELL.

    Are there any services SEGALOFF JEWELERS does not offer?

    Ask for Details.